1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Chania hotel reviews
  4. Vafés hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Patriko Traditional Stone Houses

Reviews of Patriko Traditional Stone Houses 4 stars

Different Location in Vafes, Vafés, 73007, Greece

#1 of 2 hotels in Vafés

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 52 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.8

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing authentic place with helpful and hospitable owner. If you want to visit naturalCrete thats the place for you. In Village great Cafe with food and local hand craft shop.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host was lovely and extremely hospitable. Very charming place if you enjoy nature and simple, peaceful way to relax, far away from noisy crowds.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2021

    10
    Beautiful hause in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hause in a beautiful small village, very nice and welcoming people. Very kind host, taking very good care of his guests. The house is complete of everything, also for cooking, is large, with a toilet for each room, and it's beautifully renovated.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi, not much to do around, few restaurants.

    The apartment, the host, good value of money

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2021

    9.0
    relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was weak.

    It’s a big and clean two level apartment with balcony and a fully equiped kitchen. Ours even had two toilets. Friendly and welcoming owners. If you want to stay the night away from the tourist area and want to relax than this a good place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had such a great experience! I highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet stay in a small authentic Cretan village.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptionally beautiful and peaceful place. Manolis is an amazing host, his hospitality has no limits.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2021

    10
    Fantastic place to stay, all the amenities met my expectations, historic and beautiful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that wasn't great was that there were a bunch of mosquitoes at night. The host gave us this thing to plugin that was supposed to keep the mosquitoes away, but it didn't work that well.

    The building was amazing! It was really beautiful and unique with the history. And the host was kind and told us a lot about the history of the area, which was very interesting. The kitchen had everything we need for breakfast in the morning. The balcony was really nice for breakfast in the morning as well. The bed was comfy and the shower was working great.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It wasatraditional stoneouse furnished with a great sense of style. The owner is very kind and hospitable. They waited us with homemade cookies and drinks (raki) on our arrival. The cafe next door is friendly, you can eat and drink.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2021

    10
    Perfect place, for authentic feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a litle bit small, but it is not important as everything else is amazing!!!

    Everything was amazing! If You want to feel true greek spirit, You must stay here. Also unique hosts! It was a pleasure to meet wonderfull inteligent owners. True and honest, loving what thei are doing and it feels in every detail.

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2021

    10
    Absolute paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh I was just mesmerized by the beauty of the village and the house. I have only seen such a romantic and beautiful place in a painting or perhaps in a romantic movie😍 And the hospitality was awesome. They had some fresh and homemade cake and biscuits with Raki for me in the room😀 Everything was just superb.

    Stayed in June 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2021

    10
    Lovely stay in small village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Village is quite far from main cities. It MAY be a problem for some, certainly was not for us.

    Lovely small village with historic background. Traditional house with heavy stone walls, fireplace and all necessary improvements. Great balcony, great terrace. Loved the place.

    Stayed in May 2021

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The house is stylish and comfortable, the location is great and - at last but not least - hosts are just wonderful and made our holiday exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2020

    10
    Short stay, long memories!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the evening and Manolis waited for us, this was a very nice welcome. On arrival in the stone house we were greeted with fresh cake, bread and a bottle of Manolis' own Raki, which really does taste exquisite. The next morning we had the joy of trying his wife's tiganites for breakfast and the best coffee in a long time. Manolis told us about the caves and so after breakfast we put our walking boots on and went off to the caves. On returning we had a wonderful long talk with Manolis about the harrowing history of Vafes and the heroism of the people. With gifts of extremely tasty grapes and kaki fruit we sadly left our new found friend and yet another mystical place in Crete that was easy to fall in love with. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2020

    10
    Serenity in the White mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit small but we expected this.

    The stone houses are beautiful and Manolis the host is exceptional! He is kind and thoughtful and, as we learned over a glass of wine at the local taverna, he has interesting stories to tell. It's a beautiful experience to sit in the balcony and watch the sunrise over the mountains. The location is incredibly peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique place with a historical feeling. We spent there only one night but it was a pleasure to meet a charming host. We got some nice recommendations and heard the stories about the village. The place is well equipped, clean and comfortable. If you're looking a non-touristic Cretan atmosphere, visit Vafes.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2020

    10
    Best stay in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Were very nice! It was Our best stay in Crete.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special thanks for the home made raki, sweet bread and cake

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2019

    10
    Gorgeous mountain house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect. The air smelled amazing. The house was gorgeous. Manolis was a wonderful and informative host. Slept very well. Stunning. Exceptional value!

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt very welcome at Manolis and Evas house, all was perfect, the welcome drink as well as many tips what to do and see in the area. Our kids loved the many cats in the garden and we hope to come back soon to wonderful crete. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and all the best! Martina, Patrice, Vasco and Sima 😍🤗

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2019

    10
    Lovely traditional stone house with super nice hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like...

    The hospitality of the hosts, Manolis and Eva, was great. Eva shared with us some Greek food and Manolis his company which was very pleasant! So, at the end we learned a lot about him and Crete.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unique stone building with some personal touches and tranquility

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was a little hard.

    Very nice houses in small village. Perfect if you are looking for authenticity and a peaceful environment. We loved it for 2 nights (during the day, we toured around in our car).

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You have to drive almost 2 hours to get to this beuatiful stone houses from the airport in Heraklion, but it's worth it. Luckily we had a typical small rental car (Fiat Panda), with a big car it will be difficult to get to the house and parking area, because that is all very small and steep. If you want to use a rental car you have to take account on the opening hours of the petrol stations, most of them close nearly at 6 or 7 p.m.

    Everything was fantastic, both Valsamakis have been soo polite too us, they spend us the grapes hanging in front of our stone house, bake cake and the typical crete sweet Tiganites. On our last day they directly showed us how to bake them. Moreover Emmanouil and his wife always give us great advice what to visit at Crete and which way to use by car. Before we arrived at Crete they helped us to get a cheap rental car. Vafes is a very small village with a little church, a minimarket, a restaurant and the Lotus - a store for Crete and greek handcraft. It is located inside the landscape near to Chania and Rethymno, very beautiful and silent. Our flat was simple but really comfortable, with cute balconys with bunches of grapes around, sitting there and having breakfast has been wonderful. We really loved to be there. Thanx for all Emmanouil

    Stayed in September 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: