Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Tours & Activities Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Chania hotel reviews
  4. Vafés hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Patriko Traditional Stone Houses

Reviews of Patriko Traditional Stone Houses 4 stars

Different Location in Vafes, Vafés, 73007, Greece

#1 of 2 hotels in Vafés

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

9.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 37

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2019

    10
    Gorgeous mountain house!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just perfect. The air smelled amazing. The house was gorgeous. Manolis was a wonderful and informative host. Slept very well. Stunning. Exceptional value!

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2019

    10
    We felt very welcome at Manolis and Evas house, all was ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt very welcome at Manolis and Evas house, all was perfect, the welcome drink as well as many tips what to do and see in the area. Our kids loved the many cats in the garden and we hope to come back soon to wonderful crete. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and all the best! Martina, Patrice, Vasco and Sima 😍🤗

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2019

    10
    Lovely traditional stone house with super nice hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we did not like...

    The hospitality of the hosts, Manolis and Eva, was great. Eva shared with us some Greek food and Manolis his company which was very pleasant! So, at the end we learned a lot about him and Crete.

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2019

    9.2
    Very nice houses in small village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress was a little hard.

    Very nice houses in small village. Perfect if you are looking for authenticity and a peaceful environment. We loved it for 2 nights (during the day, we toured around in our car).

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2019

    10
    Everything was fantastic, both Valsamakis have been soo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 6 nights

    You have to drive almost 2 hours to get to this beuatiful stone houses from the airport in Heraklion, but it's worth it. Luckily we had a typical small rental car (Fiat Panda), with a big car it will be difficult to get to the house and parking area, because that is all very small and steep. If you want to use a rental car you have to take account on the opening hours of the petrol stations, most of them close nearly at 6 or 7 p.m.

    Everything was fantastic, both Valsamakis have been soo polite too us, they spend us the grapes hanging in front of our stone house, bake cake and the typical crete sweet Tiganites. On our last day they directly showed us how to bake them. Moreover Emmanouil and his wife always give us great advice what to visit at Crete and which way to use by car. Before we arrived at Crete they helped us to get a cheap rental car. Vafes is a very small village with a little church, a minimarket, a restaurant and the Lotus - a store for Crete and greek handcraft. It is located inside the landscape near to Chania and Rethymno, very beautiful and silent. Our flat was simple but really comfortable, with cute balconys with bunches of grapes around, sitting there and having breakfast has been wonderful. We really loved to be there. Thanx for all Emmanouil

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2019

    10
    Great time in an original Creatan village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house was restaurated by Manolis and Eva and is no high-class hotel. But you can often see their love to the detail. But to make the accomondation even more better we came up with three small suggestions. The lamp in the kitchen could be a bit lighter, the shower curtain a bit longer and the door of the lower bath didn't close properly. But those "problems" are just luxury problems and all in all we were completly satisfied with the house.

    We lived in the house, right off the mainroad. First of all everything was very clean, the kitchen sufficiently equipped and all devices worked. The owner Emanolis and his wife Eva welcomed us with selfmade cake, raki and bread and freh grapes from their own vines. Although we tavel a lot, we never recieved such a hospitality over the whole time. The house is located in an original Cretan village. We enjoyed the quiet on the terrace with an amazing view over the area and in the evening you can hear sometimes the village life in the near tavern. Even though the house is a bit abroad, we never felt unsecure at any time. All in all we had an amazing week and we can fully recommend this house.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2019

    9.2
    Once again we spent a wonderful vacation in Crete, greetings delectable hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I am a person with back problems. The mattress on the double bed was too hard for me.

    Wonderful hosts, hospitable and very helpful, styled apartments, a terrace to drink morning coffee ...

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2019

    10
    A hidden gem, incredible value for money, welcoming hosts and very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    The hosts, Manolis & his wife were very hospitable. We were given 2 bunches of grapes from their vines to eat, which were delicious. The accommodation was traditional and very spacious for the 2 of us (it had 2 bedrooms, a kitchen & small bathroom). The beds were incredibly comfortable and due to its position, there was silence around us. There is a taverna within 100m which served good local food and drinks. This is an absolute gem and incredible value for money. Sian

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2019

    10
    Very quiet and pleasant place where to stay off from more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very quiet and pleasant place where to stay off from more touristic spots. Very nice family welcoming you and treating you as part of the family. In a nutshell, excellent stay!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2019

    10
    Fantastic welcome with raki and watermelon, very nice people...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice from our arrival to our leaving 👍

    Fantastic welcome with raki and watermelon, very nice people living in a fantastic stone house Really great ! Recimend strongly !!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2019

    10
    Creten village under White mountain like post card.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is inpossible to find anything bad or wronge in this house because of hospitality, warmed and kidness.

    Creten village under White mountain like post card. Stone house is arange with so many nice and cosy details that you feel like you are in your own house.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2019

    9.6
    Lovely property and fantastic hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location for us was great as we had transport, but you would need a car.

    Beautiful stone houses in a rural setting. The owners, Manolis and Eva, couldn’t do enough for you. Great area for some peace and quiet and pretty walks. Still only a short drive to attractions, such as Kournas Lake and Georgioupolis. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    10
    Spacious pleasant accommodation in charming village
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was such a great stay, in a welcoming little village not far from Chania airport but feeling very separate from the tourist areas nearby. The accommodation was an excellent standard. It was very spacious with bedroom and toilet upstairs and kitchen and toilet/shower downstairs. There were actually two air-conditioners one up and one downstairs, the stone building stayed fairly cool given the hot Crete weather though. The cake on arrival was delicious and the hosts so welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2019

    10
    Lovely traditional property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, traditional properties in a lovely quiet village. There is a good place to get food round the corner. The people are very hospitable. Made a good stop off on the way to Loutro/Imbros

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2019

    10
    Calm and cozy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking place locates right in front of the apartment and there is no much space to turn around. You may drive further the side-street and turn around in a small square (which can also be busy with other cars parked). We preferred to park the car in the main street and walk 50 meters. Also the shower is quite small (50*50 cm), but is still usable.

    This is a very nice and quit apartment (we stayed in the two-levels right-side one). Both rooms are very cozy and well decorated. Both have nice wooden ceilings. Besides, it is convenient (e.g. bedroom located in the 2nd level has its own lavatory) and has everything we needed for a short stay. As this was a chilly season, we used the fireplace (the firewood was in place) and these were nice romantic evenings. The owner, Manolis, is very friendly. He personally designed all apartments and continue running it with love. He gave us a lot of information of what we can see around. The village is also nice and you may spend some time to see it and nearby gorge with a historical cave.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2019

    10
    Beautiful houses with a wonderfully friendly host
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived incredibly early but our host was very responsive by phone and let us into the property promptly. The building itself is absolutely beautiful, with a well-equipped kitchen, good temperature control and loads of space for lounging. We only stayed a night, but it would be the perfect hub for a long stay. The area is quiet and within easy driving distance of most attractions. We were also granted access to a log store just across from our room, and enjoyed a roaring open fire. And home-made cake!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    10
    The people were friendly, the house was big, clean, warm,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Its the perfect place to stay.

    The people were friendly, the house was big, clean, warm, traditionally decorated. I had the best time while staying there.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    The most authentic place to stay in Crete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Maybe it would be a good idea having some indicating arrows how to reach the Stone Houses.

    The owners are very kind and truly helpful. The houses are more than beautiful and are situated in a very peaceful and unique region. We do recommend everyone to stay here and enjoy the authenticity of Crete.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Thank you, Manolis, Euangelia, Crete and Greece.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pleasure to return to this beautifully designed authentic house after our trips around the island. The stonewalls keep comfortable temperature, much space enables to relax since the children have their own room and a spacious sitting room. Perfect location to travel around the East and the South of Crete, wide choice of organized and wild beaches in Georgioupolis, 15 mins drive, no problems with parking there. It's a good idea to take something against mosquitos. The hosts are wonderful people and are ready to solve any problems you have.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful home and amazing host
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are so many great things about this place. First, you get a warm greeting and treated like family the entire time. Manolis was always ready to help and offer advice on things to do and places to go. The house itself was so beautiful! You also get the small village experience with a short drive to Chania and great start point for exploring the west end of Crete. I highly recommend and would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Thank you for the warm welcome and all the homemade cake and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you for the warm welcome and all the homemade cake and cheese pies. Lovely traditional home, very peaceful with sound of sheep bells and bird song.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The friendliness and hospitality shown to us by Manolis and Eva were amazing, and made for an unforgettable stay. The peacefulness, the garden and the general area were all wonderful. A delightful alternative to an impersonal hotel!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2019

    10
    Unique stone building with some personal touches and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Unique stone building with some personal touches and tranquility

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2019

    10
    a superb place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 12 nights

    a superb place.

    Stayed in September 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2019

    9.6
    The restored old house is much better than in the pictures!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, but the bed is a bit short if you’re tall.

    The restored old house is much better than in the pictures!

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2019

    10
    Reccomended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful renovated house, with everything we needed. Peacefull village and wonderfull owners. We had a great stay!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    10
    The boss is excellent AND very sympthic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The boss is excellent AND very sympthic. We took a drink with him and he wanted to offer us. Thé house is amazing.

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2019

    9.6
    The authentic nature of the place and hospitality of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was only accessible from outside.

    The authentic nature of the place and hospitality of the owners.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    10
    Marvelous !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Home baked cake and breads on arrival. A bottle of rake waiting and the friendliest of hosts.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2019

    8.8
    The house is situated in a must see village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Split Level - Right Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is situated in a must see village. It is genuinely ancient and we found it to be a wonderful experience

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    10
    Lovely welcome on a rainy evening, the owner lit us a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcome on a rainy evening, the owner lit us a beautiful fire. Stunning mountain village. Exceptional value for money

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Nice and quiet stay in Vafes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 1 night

    /

    It was very quiet and nice and I slept very well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Beat days in Vafes !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment - Ground Floor - Left Side of the Central Road
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personal !! Su calidez !!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    10
    Manolis was so accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stay was too short :)

    Manolis was so accommodating and helpful. He even met us after midnight at the local restaurant when we arrived. We were treated to a fabulous comfortable room, a kitchen with fresh cookies, bread and even a bowl of fresh grapes and figs from his property. His neighbor Stavroula cooks wonderful food and Manolis even joined us for a drink later on. He is a generous man whose hospitality made us feel completely welcome!

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    A lovely location and stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only item we would have liked was a kettle but brilliant otherwise..

    A lovely location and stunning views..the house was beautifully restored and presented. .Manolis was very friendly and helpful..great place for a peaceful stay..

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Very nice traditional cretan village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice traditional cretan village. The houses are really authentic with a lot of details from the past. It's located not so far from the national road (10-15 min or so), so if you travel on car around the Crete I'd recommend you to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    Pretty village and the house was set in a beautiful location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pretty village and the house was set in a beautiful location, lovely cool terrace in dappled shade.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 37

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Patriko Traditional Stone Houses traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: