Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nireas Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Kato Daratso, 73100, Greece

#18 of 74 hotels in Kato Daratso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was kind of disappointing :( The selection was big but the quality wasn't enough for us (scrambled eggs tasted very weird). And it's 7€ per person, not 6€ as stated on the information sheet you find in the room (we pointed it out when we checked out, not sure the lady understood what I said. Not a big deal though.).

    Our one bedroom apartment was very spacious and clean, the balcony was also very big. The swimming pool was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Nireas resort is tucked away on a small hill a bit away...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no specific thing that stand out to complain about. However the breakfast is just about ok. Not bad but not a dinning experience either. Enough to fuel you to get going. Plenty of variety tho and fruits and cakes too.

    Nireas resort is tucked away on a small hill a bit away from the traffic of the main road making it a quiet and relaxing place to stay. The pool is excellent and again pool has a policy of quiet period during the afternoon. There is a tennis court too and you can pick rackets from the reception ( perhaps bringing ur own set of balls is recommended). Very easy to get to Chania with frequent buses and the bus stop is a stone’s throw away. Plenty of restaurant and shops and markets in the vicinity.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall a really good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sheets were very poor quality and also barely big enough for the bed. I complained to Christos and he found us new ones fresh out of the box. Sadly also too small and the low quality evident. The place is otherwise much better than the bed linen so well worth upgrading Christos.

    Christos was fantastic with travel info etc. Pool great room and balcony nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    We spent lovely time in Nireas Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We spent lovely time in Nireas Hotel. We traveled there with a toddler and a baby so it was important for us to find a good hotel. The Manager - Christos was super helpful and kind. The apartment was very comfortable, convienient and clean, with a lovely view (we had the top apt) of both the sea and the mountains. The hotel is close to the main street where you can find several restaurants with very good local food. (Christos even helped us order a takeaway). It is a few mins walk from the bus stop to Chania (nr 15&21) OH! and the best ice cream place is just at the end of the street (I love pagoto). We will definitely go back there and recommend it to our friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    A splendid place for a quiet holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Birds around the property had some amazingly loud chirping and singing sessions at 5 a.m., and the neighboring dogs joined the discussion at sunrise. One of the cats living at the location had sneaked up into our bed two times during nighttime, and, despite generally sympathizing, we had to expel her. Not being serious here, it is a wonderful place. The shower is rather tiny, but that is very common for Crete and Greece.

    Splendidly green and lush with flowers, relatively small and quiet, cosy place. Very fine location just off the road, no noise, smaller shops, eateries, laundry just next to the hotel, with two big supermarkets 5 min away. The three neighboring beaches in 10-15 min walking distance are some of the best on Crete, in our opinion, with both paid sunbeds-umbrellas-beach bar areas and large free zones. One of them is especially children-friendly. Christos is an amazing host, very helpful and friendly. The family room we had was quite spacious and nice, despite having some a bit dated furniture. The pool is quite big and the pool area very nice. The best place on Crete we stayed in so far!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    The pool was nice and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was leaking on the floor, so it was wet all the time in our room. The pool bar was pretty expensive.

    The pool was nice and beautiful. The room was nice. The manager was helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Had lovely holiday nice area but disappointed in accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms was not the rooms shown on booking.com! They were tired and shabby.bathroom ceiling split and stained no glass shower screen broken hose on shower very crude shelf over sink with utility brackets towels worn thread bear and frayed see better days bath mat has holes . Complained re towels the state of them and only changed every 3 days in write up but over weekend was 4 to 5 days we offered to pay for fresh decent towels daily.was informed would have meeting with family to discuss.bar area only maned am and to welcome guests.at least 5 light bulbs not working and all odd builds in different fitting. Bases electrical fittings and white phone were a shade of nicotine we did comment to Christof our dissapointment in the condition of the rooms and was advised these rooms were waiting to be refurbished it's a shame you never advised on booking .com that you may get a room awaiting refurbishment and not the new stylist ones shown in the pictures

    Comfy bed pool was nice also balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    A very good example of typical Greek holiday self-catering accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small basic bathroom, but typical for this style and price of accommodation, so no major issue.

    Excellent pool area, large, peaceful and generally quiet. Friendly and helpful property owner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    As the hotel is popular with families. be sure to check how many families are staying there at one time if you are looking for child free holiday. It wasn't really an issue for the majority of our trip as there was a good mix of young people, couples and families. However, for the last couple of days there was a slight overload of kids with all of the noise associated with that. I understand that might be a particular point for my own preference but its worth noting.

    Christos the owner is amazing and treats you like family. He will bend over backwards to make sure you enjoy your holiday, including organizing trips and activities, making recommendations and just being available. The rooms have everything you need and they are being continuously improved. The pool and bar areas are lovely and there is also a tennis court should you wish to use it. If you are looking for a casual place that is clean, welcoming and has all of the usual amenities then look no further. Breakfast is also provided for 7 Euros with lots of choice, and for lunch Christos and his team can make basically anything you like for reasonable prices, to a very high standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Perfect holiday in a beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect hotel in a great location, very relaxing with great facilities to Chania town, walking distance to a handful of beautiful beaches and right next to the bus stop whilst also being tranquil and quiet. Cristos was an excellent host, nothing was too much bother would 100% Recommend to anyone 😊.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful grounds (lots of flowers), friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could use an update, but there was plenty of space. The shower faucet needed a new fixture to hang it up and the linens could have been nicer.

    Beautiful grounds (lots of flowers), friendly and helpful staff/proprietor, quiet and away from the main road, felt safe, bed was simple but nice and firm, AC worked well and it was very nice to have a small terrace with chairs to sit outside. I think it's definitely good value for money, especially in comparison to the surrounding areas because the pool and plants are so pleasant and it's off the main road, but still convenient. But not a 4-star place, so keep expectations in check.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    What a choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot fault it.

    Loved it's location. The complex is all you need and staff could not be more friendly and helpful. Chris is an amazing host! Clean & quiet. Would definitely go back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    The service was nice and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the smell and strange flies in the bathroom. It took a while to figure out these insects, but according to google they looked similar to drain flies. They shouldnt be harmful, but still I didn't like them.

    The service was nice and friendly!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Great week at Nireas Hotel in early season
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We loved everything.

    Our week at NireaNs Hotel was one to remember. We were totally relaxed and our room was spacious and clean. Just what we were looking for. Some lovely walks in the area and enough bars and restaurants to eat somewhere different every night. Christos really looked after us and we are sure to book again in the future.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The experience was excellent I can not thank the owner enough who was waiting for me at 11.30 PM so that I do not have any problem checking in. I am sure I will go again and stay for a longer period

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Best holiday experience my family have ever had! 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool wasn't heated.

    Excellent and beautiful hotel, the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and my family really appreciate all he did to welcome us and giving us a great holiday experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    10
    We stayed in this hotel for seven days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We stayed in this hotel for seven days. Everything was perfect. Christop and his family was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed every single day in this hotel. The atmosphere was super. We recommend this hotel for everyone. We are planning to come back next time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Great location, friendly staff, quite, nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi was very slow or not working sometimes.

    Great location, friendly staff, quite, nice pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    nice week in Nireas!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing could have been better, great value hotel.

    Everything great as we expected!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Perfect location if you want a quite relaxing holiday .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, spotlessly clean and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Newly renovated rooms with full kitchen equipment. Nice pool area. Very friendly staff. Short distance to beaches (very suitable for kids)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Beach and city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the stay and the owner is friendly and efficient. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    The host Christos is an amazing lovely man
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaner forgot to clean one day

    The host Christos is an amazing lovely man

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Everything was as described, luxury and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as described, luxury and cozy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Value for money, great pool, very near to Chania town.
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Magnificent pool, great location, clean rooms, warm personnel, easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Bravo :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice place,very helpful and friendly owner and a great location near to some beautiful beaches and close to the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Great location, great good, friendly people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The transfer to and from the airport is limited. There is no transfer bus that brings you to your accomadation. Taxi only.

    Location was perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.6
    Poorly maintained, threadbare towels and sheets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly maintained, threadbare towels and sheets. Questionable plumbing. Pool area ok not more. Sunbeds broken etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Spacious, clean room and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Friendly & very helpful staff. Spacious and clean room. Fantastic views from balcony. Great swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Swimming pool was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was good. Rooms with kitchen and balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Very helpful owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful owner!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.8
    Amazing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Chris was super friendly, accommodating, and helpful the entire weekend. I felt safe and comfortable traveling alone and staying at this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Staff is very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little bit hard to find the hotel in the dark

    Staff is very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    We loved it!!! Great stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad

    The manager Christop was super friendly and very helpful! We had everything we wanted!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    Great location, close to bus stops to take you into Chania...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A small window in the kitchen area needed a blind or curtain as the sun shone through first thing in the morning making the room very bright.

    Great location, close to bus stops to take you into Chania and a 10-15 minute walk to some lovely beaches. Restaurants and supermarkets close by. Very friendly staff who were very eager to please and if you needed something for your room you just had to ask and it would appear.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    The room was recently renovated and the cleaning staf was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was recently renovated and the cleaning staf was professional. We have read some comments about barking dogs but nothing has bothered our stay in this lovely area.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    5.4
    Nothing special
    • Couple

    The manager was rude, the pool was green for the dirty backcloth, the room was poor and very aged (It stinks of old!) and it was accessorized with very basic and obsolescent appliances. The Wi-fii was only in public zone and often not working (either disconnecting or not connecting or weak or slow or disappearing...) There isn't privacy in that hotel: neither acoustic insulation nor covering of visibility. The rooms open on the central pool with big glass doors and the balconies are very low. From every room you see a lot of other rooms so often you feel a bit observed. There's no comfort here. We will never return of course!

    Nothing special

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    Hotel owner was extremely helpful and really friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed mattresses were bit too hard, as usually in most Greek hotels. However, Hotel manager could arrange some improvement asap when asked.

    Hotel owner was extremely helpful and really friendly and hardworking person. We really feel us welcome in Hotel Nireas.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.8
    The staff (that spoke English) was very nice and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The facilities was quite worn down. The hot water was very sporadic, the power went out in our room twice, the beds were very uncomfortable.

    The staff (that spoke English) was very nice and helpful! Absolutely the best about the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    10
    Deciding to past a relaxed weekend with my wife and two kids...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Deciding to past a relaxed weekend with my wife and two kids we booked at the hotel since it's located just a few km outside chania. Great location, friendly staff, comfortable room for a family with kids and a very nice pool area. Very close to the beach, and very quiet envirometbnaeay from main roads. Highly suggested.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.5
    The pool,the staff,the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beds,bathrooms

    The pool,the staff,the location!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    10
    nice and quiet near the sea and the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice and quiet near the sea and the city the owner was very helpful big pool we will come again

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Excellent for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent for the price

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    Clean hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi access

    Clean hotel, good location

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly, helpful and welcoming people (both staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly, helpful and welcoming people (both staff and management)

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    very big swiming pool ,big rooms and friendly personel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very big swiming pool ,big rooms and friendly personel

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: