Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Periscope 4 stars

Haritos 22, Kolonaki, Athens, 106 75, Greece

#106 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 118 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We can't complain about anything …

    Warm hearted and very welcoming people who organised and fulfilled every wish we had – and beyond. Plus great room service with daily breakfast in the room, fresh towels, clean facility, great beds, …

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view, not enough shelves at the bathroom

    Great Location; free snacks at the lobby; nice and cozy interior decoration; good music at the lobby; friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff is very kind and polite but not up to standards. There was a Marathon the day I checked-out and they were not aware that all the streets were closed and no taxi was allowed. I lost my flight.

    the wifi was perfect, the bed very comfortable, the room very clean, the location very central, the snack area Always available free of charge, the furniture are beautiful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel took my money and still did not received this money back. They said it is only the confirmation for the booking, but this money I did not received yet back and it has past already 15 days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPG platinum status completely ignored and useless so got no of the regular perks/arrangements I would have at other properties. Rooms ridiculously small with very little storage. Staff unpleasant at arrival and when raising a few complaints (first and only time I will post a review, put I was really annoyed by their attitude).

    Nice design. Clean hotel. One hotel staff did arrange for a day spent at a sister property (Semiramis) waiting to catch our plane (had to nag about late check out though).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding a car space in the evening was like any capital city. Regarding the hotel, nothing we did not like!

    Very comfortable and clean. Good location and excellent breakfast! All staff were very kind and attentive which made our stay really enjoyable. The bathroom was spacious and an excellent, powerful shower. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff, the lounge, a safe location, lovely neighbourhood... excellent cafes (Kostarelos .. a Greek deli full of delicacies with a divine, great twist on a Greek Salad! Out of the Hotel turn left, turn left, turn left and diagonally opposite you will find) and boutiques.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - Relation to the client was absolutely inflexible: It was impossible to make any changes after booking. Management was not able to meet our requirement, despite the support of "Boking.com" - The staff can not always respond correctly. Once receptionist switched to an increased tone! In this case - sometimes it was easier to ask people on the street - It is impossible to park a car nearby (nearest parking - 10 minutes walking and 15 euros per day)

    Convenient location Good breakfast (but always the same and not for a long-term stay)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is much overrated. A bit far for a tourist in case want to come back walking at night. Easy to loose the way... and most of the people.even 2 blocks far from ot do not know the hotel

    The design of the hotel.. the rooms...the interior is really nice

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cons: lack of insulation resulting in waking up when the neighboring rooms do so or when the housekeeping starts its shift

    Pros: location, location, location! And kind/ helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room! Period! For the current price just unacceptable. Hotels worldwide and inside Athens charging much less have better rooms. It is in need of a renovation or at least better maintenance.

    Upscale area of Kolonaki, easy access to transportation

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    24hour free buffet bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location, cosy hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been for a bachelor party and they didnt let us d late check out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of ironing board in the room

    Lovely hotel in a convenient position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lies that the staff told me

    Poor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room size. The response rate to fix a problem!

    The location The free all day buffer The staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super clean, quiet rooms, snack bar, quality of service in general was top.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV and channels Bathroom needed better maintenance

    Room and balcony Breakfast All day free coffee, soft drinks and snacks at the lobby Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark and faced onto the back of a building. Shower fitting was very complicated.

    All day snacks and drinks and the lounge with street view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, nicely decorated common area, nice and functional room. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird lobby music

    Great breakfast, best Athens neighborhood

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location, helpful and friendly staff, all in all was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better. Limited choice and unfriendly service.

    The suite has a nice sofa and terrace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Bed extra comfy, snacks and drinks available throughout the day FOC, fast internet, reception staff (Stefania) outstanding helpers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The design, the staff, the neighbourhood

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street at night. The air conditioning had one fan setting - high. So we froze at night

    Convenient position

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in high end area for visits of monuments and muséums and shopping !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upgraded to suite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit small and bathrooms not very practical.

    Great location close to shops and restaurants, friendly staff, nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Perhaps our room was a little small, however would not stop us staying there again

    Pretty much everything. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Kind and courteous staff! exceptional people like the Greeks are known for. Great location, very chic neighborhood, safe feeling

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent breakfast selection. Great spot. So peaceful and quiet yet close to everything within short walking distance. Feel very safe walking in that neighborhood as 2 females.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The color of the walls in the bedroom was too dark I wld hv preferred more light. The shower taps were difficult to figure out ie not straight forward.

    Service at breakfast by the staff was personal and heartwarming. The view from the breakfast room was pleasing. The duvet and pillows were perfect. I appreciated that the room was quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Stayed in this hotel about two years ago and it was great, so I made it my first choice this time. They used to have a very fresh breakfast and now it was stale bread and cold coffee. After the first day, my colleague and I who were travelling for work went out for breafast instead. The location is excellent, and that is the only reason I would possibly recommend it if you like a non-touristy area to stay and dont mind going down to the main square to get breakfast and a real coffee. I have stayed in about 5 different Athens hotels, and I do fhink you can get better value elsewhere. Again, the main thing this hotel has going for it is location.

    Location is ideal. Not touristy, nice local restaurants just outide the doorstep. Excellent boutique shops all around the Kolonaki area, and not a far walk if you do want to head over to Plaka.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Service was extremely slow. I had to wait for 1.5 hours in my room for a glass of juice to arrive (never did, even after repeated phone calls, then i had to leave for a meeting) plus only got an adaptor i asked for a day later. No one had the decency to inform me they had run out- only after i kept pestering them. The next day when i tried to order a cup of coffee at the restaurant while working on my laptop, i realised that no free plug worked plus i was told that they had run out of coffee! Quite annoying, not to say ridiculous for a hotel of this kind. Admittedly though i have been a customer for many years and the nonchalance with which the staff treated client requests was a first. Quite disappointing though.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    DISASTER STAY AWAY,!!!Very small rooms, very noisy, you can hear everybody walking!! In the corridor, talking ! Flushing!! the toilet next door, , extremely disturbing ,with very poor sound proof , the worst hotel in Athens!. Bathroom towels very old, worn out. Extremely expensive with NO value for this money( they charge 150!!euro without breakfast, fair price for this kind of hotel should be ...60 euro max. Never get 1st, 2nd floor rooms, dark, noisy, no view at all, at 6 meters you see opposite tall building !!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I didn't like the fact that the restaurant is managed by a different co And there is no chef to provide cooked breakfast

    Location/ service/ design/ quite but in the centre on Athens

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was renovated for the Olympics and it could have another renovation soon.

    Location is great, best downtown neighbourhood, everything is walking distance and the metro is just 3 minutes by walk

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience at the Periscope.

    We stayed at the Periscope both at the beginning and at the end of our vacation on the Greek Islands. Our first room was a studio with a full balcony, a fine sofa and a bit of a view of Mt. Lykavittos -- we were thrilled with it. But we were also happy with the regular room we reserved for the end of our stay. We disagree with people who think Periscope's regular rooms are too small -- wait until they visit New York City where rooms are smaller at 2, 3 or 4 times the price, and the location not so fashionable. The bed linens, towels and toiletries at Periscope were of fine quality and provided in ample quantities. The bed itself was exceptionally comfortable. We had plenty of space to move about in our room! Hotel staff called taxis, suggested and reserved restaurants, and mapped out walking routes for us, all with good humor. I almost hesitate to recommend the hotel in order to keep it off the beaten tourist path, which it is now because it seems people don't think, or know, to stay in Kolonaki with its many restaurants, cafes and proximity to several important museums. It would help tourism in Athens to have just a few more small hotels in Kolonaki which is a good-sized, charming and safe neighborhood. We hope to visit Athens again and are already planning on staying at the Periscope.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A/C in room was défective, we hard to change rooms.

    Modern rooms, great breakfast, service, actually forgot We were in Athens, could have been any big city.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Friendly & helpful staff. Hotel clean and rooms are spatious. Also close to metro and 2 stops away from main sites. The hotel is located in a good area. They also stored our luggage while we went to Meteora for couple of days. When we came back luggage was already in our new room

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Construction across the street (weekdays 8AM to 4PM) has been going on for at least four years. (But almost done now!)

    The junior suites are roomy, and their balcony makes the room feel even bigger. Very comfy beds. All staff are super-friendly. Location on a quiet street (except for the construction across the street), in Atens' tony Kolonaki residential neighborhood; good restaurants, bars and nightclubs nearby. Major tourist attractions within 20-30 minutes' walk, and metro 10 minutes walk away.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have stayed at this hotel for over 40 years( it was the Kolonaki Inn,then the Athenian Inn and now the Periscope. The Periscope is by far its best iteration.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved everything .....

    Brilliant hotel. Brilliant staff. Brilliant location. The only hotel I'd ever stay in again in Athens. We actually returned to the city for a night and stayed at Periscope again. We didn't consider staying anywhere else but...

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There is construction right accross the street from the hotel and the noise starts very early in the morning around 7 am. Customers should be informed when making a reservation.

    The bed and the pillows!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good location in Kolonaki, a trendy neighbor of Athens. The stuff is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are nice and clean. The breakfast was ok. I had a good and comfortable stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    refusal of coffee facilities within room service in restaurant appalling waited 15 mins spoke to reception told all would be well but waited for further 15 mins and left. Advised later only snacks.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the entrance of hotel with stairs, not good for heavy luggage, a "ramp" would be welcome...

    absolutely friendly and professional staff at reception and restaurant. Nice room, excellent wifi. Breakfast super ok. Placed at 1min walk from lively trendy street with bars and restaurants (Xaritos, I suggest La Esquina for very good burgers and superb cocktails)

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I was on my own. I am not keen on glass doors for the toilet. the one in my room would not close properly so I would not visit this hotel with my wife.

    Good nights sleep. Very good for my office visit the next day. Staff were pleasant

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No easy access by subway (uphill), no parking at the hotel or the neighbourhood

    excellent location if you want to walk around Kolonaki area (shopping area, bars).

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - room phone did not work, was not noticed by staff - no need for fresh towels everyday

    - Customer-oriented staff - big, clean bathroom - cosy bed - located in walking distance to syntagma square - safe to go out in the night - quiet

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tha reception could be more Helpful.

    Great location. Vibrant athmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    tv

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Helpfull Staff

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Group

    Location and xomfort

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very poor lobby with staff that seemed bored

    nice modern rooms

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location is excellent

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    has no lobby/seating area

    location, location, location

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Under construction

    Location

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor sound insulation

    The staff was very nice and very helpful. The location is very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very minimal. Additionally it was served in -1, at a very small room. Not value for money

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Location, minimalist style, cleanliness, friendly and helpful staff. Fair breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    My room was a little cramped and looked out on an airshaft.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, good location.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately it's noisy even in the 3rd floor

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wonderful customer service, availability and friendliness

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    rooms are a bit small- but a great trade off for the excellent location and value.

    the people were fabulous! extremely helpful and always gracious

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The bloody light system was insanely weird. The WiFi was horrible.. Like 20 kb sec

    The feel and location are awesome

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good service from staff, convenient and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff is exceptional especially Christopher gave us great advice and assistance

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is Key - best for Athens city break! Rooms, albeit small, are excellent!

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Over heated room

    Great location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    location, discreet staff

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    just everything you need

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: