Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Philippos Hotel 3 stars

3 Mitseon Street, Athens, 11742, Greece

#71 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 824 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was a tad small, but comfortable.

    The breakfast was delicious, with a lot of variety to choose from. The staff went over and above to help us reschedule our airline tickets, as we had to fly home early. They were so patient and our phones were not working so let us use front desk phone for half hour and no extra charge. Spiros even made a call for us in Greek, to get things straightened out. I have never had anyone so helpful as he and the two ladies. Let us store our luggage there till late. Excellent location! Next to Acropolis and metro train line.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very conveniently situated near the Acropolis and has a sister hotel nearby with a rooftop bar and restaurant that can also be used. We will return next year

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only stayed for the one night and did not arrive until ten PM , so had no time for sightseeing on this occasion. The check in and check out staff were both of them friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a comfortable hotel in a quiet neighbourhood within walking distance of the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, the Plaka and Syntagma, to name only a few of the many attractions Athens has to offer.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had one moment of frustration, on both of our ends, but it was quickly resolved. Upon arrival, the front staff was overwhelmed. I had a group of 17 people, and at least 14 of us when trying to check in. I didn't expect for us to check in right away, because it was before check-in time, but we were told that some rooms were available. So, we were waiting in the lobby until they figured out which ones. We waiting for a long time, and every time we kept checking back with them, they kept saying 10 more minutes. We had all just arrived into Athens and were pretty tired, hungry, and agitated from our long flights from the States. We just wanted to get something to eat, but decided to wait until they gave us the rooms that were already available. If they had just told us that the rooms weren't available, we would have just checked our luggage in with them like we had planned, and come back after we ate lunch. I didn't ever expect them to change anything for me, just to have open communication. The rooms are a bit small, including the bathroom, but we didn't need much. It was just a place to rest our heads. Unfortunately, the beds were uncomfortable. We only stayed there 2 nights, so it didn't bother us too much, but it would have made our stay more pleasant if we were able to sleep on a more comfortable bed.

    The staff was absolutely amazing. Aside from the small mishap at check-in, the staff went above and beyond. They were incredibly helpful with everything. After having booked the rooms, and before our trip arrival date, I was in constant contact with them. They assisted me in scheduling transportation from the airport and to the ferry port for my group of 17 people. One member of our group left his iPhone power bank in his room after we had already checked out, and when he contacted them, they agreed to send it back to him in the Netherlands. The patios connected to the rooms were nicely sized and a nice place to relax on. They also offer a nice breakfast in the mornings. The location was perfect for getting around. We were close to the Acropolis as well as the City Square where there are tons of shops and restaurants. Overall, this place was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of coffee for breakfast did not include greek coffee. I realize most tourists don't like it, but I do.

    Super friendly staff. Willing to help you with directions, good suggestions on places to eat. Rooms were super clean. Bed was quite comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I will include scramble eggs in the breakfast menú and probably I will Improve Internet network.

    I really Like the locación. The hotel os closed ti Acrópolis, souvenirs stores and good restaurants. I love the hotel organization and cleaning. It was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC could be cleaned. Some disturbances in elevator.

    Great location. Nice view of Akropol from some rooms. Great tarrace for evenings. Good breakfasts with decent selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was really small.

    The staff is amazing, everyone was so helpful. I needed a few things like an adaptor for my phone charger and they had one for me right away. All the information about shops and places nearby was given. When travelling alone, it is great to have such support. The location is fantastic. It is right by the Akropoli, it is great to walk around the area. I didn't need bus, taxi, or metro for anything during my trip, except to go to and from the airport. All the main attractions are there within walking distance. The amenities in the room are so nice, all olive oil based, very Greek! I also had a view of the Akropoli from my room, which was an experience on itself. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    although our bathroom was modern, the bedroom smelt of smoke and the decor is rather tired. the hessian wallpaper seems to retain the smell of smoke (although it is meant to be a non-smoking room!) Also, the beds are really quite outdated with extra mattresses on top, which still sag.

    The staff were really helpful, providing extra hangers for clothes etc., and just generally going the extra mile, including giving us a later check-out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom was a little small but as large as the room would allow.

    Location is perfect. Short walk to the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum & Acropolis metro station. Close to restaurants and bars. Very friendly staff. The room had a fridge and a small balconly over a side street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In our room there was a light, constant noise of water flowing, but it wasn't too annoying. As mentioned, breakfast is very good, but personally I'd replace the fruit juice that is currently served: it doesn't taste good. A very minor issue anyway.

    Excellent location, just a few minutes walk from the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum and the Plaka district with loads of restaurants. Basically all main attractions are within walking distance. The hotel is modern, well-kept and very clean. Staff is kind and helpful. Very good breakfast with a lot of choice. Excellent value for money. Really satisfied with our stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were clean but old. We especially didn't like the old carpet smell. Bathrooms were also small but clean and functional.

    Excellent location, close to all the highlights of the city and to the metro Rooms a little dated but kept clean Staff friendly an helpful Small hotel, which we liked Nice rooftop view of the acropolis Breakfast was excellent Overall we had a very positive experience

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bathroom size was a bit small, but it wasn't a big problem.

    The place is located just in the centre, easy to get by bus or metro from the airport and it is in a walking distance for Acropolis Metro Station. I had a chance to have a room with a terrace with a view of Acropolis Hill. The staff are amazing and very helpful. Any tourist attraction are in a walking distance from a hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses were too soft and not straight. Lack of fridge coffee and tea in the room, small showering area (neither a bath tub or a shower).

    Friendliness of the staff, pleasant and warm interior much better than your average 3* hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit cold during nights (but we were in November) and a heating was a bit loud if I was running through the night. But it couldn't ruin the hotel experience because it was so good. The view of the Acropolis is just fascinating.

    Very good hotel, nice staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During the night, you hear in the room a constant monotone noise; originating from the aircondition of the hotel, because it was monotone, it was possible to fall asleep, despite it was a quite loud noise. Too bad. Otherwise I would have recommend this hotel to my friends.

    The receptionist was friendly and the breakfast was good, Greek and complete. Our room on the fifth floor was foreseen with a large terrace. From one corner of the terrace, the Akropolis was to be seen. The location is pleasant, on walking distance from the acropolis. Only the 5th floor rooms were equipped with large terraces, the other floors had much smaller terraces.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wi-fi was very slow! We could barely connect, let alone surf on the internet. Also, our room was relatively small (the bathroom was really tiny!). Apart from that, we had a great experience and we'd definitely stay there again if we ever come back to Athens.

    Location, location, location! We were less than 5 min away by foot from the metro, from restaurants and shops in Plaka neighbourhood, as well as walking distance from Acropolis and other historical sites. Also, the breakfast was pretty decent and the staff was super friendly as well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV wouldn't work. Breakfast was poor - however the Greek yoghurt was good. Coffee from a machine wasn't nice.

    Room was quiet and clean. Location was really good in a cool area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. Was all good!

    Brilliant location one block away from the Acropolis Museum and the entrance to the Acropolis; great restaurant streets nearby; safe walkable neighbourhood; very friendly and helpful staff - especially assisting with arranging bus trip to Delphi at very late notice. Room not huge, but comfortable and with a tiny view of part of the Acropolis! Good breakfast included. What more could you want! Would definitely stay there again if in Athens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was ridiculously small, although well appointed. You could not sit directly down on the toilet as the sink was in the way! The breakfast area was too small for the number of guests with the food on offer crammed into one corner which caused a lot of waiting time and frustration.

    The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning effective. The small balcony was a nice to have, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area got a bit crowded at times so either get down early, or late, or just be chilled and take your time.

    Fabulous location for all the main sights. Good view of the acropolis from one of our rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms nice and clean Great shower Bed comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was tired and needed upgrading. Stained and old carpet, ripped wall paper. No water in the fridge on arrival, particularly after traveling all day in a hot climate and then to add insult to injury they wanted €1.50 for the water. Not good considering the cost of the room. However a staff member did organise a bottle of water for free after I complained.(shouldn't need to complain) Not enough seating at breakfast time, very unprofessional and disappointing.

    Location is excellent. Close to Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite small, although ok for just a few days. I personally found the bed very uncomfortable. It had a kind of thick, spongey mattress topper, which I found rather like trying to sleep on blancmange. My husband found it ok although he would have preferred a normal mattress. The breakfast selection was quite good but the breakfast area was quite small and we had to wait just to get a free table. They were also using an ordinary household 2 slice toaster rather than a commercial one, so you can imagine how long it took to get a couple of slices of toast. We also booked a meal at their sister hotel at their roof top terrace restaurant. Earlier in the evening it had rained quite heavily then stopped, but it wasn't until we enquired at reception on our way out we were told our booking had been cancelled. We understood the reason it had to be cancelled but felt very let down that no one had bothered to inform us earlier so we could change our plans. A simple phone call is all it would have taken. When we checked out we settled the bill and were waiting for the card and hotel receipts when another guest approached the desk to ask a question. The reception manager stopped dealing with us and turned to talk to her while we stood waiting for him to bother to finish dealing with us. An attitude I found very rude and another example of poor customer sevice. Our receipt was eventually pushed over the desk to us and we were simply dismissed without a goodbye or any other form of acknowledgement.

    The position of the property was excellent. It was only a short walk to all the major attractions and a good selection of bars, restaurants and cafes. Taxis were close by and all the "hop on hop off" tourist bus stops were just at the top of the road. The hotel was lovely and clean and cleaned well every day, and we had a bit of an acropolis view from our room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be improved. Beds were a bit hard.

    Staff was helpful + helped us reserve a table at their sister hotel (Great view of Pantheon). Perfect location with nice view from the (little) rooftop. The room was clean. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and the bathroom were stinking. The photographs online are artfully taken to make the room look bigger than they are.

    The only good thing about this hotel was that the staff was polite and nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They put me in a tiny, uncomfortable room. I could hardly move and getting into the toilet was a challenge. The system for the free internet connection was terrible. It asks you to register but also for a nonsense confirmation via e-mail. I had troubles with it and was my full stay without connection. Nonsense in the XXI century. Make the things easy and do not create ridiculous difficulties.

    The staff of the hotel was extremely kind and helpful. The best of this hotel without doubt. The location is good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small.

    Great location bar Acropolis yet quiet. The staff was very accommodating. Pics are from the roof restaurant of their sister hotel around the corner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the toilet really uncomfortable, very tiny and the cleaning warehouse room was inside the room, with a lot of noise when it is used ( I don't think is a problem of the cleaners, I think the problem is where it is situated).

    Very good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've stayed many times as the location is so good. We do long walks so it's great to be near the base of the Acropolis, the Plaka, city centre and gardens, also metro if you want to go further.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable stay and close to the Acropolis. Lots of great restaurants close by in addition to a very good breakfast at the hotel. The roof terrace with beautiful view of the Parthenon was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we walked into our room, it smelled kind of funky... The smell eventually went away, or we got used to it.

    The croissants were delicious and flakey. We were within walking distance to the Acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the freshest decor although modern and nice enough and one of the bathrooms smelled of drain. Oh and no cappuccino for breakfast, only filter coffee.

    Great location, clean, quiet, air con, decent bathrooms, efficient, good staff, decent buffet breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small, but it had everything we needed.

    Location was excellent and there really was a view of the Parthenon from our tiny balcony. We walked to all the sites we wanted to visit. The staff was helpful and professional. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right next to the Acroplis Museum, Syntagma Square and the Acropolis itself. Great value for money - spacious, clean rooms and friendly staff - what more could you ask for?

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly service. Not really welcoming. Okay for a night in Athens.

    Great location right in the center and close to Acropolis. Easy to find. Comfortable, clean rooms. Good help to book a taxi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no feature that I disliked.

    The Phillipos Hotel is conveniently located about 300m metres south of the Acropolis - a perfect location for access to the Acropolis museum, south side of the Acropolis and the Odeon of Herodes Atticus (concert and theatre venue). Numerous restaurants, bars and shops are within easy access. The location is quiet, there is little traffic noise during the daytime and none at night and the hotel seems to attract visitors who are mostly quiet and peaceful. The staff at the Phillipos are, without exception, helpful, pleasant, efficient and welcoming. The building is fairly modern with good décor, a pleasant breakfast area and a small rooftop terrace with a direct view of the Acropolis. The breakfast buffet met our needs perfectly. Rooms and bathrooms are spotlessly clean and have effective wifi. I recommend this hotel to colleagues and plan to use it again on my next visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jammed next to the bed was a strange carpeted set of steps that took up all the rest of the room between the bed and the window. The next morning, when I asked the reception desk staff person to print something for me, she told me I could go pick it up myself at the hotel's nearby sister hotel. As I had to leave in twenty minutes, this was not helpful. When I did not respond, she asked another employee to pick it up for me, but the exchange had not been what I would have expected as far as a helpful attitude. When I did leave, the employees watched as I I ttried to struggle down the steps with my heavy suitcase and bag. Fortunately the taxi driver who had come to pick me up could see what was happening and he came in to help me.

    The location is excellent. Greeting by reception desk was informative and helpful. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed dipped in the middle and too soft. Disappointed not the wonderful view advertised on the site - you have to go to the small roof deck for that. Soon got over it though as hotel is so nice.

    Very attractive hotel in perfect location to walk to all sites and shopping areas. Lovely lounge areas and free computers for after you have checked out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The free wifi was slow and kept turning off. The staff was helpful when you asked questions, but it would be nice if more information was provided in the room or upon check in as to where guests can locate businesses they may need to find.

    Location was convenient. Bed was comfortable and room was quiet. Breakfast came with lots of good options.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room allocation. The room had only a very small balcony two chairs and not enough room for a table. Very difficult to sit out on. We have stayed at this hotel twice before had had enjoyed a bigger balcony that is why we returned. A nice balcony can not be guaranteed as we had requested one. This will now put me off staying more than 2 nights.

    Location good. Breakfast had good choice. The staff all spoke English and for a city Hotel it is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    As this was our 3rd visit in the 6 weeks spent in Greece, given large room with large balcony - lovely. Staff have been really excellent at this hotel, everything is very comfortable. Would not stay anywhere else in Athens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advice..if going to Lykavetto Hill to watch the sun set over the Parthenon far below, do not bother to dine there. Had the WORST margarita of my life and a very surly waiter when I insisted that it be taken away and replaced with another drink. Otherwise, it is a very nice way to end a trip to see the city spread out below and the sea glow in the sunset. There's a small funicular that can be taken up to the top of the hill..not necessary to walk there.

    The hotel is located just behind the Acropolis Museum and is a short walk to the entrance. Staff very friendsly and professional. Some rooms have verandas with views of the Parthenon which is particularly beautifully lighted at night. Recommend dining at the taverna across from the metro exit called the Arcadia..excellent food!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were actually upgraded to the Phillipo's sister hotel (The Herodian) just around the corner. The location is great, and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Computers are available in the lobby with free printing. Staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi had a few problems.

    Prime location within walking distance of acropolis, plaka and and agora. Helpful staff. Cool for afternoon siesta and at night. Good public areas to sit if travelling with others. Plentiful, international breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Loved the rooftop area with the view of the Akropolis! Extremely nice room with all necessities! Staff was extremely helpful & accommodating! Excellent location & neighborhood. Super experience!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast didn't have a huge variety (unless you want to load up on bread & pastries). Our phone was called numerous times throughout the night, with only a couple of rings & a hang up. The cleaners were also in a bit of a rush to clean rooms before check out time. We've stayed before and feel it's gone a little downhill compared to previous visits.

    The room was clean, and you're only a short walk from the acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower is positioned so that there is not much room to stand in the bathtub.

    The location was perfect for exploring Athens and the property was good value for money with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    F&B not available 24/7 although there is a 24-hour convenience store a few mins walk away. Same price as other hotels that has better facilities so it seems to be overpriced for what it offers.

    Its a 3 min walk to the Acropolis museum

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One could not imagine a hotel with a better location in Athens. Quiet street, close to major sites. Comfortable room and very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked over the app, which showed nice bright rooms, some even with balcony,Terrace. When i got there at 13h, my room wasn't ready, which is ok as they wrote 14h. However, when i finally got my room at 15h, i found out that it was a horrible dingy little room in a half basement, with no balcony, direct sunlight, or any hint of a view! I looked into a light shaft half underground! :( no appology or offer to change to a better room. Tiny, a bit worn out, but very clean. I would have gladly paid s bit more for a room that wasn't a basement. It would be fair if this would be indicated on the app at booking(room category). Unfortunately, it wasn't and I walked into something which wasn't a good deal for the comparable price. My question would be: do lowest fare guarantees lead to a two class room policy? Best rooms are not bookable via app, special offers also mean lower value rooms? I felt like being in the maid's old room decked out esp. for lower fares. Although 260€ for 2 nights could lead me to expect more than a basement. I've never had such a room, even on the cheap. They even installed curtains taken down to wash after i got keys to my room! What is that all about?! Breakfast was without love - very basic tick the box standard bland and frugal. When I asked the staff to recommend a Restaurant, I was told all restaurants were good in Plaka and got no tips. Also, she never succeeded in reserving me a table - on both days! All in all, only cleanliness and location had it going. Comfort and service were not part of the packsge.

    Location is perfect. Easy to get around sll the best places by foot. Acropolis was 5 min by foot, the museum just around 2. Plaka area of shops and restsurants was a mere 10 min walk away. Perfect! Staff was nice, but nothing to wow sbout regarding service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds were a bit soft, though for many people this would be a plus.

    Lovely hotel in a perfect location. The neighbourhood is very quiet, yet very close to the Acropolis and the ancient sites. The staff were very accommodating. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in 2 rooms; one was extremely small & dark, with dated plumbing. The other (on second visit), was light', had updated plumbing, but still quite small. the pillows were incredibly hard & uncomfortable.

    location. helpful staff. cleanliness, help with organising transfers. The rooftop terrace had minimal seating but great view of acropolis.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We stayed in Philippos Hotel last week (2nd week of May 2017). The staff were very helpful & nice. This hotel is highly recommended. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That my vacation ended and I couldn't stay here longer. But happy to say I'll be back to Athens next year, and I'll definitely be staying at The Philippos Hotel ;-)

    Friendly helpful staff. They were very accommodating to my special requests for an early arrival and very early travel arrangements to the airport. They went out of their way to help me avert potential disasters. Modern and stylish, (but not trendy and fake). Clean, quiet, secure and beautiful hotel in a prime location for sightseeing by foot and tour buses. Finding this hotel was a blessing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet could be faster.

    Comfortable room. The hotel was so close to the Acropolis. It was an easy walk. Lots of restaurants nearby. Nice area of Athens

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee was not very good Tea cups could be bigger

    We liked the terrace and view, friendliness and willingness of staff, cleanliness and comfortable beds, feta cheese on breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Location of the hotel is perfect - very close to the Acropolis, Acropolis Museum, Plaka and within walking distance from other main tourist attractions of Athens. Free coffee and tea throughout the day. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little on the cool side.

    The hotel staff could not have been more friendly or attentive. Breakfast was more than adequate, and set us up nicely for the day ahead - really nice coffee. The area is residential and quiet - if you turn left out of the hotel you are close to all the headline sights, Acropolis musuem, Parthenon etc; if you turn right, you're also on the doorstep of the real Athens, with some lovely bars and restaurants. Would definitiely stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Like everything about this hotel: friendly staff (both reception and housekeeping), clean room, breakfast with many choices, convenient location with acropolis and metro station within walking distance and safe surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, and the bath half-sized

    The service was very friendly and the staff helpful in all ways. The hotel is in a super position with respect to the Akropolis and the new Akropolis Musuem. A hotel I would recommend

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helfull staff,excellent location. We were pick pocketed from our wallett, they helped very good and we even got a free diner because they were feeling sorry for the trouble.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had issues with wifi - more with the company they use - it kept starting then asking for login details every few minutes

    Great Breakfast, very nice Yogurt!! Location was the best, and so close to both the metro and the centre of Athens- all walkable within 5 minutes

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom & room (for one person) were small & smelled of cigarette smoke; changing the carpet to laminate might remedy that. I did, however, have the chance to see the room next door, a triple w/a large bathroom & huge tub & its own large veranda w/Parthenon view & my heart skipped a beat! Very, very nice.

    Overall, an excellent hotel. Outstanding staff, both reception & housekeeping (very professional & courteous). Excellent location one block below the new Acropolis Museum. Welcoming, attractive common areas (lobby sitting area, computer "in-door garden" area, & breakfast area). I asked for a room with a view & was given a room with a private veranda & view of the Parthenon: Thank you!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Service was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. All staff were very helpful . Our room was clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was good value and I hope to stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellent!

    I am happy for having chosen the hotel. The staff are friendly, the locatio is perfect, just 5 minutes from the Parthenon, the room and bathroom was super clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed mattress should be changed, at times was cold even with air-conditioner turned on heating...better variety at breakfast would be nice...

    Excellent location, excellent internet connection in the room, changed towels daily

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The little minus was the size of the room .

    Everything was perfect . The place , the staff was very nice ! I had an early check out , at 6 am, but there was breakfast for me personally !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staggered that breakfast could be so chaotic, with shortage of basic foods, juice and cutlery a regular occurrence.

    Particularly liked the location, and proximity to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dull, dull, dull. My room was brown and beige. Talk of designer furniture is nonsense, the bed filled 70% of the room and the square tv was housed in a box and had terrible reception. Reception was at best snowy and at worst kept losing the connection. Worst of all my room faced a blank wall. There was no direct sunlight at any time of the day. The hotel was no more than half full and I was given a brown room facing a blank wall. That was really not necessary and amiss of the staff not to try a bit harder. Breakfast was also more fast food in style with no hot food except very ugly looking hot dog type sausages. The air conditioning / heatinfg was something from the ark. It had 4 settings in total and no remote control. A total refit of my room is long overdue. This was my last 3 nights of a 6 week stay in Greece and was by far the blandest place I have stayed. If location is all that you care about then this might suit you perhaps.

    The desk staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed toppers were very soft, but otherwise everything was great.

    The location of the Philippos Hotel is perfect, just a few steps away from the Acropolis and a short walk to Plaka. Our family room was cozy (you know, it's a European hotel room!) but just fine for the four of us. Breakfast was enjoyed by all - a lot of variety and the staff were lovely. All around an excellent stay and we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel very clean. In a very heart of the quite part of the city, which's safe to walk alone late even if you are a girl. Metro station is very near. It also situated really near to Acropolis Museum, which by the way, on Fridays works until 10 pm and has a nice restaurant in it with beautiful view on Acropolis! Extremely good. Also lots of places to eat around hotel. Breakfast consists of everything you need (may be except of fried eggs and bacon - but as for me - i don't need it). Very good and nutricious. Staff really friendly and careful. Rooms are extremely clean, newly repaired (in some places even smell of paint). In a room: fridge, safe box, fan

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is on the top floor, is a little small, we can't make two luggages open at the same time

    The view is great from our room, we can enjoy the landscape of the Agropoli just from our bed! The hotel crew is very friendly and helpful, they gave us many useful information about the visiting. Moreover they helped me to change the big bill of euro! Even Many exchange stationes didn't accept the 500 euro bill. The breakfast is awesome, has everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of staff, comfortable bed, nice view, delicious breakfast. This was our second stay at this hotel as we enjoyed it so much two years previously. An added touch this time was a member of staff came round each evening to make sure the room was ok.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We would have preferred a Queen sized bed rather than two separate beds. The German tourist market has much to answer for.

    ambiance and the sitting area were our favourite.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: