Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nea Metropolis 3 stars

22 Sigrou, Thessaloníki, 54630, Greece

#49 of 75 hotels in Thessaloníki

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1908 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Excellent value - perfect city location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The hotel has a perfect location, wright in the city center. This is the fourth time we choose this hotel when travelling to Salonic. The personnel is always very kind and supportive. The rooms are clean and offer comfort. I recommend it!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and helpful staff, clean rooms, retro style.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be great if you can renovate or refresh rooms - they are not bad, but it is very visible that last renovation was long time ago. I also suggest to make rooms more cozy, so guests can feel more relaxed after long day.

    Hotel is in old building and I appreciate that the retro style is preserved there, also in the hall and in the rooms. Good location, not so far from the sea, shops and restaurants. Staff was very, very nice and helpful. Rooms are clean, beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    7.1
    1 night in Thessaloniki
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had better days, that's for sure. The area doesn't look very friendly at first. The room and bathroom were really dated (as all the hotel is). Sound insolation is bad, also are the windows. The staff was helpful but not that friendly.

    The position is quite good and if you arrive late at night (as we did) the 24h reception is very helpful. Old but beautiful building very close to center. It has an elevator. There is a bus station very close that connects to the airport. There are a lot of places to eat or shop around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    Everything convenient and excellent except breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was pretty plane. Everything was cold, with no variety at all; the cold eggs surprised me the most... There was just one kind of coffee which was not strong enough to keep anyone awake. The room was mostly felt clean.

    The bed was comfortable, cleaners would clean everyday the way they can, the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. Very convenient as it is right in front of the shopping district. No buses were needed for this trip as everything we needed was within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Standard low-class hotel with helpful staff and a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "bathroom" is in the middle of the room and the shower is VERY used. I saw some dark mold in the corners

    Okay hotel in the middle of Thessaloniki city. Its perfectly located. The hotel is a standard low-class hotel with helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location-great price hotel option in central Thessaloniki.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nea Metropolis hotel in Thessaloniki has perfect location, just minutes away from the sea and historical landmarks, but also huste and bustle of city life. There are bus stops as well as central train station in close proximity. The stuff is very friendly, room was clean, with ac and solid wifi. Extra bonus- the best coffee for free 24/7.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms but very noisy. We were woken up by people who screamed in the corridor at 4AM. Breakfast is expensive and not really tasty. AC was noisy... And the view.... Our window opened on a grey dirty wall.

    Staff is friendly and sympathetic. Rooms are clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    The area is perfect, the streets outside is a bit too noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is perfect, the streets outside is a bit too noisy it s difficult to sleep with the window open but the AC works perfectly! The room was ok, the toilets are too small but we didn’t pretend a lot since the price was really convenient! The breakfast wasn’t as rich as expected and to eat outside is really cheap and good so I wouldn’t suggest to book it there. The staff is super kind and helpful, the guys at the reception gave us a lot of good information about where to go and what to see. Total: super suggested if you are an easy going traveler which doesn’t need chic places but nice and friendly personal and a central area :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Great budget hotel in central Thessaloniki
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are on the basic/dated side but this is reflected in the very reasonable room rate of circa EUR60 per night. Not many power points in the room and there is limited surface space for luggage and belongings. Overall i think the breakfast spread was good value and appropriate for a budget hotel like this - though i would have appreciated fresh orange juice and better quality filter coffee.

    The hotel is well located in the centre of the city, a short stroll from the main square and shopping areas. The reception is manned 24 hours and the staff were very helpful & efficient with my requests. Housekeeping do a good job as the rooms are maintained to a high standard of cleanliness. The Greek yoghurt at breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.0
    Horrible, dirty, horrible breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was horrible, no fresh products and very bad coffee. The bathroom was not clean, the shower was sticky. This is absolutely not worth 3 stars!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheaply restored. Simple cold breakfast.

    Excellent location. Everything is within 15 mins walk. Good restaurants nearby. Free parkig on street. Clean bed linens every day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    welcoming and professional attitude by the receptionist,...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bathroom, no bracket on the wall for the shower head

    welcoming and professional attitude by the receptionist, comfortable bed, opaque curtains, hotel is at a relatively quiet street

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Pretty amazing. I will definitely come back if I ever need to
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is a bit small. The hotel needs a small refurbishment to make it that extra special. The current feel it has is hipster/boho chic but I loved it

    The staff were so friendly and accomodating. They met all my requests and queries with smiles and utmost professionalism. I was so happy to be there. The location is central - I even found a 24 hour supermarket on a Sunday close by. The area is beautiful. The rooms are simple and small but have everything you need.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.5
    Only good thing is the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very small and uncomfortable. It is very noisy inside of the hotel, because in the corridors there have a ekho. You can hear everything, every voice, every noise very clear, like it is in your room. There have a auful noise until 3:00 am! The breakfast is so terrible and poor!

    The only good thing is the location of this hotel. And they know this and they don't care about anything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    The staff was very nice, clean bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was pretty small and it was very noisy, you could hear anything through the walls.

    The staff was very nice, clean bathroom. The location is very good, close to the port and relatively in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and looking forward to a future visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view of our room could be better, we were seeing apartments, rather than the sea or the center. The stairs were steep and that can be quite dangerous for some visitors.

    The breakfast was rich and tasty, the staff was polite. The rooms were clear and very quite. Location was good and easy access to the city center, the price was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.0
    good atay if visiting Thessaloniki again would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    only a small issue in a reasonably priced hotel was that showwer was only hand held, addition of wall bracket would be very useful.

    Pleased with hotel, friendly helpful staff, good breakfast, clean room with good air conditioner which is a must in Thessaloniki in summmertime. Nea metropolis is on bus route X1 from the airport and is within reasonable walking distance of plenty of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is located near the main street where you can...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and especially the bathroom were too small for normal (size) people. Fridge and air-conditioning were making some noise during using.

    The hotel is located near the main street where you can reach all lines buses. İnternet and as well air-conditioning in the room were very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in Thessaloniki
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff was really helpful, kind and professional, exspecially Dimitris. The room was not very big but clean (they clean and change towels everyday) and the position is perfect to relax and visit the city. Regular breakfast with amazing yoghurt though.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    3.3
    Strange dirty hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have high expectations since the beginning, but once there saw how far a bad hotel can go. The bathroom was like a room inside the room and it was strange & dirty actually. There were bugs in the room and after I told the receptionist to ask the housekeeping to clean it because it was a bad experience, he said housekeeping is gone and they cant control the flying things so it was not their fault...

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Hard to say if we would come again
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the bathroom even smaller, I put some pic for exemplification. When we made the reservation and we saw the pict. on booking the room didn't seem so small. The outside view was inexistent (actually we could saw a wall at aprox. 60-70 cm from our window). Our room was more like a college room, small, with uncomfortable bed and pillows.

    The room was suficiently clean and the staff polite and helpfull. We value the hotel position , it is not a loud zone and it's close to the center (10-15 minute walk).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location, but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you come by car, you need pay for the parking on the busy nearby streets. There is no more just one!! electricity plug in the room. The room don't brings a smile on your face.

    Location is perfect. It is worth its price, but nothing more.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Basically everything was as expected at this price level -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very small toilette and a shower - a room inside a room.

    Basically everything was as expected at this price level - spacious room, air-conditioning, fridge, beds, breakfast etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    The classical building .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy with other guests banking the doors when closing. The room being small.

    The classical building . The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    I needed to roint some tickets because had jo time to do it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I needed to roint some tickets because had jo time to do it at home, at Nea Metropolis i done this, there was some configuration problem at computer but the man at reception did not stop trying to print them until we got it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Charming unusual hotel in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about

    I believe this hotel is privately owned by a family and it is a gem. It is in an old building and the old style has been used to great effect - high ceilings with decorative mouldings, chandaliers, etc. From 1st floor upwards a lift has been squeezed into the stairwell - brilliant. It's not posh but if you want to stay somewhere different, this might be for you! I found all the staff, including reception, the lady running the breakfast room and the cleaners very helpful. Breakfast was better than expected in an interesting corner room, and there was free tea and coffee in the reception area where there was also a large screen TV. I found the hotel difficult to find as not all streets are named but it is a great location for walking to many of the main sites and sea front. My room was at the back so quiet, and I was able to leave my suitcase on the day i checked out which was very helpful in my circumstances.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Greatly clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    everything was great.the staff is so smiling and helpful.the room was greatly clean.the only problem was parking place.there was not a private parking place of the hotel and also we couldn't find any place on the street.So we parked in a place we paid.it was close to hotel.our room's scenery was balconies of other buildings but it wasn't a problem for us since we just slept at night .there was free water, coffee and tea in the reception hall.Also there were two computers to use internet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    It is really good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really good value for money. The hotel has perfect location, it is in the heart of Thessaloniki. In addition, staff was really helpful, especially Mr Dimitris Simiakos and all front desk guys. Dimitros gave us a lot of advices :) bathroom was big and clean. Breakfast was very tasty and free coffee/tea/water during the day really useful. Room was large and comfortable with small and lovely balcony.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small even for a single person. They need shower holder in the bathroom too. Dont understand why hotels cant spend a few quid to sort these minor things out.

    Central. Clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an old building, sometimes the wood floor may cause some noise when someone walking on it. The facilities provided is fairly good, but the shower head in my room is a little bit aleak and I could not stop it (while, when I closed the door of the washing room, it is Ok for me since I could not hear the sound of leaking).

    The location of the hotel is very nice, it is quite close to the Roman Forum and the Aristotelous Square and the seaside are not far away, just 10 mins by walk. Additionally, because this hotel is not located by the side of the main road, it is very quiet at night. The staffs there are very warm and helpful, they always keep your room key when you leave the room and they also offer free printing service and free water/tea/coffee on the ground floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Never have I stayed in an uglier hotel than Nea Metropolis!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never have I stayed in an uglier hotel than Nea Metropolis! Although the building looks somehow “interbelique” on the outside and seems to have a lot of potential, the facility in itself is one of the poorest ever. Starting with the moulding ceiling and finishing with the shower which is just a hole in the floor right next to the toilet, I guess only the nightmarish breakfast can top the uncomfortableness of the room. It would be better not to offer any meals than the “great” selection of three of the cheapest salamis and boiled eggs for which they do not even provide the necessary cutlery... unless the hotel considers the dessert fork suited for every course. Despite all these, the front desk people were very kind, speaking fluent English, all in all very polite. That’s the only good thing about this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    3.8
    Better sleep in the park than spend 50 eur at this place!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price i paid for! Ok i knew this wasn't the Sheraton but not in such pittiful conditions: Extra old furniture freshly paint to cover the filth and make them seem new, but not offering even the minimum confort. Really does a hanger for the shower head cost that much as they can't afford one?! Makeshift toilet letting all odours/vapour inside and getting 1/3 of the room. The panorama from the wall was the ugly, depressive gray concrete wall of the neighbour. All this at room no.1...imagine how would the last room look like. I wonder if the proprietary of this place lives in similar conditions...

    Free luggage storage after check out

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Acceptable budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Location is not central enough for bus access & walk. Neighborhood feels acceptably safe. Facilities is acceptable. Breakfast is generic continental, acceptable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Classic old hotel with lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquito nets on the windows please. I know you can close them but your cleaning staff tend to leave the window open so if your guest gets back after a certain time they have some new friends in the room.

    Classic old hotel with a proper respect for its own history and the history of Thessaloniki. Staff were friendly and helpful and the place had a good vibe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    High ceilings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, no ramp at the entrance.

    High ceilings. location. Vintage interior items. Balcony. Free aqua, tee, coffee and parking. Very friendly guys are working at the hotel! 😃

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no holder for the shower hose or for the shower lotion It was noisy during the night due to some bars in the neighbourghoud

    - The staff was very friendly and helfull - The location, not far from downtown

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    A very good budget option for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good value and an accessible location for main sights in town. The rooms were basic but had all you needed. The 24 hour free coffee and tea in the entrance hallway was really welcome and access to a PC there was also useful. The hotel coped very well with our large group.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, 5-10 minutes walk from main city square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WIFI signal was disappointing, couldn’t login into basic phone applications.

    Great location, 5-10 minutes walk from main city square. Room was as its stated in the Hotel description, clean and with basic amenities. The staff spoke very fluent english and were helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and great hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location at the center. A very warm welcome early in the morning. All the staff was very kind and helpful with all my requests and questions. A cosy room in a family hotel that I would be happy to return to on my next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    The 1930's style of the Hotel, The location was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 1930's style of the Hotel, The location was Excellent, The staff were excellent, The free Coffee/Tea facility in the lobby area was excellent little touch. The room was very clean with a cleaner changing towels, and the bathroom was cleaned every day. Excellent Excellent, I would definitely come back to the Nea Metropolis

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    It was a short stay though but won’t be staying at this hotel or recommend it to anyone.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the bedroom. I do not need to let anyone know when I need a hot drink. I do not need to climb stairs or elevator with a hot drink in my hands. Too weird.

    Vicinity

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Bed was really comfortable,hotel was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a very minor point! But the room was just too brown! Everything was brown,tiles paint floor, bed cover! If it was painted White it would be lovely.

    Bed was really comfortable,hotel was very clean. Staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    6.7
    Recommended for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels outdated. Could use some renovation. No sound insulation. Could hear the road and loud guests all the time. Bathroom is really small and gets wet everywhere when you take a shower.

    Express check in. Complimentary coffee and tea all day. Secure feeling with 24 hour reception. Helpful staff. Fridge in the room. Location in the city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.2
    I've stayed in this property several times over the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It may get noisy at times, but that is due to some guests' lack of respect, rather than to the hotel's policy.

    I've stayed in this property several times over the years, which is indicative of my preference. It's located in the "heart" of the city center, making it an ideal base for the exploration of Thessaloniki. Extremely courteous staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Good place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being an old building, the sound insulation is not very good if you have noisy neighbours

    Great location, helpful staff. The room was clean and had everything needed for a short stay. The ceiling was funky and its height made the room seem more spacious. The bed was comfortable, but some may need an extra pillow. All in all, a good place for a couple of days with your friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Thank you staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Old interior, broken bath.

    At first - staff. I have been in a lot of hotels, but the staff in this hotel is the best. Especially 2 guys working in reception are very kind and ready to help you every time. At the same time the room cleaners are very smile and kind. Cleanness is normal. Location - is perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    good for short stays
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It doesn't have its own parking,so you have to count on additional 15 eur for 24-hour private parking nearby. In addition, wi-fi signal was poor, but there is one public PC in the lobby for urgent situations.

    Hotel is well located, in the city center, in old building, but everything was very clean. Staff is extremely kind and cooperative. Excellent value for money! Recommended for short stays in the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly staff at the reception, tea and coffee...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff at the reception, tea and coffee available in the reception for everyone, anytime. Excellent location, just 20 minutes walk from the white tower and with a bus stop just outside of the building. Really nice old school architecture

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.5
    If you care more to explore Thessaloniki rather than spending time in the room, then go for it..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really small with no balcony so I used it only for sleeping there. In case you enjoy to spend long time in the room I would not recommend it. Also sometimes the pressure of the water in the shower was dropping really low and I had to wait for a couple of minutes until the pressure is back, which could be frustrating.

    Located literally in the centre of the town really close to the nightlife of Thessaloniki, the level of cleanliness was satisfactory and the staff was really helpful and provided me with all the necessary information about moving around.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect loxation and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothong at all

    decoration, facilities, quite neiboroud, shops all around, we could go everywhere on foot, nice big room, hot water during all day, perfect internet and airconditioning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Last moment reservation whit ok discount, but room left...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Last moment reservation whit ok discount, but room left feeling that for me they give smallest and oldest room. Well reservation was for one night and price for last moment reservation was relatively cheap, but anyway... room could be better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Staff service , coffee and tea availability for free at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short bed ( for me ) not so confortable bed design . Bad bathroom design where all water from shower was out of shower . See photos .

    Staff service , coffee and tea availability for free at lobby area .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.8
    Poor and below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Average hotel. Comfortable beds,but too small . No sofa, small tv, not nice lights, view from our room was to dirty back yard. The bathroom is unusable, the shower is so close to the toilet. Impossible to find parking(It took me 15 minutes).

    Staff - helped and explained to us everything. Location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    An enjoyable week with a friendly welcome from the reception staff each time you entered the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Shower curtain was not long enough, each time you had a shower water went all over the floor. No hook to hang the shower head on. This is not a complaint but be aware that if you have mobility difficulties the lift does not go up to the breakfast room on the 4th floor only to the 3rd floor.

    The location very convenient for transport, shops, restaurants. The staff were very helpful & friendly. Everywhere was spotlessly clean. Bed comfy, bed linen & towels very clean. Hot water & room heating very good. The continental breakfast was more than adequate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is very small.

    We had a great stay here. Located centrally between the Bus station and the White tower and Museums. Everything we needed was within walking distance. Great Wifi, we had no loss of connection or difficulties of any kind. Great strength even on third floor. The staff was very polite and helpful, with great English. The reception desk opened 24 hours. Our room was reasonably spacious with small fridge and private bathroom. The shower is small but works like any good shower. The room and bathroom were very clean. Towels replaced and bed made daily. This is the best value stay we could find in the area and would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    As I've stayed at Nea Metropolis on several occasions, I...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Sometimes, especially at night, it may get noisy, depending on the level of respect of some guests towards the rest. I think that phenomena like this should be dealt with more efficiently in the future.

    As I've stayed at Nea Metropolis on several occasions, I will simply reiterate previous comments. Centrally located, clean, extremely helpful, courteous staff. Ideal as a base for a short or longer visit to the city and its environs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Clean, centrally located, good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom has no window neither ventilator, which is a problem if you share the room with partners. Also the bathroom curtain needs to be closer to the bath.

    Centrally located, very clean despite its age, and the staff is quite helpful. Furthermore, compared to the hotels near Aristotelous SQ, it has excellent value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is centrally located, the underground parking at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is centrally located, the underground parking at extra charge is not far, though it's a difficult car navigation in the city and no free parking lots we have easily found the hotel and enjoyed our short stay in Thessaloniki. The staff is very hospitable and always friendly! Thank you!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    I enjoyed. As my aim it's to see my friends and the city. plus I was happy with the services of the
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathroom in which room we stayedo was too small. and some stuff in the toilet are missing

    It's was cosy near by the aristotelous square and all restaurant and clubs. Most important the front desc 3 manager were so kind and smily

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Center location, that also means a little bit noisy with open windows. Door and furniture not really new, so not 100% comfortable, but it was not a problem ()for a short stay)

    Very nice antique structure. Staff very kindly. Great location (very near to the city center).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    5.0
    Maybe for one night stay if nowhere else available
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are badly in need of a total refurbishmant. our rooms was small with an horrendous bathroom/shower room. The shower is awful and tiny with a smell of damp. The furniture needs to be replaced and the mattress was awful and every spring and lump could be felt. For travelers with a car there is next to no parking anywhere however if your lucky you may get one of the hotels reserved parking slots on the road. The hotel has more of a hostel feeling than a hotel.

    On Arrival the Hotel looked ike a nice period building. The check in was easy and the staff very welcoming and friendly. The constant free tea and coffee was a good touch The location is great for central Thessaloniki with close walks to the bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    The location is perfect.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The big minus was the bathroom with a smelly sink (mould?) and non functionning ventilation.

    The location is perfect. In the center and close to all you need (busy street closeby with plenty of breakfast options/coffees), open market, Aristote square, all within 1-10min walking distance. The room was simple and efficient and the bed fine. The room is not giving directly on a bust street which is nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Budget hotel that should also have budget prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic, as well as the breakfast. The elevator was very narrow, the toilet was obviously built afterwards in the room as an extra small room within the room. Although everything was clean and they provided what they promised, the overall impression was just poor to fair, just because everything was smaller than it should (room, toilet, elevator). Not for 58 Euros per night in any case.

    The location was great and the hotel delivered what was described in the site.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.4
    a fair place for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i practically decreased my evaluation on purpose due to the fact that the hotel frozen money on my bank account almost for a month in spite of the fact that I fully paid the room upon departure. Moreover they did not respond to my email.

    The property was quite faire for one night stay (quality/location/price). However, the streets nearby are busy and full of bars, so during the night it might be noisy. The location is quite okay, the stuff is friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    A friendly and convenient base for exploring Thessaloniki on foot or by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel turned out to be easy to reach, first by public bus from the Airport and then on foot from the city centre near Platia Aristotelous. It hides itself away rather modestly, but in fact is very well situated. I found the people on Reception very friendly and helpful, the room was fine, and I appreciated the 'internet corners' and the coffee available in the entrance lobby. I also really liked the internal decor, especially the historical pictures of Thessaloniki.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Value for money hotel in the city center
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly stuff, they carried my baggage to the 1st floor to take the elevator. Old building, but well maintained and clean.Fast wifi, A/C, close to attractions, market, bars, bus stop to airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Good for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, small balconies, pure brekfast menu (better then in other hotels from area), very dificult to find an parking space. Also no ashtray on the balcony and very very small bathroom.

    Location. Almost perfect, near Aristotelus Boulevard. Very nice personal. They help me to find a free parking space on the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a joke... awfull matress. Very hard to find a parking spot, we managed to find an underground valet-type parking space.

    Receptionist was very helpful. Perfect location for a nights stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Close to city center,very kindly staff of reception. The boy of reception help me with one parking space infront of the hotel anď I want to thank him on this way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    The location and it is fair for the money we have paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the furniture could be a little bit upgraded but it is a fair hotel for the amount paid. I do not have complains

    The location and it is fair for the money we have paid. I coyld say that was perfect for 1 night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If the shower curtain were longer probably there would be less water on the floor

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location. Good combination of quality and price. Coffee and tea. Stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and enjoyed it. Wi-Fi and air conditioning were working properly. Shower lotion smelled very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.4
    Ok for a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is very plain, with few options (no cheese available). the shower curtain does not go all the way to the floor so all the water goes out in the bathroom making a huge paddle. tiny lift.

    The location is fine, walking distance to the city centre, wifi, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is great. The location is very central, just a few minutes from Aristotelous. The staff was very friendly and willing to help in everything I needed. The room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast very good. An ideal place. I will definitely stay at it again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel worth going pleasant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be nice to have had complimentary drinks in the room, such as coffee

    The bed was comfy, the breakfast was traditional European style which I enjoy and the coffee was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.8
    No sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise was so irritating that we couldn't sleep untill 3am. Toilet is installed in the room like toi toi, sounds when someone pushes the water button in their bathroom are heared next to your bed in your own room, and its loud. AC's drops kept falling all night from a floor above on our window, when we tried to find solution with staff, there was no help.

    Location is actually the only + to this hotel and staff is very pleasent

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nea Metropolis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: