Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plaka Hotel 3 stars

7 Kapnikareas & Mitropoleos, Athens, 105 56, Greece

#33 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2024 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.9
    Easy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could clearly hear people next door talking as if they were in my room. In fact when I first heard them I thought they were in my room.

    No carpet on the floor.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great views in centre of Plaka tourist area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing material.

    Hotel is well located in main tourist area. Great views of Acropolis from our room and roof top bar. Also walking distance to Acropolis and other attractions. Good quality and variety of restaurants and bars in immediate vicinity. Friendly staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Good range in breakfast buffet. We were recommended by friends and were not disappointed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.5
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How about a sandwich available in the roof top bar for old people who don't want to go our.

    We've stayed in the hotels of this group ; many times. Excellent value

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.2
    We would stay again due to its great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Plaka Hotel is in a great location, central to all ancient sites in Athens. Also central to the shopping and restaurants. Staff are super friendly and very helpful. A great stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.9
    The location in the Plaka is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been nice if there were some sun umbrellas for shade on the rooftop terrace so you could sit out during the hot times of day.

    The location in the Plaka is excellent. Very nice rooftop terrace with view of Acropolis. Great area to walk through the streets for shops and restaurants, and up to the Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Athens and hotel were a pleasure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Spotless room. Friendly staff. Rooftop lounge was very nice for view of Acropolis and when it was lit at night. Lounge person (Donna?) was friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good. Location was excellent for transportation and sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tub was too high and struggled to get in

    Plaka Hotel was centrally located, with restaurants, shopping and entertainment close by. Staff were knowledgeable and helped in getting things organised. The view from our room of the Acropolis was breathtaking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    This is an excellent hotel which is in a super location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's hard to be picky, but... the very friendly and welcoming staff member in the bar could have done with an extra pair of hands during busy times, as service could be a bit slow. Perhaps there could have been more items in terms of the cooked breakfast.

    This is an excellent hotel which is in a super location for visiting the principal sights in the city. The staff are very welcoming and the level of service the offer terrific. The roof top bar is a great place for a pre-dinner drink with a glorious view across the city to the acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.0
    below average an I'm well traveled and have been to Athens b4
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are so tiny! lift was tiny and always smelled of body order. roof top bartender makes one drink at a time, had to order second drink when first was delivered after learning from night b4. No one was very friendly.

    view from roof.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    THE VIEW OFF THE ROOFTOP IS ALL THAT THIS HOTEL HAS GOING...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE GREETING WAS QUITE POOR AND NON HELPFUL IE TOLD THE DESK I WAS PARKED AROUND THE CORNER AND WAS GOING TO BRING THE CAR AROUND .. NO ASSISTANCE WHATSOEVER TO HELP WITH BAGS LET ALONE TO MOVE THE CONE OFF THE CARPARK SO I COULD PARK INFRONT OF THE HOTEL.

    THE VIEW OFF THE ROOFTOP IS ALL THAT THIS HOTEL HAS GOING FOR IT AS WELL AS IN THE MIDDLE OF PLAKA

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location - in the heart of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - in the heart of Athens. Walking distance to two metro stops. Restaurants, shopping, etc. right outside the door. Very clean hotel with nice-sized rooms and very friendly staff. The rooftop bar has amazing views of the Acropolis Hill and Parthenon. Excellent stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Athens especially those visiting for the first time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 😊

    Great location. Easy to get to from the airport to Monastiraki by the metro. Nice rooftop bar overlooking the Acropolis. Wide choice for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    The location is excellent, the rooftop terrace offers...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a single traveller I was given a tiny room with a bedside lamp that didn’t work.

    The location is excellent, the rooftop terrace offers spectacular views and the breakfast is generous too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Plaka Hotel is for me the best place to stay in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    For me Plaka Hotel is the perfect place to stay when I‘m in Athens. The location is fantastic, stuff very friendly and helpful,super breakfirst and not to forget the stunning view from the roof terrace to the Akropolis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Very comfy beds, air con was great, shower water pressure...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfy beds, air con was great, shower water pressure was fantastic. Room and bathroom were small but had everything you needed. There is a lift that fits 3 people. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was good with lots of variety to choose from. Location of hotel was perfect. We walked to everything from there. Close to shops and restaurants. Supermarket across the road. A drink on Rooftop bar was a great way to start your evening before going out to eat. Highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Athens.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in an excellent location
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The person responsible had difficulty changing the card on final payment to another card than the one originally authorised. It didn't make any difference in the end but you wouldn't expect that from a hotel of this quality.

    A well run hotel in the Plaka with friendly staff and excellent location. Good breakfast, lovely room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Welcoming and friendly front of house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming and friendly front of house. Authentic Greek breakfast. Close to all the attractions. View of Acropolis was especially memorable. Thank you. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location and personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, my bed was not very clean. I found bits of some kind (they looked like tiny seeds) and at least one big hair on my sheets. This was definitely at odds with the rest of my experience at Plaka hotel but I guess such unfortunate things happen sometimes. I am pretty sure that if I had reported the issue to the very helpful personnel (I didn't) they would have dealt with it promptly.

    The hotel's location is ideal, less than 5 minutes walk from Monastiraki square and the metro station. The rooms are comfy and nicely decorated. The breakfast was very good with a wide range of different Greek delicacies, both sour and sweet. The personnel were very helpful and eager to please the customers. The roof bar is a huge plus offering unhindered views of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    So helpful and great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in the best location! I couldn’t of asked for a better stay. The staff was so helpful with restaurant ideas and directions! Very very friendly as well!! Would definitely recommend to family and friends. Stefano was a big help for us!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great Hotel in a Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Plaka Hotel was a great choice for the last night of our trip. We had about a fay and a half in Athens before returning home and after staying here one night I wish we were staying longer! The rooms were really nice (although make sure you ask for a queen or a full bed, we had a double room and it was two twins pushed together) and ours had an amazing view of the acropolis. Its in the Plaka area which is a great area and walkable to lots of sights , shops and restaurants. I would absolutely stay here next time I am in Athens

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Met our Expectations !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to local tourist attractions, beautiful view of city and Acropolis from their rooftop which has a great bar serving reasonable priced cocktails. A bonus having breakfast provided.Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    A fantastic base from which to explore Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window in our room opened fully which was a safety concern as we were travelling with children and the room was on the 5th floor.

    Rooftop terrace with views of the Acropolis, the ease of moving around the major sights with the hotel as a base and the breakfasts!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    This one is a gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, right in the hub of Plaka area, fabulous restaurants and cafes on our doorstep. The staff were wonderful helped with organising tour guides and solving some travel problems. Breakfast was delicious and the rooms very comfortable. Roof top bar has postcard view of The acropolis Would definitely go back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    A lovely visit to Athens, Hotel Plaka is well located to all the major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If they could improve on the coffee offered & better selection of fresh fruit.

    Location excellent. Room spacious. Nice staff. Good breakfast. Roof top bar with view of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is in a great location..walking distance to everywhere you'll want to go. Midday check-out and options for those with a later flight after check-out. View of Acropolis from roof terrace is wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop bar really makes this hotel great! The rooms are nice for what you pay for and the breakfast has a nice variety. Staff were also helpful and the location is great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    The room was spacious and comfortable - nice king size bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing!

    The room was spacious and comfortable - nice king size bed. The breakfast selection was very good. Rooftop bar had an amazing view of the Acropolis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location, roof terrace with gorgeous view, delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had two twin beds moved together, intead of one double bed as promised. Room was suddenly changed after we check in, our bags was moved to other room.

    Great location, roof terrace with gorgeous view, delicious breakfast included, nice balcony in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Not a luxury stay but the location is exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old hotel that needs some work. The room I had was tiny. A double bed pressed against the wall and enough room on the side of it to walk past it up to the window - which had great views of the acropolis - but I felt claustrophobic in there and could barely open my suitcases. (I had two big ones and a cabin bag). The mattress felt old and lumpy, so I didn’t get the best night’s sleep either. The location makes up for it if you’re not after a more comfortable stay.

    The location of this hotel is fantastic! Doesn’t get much better. Everything worth seeing or doing is within walking distance and the rooftop bar views are just breathtaking! The staff were super lovely and helpful. Breakfast was also lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    Very good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location! Wonderful breakfast. Very similar to the photos we saw on booking.com. Great view to the acropolis from the roof top! Friendly staff. We would choose this hotel again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    quirky hotel in the heart of Plaka
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a great location. It is walking distance to Tourist sites. It provides a great breakfast. Lovely rooftop bar with an amaizing view of The acropolis day and night. We had a very early checkout and did not expect breakfast but one was provided.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.0
    Very good landing spot to explore the best of Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very, very small. Bathrooms too

    Location is ideal, right in heart of the Plaka with gorgeous Acropolis views. Wonderful breakfast buffet with fantastic manager. She makes the rounds of all tables, helping organize anything visitors need to do in Athens.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creaky bed (but it was comfy) and creaky floorboards in my room

    Fantastic view of the Acropolis for sunset from the roof terrace and great location in the heart of the tourist part of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel right in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excelent accomodations, excelent location, excelent service, and friendly staff. Eva was extremely helpfull in recommending us how to organize our visit according to our interests, excelent initiative.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Best hotel we stayed at in Europe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous location right in the heart of Athens but still in a quiet, safe neighbourhood. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. The Genius bonus welcome drinks were a lovely extra.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel for a short trip to Athens.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really important: the room was not very big (but on the other hand it was enough for staying for a few days), the elevator is rather small (3-4 persons), so sometimes it takes some time to catch it and get in.

    Fantastic location - close to Monastiriaki metro station (around 5 minutes walk) and two grocery stores max 100 metres away (in case you do not always want to eat&drink out, friendly staff, large roof terrace with an amazing view (you get a nice panorama of Athens), very good breakfast, air conditioning was functional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location to explore Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to explore the lovely Plaka district with all all it's little shops, bars and restaurants. The view from the rooftop bar is breathtaking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room's furnishings could stand to be updated. The bedspread was getting a bit old. Nothing much else to signal.

    Great location, very central. My room was quiet with a view of the Acropolis. I was in a single economy room so this was a nice surprise! Room was clean and staff was courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful staff/great location/comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is close to everything. We easily walked the city. I do not think enough is said about the rooftop. The nights we visited Athens there was a full moon that hung near the Acropolis. What a spectacular sight! Elsa, our bar person was a delight. There is even a basket of blankets when the night grows chilly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. 2 supermarkets just metres from the hotel, and very close to a broad range of cafes and restaurants. Above all the incredible view of the Acropolis from the roof top bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Clean, relatively modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Did have a small problem of room smelling like cigarette smoke in the morning. Apparently was coming in through vent from below.

    Clean, relatively modern hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and very convenient. Nice business center for printing off boarding passes. Great location, right in the heart of everything! My husband wished we could have stayed in similar facility the whole trip, not just one night!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and very helpful staff on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mostly everything was good, no complaints

    Great location in the Plaka district, close to good restaurants and tourist shopping. Wonderful view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar. Rooms comfortable, a bit small. Bed soft and bathroom adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No guest lounge. No shade on rooftop area so can't use during the day.

    Excellent central location Spectacular view. Very good breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Greek breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms and bed for the third person.

    Excellent Greek breakfast!! Beautiful view of the Parthenon on the rooftop. Close to Plaka and short walk to Parthenon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall, we were pleased with our stay at this moderately priced, convenient hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the breakfast was generous and the food fresh, we felt that there were too many sweets. While we enjoyed the unusual offering of beans for breakfast, we were disappointed when we realized that they were accompanied by cocktail hot dogs.

    The location was good, the hotel clean, the room quiet, the bed comfortable, and the conveniences good for the cost.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Very convenient central location with a brilliant roof garden and bar with views of the Acropolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor selection of fresh fruit at breakfast. Noises from next door room very audible in the bathroom via the vent.

    The Guest Relations lady Eva was brilliant in giving information to guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.6
    Great rooftop view, breakfast, and computer availability but location was very loud at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was very loud and the room was very small.

    The breakfast was very good. Rooftop view was very good. Good restaurants close by. They had computers with internet so you can print boarding passes, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Standout staff at this well located hotel with views of the Acropolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy bathroom fan and the pillows

    The staff were excellent and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. They offered advice on restaurants,shopping ie where to buy icons and other places worth visiting. Athens hotels are relatively expensive and difficult to book at this time of year so the staff were the standout attraction of this place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    City centre plus Acropolis view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are cosy.

    Exceptional view (you must book a view room). Good breakfast. Most central location, old city on one side, city centre shopping on the other.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was smallish but the Acropolis right out the window...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The room was smallish but the Acropolis right out the window when in bed was brilliant. Buffet breakfast was healthy and plenty of choice. Eva, concierge came around each morning to see who needed any assistance. Rooftop bar was sensational and Elsa was bubbly and made a great Mojito. Nothing was too much trouble for either of these ladies. Thomas was friendly and efficient at check-in. It was great to right in the heart of Plaka but peaceful once inside the hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    We were on our honeymoon when he stayed at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on our honeymoon when he stayed at this hotel. When we got to our room, we were pleasantly surprised to find a small gift and card from the hotel staff, congratulating us on our marriage. The staff were very kind, the room was great with an amazing night view of the Acropolis from our window and the breakfast buffet was fantastic! The hotel is also very centrally located and its extremely easy to get around to all of the hotspots from its front door. If we ever return to Athens, we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Astonishing view to the Acropolis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located in the old neighborhood of Plaka, it offers and amazing view of Athens from the rooftop and from some rooms (like ours). Great breakfast, even in case of early check out. Old building but nice and clean. Kind staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Would come and stay here again, so close to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Great location, easy to get to from airport ( bus or train) friendly staff. Roof top terrace awesome view of Acropolis. Breakfast was good. Would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a vent in our washroom that we could hear into the next room, this wasn't great. But understand that this is probably something that can't be fixed.

    The location of this hotel is excellent, not only is it very central but it has a beautiful rooftop terrace where you have a great view of The Acropolis. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was excellent, lots of selections - my husband loved the coffee! The rooms were very clean and great for what we needed. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    This is “the place to stay” in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little pricey for a big city hotel.

    This hotel has it all: very friendly staff, great location, CLEAN & one of the best breakfast we had in Greece. Food was fresh, hot, great variety & hearty (protein, veggies, hot & cold food). The location is perfect, so close to everything. A couple of minutes walk to all the sites, restaurants, nightlife, etc.. views of Acropolis from the room & our room were spectacular. Very impressive at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    The breakfast was amazing!! The ladies at the front desk were very helpful in recommending restaurants and things to do. Our room was outstanding! We were on the water for a beautiful sunset view, and close to all of the restaurants and shops in town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent - loved Athens and the hotel. Could not have hoped for better location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room a little small so became very busy / queuing for coffee machine etc

    Superb location and very courteous and helpful staff. Roof bar view outstanding. Breakfast good and customer service manager on hand to deal with issues - other members of our party raised problems with showers etc and the problem was resolved immediately. Very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Location is perfect, roof terrace has one of the best views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about at all.

    Location is perfect, roof terrace has one of the best views in Athens, Acropolis View rooms live up to the name, friendly professional staff, great welcome tray brought to the room on arrival (includes small bottle of wine, and traditional Greek sweets), terrific breakfast included in rate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Perfect base to explore Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facility in rooms. Not the end of the world but the only negative I could think of.

    The location, the breakfast and the rooftop bar are excellent. Helpful, welcoming staff. A great place to relax in comfort after a busy day exploring. My room was comfortable and quiet and I slept very well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    6.7
    Rooftop view is nice! Bed is so squeaky, needs a replacement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is uncomfortable and squeaks in every move, needs replacement! The view of our room is scaffolding for a building under construction. Not worth it really there are better hotels around for the same price.

    The rooftop view is superb! Would be nicer if they have an actual restaurant in the rooftop instead of just a bar. Location is great close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Clean, very well located hotel with nice compliments
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The rooms were clean. There were various things to eat in the breakfast and they were tasty. We came at 8 am in the morning and our check im time was 1 pm but our room was ready and we were able to have a rest before visiting monuments. Also they gave us a complimentary breakfast in that morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    other than a surprise overcharge of 75 Euros at the time of checkout all was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    charged me extra 75 Euros (15x5 nights) for my 14 year old daughter even though i booked a room for 3 and paid an extra 40 Euros per night for the "bigger" and "3rd" person ...... hotel stuff explanation: the 3rd person is over 6 year old!

    location location location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.5
    Lovely the hotel but disappointed with outcome re reservation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    We booked through your company an economy room to the value of 104/8 euros. When we arrived at the hotel (after many stays) we where told that we had only booked a single room!!. After a long journey we paid 30 euros extra for a double room, on checking our booking at our final destination we realised we had overpaid. Your comments would be appreciated. Many thanks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    I would stay here again because overall it was good but I would never stay in room 409.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room, 409, was one of the smallest rooms and was shared by two people. We were unable to sleep with the window open because the hotel sign is directly adjacent to the window opening. The letter “e” is big, bright blue and so close you can easily touch it. By having to seal up the room because of the sign it immediately got warm and stuffy so we could not enjoy the fresh air and sounds of Athens. My sister had room 405 by herself and it was much larger, had a desk and she didn’t have a bright sign to deal with. The shower leaked under the glass shower door and into the bathroom so the entire floor was a pool of water. No drain in the bathroom so I had to use the bath mat to corral the water, herd it back into the shower, wring out the mat and do it again. It was a mess.

    Welcoming, helpful staff, a great breakfast, a wonderful view of the Acropolis from the rooftop bar and a perfect location in which to explore Athens at s very reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good hotel and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is excellent. In the midst of Plaka, surrounded by many restaurants, shops and bars. Walking distance to many attractions. Wonderful service and good information provided. The rooftop garden and availability of coffee and tea throughout the day are special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location but too noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Street noise too loud to have a window open. Noise from other guest rooms was loud and went loud into the early hours on one night. Can hear guests in bathroom next door.

    Great location and very helpful friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Lived up to high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was a tight squeeze to get into and there is only one elevator, both acceptable compromises for the positives.

    Pretty much everything from the friendly helpful staff to the fine rooms and rooftop patio and of course the optimum location. I particularly appreciated the ability to get a continental breakfast prior to the formal breakfast with an early checkout. This hotel had high ratings and lived up to them.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel with stunning terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooftop terrace was just stunning. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast was delicious!! Will definitely book again if we are back to Athens!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices from scrambled...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I originally tried to book directly with the hotel, but they advised there was no availability. Booking must have something magical because minutes later I had a confirmation for Plaka Hotel. We found some stray hair left from previous guests. It was not worth making the complaint at the time.

    Breakfast was delicious with lots of choices from scrambled eggs to traditional Greek treats. We were really pleased with breakfast! Check in staff was very helpful and made suggestions for restaurants with maps. The room itself was spacious and the balcony was nice, though the view was less than desirable. We appreciated the storage of our luggage while we explored before our flight. The location is great for exploring the agora and central sights. We were able to purchase our tour at a discounted rate at the hotel checkin.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.0
    We dont come back, but survived that one night stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot rooms, broken aircondition and the beds are the worse i have ever tried - didn’t get much sleep. And the man in the reception was arrogant and snobby - never saw him smile or being the least helpful.

    Wonderful breakfast!! Nice view from the rooftop bar and a nice service that coffee, tea, cocoa and biscuits are free during the day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic location and great value for money - definitely deserving of more than 3 stars!!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situated in the heart of Athens, we were greeted with a warm welcome. The view from our room and the roof garden was breathtaking. Simply the best place to stay in Athens!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Athens!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Greeted with a warm welcome in the heart of Athens with a breathtaking view, from our room and from the roof garden. We wanted for nothing and enjoyed our brief stay immensely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Best breakfast, best area, best staff, best view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only have the best consideration for this hotel. The staff is super polite, knowledgeable and so friendly. The location, perfect area within a walking distance of everything. The breakfast, the best I have ever had in a hotel, great variety and extremely delicious. The view on the terrace is just wow! You can’t find any better place for the money. Start booking! 😎 Thank you Hotel Plaka for the best stay in Athens.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A+++ would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We very much enjoyed the stay. There is some noise from Don on the street, but that is everywhere in Athens.

    Great location. Excellent rooms. Superior breakfast! There is no reason to eat elsewhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Clean, no frills, central location and best view - we came for the Acropolis, and we got it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While there is a fine shower with the bathtub, the tub is quite high and (in my case) an effort to climb over. The room safe works with the room key card (not-your-code). This is inner-city life, so street sounds abound if you open the window, then again, the accordionist playing for his living was excellent. Traffic is one way and tricky for everyone, so if you are in a rush, add on time. Lots of time. On departure we left 15" early due to a university student demonstration and the police were about to close off the major streets (ring road) out of the city. Having booked a taxi, he came early and we took his advice.

    1) front desk staff, breakfast hostess, and rooftop barista were quite friendly & helpful with directions and suggestions. (2) Acropolis view from rooftop - I will dream about for years. After checking in, go straight up to that view. (3) dining hall has beverages and biscuits all day til evening, and sitting for a street view is restful after a hard day of travel/touring. (4) Mezzanine has a couch, toilet, 2 desks with computers ... handy when you have checked out and are waiting about til departure for the airport (4) Walking in the neighborhood was terrific, with "normal" and touristy shops & restaurants, little supermarkets. (5) I discovered the distinctive Greek orthodox church there is the main one for not just Athens but all of Greece - interesting shops for clergy in perimeter. (6)Walking to the Acropolis is quite do-able, and you must see the Acropolis Museum afterwards too. Note the weather in mid-March was so pleasant, and the plum and orange trees were in stunning full bloom. Olive trees had olives or flowers. Got allergies like me? Take a daily anti-histamine and all is well.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: