Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Philoxenia Apartments

Main Street, Panormos Rethymno, 74057, Greece

#8 of 27 hotels in Panormos Rethymno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 108 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 33

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not cleaned for our whole stay of 10 nights, only received clean towels & bed linen once!! I was charged twice, even tho I had told them I had already paid!!!!

    Loved the Village, many beautiful restaurants, only a short walk to the beach & our favourite restaurant, The Anchor, went there most days, was excellent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The only complaint would be the kids beds - not really comfy but the adult beds were good.

    our aircon broke but was fixed straight away. Bed was very comfy. The kids moaned about theres a little. Fab accommodation and in a perfect place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The self catering facilities made preparing food challenging! We had booked an extra person in the room but there was not cutlery or crockery for the extra person. There was a frying pan but no fish slice to even flip an egg with. Of course you don't need every last item of kitchen ware on holiday but enough to prepare breakfast and a light lunch is really the bare minimum if advertising self catering facilities.

    We liked the location near to bars and restaurants and 5 mins walk to the beach although the pool at the property was very enjoyable. The owner was approachable and helpful and responded to emails promptly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed at the Apts for 1 night and arrived at 11pm. The owner gave us a warm, friendly welcome, booked us in and showed us to our room swiftly. He also advised us where we could eat that night. Room was very large and we had a very peaceful sleep. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchenette is very small, but it works. A lot of stairs from the pool to the top floor.

    Great location, good beds, great terrace. The pool is clean and nice, the childrens pool as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The apartment was very comfortable and clean. The receptionist was extremely helpful and nice. Very nice place to stay, close to the beach and city centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Manolis is very helpful with information about the apartments, village, transport on the island. Excellent location in the centre of the village but quiet too. The apartment was spacious and clean - the best that I have stayed in Greece. Panormos is a lovely village with a good range of tavernas and a couple of bars, highly recommended for a chilled out holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You have to drive few kilometres to the nice beach

    Very comfortable room, especially beds and pillows...very friendly owner, always on the run to help with anything you need

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wonderful location, friendly hosts.Clean bright rooms, huge balcony. All ready to help. Special thanks to Manolis for help and hospitality. Also thanks to Maria for useful advice. I recommend this hotel for everyone!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a toaster and a shower holder. In fairness we think the staff would have sorted this if we had asked them but we were out most days.

    Everything you need, very accommodating, helpful staff. Close to all amenities. The swimming pool and gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Can't fault it third time we have stayed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We really enjoyed the week we were there. The kids loved the pool, the room was super, and Panormos itself is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic spacious apartments in perfect Greek village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovelybed good balcony

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to leave

    The quiet and private location and Panormos itself.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely location. Very family friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    wi-fi could be better, but works ok if you just need to check e-mails.

    Friendly staff, good location, 3 minutes to the the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great location, friendly staff and very helpful, pool lovely and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not much really. I didn't like that we had to leave.

    Great location! The place is ideal for relaxing and the staff is extra friendly. Manolis is the man. I want to stress that cleanliness is obviously a priority in Filoxenia Apartments. I strongly recommend a stay!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That we had to leave.

    Great facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Cleaning standards were excellent. Ideal for young couples and families who wish to have high standard's vacation.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel is perfectly placed in the middle of Crete. It's really easy to make daily excursions both to the east and to the west. It's also nice to relax in Panormos.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Second time I have visited this facility, still no negative feedback. Sorry :)

    Excellent service, beautiful swimming pool and truly great food with a view fit for a desktop background. Equally fun to come here with your partner or with your friends for a night out in town.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mini bathtub but shower was powerful and lots of hot water.

    Great location not far from the sea with big car park. Nice appartment but small bathroom. Bit old fashioned but very pleasant. Manoli was very cheerful and helpful and introduced us to Dittany - a special Cretan herb.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All hills and steps!!! No lifts. BUT we soon became used to the walks and steps. Little failings were easily diminished because of the atmosphere of the environment.

    The village of Panormos was lovely. It reminded me of the film Mamma Mia. Manolis,who was in charge of the apartments, and his wife were exceptionally helpful and kind.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very nice, friendly staff, including the manager (greets to Manolis and Maria!), relatively big, two-part swimming pool with a shallow section for kids, spacious private parking lot, spacious apartments with large balconies. Kitchen fully equiped with utensils. Located on a side at the silent, kind of dead-end of the village's main street, within 5min walk to the seaside. Overall - great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That we stayed only 8 nights:)

    The apartments are very clean and well positioned, close to a superb small beach and all other amenities such as taverns, supermarket, souvenir shops, etc. The owner was great, being prompt with us for all our needs so i strongly recommend this place for a great and a relaxing holiday.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our group had very good accommodation and were very comfortable. Our host was welcoming, helpful and friendly. We took advantage of the lovely pool and secluded gardens which were close to the village and beaches. We would definitely recommend Philoxenia apartments for a relaxing holiday in Crete.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Top floor 2 bed apartment with huge balcony and sea and pool view- Location is easy walking distance to village restauants Owner Manoli extremely helpful

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everyone was extremely helpful, friendly and hospitable. Well appointed and comfortable accommodation, properly maintained and always exceptionally clean.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    STAYED HERE LAST YEAR AND FOUND IT WAS A CLEAN FRIENDLY PLACE TO STAY WITH EXCELLENT FACILITIES

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and quiet hotel Nice village Owner super nice

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small and really friendly Greek port.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly owner, Manolis, made us very welcome, and upgraded us to a larger suite with view as the hotel was quiet in mid-May

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 33

Guests also reviewed these properties: