Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Polis Grand Hotel 4 stars

19 Patision and 10 Veranzerou St, Athens, 104 32, Greece

#140 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1248 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    The availability of the team : the advices they provided for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The availability of the team : the advices they provided for transport in Athens, for shopping ... (for example : what kind of Ouzo buying and where, where to find greek CD music). Very friendly team. And very nice view over the Acropolis from the roof top where the hotel restaurant is set. The hotel is also closed to the amazing National Archeological Museum where every traveler must go !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Very kind staff, good breakfast (not extremely good, but...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, very nosy street (good and sound proof window on the other end) strange electricity setup (had electricity break down in the room, turned out there is issue with electricity panel...)

    Very kind staff, good breakfast (not extremely good, but above average) very comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular view and central to amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift that can only handle 4 people at a time can become problematic.

    Beautiful view of the Acropolis from the 8th floor balcony. The hotel is walking distance to train station, bus station and taxis as well as easy to locate main amenities in Athens from the hotel. Breakfast was very good. The room we had was great, being on the top floor with a balcony.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    The location of this hotel is great and the executive room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at the restaurant was a little average, but handy being upstairs when we were weary and the view is lovely. The noise coming from the extremely small and slow lifts is really quite ridiculous. Each of 3 mornings we were there they clunk and doors slam shut etc from 5 o’clock onwards. Unfortunately for us our room was directly opposite the lifts so three very early starts was not great.

    The location of this hotel is great and the executive room veranda has a nice view. The restaurant at night has a superb view of the Acropolis. The staff were pleasant and the room was fairly spacious although a little dated. The bed was extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, only 1 stop from Downtown and the metro station is 2 minuets walk. Very clean. Great breakfast and lovely staff. Excellent value for money ❤️

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Nit worth 90 bucks per night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bath glass dirty - hairs in the bath - ultra small bath except if you are a dwarf - 30 ants running in the whole room, counted in 1 min - 2 small beds instead of 1 asked - restaurant at the top expensive and view so-so, ugly buildings in between rooftop and acropolis. Waited 45 min to have a salad (8 people in the rooftop only). - hotel surrounded by streets smelling pee

    - hotel at a 3min walk of Omonia metro station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    It was a relaxed and easy experience which was precicely what we needed after 3 weeks of travel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel shower was tight but to be expected for an urban boutique hotel. Other than that, can’t say much.

    The location was central to most places. A three euro cab ride away from tourist and shopping sites. Free breakfast was excellent and quite substantial.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    Lovely staff and super comfy beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff who upgraded me from a single room to a double room with a balcony. The first hotel of my island hopping trip that had tea and coffee facilities in the room. Extremely comfy beds and a large breakfast buffet. The hotel is also in a great location with regards to local transport and within walking distance to Monistriaki Square and restaurants. The hotel also has a lovely restaurant with a view of the Acropolis and there is also a hotel cafe on the ground floor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like

    Breakfast was amazing, lots of variety. walking distance to tourist attractions. Friendly staff. Good Wi-Fi

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Convenient stay in downtown Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are smaller than expected, but clean.

    The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. Breakfast was decent. There is a nice view from the rooftop bar and there are some great restaurants close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    It was OK for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in Omonia district, I knew about not good reputation of the surrounding after booking.

    Roof top bar is nice due to Acropolis view. Breakfast is good, I liked to make fresh orange juice. They also offer healthy food and detox drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Good option to visit Athens, not to stay at the Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit noisy The view from standard room is ... the wall The roof bar was closed in the afternoon and also after diner

    The building itself is not recent but clean and with a good level of services. Nice people, clean and pleasant room for the Breakfast which is good with choice The nice view on Acrople from the roof top. Very good location to visit Athens. The hotel is close to the Subway Station "Omonia". It's also easy to walk to Syntagma, Monastiraki, Anafiotika, Acropole...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    We only had booked an overnight stay to freshen up and continue our trip. Recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Easy 10-15min walk to Syndagma. We were upgraded to a higher level overlooking the Acropolis. Breakfast was fantastic. Easy parking nearby and street parking was available. 👌

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Lee's review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smallest shower I've every come across. I had to step in side ways. I wondered how bigger people managed getting in and out the shower. Very awkward indeed.

    In the city centre, although the buildings and streets around the area seemed very dodgy. Graffiti every where. The breakfast certainly got 8/10, very clean, a variety of food included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotel's fault, but the area is so and so. There are definitely nicer areas in Athens. However, subway is really close and good connections with everything, in the same square there is also a stop for all tour buses. Although the area was so and so I have never felt unsafe. Hotel is a bit outdated, but not really bothersome.

    Amazing staff. They try to accommodate all requests, very respectful and smiling. Good breakfast and enough space. Nice terrace on the upper apartments

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Lower than expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I chose this hotel because of some praising reviews, but after my stay, I can not confirm them. The solo room I had was not comfortable. I doubt if a large person could fit in the shower cabin, and if I had a large luggage there wouldn't be any space to put it. Due to poor design, I had the A/C machine out of my window and that created a continuous noise. The room and the elevator had an unpleasant smell. I had mosquitos in my room (I'm not saying that this is a hotel's fault, but it is its fault that there was no device to deal with them). Last, I tend to consider giving my e-mail to have access to the wifi a non-proper way.

    The breakfast is a nice experience with respect to variety, taste, as well as atmosphere. There was also a small table for children something that is really important for families.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    When the staff learned we had to leave at 5:30am for a ferry...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When the staff learned we had to leave at 5:30am for a ferry but had breakfast included in our booking, they went out of their way to make us breakfast bags to take with us! Above and beyond!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Good short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small.

    Decent room, comfy bed, clean and well-equipped bathroom. The breakfast was quite good and the restaurant was surprisingly nice, with a cute area for small kids. We only stayed one night since we were flying the next day. There was a really nice local and cheap(er) restaurant about 100m away, where we had a really good time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    An average hotel in unsafe area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a "superior" double room. It was tiny, way too small for 2 adults and 1 kid. Poor sound isolation. The bathroom smelt badly, poor air circulation, the ceiling in the bathroom was full of black mould. The lifts are tiny with very old doors, 4 persons can hardly fit in. But the worst thing was the location: it is an unprivileged area full of abandoned buildings, junkies, beggars, homeless people, walls outside full if graffiti. The area is simply not safe.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Hotel has friendly staff and a great breakfast, location not ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was OK but as the price of the hotel is more than other places I had expected the quality to be higher. The area around the hotel was not that attractive. I did not feel like exploring it at night.

    The hotel is quite large and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was excellent-a huge selection of dishes. There is a lovely roof top bar with an amazing view of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    definitely above average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff at the hotel were incredibly helpful, especially with the prospect of a taxi strike, and even providing me with a packed breakfast given that on the last day I had a very early flight. Also the breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    I'd love rooms be upgraded with newer furnishings in a good state of repair, with a working A/C.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic breakfast, with orangeade not juice. Old and worn room furnishings, the room A/C did not work, so I had to sleep with the window open. There was frequently noise outside, which woke me up at night. I felt a bit icky in the room, even though it seemed to be clean. I also hated the shower gel in a dispenser. Overall, I would stay if budget was an issue, but not really a hotel I would want to visit with my family.

    Cheap, clean hotel with a small roof pool. Very close to Larissa station. Staff were extremely helpful, particularly in view of transport strikes - I appreciated it a lot. I asked for a double bed, which they provided gladly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Not a 4-star, a bit dated, but great location, lovely view from the rooftop bar and comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4-star hotel! Staff a bit direct, cheap breakfast items - powder juices, cheap bread etc.

    Location, view from the rooftop, cheap prices, local dishes for breakfast, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Perfect end to a week sailing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for sight seeing and easy location to find. The restaurant on the roof served lovely food and cocktails and the view of the Acropolis was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall a good place to hold up while in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy female breakfast staff clearing tables while people sat, clatter of plates etc as they stacked them onto trays to take away, no reason why it cannot be done in a more quieter and caring manner. Also they were noisy in how they replaced breakfast table chairs particularly.

    Roof top restaurant, prawn pies (parcels ), helpfull front reception staff, excellent breakfast food choices and drinks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, wonderful views, friendly staff, incredible breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I selected a room with two separate beds and they gave us a room with one bed. Even though they were helpful the next day in trying to move us, it would have been too much of an effort at that point so we stayed in our room. They should have accommodated us the correct way from the beginning. The room was very very small for two people but there was a large balcony with a view of the Acropolis.

    The location is pretty good and very very close to the archeology museum, which is awesome. The staff is pleasant and helpful. The hotel has THE BEST breakfast spread you will ever see! It’s an intense experience of such wonderful foods, many of them traditional Greek. The best thing is that they have a make-your-own Greek coffee station. The breakfast alone is worth staying here!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    Very well located for tourists, it has correct services, but at the tourist price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room was the smallest I have never seen. The roof restaurant is too much expensive for the food served. The view of the Acropolis is superb, of course.

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Good location, moderns and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not recommend eating at the restaurant, food took so long and fish was dry, risotto not warm. We got a refund but wish we had eaten elsewhere.

    Good location, moderns and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.3
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not surrounded by particularly nice streets - best to take a short walk or metro ride to get to areas that are more lively.

    The rooftop bar and restaurant has a great view - the risotto is delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    I will book again at police grant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it Is a bit noisy, as we could hear talking of rooms surrounding ours. the cofffee Is not as good as the entire breakfast which is excellent

    All was Perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    The Polis Grand Hotel was a good hotel for the money, convenient location and Excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Giota worked at the cafe downstairs and the rooftop restaurant. She was absolutely wonderful and a pleasure to visit with. She was so friendly and helpful, we made a point of eating at the hotel every day because we knew it would be an enjoyable experience every time!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    good location and clean! but not worth the money at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the restaurant lady was very very very rude "can i have tissues" she answered: "yes u can its there on the table" hahaha i had to get up and get it myself :) so rude! rooms are very small and hotel lobby is small also with no welcome fruit or drink, you can get 5* hotel at Glifada for example or any fancy place :)!

    location is very good and front desk people been amazing tho., rooms are very clean also

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Definitely value for money and very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very small.

    The bed was a double king size and extremely comfortable! Breakfast buffet was delicious and dinner at the roof top bar/ restaurant was very delicious!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    The location was great and the staff at the reception desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Last year I was in this Hotel and I had one of the most amazing breakfasts ever. This year not so much. There was no variety of bread for example, and the eggs had a very strange texture. The quality of the products decreased in general. I booked the room in January more then 2 months in advance and still we got a room next to the closet where the cleaning ladies keep the materials. Everyday at 7 am we had to wake up because they started to clean, not their fault cause they have to do their job. But it is truly unfair that I am paying for the same service as other guests and there is a lot of noise next to my room. Last year we had an amazing room and it was even upgraded to a superior room without any request. And the funny thing is that the room cost almost 100€ less last year comparing to this year. A lot of kids in the hotel, so besides the noise coming from the cleaning ladies also these kids were in the floor. So in order to sleep they had to be quiet, what normally was happening around 2 am and we had to wake up every morning at 7 am. So the perfect holidays with 5 hours sleep during the 3 nights. Next time maybe put all the kids in one floor and move other guests to other floors in order to avoid such situations as apparently they do not know how to behave when in public spaces. Please be more careful with this. Last but not least when cleaning the toilet please clean all the "hairs" between the bathtub and the sink as there is a glass that separates both full of undesirable "hair" from other guests.

    The location was great and the staff at the reception desk are very polite and always ready to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.3
    Reception staff was ready to assist and accommodate our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Access via a car is impossible even for picking up luggage, there is rarely space to stop.

    Reception staff was ready to assist and accommodate our requests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Loved the stay. Worth the money. The breakfast is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been bigger. The bath essentials, the toiletries could have been better. They weren't smelling so nice.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms. Great rooftop restaurant. Very close to Acropolis. Also close to a metro station. The breakfast spread was just amazing. It was the highlight of our stay. Good for both vegetarians and non vegetarians.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel, great location and very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, especially the service manager who made sure our stay celebrating mum's 60th birthday was just amazing!He went over and beyond our expectations and recommended an great Greek restaurant which was a huge bonus! Efcharisto from us!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Spent new year's eve here and had their NYE banquet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spent new year's eve here and had their NYE banquet. Food was delicious and service was excellent, although the portions of the five-course meal were huge----almost ludicrously large, that you couldn't really enjoy the late courses. People were returning half-eaten plates of food when the main courses arrived. Other than that, the evening was lovely! Staff, especially for the rooftop resto and the breakfast buffet were so nice and welcoming. The breakfast alone was worth the stay----large Greek selection which even comes with a station to squeeze your own orange juice and prepare your own Greek coffee (with the heated sand). Bed was comfy, and hotel was near key places, although a bit further away from the Acropolis or the usual ruins people want to see.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast, very comfortable beds, clean room, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Free internet requires login in pop-up browser. Took 3 days to connect my son's old phone because pop-up windows are usually blocked by browsers. Not so nice neighborhood

    Great breakfast, very comfortable beds, clean room, location close to metro station and city center, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    Honestly,for the money I spent,I would not stay in this hotel again. 4 stars is a BIT exaggerated !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no any view out of a family room, very dark room as window is looking to the inner court.

    To park a car in front of the hotel was a bit of a challenge, very busy and crowded side street and people park where they want in Athens.Breakfast was quite good , despite the fact that hotel is quite old and defiantly pictures does not meet the reality. Parking close buy 8 eur. per day. When dark, not the best area to walk around. Lots of homeless people around.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    clean, nice and wonderful view from the 8th floor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We couldn't hear a thing from the outdoor traffic from the balcony but the noice from other guests in the hallway was very loud!

    We liked that we where high up to have an amazing view of Acropolis and also the hotel offered both Restaurant, bar and coffee area!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    I’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were very helpful and considerate. They sent a plate to my room when I arrived after dining hours, and again something I could eat when I got a stomach virus. They recommended sites to be sure to visit & told me about a sandal shop that I would never have found on my own. They were always there there ready to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were courteous and efficient. Location was great - within walking distance to several landmarks and attractions. Shopping hub nearby. Omonia Square is close but not a threat. View of the Acropolis from the balcony was breathtaking. Breakfast was quite good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Fair hotel but not a recommended option in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was not modern at all. The Colors were horrible, the green wall, the orange couch, not at all like what we saw in the pictures and that was very disappointing. The room looks old even though it s clean

    The bed is very comfortable, the breakfast is fine, the room is very clean!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom should be redone , maybe the shower compartment should be removed and replaced by curtains

    The staff was very cordial and helping in nature

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall the experience with this hotel was very amazing. I highly recommend for your stay in Athens!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The door was a little broken in the start, but they managed to fix it right away, and we didn't have any more problems with it. The airconditioning unit made some weird noises at night, but it was still okay. We were too sleepy to even complain about it. Haha.

    The staff were very accomodating and polite, the rooms were clean and well-kept. The breakfast buffett was super awesome, there were a lot of variety - both with Greek and Western cuisine. They even have this corner where you can make your own Greek coffee and another corner where you can make your own fresh orange juice. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.6
    A nice and comfortable hotel to relax and enjoy Athens. Convenient location enables easy trips!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The neighborhood itself is a little sketchy after dark for a family w/small children. However I do not know if that is atypical in a large city urban area. There is a lot of graffiti all over Athens so whether that lends to the feeling is not clear. However we walked to a restaurant in the evening with no issues.

    Location of the hotel was very convenient. The Omonia metro station was only a 4 minute walk away. It provides easy access to pretty much any location in the city and is only 2 stops from the Acropolis. The National Archaeological Museum was a 5 minute walk away on the same street as the hotel. The hotel roof restaurant was very good and provides a view of the Acropolis. Breakfast was very good with scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, 3 sausage choices, several cakes or sweet choices, mini croissants, cereal, greek yogurt etc. Many choices and made well. They have a childs area as well which let our toddler watch Nickelodeon as he ate. Room was well maintained and bed was comfy and the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place nice people love greece 🇬🇷
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t complain I’m happy enough

    Great customer service well spoken at any time of the day so close to the metro station bus stops all around the hotel no need to pay for a taxi to get around the city took a metro from the airport to my hotel too perfect place I just love Greece 🇬🇷

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction in the yard, so the early noises didn't help to relax. Also we had rooms with Acropolis view, bur we only saw next building

    Breakfast and staff was very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Necessary stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The first receptionist was a prejudiced man, it took me nerves and time to convince him to check again the payment receiving for our non-refundable rooms.

    Communicative location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Great location... good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tub was strange... high to climb in and out of for me (I'm short)... and the shower head was way too low for my friend (she's tall)

    Location, location, location!!! Could walk to see many things...and felt safe doing so.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    The staff upgraded our room to an executive suit for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff upgraded our room to an executive suit for our honeymoon, what a wonderful surprise! They were wonderful and very helpful. Also, the breakfast buffet was delicious and offered many choices. We had an excellent experience with the Polis Grand Hotel!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Very nice .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is around the hotel is not very great , but safe.

    The staff is excellent. The reception people were very helpful . Hotel is 2 minutes walk from Omania metro station .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is fairly centrally situated, staff friendly and the hotel clean. Rooms are a little small. No swimming pool. Large variety of breakfast options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !

    Polis grand is a fantastic hotel! The staff are so helpful and the room was nice & clean and a great size for a couple. The breakfast was amazing! So many different choices...the best we've had during our trip so far 🙂

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    One night in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally situated. Walking distance to the Acropolis and the lovely tourist sips and restaurants. The rooftop restaurant with its view over the buildings to the Acropolis in the distance pure magic. The food was well priced and very tasty. Loved every moment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    A good hotel with very efficient and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family triple room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and small for a family of 4. We could barely move about the room once our luggage was in it. The room looked out onto a wall. This was fine for a short stay of 2 nights when we were out all day but wouldn't recommend if you're looking for a bit more luxury.

    The staff were very friendly. Breakfast had a great selection and a family area to sit in which was a nice touch. The rooftop restaurant was a highlight. The communal areas of the hotel were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    Good Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The gym could do with a few heavier dumbbells, but then again very few people use gyms when travelling so maybe its just a personal requirement.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful which made my stay a lot more comfortable. they were very helpful with suggesting restaurants and areas to shop. Loved the fact that they had a small gym with all the basic equipment to do cardio and warmup exercises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location - good food - friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff very knowledgeable and speak excellent English. Only in Athens for 3 days, and helped us with our itinerary (making it more kid friendly) and booking for ferry to Mykonos. Rooftop restaurant has a lovely view of the Pantheon. Breakfast has a lovely spread!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great value for money - amazing view to acropolis
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tipota

    Great comfort and very nice staff at the reception. Mr Stathis (don't remember his name correctly sorry) was so helpful and as he had capacity I got an upgrade of my room with even view to the acropolis whih was amazing! Will return next Time i am in Athens

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    It was very inviting and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Private Veranda & Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a few minutes walk from a not so well maintained area. A swimming pool would have been a good feature if they could have that. The hallways can maybe be updated, since the lobby, restaraunt and rooms have a new updated look.

    The bedrooms were very comfortable and the breakfast was amazing. All the staff were helpful and super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel had a great location, not too expensive, and the staff were amazing. The restaurant had a beautiful view but was a bit too expensive. The breakfast was pretty good, with a nice variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.7
    View and furnishings lovely, service and location average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service - got v limited breakfast box instead of buffet, restaurant too slow and food tasted ordinary, area outside hotel looks dingy and dangerous

    Rooms nicely presented, View of Acropolis at night from restaurant good, but food not the best and expensive - especially considering ridiculously long wait for it, avoid eating there with kids,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.3
    Good location , short walk from the tourist areas around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym is run down , rooms are a bit small and slow elevator ,but in general a good experience

    Good location , short walk from the tourist areas around Acropolis ,helpful and friendly stuff , clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was so small you could barely move in it. Hotel rooms are very small and bed was hard.

    Hotel was very clean and staff was friendly. Gave us lots of tips and advice on how to get to our destination. Location of hotel is excellent if you have plans on going to Acropolis but overall Athens is a little scary to talk around at night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good value and plenty of choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were a little dated and the bath/shower had no anti slip surface and quite dangerous.

    The breakfast was very good value and plenty of choice. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel clean and location good although the area is now a little run down.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel bad area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower smallest we ever see. 24 sex service just outside the hotel, not best area with strange people walking around. We felt not safe to go outside after sun goes down.

    Perfect breakfast, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    A centrally located property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood looks seedy ... specially one of the routes (the shortest one) Though having said that didn't experience any incident ..!

    Well located from Omonia station .. good staff .. excellent breakfast..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice for a short stay in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred having a kettle and coffee/tea in the room.

    The hotel is centrally located which makes it easer to the tourist sights..the beds are nice and comfortable. Their breakfast is delicious!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    High quality hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location appears to be more Greek and less touristy than say Plaka. It's close to the National Archeological Museum. There's a great camera store on the corner. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    3.8
    Wonderful fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt, selection of sweets...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The price-value relation is off. This is by no means a 4* facility and would struggle to be 3* hotel. Rooms are cramped, outdated and furniture is in dire need of a revamp. Walls are very thin and the doors give no insulation. The shower is extremely small. Also the area is a little dodgy at night.

    Wonderful fresh fruit and Greek yoghurt, selection of sweets and other sumptuous breakfast buffet choices. Best feature of the whole experience. The staff is lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.1
    A nice hotel and worth the stars but the local area is a bit dodgy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The immediate surrounding area is really quite run down and didn't feel that safe. However it is only max 8 min walk to very good bars / restaurants and a much nicer area. We were also woken by the cleaner at around 8am in the morning hoovering the corridor - I can understand a hotel needs to get underway with cleaning rooms but 8am was just a little antisocial in my view.

    The hotel inside was very pleasant with a fab view of the acropolis. The bed was comfy and the bathroom v clean. We had a city view and a view of the acropolis from the balcony. Breakfast was a good spread but make sure you don't arrive at 10.15 as by 10.30 all food is cleared away.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    staff were excellent, view of the acropolis excellent, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Interconnecting Door
    • Stayed 4 nights

    surrounding areas have plenty graffiti but it is a problem with a lot of areas in Athens.

    staff were excellent, view of the acropolis excellent, very near to omonia square (town center) and historical sites.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    9.6
    VERY NICE HOTEL WITH VIEW OF RUINS, HUGE BREAKFAST INCLUDED & GREAT STAFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Private Veranda & Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No negatives, cost a little extra to get to the Airport. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Very reasonable~ Gave welcome gift, wines, and map

    Great value for the money! We got a Junior Suite and it had a fabulous view. Very clean and staff very helpful. Huge free breakfast with at least 25 items to choose from.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay, would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a wider choice of food on the restaurant menu. The hotel is noisy due to traffic outside, however, I think you would get this with most hotels in Athens...take earplugs just in case!

    The hotel restaurant and cafe were very useful and good value for money. The staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. We stayed in a superior room which had a bath which we were very pleased about.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: