Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Poseidon Studios

Main Street, Georgioupolis, 73007, Greece

#37 of 40 hotels in Georgioupolis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 apartment reviews

6.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On arrival at The Poseidon Studios I very disappointed as the whole complex looked very run down, dreary and in very bad need of a lick of paint. The reception area was non existent. The Reception desk area was stacked with broken beds ,cots, lockers and even a fridge. There was an over bearing stench of stale and burnt cooking oil which permeated all over the building. Eventually the receptionist\owner arrived and informed us that although we had three rooms booked she only had two available. She had given one of our rooms away to an individual who wanted to stay another night. I showed her my Booking.com confirmation and she was very flippant and said that our other room would be available from the next day onwards. I expressed total dissatisfaction and tried for alternative accommodation elsewhere but to no avail. We had no choice but to try and work with the limited option available to us. The rooms were dark, small, smelly and in real need of updating. We were offered a refund for the one night. This amounted to €25 on our departure. This included the cost of 4 small coffees and 1 bottle of water. I would not recommend The Poseidon Studios under any circumstances

    The only good thing about the Poseidon Studios was the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    (*)We were given a temporary room near the kitchen which was noisy, had no kitchen facility and almost all bulbs not working. Then we were told all the other rooms were taken! I had to make a fuss so that we were given a better room which at least had kitchen facilities, like we paid for. Host grumbled that we paid too little for the room (was actually quite expensive for what we got, compared to the rest of Greece) and tried to get us to pay to upgrade to their villa up in the hills. Really not good. Room we were given was very basic, fridge barely worked, we ended up spending very little time there.

    Host allowed us to check in very early in the morning, so we could get some sleep... but see(*). After initial hassles they turned out to be very nice and warm people. Short walk to the beach which was OK, some days too windy and sea too rough, had to drive to other beaches.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We did not hire a car and had to get to the hotel by taxy, which was expensive way. It was our honeymoon and we were a bit dissapointed of bed size (which we did know before so it is our fault). Also we hoped for seaview but we did not get it - the owner offered us one the second day of our stay and it was really nice of her. We missed some chairs in our room, when we spent time in the room the only possibility where to sit was bed or balcony. Althought we enjoyed our stay.

    We really liked the beach and surroundings of the hotel. The city of Gergiopouli is just like a kilometer (and half maybe) away if you go by road. We liked the waves at windy days but lifeguards really liked to put on a red flag which made swimming in the sea forbidden. The food in the hotel restaurant was good, especially diners.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I don't recommend to choose this hotel! We (I and my daughter 4 yo) travel a lot, but that was the first time when we saw such a filthy hotel and got such a rude attitude from the staff. Usually we need two things from the hotel: a clean room and wifi. None of that was provided. The check-in time is 2PM. We came at 5PM, and our room wasn't ready yet. We were asked for half an hour, but after that the room still wasn't ready. It turned out that our room was occupied. We were given the only room left which had three small beds (instead of a single queen bed that we requested). Since our room was next to the kitchen, we've got all the unpleasant odors and loud sounds. Moreover, there was a dumping area right beneath the balcony (see attached pictures). However, the worst thing was still to come. At 9:30PM, when we were about to go to bed, someone knocked in our door. That was the hostess, and she insisted on entering the room because she needed to turn on something to make the hotel TV work. I let her in, and she started to unplug all my electronic devices. And then another man came in smoking a cigarette, and they both started doing something with the wires. I clearly said few times that the room is non-smoking, and there is a child in the room for whom smoking is harmful, but they neglected my warnings. The man left only when he found the right cable to plug in. However, the hostess decided to stay in the room, probably to ensure that we don't unplug the cable. I told her that we desperately need privacy and asked her to leave. She said that if we don't like something we are free to leave the room at any time. We were shocked with such an attitude and left the premises next morning as soon as we could.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were shown was unacceptable. Also, the bathroom handle kept coming off in my hand and had to be relocated.

    The view from the room - but the room we had booked faced away from the sea and faced a very noisy road. We negotiated the sea view room and paid extra. The original room was unacceptable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I really cannot understand how people can spoil such a wonderful place. Really. It is small old hotel in perfect spot, it should be wonderful place to stay! But it's not. It is old dark and dirty. We were only sleeping there and traveling or swimming all days long. But still we were sleeping and washing there. Changing towels - 1 time for 10 days (when we left them in the floor actually), changing linens - 0 times for 10 days! Cleaning - every day, but I think they just using water to clean cuz toilet is still dirty after all. All the place is dirty. There were problems with electricity, conditioning, hood and so on during our stay. Restaurant - it is the only one place where we had not tasty food in the whole island. Live music once in a week - we had to run away fast in order to save our ears from that terrible sound. Well I don't want to be unthankful, we had a good time there, but I will not come back, especially with kids. I wish they take care of it a bit more... I wish!

    The beach is really awesome. Very few people, nice sand, free sunbeds, lots of space, clear and warm water. Nature is beautiful and nearby there were few beach clubs and big hotels a bit far away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a bit hit and miss with being at the property. They would arrive at 10am and would usually be gone by 4-5pm. They locked the doors to the rear of the property when they weren't there. We had a key for the front door. The rooms (we had 2 studios)were small and had paint flaking off the walls. One of our rooms had a broken toilet cistern which was eventually replaced but then leaked. It was finally fixed on the last day of our stay. There was a lot of old garden furniture in front of one of our rooms which was an eyesore. If the property was given a face-lift and the grounds were attended to more regularly this could be a lovely little accommodation. It is 30 mins walk into Georgioupolis square from the property. The walk is flat all the way and along the old national road, so it is a quiet road, which runs parallel to the new highway.

    The beach front location is stunning. Georgioupolis beach is gorgeous. A very wide beach with lovely soft sand which goes on for miles. The sunbeds on the beach are free. There is ample free parking to the side of the property.The bar area was clean and tidy but was not open all day. Usually from around 10am til 4-5pm. I would assume this is because it was early in the season (end of April)?? One day it rained all day.The owner didn't turn up so the bar was not open for food etc. We had to go down into Georgioupolis (about 1km away)for our lunch which wasn't nice in the rain. Having said that the food we had at the property was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not relaxing, the furniture/set up was cheap and there wasn't enough space to walk freely. I also was very surprised when I arrived because the pictures are definitely professionally done and the place is older more run down then what the pictures show

    They have a bar/restaurant area serving breakfast lunch dinner coffees and drinks, not bad overall. And there's a waiter that comes down to the beach area to take orders as well

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in the room would be nice.

    Lovely family run taverna/beach bar & rooms in a fantastic location right on the beach within an easy walk of the cute little town or Georgiopolis.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not the friendlies, but ok

    It is a very small hotel, but right on the beach, not far from Georgiopoulis. There is no dining area, but a nice bar outside where you can get a tasty meal. We will definitely come back!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony had thick bird poo in one corner, taking up a good area of the floor. The shower head was the oldest tattiest thing I have ever used.

    The bar area. Waitress service good. View nice. Free sunbeds. 15 min walk along beach to the square. Good air con.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchenettte was messing basis equipment.

    Close to restaurant/beach bar and beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy room. Uncomfortable bed.

    Very nice beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor supply facilities

    Beach very close..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldnt get wifi there.

    Calm place, buss stop near

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was not very clean. Toilet was leaking onto the floor, overall condition of bathroom was poor. Pillow had some mold on it. Things that could've been avoided with a little effort. Concidering the low price not the worst of things but we had much better experiences in Crete for the same price. Not all the staff practiced Cretan hospitality.

    Nice beachbar at the beach. Easy to park.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel is near to the main road and quite noisy even in the night.

    Good location with direct access to the sandy beach. Hotel has bar and taverna. Would not stay there for a week but good for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are very noisy, the national road is next to the rooms so there is 24hr noise. Also the building is very old and the inner doors are broken so that every single person that gets in or out of the room you can hear the noise. We dint sleep at all!!. We were informed from the owner of the apartments that they policy is the double booking, in order to avoid having cancellations and thus empty rooms, so be careful!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Simple things that would really make a difference... 1. A kettle & basic facilities in rooms 2. A good breakfast (cereal, fruit, eggs, toast, jams & good coffee machine)

    Location, location, location. It doesn't get better than that 150m stroll to the water's edge...

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Apartments very basic could do with being modernized ,not very clean .

    Fabulous sea and mountain veiw.Quiet location,apartments situated on the beach with free sun beds and umbrellas

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Much noise from the main road during whole night.

    Close to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noise from the highway.

    One of the best sandy beach in Krete.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    beatifull sea view, near to the sea, good coffe

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the weather was not very good

    the good is that includes hotel -taverna-beach bar and clean sea!!!!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a littel far avay from the village - - but a nice walk at the daytime and taxi at night

    Fantastic family and so near at the beach

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: