Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Kasteli

Kanevarou 39, Chania Town, 73100, Greece

#31 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Chania Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 104 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was only a one night stay but I had no complaints at all.

    It was a lovely double room - in a central part of Chania - with a balcony looking out to some ancient looking ruins - all very lovely! Alex was very friendly, helpful and his English perfect. Will go back again for a visit next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was grey, dull and depressing, narrow with a high ceiling, obviously partitioned off from a much larger room. The only daylight came from a glass door onto the balcony, which faced a stone wall. The mattress on the bed was thin and not comfortable. The worst thing was the shower. Although the bathroom was comparatively large the shower tray was minute and there was no soap dish, so you had to bend over to pick up the soap off the floor of the tray. This put me in great danger of injuring my bum on the shower tap. All the nice photos on the website were of parts of the building we never got into, though from glimpses I'm fairly sure they exist.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath room was very steamy despite an exhaust fan. A small complaint in a very comfortable stay.

    Alex was a very informative host, and gave us good information on the history of the area and best places to eat. Requested ironing equipement and the latest model in irons was delivered. Convenient enclosed car park close by. A short walk to Old Port and many places to eat or take boat excursions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and informative staff. Location was excellent - very close to port, restaurants and sites but in a relatively quiet spot. Room was a good size.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing to dislike though I would have loved to have been able to make tea or coffee.

    The location in the old town was superb. Just around the corner from the old port. View from the balcony was lovely , looking a an old wall with huge plants . Really nice. There was a fridge in the room with water, beer, lemon and cola for free! A lovely gesture. Will go back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The proprietor of the property was awful. We had some confusion with the payment and he was very passive aggressive about the situation. For that alone I never felt comfortable at the property and chose to spend much of my time out.

    Great location, walking distance to the town and the room was a good size. One of the better bathrooms I've seen in Crete this trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and went out of their way to ensure I was made as comfortable as possible. Great that there was a complimentary beer and soft drinks in the fridge and I also welcomed having tea and coffee making facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First of all, the welcoming was not good at all. The host told us the first thing that why did we request parking and then go park somewhere else. Hahaha like if I should know where the private parking space was.We found a space near as you can not really stop at the door because is a traffic flowing road so we decided to park there, walk to the hotel and ask where was the parking...And he answered:' why bother now'....with a rather bad attitude.... Secondly, we traveled with a baby, whom I included on my reservation. But he said oh and you are coming with a baby...I am attaching the picture of my reservation where you can clearly see I booked for 1 baby as well...Anyways, we were so tired that I could not be bother of answering ... he said I am going to offer you a room with an extra bed for the same price... when the reservation was with a baby in the first place. So obviously he got mistaken and tried to make us believe we were in the wrong and he was making us the favour. Thirdly, He told us off again because we said we are coming from UK but have Spanish passports( Again I had to explain that although we had Spanish passports we have been living in England for 20 years) I do not think it matters where we come from anyways... It just felt like we were kids and were being told off for doing everything wrong... It was not pleasant at all. Not the minimal courtesy of what you would expect from hotel staff. Also, the room was very dated. 80's style and decoration. No breakfast. The room we stayed in is not in the pictures. it is totally different. I could not believe it was the same we reserved that I went back to the website to check it was the right one.... Also, when we left in the morning (we decided no way we stay here another night) we were bringing down the luggage and he asked us for the keys about 4 times and it was not even check out time.... We had to say we were still collecting things from the room a few times.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are traveling with babies or you are pregnant you should know there are a lot of stairs! My pour husband has to go up and down several times.

    The owner was really nice. The location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was a bit expensive (closer to medium range), however still much cheaper than other hotels in the area and totally worth the price!

    Located in the old town. The room was very comfortable. With a nice design and an internal balcony. The facilities also included a jacuzzi (though we didn't use it) and a bar. The owner was very friendly and amazing, offering us drinks when we arrived, giving recommendations where to go and what to do. The morning we left we had problems with our bike which luckily for us he volunteered to help fixing. He did everything he could to help and saved us that day :) We will definitely stop by if we visit there again!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was amazing, the owner and his daughter were friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The absence of the staff

    The place in the ancient city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't booked enough days, we should stay longer.

    Great location, comfortable room, lovely staff. Just perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn't work

    Location, nice staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Comfortable room. Nice welcome. Beer and water in the room. Great location just away from tourist hotspots

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for the harbour and market and churches. All within few minutes walk.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Perfect location, close to port and in the heart of Old town. Very friendly staff. Free parking. Nice and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work that day

    Nice location, clean room, good price, owner was polite and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Double bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, free private parking space, spacious room and bathroom, very good wi-fi in the room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old and dirty towels. Furniture wasn't great too(curtains falling when you try to move them).

    Great location in the old town, by a walking distance from the center. Had a nice terrace.The host was friendly and helpful, explaining the local sightseeings/beaches. Was quiet enough. There is a kitchen where one can have free coffee(there were a couple of espresso machines and a french press).

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    voices and passing traffic seemed to be amplified by the street buildings.

    Excellent location. Friendly helpful manager. 2 minutes from harbour, 5 minutes from old town. lovely beaches either 20 minute walk or easy bus ride to others.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was very firm but that doesn't seem unusual here in Greece.

    The owner Alex was very helpful in answering our questions and planning our stay here in Chainia. This made our trip very enjoyable .

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some sound-proofing would be nice: We could hear people snore from the room next door...

    Very good location, nice people, comfortable and very clean room, good wi-fi, hot water.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location near the Venetian Port was absolutely fantastic, and we were welcomed very warmly by our host, the drinks (water, soft drinks and beer!) left in the fridge for us was a lovely touch and we were kindly allowed to leave out bags for the day after we'd checked out.. Once again the location here is really superb, so close to the action but not too close to be disturbed by it!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable room with possibility of free parking (a rarity in town), with impeccably clean and spacious toilet. Very friendly and warm welcome from the owner, Alex, who is also a master coffee maker (tip: try his Ethiopian arabica). He will do pretty much everything to ease your stay in town. A must.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A minor point but we would have been happy with better quality pillows!

    Impeccably clean room, crisp, cool sheets, terrific water pressure in the shower, simple furniture and vintage photo blow-ups of Chania harbor on the walls. Very charming! It was always a pleasure to walk up the hill and away from all the hustle bustle down at the Venetian harbor. Alex is a gracious host with terrific ideas for day trips, boating and beaches. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If we have to find something, it would be pop ads on the wifi and only when searching some tourist sites.

    In addition to the great location with 2 minutes walk to the Venetian port, cleanliness, functional rooms, comfortable beds and a rare private parking lot that reduce the stress of driving back after a long day of sight seeing, Kastelli Studios comes with a unique unadvertised "concierge service"! Whatever we needed, our friendly and generous host, Alex, had the answer or a referral! This included laundry facilities, directions and best way to get to some distant sightseeing spots to unplanned pharma needs when the local ones are closed, etc...I'm sure a lot of places offer nice facilities, but none would come with an Alex style Concierge Service!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Extreme good quality for money. Nice rooms and excellent location, really helpful hotel manager.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not a bad experience but would have li8ked basic coffee /tea making facilities.

    location

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Grat host And localization.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect place to stay, close to harbour and Old Town, quiet and comfortable. Helpful people

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: