Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pelops 2 stars

Varela 2, Olympia, 27065, Greece

#8 of 23 hotels in Olympia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Quiet, central, comfortable. A family feel in a tourist hotspot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Suzanne and Leo, the managers, were helpful in every way - booking a taxi, recommendations, general info. Breakfast was excellent, sitting by the window, looking out at life. Tea and coffee in the room. Books to read too. A welcoming place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.2
    Great for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were a bit tight. One bath had a small shower and the other had a tub with no shower curtain. My teen ended up flooding the floor since he had no idea how to shower without an enclosure. Our fault.

    Lovely view and we were upgraded to two rooms with balconies instead of a family room. Lots of hot water and high pressure. Great location and close to the shops.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Good stay in Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were a little thin, could hear others while in room

    Staff would great. Excellent breakfast with a lot of choices.management went out of their way to check on a restaurant to see if it is open for us and treated us like family we played cards in the dining room in the evenings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the hallway was in need of replacement. All other floors were a gorgeous marble!!!

    Location was excellent. Breakfast was great. Staff were knowledgeable and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect small hotel for a visit to Ancient Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No espresso coffee at breakfast but the strong American-style filter coffee was ok, and then we popped to one of the local cafes for an espresso before hitting the site. So it wasn't a big deal.

    Excellent small hotel with a light and airy feel. Comfortable beds, quiet aircon, spacious room and bathroom, good wifi. Balcony was cool and shaded in the morning. Continental buffet breakfast was good quality with lots of choice. I particularly liked the creamy yoghurt, homemade marmalade and freshly squeezed orange juice. The owner provided useful information at check in. The hotel is well located; the main street and cafes are about a minute away by foot, and the museum is a short walk (5 or so minutes), then a couple more minutes to the archaeological site. We visited the museum in the late afternoon/evening and the site the next morning, which meant we avoided the worst of the heat and the tour groups.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Good, friendly place for a all kind of visits, short or long
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We was arriving too late and leaving too early. Should count more time to see all the places. Definitely not the fault of the hotel!

    Friendly and competent advising on the reception. We liked the suggestions what to visit with our limited time frame. Tastely equipped rooms and public areas of the hotel. Very clean and cosy. Good internet access. Quiet place with safe public parking, but all touristic hotspots in walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Spacious rooms, tastefully decorated and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who runs the hotel was very helpful and knowlegeable, and was able to give us excellent recommendations for places to eat, and inside secrets about visiting this tourist trap of a town which enhanced our stay enormously!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much!

    The location of the hotel is excellent, within walking distance of Ancient Olympia, we are in our 60's. The rooms are roomy, comfortable and very clean. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Well situated & very helpful owner
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - everything was great.

    Very comfortable connecting rooms with a little balcony. The owner gave us details of how to go to visit the ruins and where the best restaurants were as soon as we arrived which was very useful and allowed us to maximise our time there. His recommendation of the Hotel Europa's Garden Taverna for dinner was fantastic. You can also use their pool (though you need a car to get there). Note that there is plenty of room to park safely in the street. Breakfast was great - one of the best we had during 3 weeks in Greece (especially their honey!!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Good hotel, great location, sparkling clean with lovely comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel looked good when we drove up and parked right outside, and it was easy to find. Good location just off the main street but quiet. The room was lovely, great bathroom, balcony, and the fridge was a bonus, everything was sparkling clean. The bed was maybe the most comfortable I have had anywhere, fantastic. Very good breakfast with plenty of variety and fresh sqeezed orange juice. The owner was lovely and helpful and the taverna at the Hotel Europa that he recommended was wonderful. Overall great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great room, extremely comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The owner was incredibly helpful and super friendly . Lovely breakfast great location to visit the sights. can’t recommend this place enough!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    The best stay in Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    Nice spacious rooms and bathroom, soarkly clean, extremly comfortable bed, central position in Olympia and last but not least petfect hosts!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Our experience with Hotel Pelops was great, and I would happily stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the hallway was old & dirty and probably needs to be replaced soon. There was also a bit of a smell in the hallway, but it was possibly due to other guests maybe? Regardless, neither of these issues affected our stay in any negative way, and the rooms were wonderful.

    The staff was truly exceptional. The lady at check-in made sure we had a spot to park right in front of the door, gave us a map of town and explained how to get everywhere we would want to go. She told us about a swimming pool we could use in the area, and she recommended what turned out to be the best dining experience my wife & I had during our entire 2-week driving trip throughout Greece. The location of the hotel was excellent, and breakfast was great. This place would also be a great option for tour groups because of the large breakfast area, lots of board games & books available, and a large parking area less than 1 block away. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone, and we would gladly stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location, close to archaeological site, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to archaeological site, friendly and helpful staff who gave good local tips, rooms were clean, good size (we had a lovely balcony overlooking the church) and air con was fine. Would happily stay again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Thankyou Pelops - you are a wonderful oasis at Olympia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was immaculately clean and decorated in a comfortable light, airy way. The staff and family owners were gracious, informative and helpful. We felt welcome and valued. The breakfast was fresh, various choices, something for everyone. Parking was easy and the hotel is the most convenient for Olympia sightseeing. Rooms and beds, bathrooms comfortable and plenty of room- biggest we have seen in Greece so far for our family of four. If you are going to sightsee in Olympia this is the choice to make for your accomadation. You can book on the hotel website also.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel with parking and walking distance to historic sites
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful location as you arrive in town, then just a walk down through the town to the historic places. The hosts (owners) are very welcoming and aim to please all requests. Don’t forget to ask about the Olympic torches they carried that are displayed in the breakfast area. Nice clean rooms with comfy beds and quite neighborhood. Thanks to Susanne (hostess) for the advice to go to the Europa Hotel for a sunset dinner, it was wonderful with views overlooking the valley and mountains with a perfect sunset from our outside table under a pergola. The food was amazing paired with the House wines and very reasonably priced for an upscale casual hotel/restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay on a super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower door fell of it’s hinged, airco not powerful enough.

    Double balcony (room 9), good and large bed, excellent location. Close to,the historic site and the muesa. Close to the centre of,the village. The breakfast is good enough. Guests of hotel Pelops are allowed to use the excelllent swimmong pool of hotel Europe.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Fine for a 1 night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our aircon didn't work, sadly. Breakfast was a bit basic compared with other places we stayed at a similar price.

    Quiet-ish location off the main Olympia high street, walkable to the site. Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Fine location, nice torches, breakfast could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee at breakfast was horrible and the breakfast not very good compared to the other (similarly priced) hotels we visited on this trip.

    Location is very good. We got to hold the Olympic torch used for the Rio games. They recommended a very good restaurant in the village (Orestes!).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.1
    Decent Value for the Price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were not very comfortable - like sleeping on a box spring.

    The hosts were extremely friendly and helpful, and had good recommendations for restaurants in town and further into our trip. The lounge was inviting, with lots of books and board games. Breakfast was good, with lots of choices including fresh-squeezed orange juice, and served in a very pleasant room. The Wi-Fi worked well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location, good services!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I didn’t stay longer.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Knew info about tourist sites. Parking is on the sidewalk in front of the hotel or on a side street. Town is very small so parking lots are indeed a rarity. Breakfast is very good. Room was very clean. Hotel is located within walking distant to archeological sites.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    The location is very nice, because you are within ten...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very nice, because you are within ten minutes' walk of the site and the museums (and that plural is right); and yet you are not right on the primary pitch with all the tourist traffic. Immediately across from the hotel is a quiet square fronting the church. We also like the buffet breakfast, which offered us freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, boiled eggs, bread(s), ham (processed), cheese slices, kiwi fruit, museli, a bit of sweet pastry, and no doubt other things I can't remember. We had a corner room (#9), which got a lovely through breeze from French doors opening onto the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    A cozy and friendly hotel in a beautifully peaceful town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owners are wonderfully welcoming. The setting is peaceful and very convenient to Ancient Olympia. The rooms are comfortable and provide a perfect spot to stay a night or two while touring the Peloponnese.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice owner, knew exactly what I wanted to know when he...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little cold at night - woke me up. Could do with thicker blanket in winter

    Nice owner, knew exactly what I wanted to know when he greeted me. I didn’t even have to ask.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Solid hotel in great location with views of acropolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was ok but not great. Bathroom the same.

    Location is great - very close to monastiraki metro (important) and plaka restaurants and ancient agora. Terrace on roof with view of acropolis is a bonus (our room also had view). Great value given this location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.3
    Affordable and friendly place to stay right in Olympia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress needed to be replaced.

    The owner and his wife were warm and welcoming. The owner and his 2 sons have been Olympic torch runners. We were able to hold the 2016 Rio Olympic torch. The location was only a few minutes to the ancient sites of Olympia.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant Stay in heart of Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * The breakfast was very basic. * The beds were not very comfortable. * Placement of TV right under ceiling made it very uncomfortable for watching in day.

    Very warm natured Hosts.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    9.2
    Kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding door of the shower cabin didn't work perfectly so the floor of the bathroom got a bit wet.

    Kind and helpful staff. The room was nice and clean. It had a small refrigerator and a boiler which were useful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Great breakfast spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower inadequate. Shower attachment wouldn’t stay hooked on, soap dispenser fell off wall, beds uncomfortably hard, walls thin, conversation next door heard clearly through the walls.

    Great breakfast spread.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Enjoy my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast spread was rather limited and internet was rather slow

    The lady was very thoughtful to prepare chocolate milk for my kids and it tasted really good. The rooms and toilet were clean. We were given two heaters to keep warm. Very good and warm service. Very near the ancient Olympia and Museums. you can easily walk there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Great value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    This was a good base for visiting Ancient Olympia. The room was clean, the water hot and the bed very comfortable. Good breakfast the next morning and a real bonus was the excellent restaurant within easy walking distance, recommended by the hotel. The owner thoughtfully provided a room heater too - for a cool wet evening in November.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    We liked the Hotel Pelops, our host Spiros, and Olympia town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is in very narrow tub, could use a rubber mat to put down to make footing more secure.

    Classic Greek hospitality. Tired & stressed from our 2.5 hour drive, I said in passing to Spiros at check-in, "Gee, I really need a drink!" Sure, if he didn't lead me to a liquor cabinet & pour me a healthy taste of single malt scotch. This is the man I want to be my hotelier!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    The very best place to stay in Olympia
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful and family owned, spotlessly clean, excellent location. They took a pride in their beautiful hotel and their visitors. Nothing was too much trouble. Book swop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    --Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    --Did not take credit cards

    --Great location --Helpful owners speak English(one a native speaker) --Quiet, but close enough to walk to site --Water heater and fridge!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value a stone’s throw from Ancient Olympia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Susan / Susanna went out of her way to ensure we were properly parked, well fed and watered and well directed to Ancient Olympia. A Sheila in a million. Great place which does not cost the earth.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Olympic value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I recently stayed here for 4 nights and was more than happy about my choice. This is a family run establishment focused on giving visitors a good experience of Olympia. The staff are excellent as are the facilities for the price and convenient for the main Olympia site. There is a fine breakfast with local homemade produce. As for the village of Olympia, pleasant enough but value on the Main Street is poor. Better to go a street or two off and try the restaurants check out the Sinatra bar for a quiet drink. I would recommend hiring a car to visit some of the local wonderful beaches where there are excellent restaurants much better than in Olympia. Try Katavatos, Nicos's restaurant, especially good value by the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Cycle tour continued
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but not that special, we have had better at cheaper places, staff seemed to hover around the coffee machine. Corridors to rooms smelt like an OAP home carpets dirty and stained.

    Quiet location away from touristy shops. Lady on reception when we arrived was very helpful and welcoming. Good sized room with balcony, kettle in room a bonus. The room and bathroom were very clean and there was a bath.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Nice hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little disappointed by their recommendation for dinner.

    Nice hosts. Good location. Large and clean room with a little fridge and a balcony. Very big and very comfortable bed. Contrary to others I found the breakfeast and the coffee OK. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.9
    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was plentiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell in the hall way on the first floor was off putting. The carpets were also stained.

    The large bed was great. The size of the room was large and spacious. The check in was easy and the staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Olympia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice family room, friendly staff and great location. The place was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and it is a great value for money place. The staff was helpful and gave a lot of information on what to see in the area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly satisfactory place to stay in Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bed was too soft for those needing a firm mattress and the hotel is across from a church with frequently ringing bells that ring rather early in the morning. They ring loud enough that probably no hotel in the small town is immune from them.

    our room had a huge bed and a beautiful balcony that was perfect for happy hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    10
    Awesome stay in Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice hotel in Olympia. The owner was extremely friendly, he gave us recommendations for restaurants in town, and also indications on the best way to go to the archeological site. The breakfast was also great, I still remember its excellent greek yogurt. Totally recommendable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    The receptionist was really nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was broken and it was a but unconfortable to take a shower.

    The receptionist was really nice! The rooms were super confortable and the bed amazing! Such a relaxing stay we had there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Overall very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No credit cards accepted Bathroom with some details to fix (shower base broken)

    Overall very good value for money Convenient location - very easy to park Would recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    5.0
    Functional. Lacking effective management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean, smelly and stained corridor carpets. Full length bathroom window facing the street had half a curtain - this was brought to the owner's attention, but the problem was not solved even next day! We had no option but to hang a bedsheet on the curtain rod! Breakfast was extremely basic - it looked like the eggs had been boiled days in advance, and we even got a spoilt egg! I couldnt bring myself to even look at a boiled egg for a few days thereafter!t The air-conditioning on first night was also not working but to the owner's credit, this problem was fixed that night. The room however stayed quite warm until next morning.

    Functional hotel and was close to the high street and touristic locations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plastic shower curtain.

    Welcoming hosts who were efficient & informative. Large comfortable room. Very good location for sites & restaurants. After visiting archeological sites & if time permits, a visit to Olympia Land Estate winery & Klio's honey farm is recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect budget hotel in Olympia city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't really complain about anything.

    The hotel is located in Olympia city center, at walking distance from the acropolis and from restaurants and shops. The price is super convenient and the stuff gave us good suggestions for the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recommendation for dinner wasn't great. The restaurant had no view and the food wasn't very special but at least it wasn't expensive.

    Amazing location. The balcony in our room ad an amazing view of the valley and the sea. Hard to beat. The owner was very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    3.8
    Everything about this hotel is cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is cheap. The A/C didn't cool my romm very well. After one hour, my room was still hot. TV didn't work. The owner said he would call a technician to fix it but no one came to fix it. The owner didn't offer me a different room. Next morning breakfast was the worst thus far during my Greece trip. Very limited choice almost like a continental breakfast. After breakfast at 7:30am, the owner asked me to pay for our stay eventhough I told him we would leave around 11 after we visited the Olympia side. His excuse was he had to leave. He was still there when we left around 11. Stay away from this hotel.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extraordinarily hard and the corridor leading to our room smelled quite odd......almost like body odor but not quite. Our room and bed were small (we paid just under €40) but we saw bigger rooms with bigger beds. This is probably the best hotel in Ancient Oplympia township so don't be put off by my dislikes.

    We could park easily right in front of the hotel and there was a lift to enable us to take our luggage up to the second floor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    A good clean adequate place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ( One minor note was that one needs to lock the door it doesn't lock automatically,) The biggest thing to point out is that when I checked out to settle up, and was given the total, it was more than had been expected. When I questioned the proprietor and asked for an itemized bill, he quickly skimmed over things saying it was taxes that made it more, but I left not feeling it was right. I just didn't want to make a scene. It was around 5 Euro added. All of the other places we used with Booking.com, the taxes were included in the entire cost ahead of time. He had a good chance to make it right then and there and I would not feel it necessary to warn others. He's trying to make a living and I don't want to cause any problem in that way. So I'd definitely recommend staying there, for a good clean place to stay, but just make sure you have the final bill right.

    Our stay at Hotel Pelops was clean and adequate for sure. The breakfast was, as well. Their homemade jam was outstanding! We would have left feeling ok fine about it. A clean adequate place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Simple, extremely pleasant hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple, extremely pleasant hotel with friendly staff. Excellent value! Owner recommended the Aegean Restsurant which was also very fine. Perfect place to stay in Olympia.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.3
    Central Family owned hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was low to the floor. Also bed was extremely hard- ok if you like that ! Cash only no credit cards for payment.

    Location was excellent and parking onsite. Kettle for hot beverages. Fridge. Balcony Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    A comfortable stay in Olympia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo and/or conditioner would have been good. We brought our own so it wasn't an issue, but if you came unprepared, it might be.

    Very comfortable space for our family of four. Everything was spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Great welcome when we arrived.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great welcome when we arrived. Theodore gave us a map of the area. Lovely breakfast. Hotel is in walking distance of all of Olympia's historical sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit dated, but in keeping with the feel of the village.

    The location was perfect. We received advice on where to walk to explore the village, to get to the site and where to eat. It is a lovely, older hotel and we enjoyed our one night stay there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    A good hotel for a short visit in Ancient Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our bed was good but our friend's bed was hard and uncomfortable. The airconditioning was not working properly and we had to keep the window open, even though it faced the street.

    A good place for a short visit to Ancient Olympia, which is within 10 min. walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable B&B with excellent breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel does not accept credit cards.

    Just off Main Street with plenty of parking on road around the hotel. Excellent breakfast buffet. 10 mins walk up the Main Street to Olympia site. Good restaurants nearby and a really excellent one just before the bp garage on the main road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    Theo the owner was very kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very good but I've had better. More of a selection would have made it better.

    Theo the owner was very kind and helpful. Asked for a quiet room and it was granted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Very child-friendly with a toy corner in the breakfast room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small, it is recommendable to choose a larger room with balcony for a small price upgrade.

    Very child-friendly with a toy corner in the breakfast room. Located in a quiet street very close to the Center and the archeological site.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Great place to stay in Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Everything. Friendly staff speaking English. This hotel is next to the local church, we had a great time to experience the Easter celebration around midnight.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Wow! Pelops personifies everything good about a family run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow! Pelops personifies everything good about a family run hotel. Friendliness, warmth, knowledge of the local scene; scrupulously well-kept with a delightfully relaxed atmosphere. Landed there Easter Sunday and was adopted by the family for an Easter lamb-roast and low key holiday family get-together. When it cam time to leave, they helped me plan the rest of my trip around the Pelopenese with insight and great advice. You can't do better in Olympia...or the rest of Greece for that matter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Kind staff, well located and good facilities
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water was not too hot in the evening, by morning the temperature was correct.

    We enjoyed our stay and everybody was very welcoming. They even gave advice to discover local restaurants and a map to reach the ruins. The room was big and the bed extremely comfortable, the options for breakfast were good too.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    4.6
    I would look elsewhere . . .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking told me we'd have a balcony, which we did not have. The hotel did not have the heat on, despite it being a very cold and rainy day: the room was freezing and we had to ask for a heater. Booking also states that the hotel has laundry service. When I asked about it, I was just rudely told "No. Nowhere in town. Not here." We were sure we paid cash at check in, and felt even more sure when the owner saw us putting all of our bags in the car and simply wished us good day. Later they called and said we didn't pay, despite marking us a "No Show" on Booking. The husband and wife (?) owners were not friendly to us. There are so many similar options in Olympia: I would recommend you look elsewhere until Pelops can make some adjustments to their listing and service.

    The hotel was close to the ancient sites: just a 10-15 minute walk.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Very good place to explore Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The synthetic and torn curtains, and smelly duvet cover.

    The quiet location facing the church square, and the owner recommended us very good local restaurants which are not on the standard travel lists.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    10
    Great place with beautiful antiques
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Very good buffet breakfast with eggs, meat, toast, cereal, etc. Host was on hand to answer any questions. Good English was very nice for us. Several good restaurants within a few blocks and also all the tourist shops. Just about one kilometer to historical Olympic site.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.5
    I'd Stay Here Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two beds pushed together and mattress too soft.

    location in the center of the small town. Easy parking, food around the corner. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Old world charm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    10
    Welcoming and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location just up the street and away from the busy tourist shops. Room lovely with a very comfortable bed (not hard like a typical Geek mattress!). My host invited me and other guests to sit by the fireplace with him for friendly conversation. Big breakfast selection with personal attention.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    Excellent location; friendly and helpful; comfortable with great breakfast. Exceptional value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower cabinet was a bit of a squeeze.

    I thoroughly enjoyed my three-night stay in mid-October and would unhesitatingly recommend the Pelops to other travellers. The hotel is very well located at the top end of the main street, about a three-minute walk from the bus stop and ten-fifteen minutes to the archaeological site and museum. The owners are extremely helpful and welcoming, providing a lot of key information on arrival and always willing to answer questions and offer good advice, eg, on where to eat. My room was spacious and comfortable with a small pleasant balcony and efficient air-con. The locality was quiet at night. There is a nice sitting area next to reception and the dining room, where an excellent buffet breakfast is served. The October rate was exceptionally good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.6
    Fully recommend to anyone visiting Olympia for a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New TV in room but only Greek programmes. Minor issue but Sky News would have been good to keep up to date.

    Comfortable, clean hotel. Excellent location. Staff very helpful and attentive. Courtesy refreshments in room. Very generous breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Great location and very friendly and personable hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and very friendly and personable hosts.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Perfect place in Olympia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Value for the money was exceptional. Staff (owners!) were wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.3
    comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Available to use the machine to boile water inside the room. And also coffee and tee bags served. So I enjoyed cups of hot coffee in my room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast menu was poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu was poor

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very spacious with a large balcony. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and provided much information of the area.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: