Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Athens 4 stars

4-6 Michail Voda and Makedonias Street, Athens, 10439, Greece

#173 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1520 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lication was poor, the views from the hotel rooms were of graffiti and rundown and derelict buildings.

    The rooftop restaurant was very nice and the staff were friendly. The pool and poolside bar were also very nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only problem was the location did not like the area whatsoever very bad area we had a little situation with our tour guide Left his wallet in his locked car but someone still managed to steal his wallet I don’t recommend area .

    Hotel was very clean stuff were very helpful they upgraded our room to a suite because my kids were uncomfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view of the Acropolis from the pool area both day & night. And great to come back after a long day of touring to a swimming pool that offers you drinks , food of high quality.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighbourhood was alittle dark and would not consider walking around. But taxis are widely available. Bar prices were a bit steep especially for cartoon fruit juice I think it was around £5. Pool abit small for size of hotel.

    Rooms and bathroom nice and big, very clean and modern hotel. Staff were very friendly. Short taxi ride from centre and Plaka area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay two days more,then I findout that the price is mutch chepet if I contact the hotel direct Price by booking .com was €199 per night ,direct by hotel €145 in the same room incliding breakfast !!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not overly friendly. Check-in/out process poor with one man doing work and others nothing, plus not serving people in order. Room not clean and holes in sheets.

    Breakfast had a good range.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture and amenities in the room were stained or burned (couch) or broken. The rooms need a bit of an upgrade. The corridors are fairly dark. The room service menu is boring! In need of more appealing additions and less frozen food. The surrounding neighborhood is not very friendly.

    It was fairly straightforward to get to in terms of location. Staff are multilingual so communicating was pretty easy. The rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The outside balcony light didn't work and someone had obviously been in to look at it as requested but it remained broken

    Te helpfulness of the staff who found the right room for us to be comfortable in

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Customer service - especially at breakfast. We felt very much out of place and being discriminated against. The people in charge of the breakfast area were not friendly and polite. We could definitely sense a discriminatory attitude in them in serving our requests versus those from other western visitors. This is shameful in this world of today which is connected and technological advancements have blurred global geographic boundaries. A couple of stewards at the breakfast table were not only rude in their forthwith actions but failed to give us proper information with reference to the various food items and the type of meat contained in each of them.

    Central location and accessibility

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool view and free parking.

    Nice hotel, no difference from other Novotels. Free parking lot. Location not the best, but ok. The good thing is The View on the top floor, there pool is located. Breakfast - nothing especial, same as other Novotel's. The building itself and the elevators very used, but maintained ok. May consider to come back in the future only because of pool view and free parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complimentary water in the room. The working desk could be a bit larger, although it is OK for laptop work. Better coffee amenities in the room are needed.

    Nice but small room, clean, with effective A/C. Quiet if the window was closed, noisy with the window open (due to the road traffic). Comfortable bed. Nice bathroom and shower. Polite staff, very fast check in and check out process.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location; not ideal location for easy metro access; not many choices for eating-out in the vicinity of the hotel; lack of privacy between bathroom & bedroom

    Connecting rooms for families; decent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the nicest hotels I’ve stayed in So there was nothing at all that I would fault except location but taxis are available outside and ar very cheap

    Staff were so friendly and helpful Room was spacious and well appointed Balcony to catch the sun in the afternoon Rooftop pool & bar Real orange juice at breakfast Powerful shower

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor location if you want to go sightseeing. The area is quite rough and not safe to walk so had to get a taxi everywhere. The breakfast was poor with minimal variety. The majority of food was not fresh and the hot breakfast was limited and cold. The restaurant was very poor. The food was tasteless and clearly cooked from frozen. The price of the restaurant food was overpriced given the quality.

    Friendly staff Pool was clean with plenty of sun loungers available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area! Filthy, dirty run down area! Graffiti and trash everywhere! I would not walk around this area by myself or at night! I wanted to love you Athens but I couldn’t! You were once a Marylyn Monroe, in her Prime! Now you look like Marylyn, all covered in Tatts and on Meth! Sad...

    Safety, inside hotel. Great view on rooftop with a bar!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The availability of gluten free food was poor and when I requested gluten free bread , it was given to me FROZEN! On a number of occasions at the end of our stay dirty dishes and glasses were not removed from the room.

    The choice of food at breakfast was good. Staff were helpful. Mostly the room was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Rooms very small and dark and a little drab, no bath (not great for kids), bar way too expensive, hotel in a really AWFUL area, TERRIBLE view from windows, foldaway beds are really uncomfortable as all the springs dig in (the lovely staff gave us a proper mattress though), breakfast was really average - cooked items were stone cold, no variety, no fried / poached eggs. Best part was the orange juice.

    Hotel pool, staff, restaurant, reception (excellent staff on reception - in fact your staff are all wonderful and lovely)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is really run down and did make me feel uneasy but that’s not the hotels fault.

    Staff were friendly and helpful as soon as we walked through the door. Hotel was spotless, room was lovely and restaurant food was delicious. Roof top pool was lovely and the views over Athens breathtaking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deceptive and annoying policies. Just for instance 500 ml water costs you 2 Euros if order in room and 1 Euro if order in restaurant. why such pricing?

    Decent hotel with nothing special but nothing terrible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was less desirable. It does not look like a great hotel when you pull up. Our room faced and alley way, and there was lots of noise outside the room. We did not go out at night, because it was situated in a dark area. The metro was about a 10 minute walk, but that was through many busy streets and uneven roadways

    The hotel was great. Beautiful on the inside. Nice bar and restaurant. Children's play area. Great view on the rooftop

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location isn't perfect due to the rundown nature of Athens and Greece right now. But that is largely out of the hands of the staff. Once you got inside the quality was solid.

    The room was clean with a comfy bed. No noise from outside made it easy to sleep. The shower had plenty of hot water even first thing in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area. The view was amazing but the surrounding area was dark, full of graffities and rubbish

    One of the reasons for choosing this hotel was the swimming pool, buy it was not opened because the season. However, this kind of things you need to know before booking a room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel feels like it is out of the way and not in the best neighborhood. Not many restaurants or anything immediately on the same block or around the corner. Did find a great restaurant near other hotels 15 Min walk away.

    Easily accessible by taxi to the hotel and a 25-30 min walk to all of the highlights and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV should have broadcasted CNBC Europe, but Bloomberg was available. Also, there was an electricity spike that apparently wiped out my old Acer computer.

    The breakfast was included at the Athens Novotel and it was very delicious. The Fitness Center was excellent, and I appreciated the lounge next door to the Gym. The location is superb since I found out that it was located within a few blocks of the Main Athens Suburban Railroad Station (off Philadelphia Street) and can be taken all the way to the Airport (much preferred than the Metro)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room's carpet seems not being vacuumed properly . Hotel surrounding area is a bit of dirty.

    Quiet,comfortable room, Polite staff. Has a security staff on ground .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk attendants(2 young ones,evening shift) were not helpful when I asked for assistance regarding online check in for our flight; however 2 other more mature front desk personnel(daytime personnel) were very accomodating.

    The location was perfect,walking distance to the National Archeological Museum, flea markets, restaurants that served good food. Room rate was value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area of the hotel was really poor and dangerous. You can’t get out of the hotel without getting a taxi. So, we also spent lot of money on taxis. Also, the view from the balcony was poor also.

    Nice bedrooom, nice breakfast, friendly staff. The staff there were happy to let us check out later than normal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I ordered room service and the waiter came to my room banging on the door repeatedly, I was on the phone at the time and he didn't stop banging, I shouted I'm on the phone hold on, he just carried on banging so I hung up the phone answered the door and said hey I was on the phone! he just looked at me rudely and said well you need to open the door nobody answered so I have to keep knocking, lack of manners there. They put me in a small room even though I had paid for a superior double, I complained for like half hour o the receptionist and she finally changed my room. The water in my bathroom stunk very bad to the point of when I was in the bathroom I could smell it, like a dirty damp smell. for the first minute or so when I turn the tap on. The staff lacked the hospitality I expected from a 4 star hotel! I checked out the following morning even though I had paid 180 Euro for that night, I didn't feel comfortable asked if they could refund me for that night as I was leaving and they refused saying I need to speak with the manager which was not going to be there for 2 days!!! Bad experience felt like they where treating me wrong because I'm a foreigner and you know they think that it doesn't matter he's a tourist. Never would stay there again, not for free.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were uncomfortable. Breakfast buffet wasnt very hot. No where really comfortable to sit in the evening other than the restaurant. Not a nice area of Athens to be in.

    Free WiFi, clean and tidy, friendly staff. Great view of the Acropolis from the roof bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's nothing about the hotel not to like - ignore the surroundings, Athens has suffered dreadfully these last few years, and even the best areas are now covered in graffiti.

    Customer service at this hotel is first class. We recommend paying the few euros extra for the pick up service from the hotel. The surrounding area is not brilliant, but we found the locals friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "GYM" was stretching the description somewhat. Sorry, but a bike, a cross trainer, a treadmill and one multigym machine does not constitute a "gym".

    Reasonably quiet for the middle of Athens.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC in our room did not work when we arrived so we were moved to a second room. The second room smelled strongly like sewage. We were moved to a third room and told by the unfriendly front desk clerk that "this is your last option", as if we were being difficult. We were apologetic and polite, but we paid a lot of money and we weren't going to stay in a hot or foul-smelling room. In the third room the AC was extremely weak so we ended up sleeping with the windows open instead, trading quiet for cool. The rooms (at least the 3 that we saw) are dated and in poor condition (dirty walls, cracks in the trim and shower, ripped couch cushions, etc.) We expect a bit more from a Novotel. Although it was clean and fairly quiet, we wouldn't book this hotel again based on the staff and how old the rooms are.

    The breakfast was pretty good. The location was convenient (5 minute walk to a metro station). The bathroom was bright and clean, with nice toiletries provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad location, not at all family friendly.. cant walk around after 8 PM with the family. Hookers on the street around the hotel.

    good size room, good breakfast, friendly staff, good room service food, value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood is dangerous... it’s not an area where you walk ... you must drive there and left with a car too.

    The team of the hotel is really helping and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the bathroom was rank from time to time. I think it is the sewage system in Athens.

    All of the staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great customer service. Friendly staff. Room was spacious n bed were comfy. Roof top bar with fascinating view of arcopolis at nite. Do not worry about all d graffiti around that area. Whole Athens had graffiti everywhere. 6-7 min walk from Larissa station. We (6 ladies) felt safe walking at nite ( between 8-9pm ). Breakfast was good n must try d body cream provided in d room. It is superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to plaka area but I would next time choose to stay in that area as it is the happening central area.

    Excellent breakfast included, room was large and excellent rooftop facilities for swimming drinks and dinner with beautiful views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the rooms had an issue with hot water but its manageable. A/c was down for few mins.

    Breakfast is huge and worth every penny. Loved the rooms. Service is good at reception. Wifi also is good. Will stay again for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pricing was a bit higher for one room which was wrongly charged. Asked for a refund. Will not leave till I get my 50 Euros back.

    Breakfast is TOO GOOD. Rooms are very neat and tidy. Loved the stay. Got a free upgrade for one of the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is horrible, worst area in center, a scary to go outside in the evening, 15 min walk to Plaka. The room to fit 4 people very small -tight

    Pool and tarrace on top floor amazing, although cold at night in october

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit shabby in terms of fixtures and fittings. Not a patricular nice view from room and channels on TV were very poor. Neighbourhood seems a bit dirty and not well taken care off.

    A nice stay at Novotel Athens. Staff very much helpful, breakfast was good and rooms are clean and tidy and well equiped. Lobby was so clean and the smell was absolutely refreshing. Pool is also nice with a very good area to have a drink with the view of the Acropolis. I must also say that we were provided a late check out till 14:00 which we really appreciated since we check in late the night. Hotel is in a fairly good location about a 10mins walk to the metro station. A good hotel overall but a bit expensive for the money paid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The let down was the saloon style bathroom doors in the room which left no real privacy. I have been with my partner for years but still like a bit of mystery!

    Breakfast was comprehensive and the pool area had great views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is ok... takes a 20 minute walk to get to the touristy part of Athens but you have to go through not very nice areas.

    All of what you can expect in a Novotel plus a great terrace pool with a good restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it's a little bit scary to walk outside alone at night, but it's not too far from the metro

    the stuff are very very nice, the room is big and the price is great, breakfast is very good, the pool could be bigger and warmer but overall very recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a really bad zone. It is not very safe. However, we always took a taxi from the hotel to the city center and back and felt safe.

    Everything was great about the hotel itself. The staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable. The roof top pool is amazing and you have a view over the whole city, including the akropolis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ok, bit of a run down area - staff were mostly friendly, but were not helpful in directing me to nearest metro station. My room was no smoking but it smelt of stale smoke, I queried this and was told it was a no anointing gloor but I could smell stale smoke - I asked to change rooms but this was not actioned! Breakfast choice was fabulous although hot food was cold! Not enough heat lamps!

    Breakfast choice was fabulous lots of choice! Staff were friendly! Rooftop bar was fantastic, great place to watch the sunset!! Staff were lovely to there :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just couldn't find the right plug for my chargers lb

    I love this hotel I always book at Novotel around Europe the food was great as the location toi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a fairly long walking distance to the metro station and the neighbourhood is not live.

    Very good breakfast and the staff at the rooftop are very friendly especially george

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood is quite scary

    The hotel is quite modern. The restaurants and bar are of great quality specially the one on the roof top. The bedroom was really well equipped and the balcony was huge. The swimming pool is great specially in august.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were attentive and friendly but some were not !!!example we were locked out from our room saw a lady supervising the cleaners asked her to open the door , she would not do it until she called downstairs to verify , considering it was just after breakfast and say our departure was that day we still had give or take another 2 hours to leave the premises I would have thought she would have opened the door and verified later. Also knowing fully well that cards sometimes do not work I think that was in poor taste.

    The breakfast was lovely , we had a lot to choose from , the roof top, bar and pool were also lovely. The reception staff were also very helpful especially the gentleman who attended to us on our first day . The play area and Nintendo games for the kids was also a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a not so pleasant smell in the corridors and the bed sheet had spots. The food was nice but the vegetables in my dish were cold. The elevators were scary to go up there was a loud sound at a certain point, we felt unsafe.

    At breakfast buffet the bread was very nice and the orange juice was actually fresh and not from a cartoon. The staff were very friendly and the room was clean. The swimming pool area was nice and the view at night was amazing. We were lucky enough we saw fire works from a distance while having dinner at the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Time for renovation - rooms are rather small, pool is also small and usually very packed. Very limited menu at the rooftop restaurant. Location of the hotel is disappointing.

    Not far from the old part of the city by taxi or walk + metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got stuck in the lift. 3 adults 1 teenager a 5 yr old and a 1 year old. There was no air we had to call through twice to get someone to get us out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great pool area. I forgot my phone at the hotel upon departure and the staff were so helpful and arranged for my phone to be couriered back to Dublin.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Environment/Area around the hotel is not very good. Employees were very gossipy right in front of me. Service in the restaurant was ok but nothing to rave about. Employees too busy with other things to serve their customers well during the day. I was supposed to be charged in US dollars and ended up having to pay overcharges due to their mischarging me in Euros.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room was small for a family of 4 once the pull out sofa bed and suitcases were open. The bathroom is pretty to look at in terms of design with its frosted glass door but not family friendly given the door is thin (and all sounds travel) and has no lock (by design). The surrounding neighbourhood is not pretty and appeared average in the night. Do not recommend walking around looking for somewhere to eat for dinner with a young family.

    Views of the acropolis from the rooftop pool were pretty awesome. Happy to see dogs in the lift with the owners as didn't realise it was dog friendly (didn't see any doggies swimming in the rooftop pool though). Buffet breakfast catered for all and the midday check out as well as free undercover parking are handy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After 10 days in Eratini the prices of food and drinks were really high. The pool was very crowded after 4 P.M.

    Friendly staff in the restaurant and bar. We felt immediately welcome. Very nice view from terrace and pool. Good beds and clean room and bathroom. The view on the street from the room on te 2nd floor was not that nice but we didn't spend much time in our room so it didn't really matter. Breakfast was perfect with fresh orange juice. The children also had a good time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant on the roof: overpriced and not that good. The extra bed in the room: very uncomfortable. The area where the hotel is located: nothing interesting and dirty.

    The pool on the roof, the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very clean, comfortable and modern hotel with an amazing view of Acropolis from the rooftop bar/restaurant, as well as a delicious buffet breakfast with great variety. Our room was even upgraded!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is very run down so can be a bit intimidating. We had no problems, but it could be tempting to stay in the hotel. The little square across the road has a great restaurant that's a lot cheaper. The pool is very small for the number of people who descend on it at the end of the day, so don't expect to do any lengths. It's about a 30 mins walk to the Agora, so it's not too far out, but not central either. The fact that breakfast stops at 10 am means everyone descends just before that so its a bit mad trying to get a table. It would be better to keep going a bit longer.

    La piscine en haut avec super vue. The swimming pool has a great view. The check in staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hi During our family stay my younger daughter was accident in level 7th pool side,almost hotel involve staff was fully co operate to handle this case till we check out...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighbouring streets a little concerning. Didn't really feel safe to walk around at night.

    Friendly and accommodating staff. Hotel clean. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to fault here really, would stay again happily. Yes neighbourhood is a bit run-down, just take taxis in and out in the evening

    Friendly, helpful staff. Pool, bar and views fantastic, good facilities and good base for Athens with family/kids. Short walk to National Archaeological Museum

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The communal areas within the hotel (lobby, breakfast area, pool) are too small for the number of rooms at the hotel - unfortunately as a result, these areas are crammed and unpleasant. We arrived on an extremely hot day (44c) to find that the pool shuts early in summer (with the sun still shining brightly) so that it can be turned into a bar. When the pool is open, with the amount of guests at the hotel, it becomes essentially standing room only in the water. As a family we had adjoining rooms - the aircon worked well in one room, not well in the other. When we asked the reception to see if someone could look at the room not working well the request was dismissed on the belief that it was just the hot day causing the issue. When we explained that one room was cool, with the aircon fan blowing well but the other room's aircon fan wasn't blowing the response was 'it's hot today'. For the duration of our stay one room remained hot, the other cool...

    Rooms are clean. Toiletries etc provided in the room are nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from port and airport.

    They offered an excellent all round service. Great views of the Acropolis from bedroom window and rooftop with popular pool. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food over priced and far from good restaurants, need to get public transport to go anywhere nice, can't walk unless you take the metro which was easy enough but with children it would be nice to be closer to some restaurants when you are too tired to travel.

    Customer service was fantastic and the beach bar on the roof was very nice. Great for families with a small children's play area near reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location .feel like im in the hood .far from center . pool was way small ! 30 kids at pool !

    bed was super comfy ! clean ! room is nice ! breakfast was ok !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is about 30 minute walk from the centre square and there's not a lot around so I would suggest using taxi's and eating at the hotel

    We only had one very quick night in Athens but we loved the rooftop pool and bar. Had drinks on the roof & a great meal at the cafe downstairs. You do need to book to eat on the roof with the view . Comfortable bed and modern facilities, helpful staff and we were able to leave our bags all day while we did a tour :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mistake was made upon check in booking was wrong granted person who amended it was quick to do so. Went to pay the next day and wasn't told that the first night wasn't paid for after we specifically asked whether everything was paid. Behold upon check out we were asked to pay for that night out of the blue. Took over 45 mins of arguing to come to an agreement. They never blamed the receptionist who made the mistake in the first place, we were in the wrong according to them. Was given 50% discount from their side however the supervisor made me furious when she started getting annoyed at me instead of getting annoyed at the idiot who messed up in the first place. Will never be back to this hotel for that simple reason cause other than that and location (Utter mess and overpriced for its location) it was a good stay once you're out of that neighborhood

    Bed was super comfortable as was the housekeeping service provided. Owner of souvenir shop was a delight! Most of the staff was really friendly and helpful. Restaurant prices where a bit expensive so we dined out except for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electricity went off for a long time on arrival. Location neighborhood might not be very safe

    Nice breakfast with small back garden. Nice toiletries products,

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could clean the pool...

    Perfect to stay here the night of arrival to Athens and then continue to the islands the day after. Great pool at the top of the hotel connected to restaurant. Nice view!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location and services of the hotel. We used Novotel for our last night in Greece. We booked and paid for a family room, however the room was made just for two when we arrived: there was a sofa fot kids however towels, pillars and sheets were prepared just for 2 persons even though Novotel charged our credit card 2 weeks prior to our arrival. This was solved in reasonable time however I feel that international chain could organise things better. Second - we needed to check-out at 4 am to be in the airport on time so we asked on the reception for 2 things: whether they can arrange for a transfer to the airport and whether they can prepare an early breakfest or a small package with a sandwich or fruits in advance. The both answers were negative. Regarding the transfer receptionist directly said the hotel does not help the guests with transfers and recomended us to use a taxi or metro (metro in Athens does not operate at 4 am, it is 8-10 minutes walk to the nearest metro station and the neighbourhood around the hotel is not so safe). After 2 great weeks in friendly Greece (we stayed 3 days in Athens and then 10 days near Nafplio) the young lady on reception showed us why we never use Novotel in Athens again.

    Modern clean hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com neglected to inform the hotel of our children, even though they were included by us in using the Booking.com website. This is the second time this has happened. It does not happen with Expedia. We cannot trust reservations made with Booking.com. According to one of the hotels, this happens often with Booking.com.

    Hotel was fine, but this is the second time that Booking.com has neglected to include our children in the reservation made with the hotel, causing issues. We will not be using your website again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel but terrible location. Unsafe area at night, you have to take taxis everywhere. Worst breakfast we had in Greece, bland and tasteless. Extremely noisy reception area, the hotel is used a lot for conferences. There are so many better places to stay in Athens if you are on holiday, even if there is a swimming pool.

    High standard rooms, clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Double Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sofa bed was not very comfortable. My kids could not sleep on it. It would be nice if they had a thicker mattress so you dont feel the springs of the bed.

    The hotel staff were very friendly. The room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: