1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Chania hotel reviews
  4. Vafés hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Patriko Traditional Stone Houses

Reviews of Patriko Traditional Stone Houses 4 stars

Different Location in Vafes, Vafés, 73007, Greece

#1 of 2 hotels in Vafés

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 40 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2020

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The house is stylish and comfortable, the location is great and - at last but not least - hosts are just wonderful and made our holiday exceptional.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2020

    10
    Short stay, long memories!
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late in the evening and Manolis waited for us, this was a very nice welcome. On arrival in the stone house we were greeted with fresh cake, bread and a bottle of Manolis' own Raki, which really does taste exquisite. The next morning we had the joy of trying his wife's tiganites for breakfast and the best coffee in a long time. Manolis told us about the caves and so after breakfast we put our walking boots on and went off to the caves. On returning we had a wonderful long talk with Manolis about the harrowing history of Vafes and the heroism of the people. With gifts of extremely tasty grapes and kaki fruit we sadly left our new found friend and yet another mystical place in Crete that was easy to fall in love with. Thank you.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2020

    10
    Serenity in the White mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was a bit small but we expected this.

    The stone houses are beautiful and Manolis the host is exceptional! He is kind and thoughtful and, as we learned over a glass of wine at the local taverna, he has interesting stories to tell. It's a beautiful experience to sit in the balcony and watch the sunrise over the mountains. The location is incredibly peaceful.

    Stayed in October 2020

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2020

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unique place with a historical feeling. We spent there only one night but it was a pleasure to meet a charming host. We got some nice recommendations and heard the stories about the village. The place is well equipped, clean and comfortable. If you're looking a non-touristic Cretan atmosphere, visit Vafes.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2020

    10
    Best stay in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners Were very nice! It was Our best stay in Crete.

    Stayed in September 2020

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2019

    10
    Gorgeous mountain house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect. The air smelled amazing. The house was gorgeous. Manolis was a wonderful and informative host. Slept very well. Stunning. Exceptional value!

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt very welcome at Manolis and Evas house, all was perfect, the welcome drink as well as many tips what to do and see in the area. Our kids loved the many cats in the garden and we hope to come back soon to wonderful crete. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and all the best! Martina, Patrice, Vasco and Sima 😍🤗

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2019

    10
    Lovely traditional stone house with super nice hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like...

    The hospitality of the hosts, Manolis and Eva, was great. Eva shared with us some Greek food and Manolis his company which was very pleasant! So, at the end we learned a lot about him and Crete.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unique stone building with some personal touches and tranquility

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was a little hard.

    Very nice houses in small village. Perfect if you are looking for authenticity and a peaceful environment. We loved it for 2 nights (during the day, we toured around in our car).

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You have to drive almost 2 hours to get to this beuatiful stone houses from the airport in Heraklion, but it's worth it. Luckily we had a typical small rental car (Fiat Panda), with a big car it will be difficult to get to the house and parking area, because that is all very small and steep. If you want to use a rental car you have to take account on the opening hours of the petrol stations, most of them close nearly at 6 or 7 p.m.

    Everything was fantastic, both Valsamakis have been soo polite too us, they spend us the grapes hanging in front of our stone house, bake cake and the typical crete sweet Tiganites. On our last day they directly showed us how to bake them. Moreover Emmanouil and his wife always give us great advice what to visit at Crete and which way to use by car. Before we arrived at Crete they helped us to get a cheap rental car. Vafes is a very small village with a little church, a minimarket, a restaurant and the Lotus - a store for Crete and greek handcraft. It is located inside the landscape near to Chania and Rethymno, very beautiful and silent. Our flat was simple but really comfortable, with cute balconys with bunches of grapes around, sitting there and having breakfast has been wonderful. We really loved to be there. Thanx for all Emmanouil

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2019

    10
    Great time in an original Creatan village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house was restaurated by Manolis and Eva and is no high-class hotel. But you can often see their love to the detail. But to make the accomondation even more better we came up with three small suggestions. The lamp in the kitchen could be a bit lighter, the shower curtain a bit longer and the door of the lower bath didn't close properly. But those "problems" are just luxury problems and all in all we were completly satisfied with the house.

    We lived in the house, right off the mainroad. First of all everything was very clean, the kitchen sufficiently equipped and all devices worked. The owner Emanolis and his wife Eva welcomed us with selfmade cake, raki and bread and freh grapes from their own vines. Although we tavel a lot, we never recieved such a hospitality over the whole time. The house is located in an original Cretan village. We enjoyed the quiet on the terrace with an amazing view over the area and in the evening you can hear sometimes the village life in the near tavern. Even though the house is a bit abroad, we never felt unsecure at any time. All in all we had an amazing week and we can fully recommend this house.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 12 nights

    a superb place.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2019

    9.2
    Once again we spent a wonderful vacation in Crete, greetings delectable hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I am a person with back problems. The mattress on the double bed was too hard for me.

    Wonderful hosts, hospitable and very helpful, styled apartments, a terrace to drink morning coffee ...

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2019

    10
    A hidden gem, incredible value for money, welcoming hosts and very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The hosts, Manolis & his wife were very hospitable. We were given 2 bunches of grapes from their vines to eat, which were delicious. The accommodation was traditional and very spacious for the 2 of us (it had 2 bedrooms, a kitchen & small bathroom). The beds were incredibly comfortable and due to its position, there was silence around us. There is a taverna within 100m which served good local food and drinks. This is an absolute gem and incredible value for money. Sian

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very quiet and pleasant place where to stay off from more touristic spots. Very nice family welcoming you and treating you as part of the family. In a nutshell, excellent stay!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, but the bed is a bit short if you’re tall.

    The restored old house is much better than in the pictures!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice from our arrival to our leaving 👍

    Fantastic welcome with raki and watermelon, very nice people living in a fantastic stone house Really great ! Recimend strongly !!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is inpossible to find anything bad or wronge in this house because of hospitality, warmed and kidness.

    Creten village under White mountain like post card. Stone house is arange with so many nice and cosy details that you feel like you are in your own house.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2019

    9.6
    Lovely property and fantastic hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location for us was great as we had transport, but you would need a car.

    Beautiful stone houses in a rural setting. The owners, Manolis and Eva, couldn’t do enough for you. Great area for some peace and quiet and pretty walks. Still only a short drive to attractions, such as Kournas Lake and Georgioupolis. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2019

    10
    Reccomended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful renovated house, with everything we needed. Peacefull village and wonderfull owners. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The boss is excellent AND very sympthic. We took a drink with him and he wanted to offer us. Thé house is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    10
    Spacious pleasant accommodation in charming village
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was such a great stay, in a welcoming little village not far from Chania airport but feeling very separate from the tourist areas nearby. The accommodation was an excellent standard. It was very spacious with bedroom and toilet upstairs and kitchen and toilet/shower downstairs. There were actually two air-conditioners one up and one downstairs, the stone building stayed fairly cool given the hot Crete weather though. The cake on arrival was delicious and the hosts so welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was only accessible from outside.

    The authentic nature of the place and hospitality of the owners.

    Stayed in June 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: