Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel 5 stars

23 Karaoli & Dimitriou, Piraeus, 18531, Greece

#17 of 54 hotels in Piraeus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1085 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    The hotel is easy to find and the neighborhood seems safe even in the night. Excellent bed, managed to have a great sleep. The best thing for me and for which I've booked the hotel is the underground parking with easy access and plenty of room for many cars. Definitely a good option for those traveling by ferry early in the morning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    A comfortable and welcoming stay after tiring travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor is a little tired but makes no difference to our enjoyment of the stay.

    We've stayed at the Theoxenia several times in recent years and have always enjoyed. Staff are charming, helpful and professional. Rooms are spacious and clean. Breakfasts offer a wide choice and are excellent. Fantastically convenient for the ferry port and buses to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Superb location for the port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the decor could do with some updating.

    Superb location for the port. 10 min walk. We left really early to catch the ferry but they provided sandwiches which were very good and perfect for the ferry.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Good place to stay before catching the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it is very close to the port, breakfast starts too late to have it before catching most early ferries. a bottle of water in the room would have been appreciated.

    The location was ideal for our purposes - five minutes walk from the airport bus stop at Δημοτική, ten minutes (with bags) walk down hill to the port for the ferry in the morning. Close to the marina and a bunch of good souvlaki places. The rooftop pool is glorious, with 360° views and is particularly spectacular at sunset.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Very nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As many other hotel in Greece there is almost nothing lactose free (apart from meat and eggs) in the breakfast buffet. A lactose free greek yogurt could be a great additionm

    The reception people are very friendly. It is a good hotel for a stopover.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our non smoking room stank cold tobacco, the only three ne we were offered to make up for it was some febreze. Design of the room is very dated. The swimming pool was tiny when pictures suggested it was much bigger.

    Helpful staff Ok breakfast Convenient location before having to take a ferry.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbor hood is ugly. Pool is small and average. The internet didn’t work to well.

    Room was great and the tv came with netflix. The place is very clean and the staff great. Breakfast served is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Was the best location for a very early departure from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant was really bad,a simple Greek salad was soaked in dressing, not fresh. I normally would not eat in such hotel restaurants but flew in quite late and had a 5 AM departure

    Was the best location for a very early departure from Piraeus port. I got a beautiful large renovated room for an incredible low price. The staff at the reception and the restaurant were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    would have paid more for a more modern looking hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    decor etc very dated...looked like it was newish but very 1980's bathroom looked dated breakfast basket for ferry was just sandwich so probably should have just said that...it was a very nice sandwich!

    good location staff very nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.0
    I appreciate the location, and the clean, more comfortable room, but hospitality is key.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two initial reception staff shocked me with response that the first room was unsatisfactory, and even unhealthy. The first told me that the hotel was fully booked when I asked to change rooms, and if an upgrade was available. The second was also not warm and professional. I live part time in Greece and have always enjoyed epic Greek hospitality, at the St. George, at the Grand Bretagne, and at the Coco-Mat. I usually book more spacious rooms, especially when my husband joins me, but booked a standard room because I was arriving late to sleep, and wake early for a 6:45 ferry. I could accept a small, clean room, but not a dirty, smelly room. And kindness, understanding, and warmth matter.

    I appreciated the room that I moved to. The first one smelled dirty, musty, smoky, and the bathroom had a sewer odor. I appreciated the staff member that helped me after I upgraded. The bellman who helped me with my bags was kind and helpful, as was the man who helped me check out. He gave me a yogurt for the boat.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    very pleasent, comfortable and a good start for our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only downfull was you could not get a hot drink before bed, the coffee shop across the road was wonderul during the day but closed around 10pm, no facilities in the room or within the hotel.

    The room was a lovely size for us, location of the property was brilliant for us very central, the resturant was lovely food and served till quite late which was a bonus for us as we arrived later than expected and was lovely choice of food and reasonable, breakfast again a lot of choice plenty of seating. The staff were very helpful would recommend a stay here. The roof top pool was a added bonus and very clean and great to use

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    6.3
    The five star illusion was spoiled by the noisy elevator and how the hotel dealt with it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator is so noisy that we could barely sleep in our room close to it, nor could we change room or cancel a subsequent reservation. Rooms are worn out and not worth a five star hotel. Nor was breakfast, but that was okay for the discounted price we paid.

    Small pool on the roof is great, but closes before sunset. Our superior room was large. Location is convenient. Prices can be low.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is an ideal location if you are getting a ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an ideal location if you are getting a ferry from Piraeus port early in the morning... just a 5/10 minute walk to most ferries! The rooftop pool and terrace are fantastic and the restaurant is very good too!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.5
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in the bar or dining room, didn’t encourage you to eat there. Lovely big bathroom but the shower was disappointing. Just a shower head that fixed on wall, a bit wasted

    Pretty good location. Good choice at breakfast. Large room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location to stay if you want to catch an early ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location to stay if you want to catch an early ferry to the islands. We didn't expect the hotel to be as nice as it was. Staff even packed sandwiches for guests that left before breakfast buffet hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Most enjoyable. We would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wallpaper was a little tired and peeling slightly. The bathroom would benefit from refurbishing eg. the tiles need regrouting. Having said that, it was thoroughly clean. Not a great view from our room.

    Excellent pool with great views, though you need a head for heights to access it. Large TV. Effective air conditioning and comfy large bed. Friendly staff at reception and at breakfast and a good variety of food from the buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    Convenient for the ferry station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The windows do not close properly, therefore the street noise is annoying, very early (scouters especially).

    Position is good for the harbor if you go to ferryboat. You can walk, gates are within few minutes (5-10).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Classy Port Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Put in a smokers room which obviously smelt

    Close to the port which is what we needed. Enjoyed first stay better as last part of stay was for one night only and we were put in a smokers room which we are not

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    Very central location in Piraeus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While it was a very nice hotel, it needs updating, especially of the bathrooms, hallways and dining room. The breakfast had several options, but nothing to get excited about.

    Very central location in Piraeus. Easy access to the port and train station. Bed was very comfortable and great to have netflix on tv. The room was very big. A nice hotel overall, but not a 5* compared to other countries. However, it is a great choice if you need to stay in Piraeus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    It's an OK hotel but NOT a 5 star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is a problem, the door won't open all the way, so it's hard to move around. We could not switch the water from tap to the handle -- we had to call the reception (and they came immediately). However, once on the handle, you couldn't been switched again... The breakfast is OK, not a 5 star hotel style... but the coffee is bad.

    This hotel is supposedly a 5 star hotel. If your expectations are set to 2 stars you'll be fine. The location is fine. The air condition was working well but a bit noisy. The room was large.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Great location, very comfortable, fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all lovely.

    We spent our first wedding anniversary here on route to Paros and we were not disappointed. Our room was upgraded and was very spacious and very comfortable with a well stocked mini bar. We chose somewhere with a good restaurant as we arrived later in the day but wanted a nice meal for our anniversary, again we were not disappointed, great menu, lovely food and wine, and very attentive staff. We will definitely be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    Alot more expencive than 2 years ago. Standards have slipped we will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty underwear from a previous guest left in bed side draw, extracter fan switch fell off the wall, mould in the grouting around the bath

    Location was great and the staff polite

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable choice when traveling via Piraeus port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though, perfectly clean and generally in ok shape, the hotel appears to be a bit run down and doesn't meet the standards of five star hotels in terms of design, facilities, and service. Overall, the atmosphere suffers from surroundings (Piraeus is not exactly a prospering neighborhood), lack of light and open space inside, and the general feel that most things inside the hotel have seen better days. Still, if you're headed for or coming from any of the Greek islands via Piraeus it's one of the better places to stay at.

    Comfortable, large room (exceutive suite) with two separate bed rooms and one living room. Clean. Friendly staff. Location close to Piraeus port, metro and train stations is very convenient if traveling to the islands.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel close to the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room very basic, buffet ok.

    Room was nice, bed comfortable. Location excellent, close to the port if heading to the islands. Parking facilities excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Good for an overnight stay close to Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms, carpets could use a clean.

    Close to main port in Athens Pireas. Large room, great bathroom. Great Aircon. Staff are fantastic and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    The beds were great but pillows were a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything that we didn’t like. Our stay was comfortable the staff was very helpful. Considering what we paid the hotel was up to standard.

    The beds were great but pillows were a problem

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Everything was very good for a overnight stop before heading...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was very good for a overnight stop before heading to the island .the hotel is very clean ,comfortable and staff attentive and helpful calling the taxi in the morning to reach ferry and prepare sandwich for the trip.thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Very nice friendly welcome after a long journey!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room/Bar would benefit from a refurbishment and the breakfast didn't match up to the standard of the rest of the hotel.

    Location is ideal, lots of eating places and the Port is a taxi ride away, cost 5 euros. We were given a beautiful room and the whole experience was very relaxed in the midst of busy Athens. Easy for the hop on hop off bus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Great stay and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, in the middle of the city, close to the port. The staff were amazing! We had to leave earlier in the morning so we eventually had to missed our breakfast. They offered to make us sandwiches to go! Highly recommended! Great location and nice restaurants around it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfectly located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sandwiches were quite basic, perhaps would be better if guests were given options.

    Perfect location near shops, restaurants and the harbour. Rooms were a decent size and very clean. Staff were great to deal with and prepared us sandwiches for breakfast as we had to leave at 6am for our ferry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem we could point out is the water pressure for the shower could be some what better as it was very low. Also a little more care in maintenance in the bathroom.

    Arrival and check in service very good. Staff could not be more helpful and go out of their way to help you. Parking in hotel great although you need to reserve a place at an Extra cost of 12 Euros but it is worth it it you are travelling with your car. Breakfast simple buffet but everything you need. Staff and service great, we would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Arrived at 11pm, were still able to have a nice dinner in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 11pm, were still able to have a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant. Had to leave at 6am, so the reception staff offered to have sandwiches made for us, in lieu of breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    the staff is helpful to book the taxi for early morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the location is a bit far from Metro and the road is busy. The design and deco of the hotel is a bit old fashioned. suggest to provide shuttle bus to ferry terminals.

    the staff is helpful to book the taxi for early morning ferry. Packed breakfast for us which is great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Perfect as previously stated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff gave that bit extra. Because we had to leave early and catch the ferry they made us up a breakfast to take. Brilliant customer service. Super large room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    10-minutes walk to the port
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i dont like the smell in the room it is not as well as other 5-star hotels,but consider the price and location,it is worth

    10-minutes walk to the port if you have to take a ship very early in the morning,they can provide you sandwich before breakfast time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    The location is central, the facilities are clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is somewhat poor, the rooms are too dark and not so modern, no plug for computer onj the working desk

    The location is central, the facilities are clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.3
    Recommended for transit travellers and visitors alike
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It advertises 5 stars rating, but one should manage expectations — more closely to a good 3+, I say. Breakfast is moderate, in choice and taste, and it will not meet those with higher demands; but you will get a good meal to start the day. Again, this hotel is great value for money and a no brainer recommendation, just don't expect staying like royalty at the low price range :-)

    Overall a great choice for transit travellers and visitors alike! Conveniently located amid Pireas port, city centre and Marina Zeas, whatever your mileage is, it will match it — transit travelling, shopping or leisure options, all within 5-10 mins walking distance. If you are on budget, regular bedrooms are an excellent value for money; even if you don't care to spend more, there is no need really to opt for the more expensive Jr Suites (which, to note, also come at fair price,). Having had stayed in both, I think that the the only difference in an upgrade is the much larger space you get.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    My arrival was late on night and they were expecting me with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My arrival was late on night and they were expecting me with out any problem. The staff was really friendly and helpful. The next morning i had to do some very important meetings and the staff was again there to assist me. Defently recomended !!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dirty carpets in the room, Wear and bad maintenance of the whole building. 4 Euro for one bottle of water. Too high price for low season and a medium to low standard hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not well preserved inside the room,the furniture was scratched in the corners,the wallpaper was peeled of at the edges. The one towel was washed (smelled fresh) but the valets weren't gone.

    Value for money. The breakfast was tasteful. The room service was great. The room was comfortable and clean.The check in was fast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    This is a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We staid only 1 night and can't think about a negative point.

    The breakfast was really great and the tables were nicely dressed, like you can expect from a 5 star hotel. The bed was confortable and we had a good night rest. Value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We dined elsewhere in Pireaus, the restaurant was empty most of our visit. English language TV programs were limited, of course!

    Breakfast was very good. Had sandwiches for us before catching an early ferry. Front desk Staff were very helpful. We left luggage there were a few days between trips. Staff helped with printing a receipt we needed for customs declaration. Cleaning staff were efficient. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was a good size. Quiet on the 7th. floor, above traffic. Corner room/suite was spacious, with plenty of storage/hanging space. WiFi was OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    So so if you are on business
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lousy hangers, facilities and interior looked spartan, poor lighting, no proper chair in room for working

    Excellence staff. If not for service this hotel is not worth it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Took x96 bus from Athens airport to hotel stop (Dominiko?) and took x96 back to Athens airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfast room was grand as was the food. We left 6am for the Bule Star ferry BUT there was a small breakfast and hot tea available for us. Great stuff!! The internet room computer was fantastic for my hotmails!!!! They kept our big bags for 6 days until we returned for another night later!!! Free.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    A very acceptable stopover before boarding ship at Piraeus Cruise Terminal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower over the bath, whilst powerful, was set at the wrong angle, very tight for space & let the rest of the room down.

    Comfortable, spacious room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.4
    If you just need a bed for the night, going to the ferries, then it’s passable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unusable internet - I had to work and had chosen this hotel because of the advertised internet. Staff first lied that had never heard about any problems, then another confessed that “yeah, that room if you’re in...”. The room was big but poorly finished and dark, despite being an upgrade to a junior suite.

    Location was good to pick the ferries: 10 mins walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location for getting to/from ferries to the islands.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is beginning to look tired in the bedrooms - carpets, furniture and bathroom fittings. Bathrooms need some attention as some items are coming away from the wall and the shower/bath switch didn't work. We were too tired to ask for maintenance. Air conditioning was not very good - again we were too tired to ask for maintenance and put up with sub standard aircon ie not cool enough. Room 502.

    Good location for getting to/from ferries to the islands. Near to plenty of local good restaurants. Nice view to the sea from some rooms. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.5
    we stayed t this hotel to catch the ferry very early the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor

    we stayed t this hotel to catch the ferry very early the morning after. good location, nearby the port and close to the local marine to have dinner or lunch. because we've to leave very early, they made us a take-a-way breakfast but very poor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a medical issue and the staff was very helpful. We felt that they went beyond what others would. Large rooms very nice bed and quiet hotel. Good restaurants in walking distance

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.4
    Okay for short sleep
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    taking shower in the hotel wasn't a good experience since its placed in the other direction facing the door, the hotel need lots of renovation because its out of style and cant be even 4 star hotel

    our ferry to mykonos was early morning even before the breakfast time and they prepare sandwiches to us to go, and thats a good thing, very close to the port

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Quiet 90s retro hotel with an unbelievable price-value offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - It is not a 5-star hotel in my opinion - that is fine but expectations do change. - Some of the staff was not helpful particularly the morning staff e.g. when asking for simple things like soya milk I was told "No, we don't serve this!" - quite rude and without even providing a solution or asking! and then I asked I asked in the kitchen and they immediately provided it. When giving feedback at the reception I was ignored (how does one expect to improve) - Breakfast is not vegan friendly - would be nice to improve on that! (e.g start by placing soya milk at the breakfast table)

    - Unbelievable price-value hotel! - Excellent location: In terms of public transportation to city center & ships to island - Quietness and comfort: you can sleep long and relaxed - there is no disturbance, none!! Wake up fresh and head to the city - Large & clean beds: Daily cleaned - 90's retro hotel: Its clean but old school - the furniture, chairs & even the gym (they got the 90s big televisions too. Perhaps they should change their USP - Most of the staff were really friendly particularly the late shift: offered us sandwiches to take with us or even provided a storage for our luggage in case we do not want to take all with us to the island - Safe & secure: The area was safe with fish markets and to see the daily greek life - 24hr reception: Always there!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel in Central Piraeus ideally located for a morning ferry!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Nice hotel in Central Piraeus at a short walking distance from the ferry terminals at the port. Good/Clean facilities, friendly staff and good breakfast. Ideal for a 1 night stay before heading to the port and the greek islands!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    2.9
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. I got in late (which i told them about) and was not allowed to drink water from the taps. They had nothing else open so was forced to pay 2EUR for the smallest bottle of water known to man. They actually made me pay for it when i checked out at 5am even though i did not have the breakfast that i paid for....

    Late check in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel for a stay pre cruise of ferry. Also a good option for a couple of days to see Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More attention to detail for a 5 stars , worn carpets somewhere , bathroom's room damaged by humidity etc...but these are details that don't affect the pleasure of the stay.

    This is a very good 4 stars hotel ( not exatly 5 but rates too are 4 stars so no problem ), fantastic location , standard breakfast, correct but nothing to write home. A perfect hotel that costs same price as other 2/3 stars hotel that can be comfortable and have good rooms but remains 2/3 stars.This, instead, has the style of an international hotel , that's a different thing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    Close to Port but would have loved a pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only €8- €10 in a taxi to the port, lovely restaurants and bar 10 - 15 minutes away from the hotel, hotel is really modern when first arriving however rooms are slightly dated, also as it was so hot it would have been amazing to have a pool to cool off in. Other then that close to the port if just needing to stay for one night before the morning ferry to the Islands.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like about the hotel.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. They went out of the way to ensure all our needs were catered for. My wife and our friends found the rooms adequate, comfortable and clean and the food was superb.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.0
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night at 1.00 I was called by the reception because "there could have been made a mistake with my reservation". I asked why he called me awake for that and if it could wait until tomorrow. The receptionist insisted however and wanted to come up to check my passport(!). That's when I felt menaced and hung up. I double checked, calling the reception again, but it was not a joke or trick. Not exactly the 5* service I had in mind and the call kept me awake for a few hours. Never again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent customer service experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We arrived having been robbed on the Metro. The staff were brilliant... very sympathetic and gave us a free meal as we had no money/credit cards to pay. Totally brilliant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    My stay was a very pleasant experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was spectacular

    My stay was a very pleasant experience. The staff were helpful and a delight and the room was clean and comfortable. I would recommend who will visit Athens to stay at this hotel. 5 stars from me!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.1
    It is near the main piraeus port!
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no free parking available. Although most of the clients stay there just the night before their departure, the breakfast isn't available before seven a.m., time by which many ships have already departed!I also dislike carpets in hotel rooms!

    It is near the main piraeus port!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Handy location - walk to the ferry
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was to our satisfaction

    Extremely pleasant person on front desk. We arrived late at night. He helped us organise our travel arrangements for the following day. We were leaving early and the hotel provided fresh juice, coffee and sandwiches for guests leaving early (before the restaurant opened for breakfast). A nice service.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.2
    We stayed for one night before we caught a ferry to mykonos,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for one night before we caught a ferry to mykonos, it's wuite far from the airport but only 500m from the port. Staff were amazing, some of the better hotel facilities we have seen in Athens. Nice big and clean rooms. We had to leave early the next morning, they arranged us a packed lunch as well as tea, coffee and pastries before our departure. It was perfect for our trip!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel near the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piraeus is not the best part of Athens. Ideal for a cruise or near to the port but not for the centre. Area a bit dirty and noisy

    Ideally located for the port. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice place but uncomfortable beds!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was awful. We felt like we were sleeping on concrete and our nights sleep was not at all comfortable. Although our room was non smoking, we could smell smoke.

    The staff were kind and helpful. Breakfast was of good quality.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the room at 8- th floor and all the night we had noise from the elevator .

    The staff was very helpfull and nice . The position was good for us , close to the port . The hotel was clean and spacious . The room was big and the bad very good .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.5
    “Worst exprience”
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you book a 5 star hotel you look forward to experience luxury and service. I had absolutely opposite experience.I felt that i was cheated. 1. No bell boy upon arrival. Asked and someone came out. 2. hair in the bathroom 3. fungus in the bathroom 4. run out rooms- wall paper, drilled walls 5. AC panel was coming out and is so dangerous for any one. 6. I was travelling with my 4 yrs old son and the have given damaged baby bed. Child could have hurt. 7. damaged and Old bed sheet. I have spoken to GM and he made me feel that this is normal. He also said that he has invested a lot on the product and technician facilities, your tube TV but what about basic facility in a 5 star hotel. Attached are the pictures for your reference. I request Athens Tourism Authorities to look into the attached pictures so that the can degrade the star category of this hotel.

    Only one staff at breakfast room, i guess his name is George. he brought warm milk for my 4 yrs old son.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    10
    Good location close to the port in comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location near the port in comfortable hotel. Arrived late evening for early check out as it was a hotel stay on route to ferry for Greek Is. the reception staff realised we would be leaving before breakfast and arranged for a bag of freshly made sandwiches to take with us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.4
    Location ok but wouldn't go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful. We were there during a general transport strike in Greece and the staff wouldn't help in finding information about ferry transportation.... so we were lost not speaking fluent greek

    Located closed to the ferry port

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the surrounding area is very easy to get to an obscure street

    Very close to the port, subway and Piraeus center. The room was a bit outdated, but very clean and comfortable. The staff was also very helpful and the breakfast was nice and varied.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    The room service dinner was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service dinner was wonderful. We were so tired from our long flight and we were served like Princesses. We so appreciated all that the staff did for us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay either before or after a cruise from the port of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent and friendly service. It served us very well having just got off a cruise and before heading to Athens. Staff were very helpful from the moment we arrived. Despite a very early arrival we were offered a room within 20 mins and coffee while we waited. Great value for money as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel close to port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a let down and quite crowded. Get there early is my tip!

    Ideal if you need to take an early boat. 5 mins from port. Room clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    The hotel' was very comfortable and within walking distance of hop-on hop-off bus and metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was far from any beach.

    The dining room staff were very helpful and the breakfast was really lovely with lots of variety and new things each day. The reception staff helped us with directions and booking shuttle etc. The room was cleaned very well every day.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.5
    Not 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in the rooms would have been good,bedroom carpets needed cleaned

    The hotel was nice and the staff helpful but it does not merit five stars.The room decoration was a bit tired and there were no views.No coffee or tea making facilities were on hand and the hospitality bar was expensive.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    The staff is very happy to greet you & assist you and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking area is too tight for large cars and the room's furniture/ bathroom need an upgrade for a more modern look as they are getting old.

    The staff is very happy to greet you & assist you and check in/ check out process was extremely fast. The room was clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Piraeus Theoxenia Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: