Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plakias Bay Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Plakias, 74060, Greece

#6 of 10 hotels in Plakias

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the top so quite a few steps. Staff helped with luggage. Naked people on best bit of the beach!

    Great location near the beach. Home cooked dinners were the best and very reasonably priced. Comfortable room with a view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The restaurant offered an evening meal, but not every day, closed maybe twice each week but not on the same weekday. Often `restaurant closed this evening´ and menu changes were very short term (late afternoon) so it was difficult to organize the day. We suggest such information is required latest at breakfast on the `closed tonight´ day. There should be more time between the serving of the starter and main menu, sometimes they arrived almost simultaneous.

    The location was very good, staff very friendly and helpful. A small fridge in room. We ordered in advance facilities for tea making in our room and it was there when we arrived including milk & sugar. The free WiFi worked at all times. The booked room for 2 persons was adequate, shower & toilet room good, towels changed as necessary. Plenty of electricity plugs. This is a small family run hotel offering very good value for money. Breakfast buffet OK. The food was simple, the local menus i.e. Rabbit, were very good and most of the ingredients were local. The house wine was from the family vineyard and very good. A small desert & Ouzo was included in the price of the main menu which was excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and small hotel very close to the beach. Each room has a balcony overlooking the Plakias Bay. Helpful staff. Breakfast in the garden. Dinner in the restaurant was very tasteful. April is a very good month to stay in Plakias. The weather is good and it’s outside high season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One burned-out bulb in the room. Not a big deal.

    Staff extra friendly, especially Valens (sp?); views outstanding; sweet kitty cats and Vavis, the dog, are a joy; house wine is terrific; never had a better olive; bountiful breakfast on a sun-washed terrace overlooking the bay; short walk to town and beach is just down the driveway; spectacular drive in through mountain gorges; spacious room with ventilated bathroom; pomegranates growing in the garden among beautiful olive trees. Absolutely wonderful!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Flexible Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is a bit small for a tall person.

    Staff was very helpful and nice. The hotel is really charming. I got two wonderful rooms (connected, one had a door were the lock was broken), which were balconies with superb views over the bay and town. The beach is just a very short walk from the hotel, although the part next to the hotel is a nudist area (which didn't bother me). Into the main town boulevard it is about a kilometer to walk. The beach and the water is fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The relaxed friendly atmosphere in this family hotel was delightful. The location was beside a most beautiful part of the beach. The room and balcony were simply lovely and the view was stunning. We would happily return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    We stayed already ten years ago twice. Nice atmosphere, nice guests, friendly staff and a great location. The rooms are simple but clean and the bath was nice renovated. The problem with Plakias is always that is is quite windy, but we can't blame that on the hotel. But the bay and the area is very special. The third time coming back. And it is still very authentic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location just outside the main town so therefore very quiet and peaceful. Easy level walk into town. Beautiful views across the bay. Plentiful breakfast - perfect. Lovely friendly staff. We left very early on our last day and, without asking, were given a breakfast tray to take to our room - very welcome. Highly recommend this wonderful place.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was nothing we didn't like. there are lots of stairs so if you are disabled or don't like to walk up stairs, request a room on a lower level.

    we liked everything. the hotel is family run. they grow their own olives and make and serve their own olive oil. the food is excellent. beautiful garden seating as well as indoor seating. also a great restaurant down the road called Paligremnos with lovely garden seating, our daughter is 11. the hotel is very child friendly. great views, located at the end of a road with no other buildings nearby, next to the beach and a cliff; hawks and falcons regularly catch thermal drafts. we loved this aspect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening dinner wasn't great, however there was a fantastic restaurant a short stroll down the road.

    Typical cretan family run hotel.Fantastic location and views from balcony.Beautiful yoghurt and honey for breakfast.Exactly what we were looking for.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say that I disliked the room (especially for what I paid) but it was quite basic and although breakfast was included (and perfectly reasonable) a kettle wouldn't have gone amiss.

    It is incredibly close to the end of Plakias beach, which is wonderful (the hotel is just across the road from the naturist part of the beach). The ambience was very relaxed. The restaurant doesn't serve dinner every night but the food was very good on the evening I did eat there.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect located, clean rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Renovated bathrooms, a piece of luxury in a basic room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly family run hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,good price,good food,friendly staff and nice clean hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's run by a really wonderful family - very friendly and helpful, a joy to meet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The views. Lovely breakfast on the terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location view view on the sea . Very friendly staff , excellent breakfast and restaurant

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beautiful location overlooking the bay. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food from their restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower poor water supply

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircondition didn't work (dripping lots of water on to floor) Shower curtain was inpractical No view from room Breakfast just basic

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very tired old building and facilities. Basic room and bathroom. Breakfast service outdated. Whole hotel needs bringing to the "20th" Century at least.

    Location. Budget hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only slight complaint that WiFi signal not good

    The location is perfect and our room had a fabulous view of the bay. The staff are excellent - we arrived late and were met at midnight with a lovely supper!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice small and quiet hotel. The view from the room was outstanding. The staff are super friendly and are happy to assist in any way. The hotel is very close to the beach and you can walk there easly. The hotel is also very close to Plakias center so you can walk there too. It's the perfect location, to feel outside off the buessy areas and yet to be able to walk to the beach and to the town. I will recommend this hotel to any one that will ask me.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Need to know the closest beach by foot is a nudist beach. We preferred to walk a bit farther and away. There is no coffee pot in the room :(

    We had a very pleasant stay here. Yangos and the family were great hosts and very welcoming. The room was nice a cozy, the place is clean and simple. The food at the restaurant was really good for breakfast and dinner. It's a nice walk to the center of the village at evening. The Plakias bay is beautiful with lovely beaches and beautiful mountain scenery and it is close to several places to visit from Sfakion to Preveli. Thanks for your hospitality. We will definitely come again!

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be upgraded but everything they served, local bread, jams, eggs and yogurt were delicious fine. Bathrooms could be larger but we made do just fine.

    This is not your typical tourist resort; it's simple classic Greek- just what my husband and I were looking for- authenticity vs typical tourist resort. It's family owned and run. There are no TV's in the room, but the rooms all have balconies with views of the ocean and mountains so one falls asleep to the sound of waves. There is WIFI and air conditioning. Staff is very friendly and mulitlingual. Meals were eaten on the lovely terrace/patio with beautiful views.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door in our room was not closing very densely, so when we opened the window, it created a draft with a typical noise. So for the night time we used the a/c. This was a very minor issue for us though.

    Extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful owners and personnel. Very nice food with different specialities every evening. The beach is in only 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Very quiet location - nice for relaxing and enjoying full tranquility. However a 15 minutes walk will lead you to the main restaurants and shops of Plakias. If you rent a car, there are plenty of places to visit around Plakias, including the beaches of Damnoni and Amoudi, the Monastery of Preveli, Myrthios village with breathtaking views etc.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike about this hotel.

    The hotel was clean and had wonderful views over the mountains and sea. The food was freshly prepared and it was a joy to sit outside on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave

    Excellent base from which to go walking and see Crete's sublime wild flowers Plus delicious home cooked Cretan food and hotel's own wine in friendly family run hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and view from room. Very clean and tidy, but staff attire could do to be improved. Would have liked a tea/coffee tray in room. Good stay generally.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so good breakfast, poor comfort, horrible bathroom

    The place around the b&b is beautiful

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful location, nice athmosphere

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a little hard.

    View. Proximity to the beach

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing!

    Very friendly staff and beautiful place, we enjoyed! definitely come again :)

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Excellent staff, perfect hotel location! We really enjoyed the stay and definitely would like to come back next time! Thank you so much!

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: