Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Philoxenia Hotel & Studios 2 stars

12, M. Papamanoli, Rhodes Town, 85100, Greece

Review score

Based on 257 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable, clean, friendly hotel based in a residential area. This is the real Greek area away from the tourist clamour but only 15 - 20 minutes walk from the old town. There are some good restaurants in the area that are very reasonably priced. My room was equipped with a kitchenette that enabled me to make basic meals and always have hot drinks. The staff are very helpful and friendly and go out of their way to make sure everything is ok.  There is a safe in the room that is big enough to hold a laptop which is handy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Rooms aren't exactly sound-proof and public transport to the hotel is not very frequent in the evenings, but it is somewhat compensated by the quiet neighborhood and a large parking area in front of the hotel.

    Hotel is placed in a quiet city part, which means you can sleep with your windows opened without being bothered by clubs and youth in the streets. Also, the manager was really nice and gave us great tips concerning both restaurants all over the city and public transport (which are information hard to find online). The kitchenette in the room was extra handy, but the hotel breakfasts are well worth it as well. Room was clean and airconditioned with a nice balcony, we also appreciated the option to deposit your luggage or use a shower after your check-out (so you can enjoy beach one more time before you fly home :)).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was OK.

    The owner is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel is a little bit remoted from the old town, but it is easy and interesting to walk. The hotel is outside the tourism part of the town, you live between the Greek people. The environment is quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect room: quiet, nice balcony view (fruit trees), very clean (cleaned every day), soft, big and comfy bad, well equipped kitchenette Perfect host: the manager is very friendly and offered us maps and recommandation for places to visit and where to eat and all needed information

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from old city but can be reached by 20min walk or take the bus which is close to the hotel.

    Very neat and tidy and reception was very helpful and polite. The room is very comfortable and area is quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is great hotel to stay, the rooms are big enough, with private balcony, and small kitchenette, where you can find everything you need. The rooms are very clean. You will not have this feeling that somebody was living there before your stay. The beds are big and comfortable. In the hall there is a small bar where you can find some drinks. The breakfast is simple, but good enough - hot sandwiches with ham and cheese, bread, butter and jams, glass of orange juice and delicious coffee or capuchinho. The hotel is located a bit far from center ( about 30 min by foot), but it is very quiet around, and you can find buses to the city center or different beaches in Rhodes or other places. There are couple local places to eat and a big supermarket. The owner of the place is very attentive and he is ready to give you all maps and tips about places and even some Rhodes history background.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We really enjoyed our stay at Philoxenia. Our room had everything we could ask for, it was bright, had a big comfortable double bed (200x180?), a small balcony with view to the garden, air conditioning, wifi, a nice clean bathroom and a small kitchen area with a proper fridge, cooktop and all the essentials for cooking and eating. The kitchen part of the room was particularly nice, because we could chill our drinks and store some snacks and fruit and had the opportunity to cook if we wanted to - every hotel room should have this. As you can see on the map, it's a bit away from Old Town, which means less charm but it's a short drive and acceptable walking distance. The benefit of the location was, that we did not have to drive through the city traffic everytime we wanted to drive to the south, which was everyday. The owners lovely mother served us breakfast every morning at the neat terrace, which consisted of white bread, butter, different marmalades, some cake, freshly made toasts with ham and cheese and coffee or tee, to one’s own taste. It was nothing extraordinary but a legit, tasty breakfast with nothing to complain about. What made the stay there special was the host Antonis. Right at our arrival he was really nice to us and gave us a printed map of rhodes town with selected restaurants, nearby grocery stores and kiosks and markings of recommended free parking areas. During our stay we were always greeted with a smile, had a small chat with him every morning and evening, he asked about our day and we could talk about our planned day-trips, where he approved or improved our route, gave us selected tipps from the heart on what to discover on our expedition and which restaurants to eat at or which more unknown beaches are worth a visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor detail the poor light in the shower.

    The location was excellent, our room was very clean and the staff very polite and friendly. The manager had some great recommendations for food, sights and beaches to go to.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We asked for the top floor when we reserved a room a lot of months before our stay, and we got the room on the first floor, and it was very noise, because right below us was the restaurant and bar of the property and lot of noise guests in the early morning. Location to the city center (15 min walk by foot, if you are fit and prepared). Owner didn't check, if all the appliances are working before our arrival. For example air conditioning was broken and 2 days after it was fixed. Fridge is old and barely working. Our groceries went bad after 2 days. TV is very small and cable signal is very bad. A lot of mosquito on the property and in the room (You will have a lot of red blood bites, be prepared). Cleaning ladies were cleaning every 2 days and it was very late cleaning around 3 or 4 PM. Last few days of our stay, they were a lot of yelling and door banging from the other guests around 2 AM and the owners didn't warn them to calm down.

    Free parking as usual in Greece. Polite owner and we got a free map. Comfortable bed and decent size of the room. Wi Fi was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NOTHING!

    Antonis is a person very kind, available, always ready to inform his guests on the City, about rent car and motorcycles etc. He is good to speak italian. Me and my friends have been very well. I will suggest to go at Philoxenia hotel for your trips in Rhodes

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located 15 mins walking distance from the old town. The staff is nice and very helpful, the breakfast we had was great. Briefly, it is perfect place for couples.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wad very clean but the shower cubicle was a bit small.

    The owner Antonis is very helpful and friendly. He has all the information you need. The rooms and hotel was very clean. The rooms are spacious and cute. The location is in the residential part of Rhodes but still it is easy to get to the old town by taxi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a value for money place. It is very clean and it has all the basics required, meaning a nice bed, a clean environment, basic amenities (wifi, nice room etc). The staff was very polite and helping. Its an 8 min drive from the old town or a 5 euro cab. I recommend.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Manager extremely friendly and helpful. Maps of local area (3 of them!) supplied plus he had folders of local interest/travel etc. Rooms scrupulously cleaned.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would recommend Philoxenia Hotel to anyone. It's located in a quite area which is not far away from the Old Town of Rodos --> 20-25 min by walking or 10 min (5 EUR) by taxi. A short introduction about the island is made to all guests upon arrival. In just 10 minutes you will know which places to visit, where to eat and party, which beaches to explore. In case you need anything else the amazing host will be more than happy to help you.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Garden Access (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not an ideal location if you are elderly and without a car.Quit steep walking .

    Lovely hosts who were very welcoming and helpful. Fabulous Greek Cypriot restaurant minutes away . You really felt like you got a real experience of Greece.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Antonis is such a great person. He helped and supported us anything we needed. The hotel is clean and Comfortable. Prices are very reasonable and Breakfast is delicious. It takes 15 mins to oldtown by walk and taxi is about 6 euros. If you are planingto rent a car. I suggest you this hotel is the best option. I would Definetely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was clean n they had a kitchen you can cook. Staff was friendly n tell us all the detail we have to noticed in Greek. Would like to stay there again

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you have a rental car, this hotel is best choice. (Actually, it is almost impossible to travel with a kid without a car in July in Rhodes. I think the rental car is essential if you are not familiar with such hot days.)

    We are family travellers with 4-year old son. We stayed for 8 days in Rhodos and this hotel was our third, final hotel and the cheapest one. But we think Philoxenia was the best. The staff was very kind and passionate to meet the requirements of tourists. He provided the detailed map and it was really useful. The location is residential area and the restaurant he recommended was very good and much cheaper than what we've eaten before.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No negative points

    -The owner of the hotel was very kind and helpful, he gives any information you want about things you have to see. He recommended very nice non-touristic restaurants (which were very good!) and he also arranged a rental car for us. He will be glad to help you. -The hotel itself is very good, clean and located in a quiet part of the island. It's only a 15 - 20min walk to the old center, so not that far.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though the city centre is 2.5km away and the buses are quite often, a car is needed. There could be an improvement in the soundproofing of the rooms.

    Spacious, recently renovated rooms, quiet neighbourhood, extremely helpful owener. Bus stops for all major destinations at 5 min walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little far from old town. It takes about 20-30 min to walk there.

    Nice and helpful staff. Quite area. Big and comfortable room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was Exceptional!

    The Cool Aircon was a Bonus!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were really nice and the room was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incrrdible. Hotel is very clean and the location is great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very clean and the rooms were cleaned everyday,Antonis is extremely helpful and friendly,helped us with maps,bus routes etc,great guy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Garden Access (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very friendly staff. Quiet location. Very nice room with the necessary facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift.

    Friendly staff. Cleaned every day. Fabulously soft pillows

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable

    Very clean.they daily cleaned our room.very near the town centre.very quite.easy to find parking.excellent support from the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff were very kind and they helped me to rent a motorbike. Everything was perfect. I very recommend this place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Extremely helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to city centre is a bit too much

    Friendly staff, great value for money!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in family room, it is very usefull room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great host, very friendly staff , would recommend to everyone , great price good breakfast , a must if going to Rhodes, simply the best !!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cabin is small, aircon is not enough working...

    Owner is very friendly, very helpfull.He helped us a lot...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Could be a bit cleaner

    Adonis is a great person!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fresh orange juice in the morning would have been better.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect!

    Everything!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Excellent staff, lovely room, very helpful and friendly people!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great modern rooms, clean, very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We just loved this hotel. Realy new, very clean, polite staff and value for money. It's not to far away from old town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    EVERYTHING WAS REALLY CLEAN AND NICE. THE OWNER WAS SO KIND AND FRIENDLY!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place where your take your breakfast is just wonderful .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have changed towels more regularly

    All inclusive studio, quite new building, friendly and supportive staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No complaints whatsoever.

    Very friendly staff who did everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is very basic , there are some self catering facilities but no kettle to make a tea or even tea towel or something to dry your hands after washing the glasses ! The bathroom so small that you can get claustrophobia! Next to the toilet there is a small shower to wash your b** and I found it very unnecessary specially when u can walk to the shower! Speaking about the shower the drain wasn't working properly so the water was coming out !

    The gentleman at the reception was very friendly and gave us all the information about buses , taxi, where to eat etc ! For the length of our stay te hotel was ok

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far from the center, about 30 minutes on foot. But the inexpensive taxi and proximity to several bus stops

    Extremely nice owner, you can count on any help and good advice (car rental, restaurant recommendations, maps, directions to interesting places). Near the bus stop, with buses to the main cities. Quiet neighborhood. Pleasant and very clean rooms. I strongly recommend this place

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No elevator but not problem.

    Smiling and helpful staff. Big and clean room. We stayed in penthouse with 2 big rooms with 1 balcony and 1 terrace. 1 km away from the old town (castle).

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Very clean,large and renovated rooms with balcony, kitchen and kitchen stuff. The hotel is near the old town, not a walking distance for everyone but if you have car it will not be a problem. There is no parking problem. Breakfast is really good value for price. You can enjoy the delicious Greek Frappe in the garden. And the staff is really friendly and helpful. They have detailed maps and traditional Greek restaurant list with location info which is very helpful for the tourists.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We are huge fans of Greek island, been there many times and were almost always very satisfied. But I must admit we have never met so genuine nice and friendly owners like in this hotel. The warm welcome with all the details and the recommended tavernas/ouzeries was just what we needed (these places served really good local food, always for a reasonable price). It is quite a walk from hotel to the old town, so it is sometimes easier to use taxi or bus (all the bus stops/numbers/timetables etc explained at the reception). Pavements on the Lindou street are quite narrow, there is busy traffic and because we were there with a stroller, we rather walked on the parallel narrow streets when going to the old town. Room in the hotel was small, but clean and with everything we needed.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't mind but others might feel the distance from hotel to Old Town might be a bit too much. But like others have said, it is only a 5 euro taxi ride from the commercial harbor when you arrive. It is a 15 minute leisurely walk to Old Town. With our rolling luggage, it was a half hour walk to the custom port to catch ferry to Marmaris Turkey for onward journey.

    This was by far the best hotel we stayed in for this price range. Freshly remodeled decor, useful kitchenette, strong wifi, well designed bathroom and shower.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice family runned hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was little bit far away from the centre

    The receptionist was extremely helpful and always ready to help

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very happy with this beautifull hotel! Everything was perfect and the staff was extremely helpfull and friendly! We would definatly go back!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Should be cleaner Breakfast can be better

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great assistance by the staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike

    Friendly family run hotel fantastic breakfast and the staff had a welcome can do attitude which was superb

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel receptionist Andonis is very kind and helpfull. Hotel breakfast is also delicious.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet location. Near to bus stop, restaurant, supermarket, bakery.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing

    the boss Antonis

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very helpful staff. Quiet location but close to bus station and shops. In walking distance of Rodos Old Town.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi disconnected too often

    The reception guy was great. Very polite, informative and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WIFI

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the kindness of the owner

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Guests also reviewed these properties: