Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pension Eva

1 Theofanous & Zambeliou Str, Chania Town, 73100, Greece

#32 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have heavy luggage is hard to get to the hotel as there is a pedestrian road and you have to leave the car around 300m away

    Great place to stay in Chania. Small room but very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Great location. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t try breakfast. Mainly because we didn’t get chance. Extra 5 euro charge but I wouldn’t let that put you off. Great location. Parking available approximately 10 minute walk away but you have to find yourself. Traditional rooms in small house. Great if you like simple clean places to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    The terrace is really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing for me. The stairs are steep and narrow, could be a problem for anyone with heavy luggage and disabilities.

    The terrace is really nice. A tip: No breakfast on this nice little hotel. There are basic cooking utilities in the room. Go out and buy something for breakfast on one of the minimarkets around the corner. Bring it up to the terrace and have a marvellous meal to start the day. Much better than any of the nearby places where you can have an expensive but not so good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Very charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can get a little noisy in the night.

    We liked the roof terrace and the little details in the room like the kettle, dish towel, also the mix of traditional and modern, particularly the old wooden doors with two wings. The hotel is spot-on in the centre of the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Chania charmer
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a great part of town. It's quiet and quaint. A fabulous old building. The rooftop deck is a relaxing treat with peeps of the Venetian harbor and lighthouse.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming and authentic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little hard to find, and the manager is there--in her shop downstairs--only during the business day. But you can always reach her by phone.

    Quaint little old pension in Old Town Chania in an excellent location near to the Venetian port but in a side street away from the noise and hustle. Friendly, helpful managers, clean and well-maintained. Tiny bathroom, though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a most enjoyable stay and we recommend this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is difficult to find & about ten minutes walk away. But in the end we always found a spot to leave the car

    Very friendly staff & most helpful with local information. Good communication.The position is perfect & it's an easy walk to the harbour. It felt very safe. The little street is very quiet after about 10:00 pm & we had peaceful sleeps There's a small convenience store three minutes walk away & excellent restaurants very close by

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    3.3
    very uncomfortable and not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the beds are not comfortable. not clean/ room smells. misleading photos. air condition was not working . humid rooms. bad quality

    horrible place- the photos are very misleading

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Value for money accommodation, excellent location, friendly staff but room ventilation was very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of mould, room temperature/poor ventilation. The air condition wasn't maintained thus the smell of the cool air was unpleasant.

    Excellent location, nice decoration, very good wifi connection and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely return visit to Chania after 10 years made extra relaxing by staying at Eva.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good to have shower cubicle rather than open shower we've often had in Greece. Lots of hot water whatever time we needed it. Cleaning service excellent and lovely quirky building. Roof terrace a lovely bonus area for relaxing and enjoying a quiet drink away from hustle and bustle of Chania. Transfer from airport and back super reliable and friendly. Property above shop but still quiet. Plenty of places to eat and drink and a couple of shops just around the corner for buying food or drink supplies.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.5
    Excellent stay but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its overpriced comparing to properties few kilometers outside the old harbour, it has narrow stairs and no elevator but that goes for most poperties at the location

    Excellent location, spacious room with polite staff comfy pillows and very clean !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.1
    a nice place for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was realy not comfortable.

    the location is very central and easy to reach. many restorants / tavernas / gift shops. The manager (eva?) was very nice and helped us with information and let us get to the room much earlier. there are 5 rooms, as we understood 4 of them are renovated and ours was not , but still . was really ok. the shower is tiny but for one night it was really ok. the room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    nice stay in that small pension, quiet and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no breakfast but you can find some around, nice area and peaceful place, only 4 rooms, so it's not too Noisy, friendly staff, nice terrasse on the roof

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay in the heart of the old harbour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a good wifi connection but sometimes the signal was weak.

    It was the first time we stayed at Pansion Eva with my wife, and it's been an amazing experience! The location couldn't be better! The access of the property is very easy. You stay in the heart of the old town of chania(very romantic and picturesque) and all the cafes and restaurants are right down the street!! Mr Solonas and Mrs Voula are the owners, they made sure we are provided with everything we need! Although parking can be tricky in the old town,there is a public parking available very close to the pansion. To sum up, I strongly believe this is the best place to stay in the old town of Chania. Thank you very much for your hospitality. We are definitely coming back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Lovely rooms in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds a bit uncomfortable. Air conditioning was not working, but they sorted it out within a day. Bit irritating that they insist on being paid in cash (presumably for "tax efficiency")

    Fantastic location, lovely roof terrace, very helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Cozy and comfortable Pension in fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Pension was cozy and comfortable. The location was excellent. Easy walking distance to sites and restaurants. Great atmosphere. Our host was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.8
    Cosy comfort in Chania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giannis met us at the bus station and brought us here with our bags. He gave us great recommendations for restaurants and was very kind and friendly. The location is fantastic in the old town. The flat was cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    10
    Charming and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to climb the stairs so not very comfortable for travelers with very small kids and impossible to reach for disables.

    Lovely place, perfect location, very friendly hostess and raki as a starter ;) Spotless and charming.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Pension Eva - a step back in time (in a good way!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room itself could have been the slightly larger one that I had initially booked.

    The owner, Eva, is a lovely, lovely lady - so welcoming and kind. The room itself, I am pretty sure is not the original one I booked (it was lacking the balcony that I thought I was getting). However, the room was clean and the staff were extremely kind & friendly. The proximity to Old Town was spot on. I walked everywhere and saw what I had come to Chania to see. Overall, a great experience.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location in Chania Old Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nowhere to hang wet swim gear overnight.

    Great location. Right in the heart of the Venetian old town with the locals. Amazing views of the harbour from the roof terrace. The staff were friendly and even helped me get back my phone which I left in the transfer, I am so grateful. I liked the style of the room it was fitting with the building and had character.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    nice comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great Location quiet but only yards from the harbour with great roof top nice size room lively small balcony over looking small street

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely rooms in excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Bathroom too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom too small

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Chania April 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place in a terrific location. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Romantic place for short stay in Chania old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked Eva’s pension. Its nice and romantic place, very cosy and boutique place. Nice for couples.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the morning meaning we had to go into the hall and turn on hot water then wait.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, good, large-sized room and a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, good, large-sized room and a very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    The ladies were lovely and gave great recommendations and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies were lovely and gave great recommendations and let us leave our bags during the day when we had a late evening flight.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Lovely room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Small But Perfectly Formed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More toiletries.

    The quaintness of an old Cretan building and the friendly welcome

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    10
    Must stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Love the ambience of the place, everything was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Solid recommendation for Chania as the
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom could be bigger,

    Staff is very friendly, they solve any issues immidiately, location is perfect - not too far not to close to the centre,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Wherever you lay your hat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    N/A

    Great location, old world style.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Owner was friendly and helful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Owner was friendly and helful. Very informative about what to see and where to eat.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.8
    Top Location in Chania, very close to the harbor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners are very kind and supportive. Beautiful roof top terrace.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.8
    Very helpful owners, very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful owners, very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    10
    We had booked Room 2, as it had a proper kitchenette with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had booked Room 2, as it had a proper kitchenette with rings for cooking simple meals, no microwave. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in neutral colours. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the location was great, steps away from the harbour, where we took sunset walks every night.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    8.3
    Wonderful quiet location yet in heart of old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No drawers for clothes. Typically hard Cretan beds

    Wonderful quiet location yet in heart of old town. Shaded and sunny areas on roof terrace with good views. Helpful owner and staff. Toaster and kettle and fridge very useful. Near to good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    8.8
    Very convenient to the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staircase is a bit narrow for suitcases but can be left in storage downstairs.

    Very convenient to the old city. easy access to the waterfront and shops

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    It is placed in the perfect spot in the old venetian ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, really.

    It is placed in the perfect spot in the old venetian harbour, just a few steps from tavernas, colorful shops, a supermarket and the public parking. The rooms are charming vintage, clean, well equipped, with a good bathroom and useful kitchinette. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful people and made us feel like home. Highly recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    The owner was very nice and helpful, and there was always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner was very nice and helpful, and there was always someone there. The bathroom was new and the shower worked properly. The small street was quiet at night.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.2
    It was right in the middle of the old town, close to so many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was right in the middle of the old town, close to so many lovely tavernas. The room was clean and quite traditional but with good air conditioning and a very good shower.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    8.8
    The staff was very welcoming, we got help with getting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The stairs to the second floor are a bit steep and there was no porch in our room.

    The staff was very welcoming, we got help with getting around town and some useful info about restaurants. The location is amazing, so is the terrace which belongs to all the guests.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.8
    Great location, staff was friendly at check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    owner of pension also run a small shop, shop assistant was only point of contact most of the time during the day, did not know details such as if card was accepted for payment (this place does not accept cards), double room should be declared as twin room, two single beds next to each other, one with loose slatted frame that fell apart during night, we stayed in room 5 which is very noisy, you can hear every step from people in room above --> make sure to get room on top floor, minor, but unusual, we had to ask for fresh towels and refill of toilet paper during stay

    Great location, staff was friendly at check in

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    The room was charming and old world, but also contained...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was charming and old world, but also contained everything I needed. The wifi and air conditioning were excellent, and the owner and staff helped me find the best places to visit nearby.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful friendly people, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking can be a bit of an issue, but what does it matter if you have to walk a couple of hundred metres more.

    Beautiful friendly people, perfect location. Excellent for this type of accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    10
    Perfect location in quite alleyway close to the Venetian...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location in quite alleyway close to the Venetian harbour. Small and friendly. Delightful Greek family owners. Great double room in old stone building with a small roof garden. Loved this place.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location! The hotel is not on the busy waterfront, but it is close enough to everything. The room was cute and comfortable. I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    This hotel is in the middle of the old town, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel is in the middle of the old town, very close to everything...restaurants, shops, bus station... The room was nice and clean.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    9.6
    The location is great, in the centre of the old town;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great, in the centre of the old town; the owner Eva is very kind.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    9.6
    really friendly people, romantic authentic old building,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    really friendly people, romantic authentic old building, near to venetian harbour

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    7.5
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location. Nice room.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    10
    Adorable pension with updated facilities and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Adorable pension with updated facilities and great location. Perfect for our stay in Old Town. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.2
    We had direct contact with the owners who were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had direct contact with the owners who were very helpful. The location was excellent and we felt so much at home

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    6.7
    Cosy, nice rustic house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Woke up two times during the night! Dog fighting outside or may be in the backyard.

    Cosy, nice rustic house. Rooftop terrace with view.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    Location was great, very easy to pop out to the Old Town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was not very appetizing.

    Location was great, very easy to pop out to the Old Town shops and tavernas.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    9.6
    ideally located, very clean, quiet and excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ideally located, very clean, quiet and excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Toilet to small had to sit sideways and the lights on the hallways not good had to swing my arms around to activate them.

    Location

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: