Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Heights Resort 5 stars

Pezoula, Malia, 70007, Greece

#18 of 83 hotels in Malia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 86 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Ambassador One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented a villa and it has seen much better days. Especially the bathrooms are old, calcified and kind of greasy with damaged toilet seats, towel rails and loose fittings. As a family of three I slept on a sofa bed which was extremely uncomfortable as the mattress was very thin and I could feel every strut of the metal frame. The WiFi is not up to standard and the walls are so thin that we could hear our neighbor's TV every night. We received a call from reception at 11:30 pm (!) about a certain promotion in the spa and still nobody can explain to us why it had to be done in the middle of the night. On our last day I received a wake up call at 5:30 am that was probably for somebody else who will now wake up too late. The breakfast is lacking healthy alternatives and also the gym is in dire need of a do-over. Finally if you want to rent a car watch out: "hotel pick up" does not mean that you can pick up the car at the hotel - the rental company picks you up and takes you to a place in Malia where you then can pick up the car.  Given the price we paid it was ok but I cannot recommend this hotel. 

    I can confirm what many have said about this hotel: the staff is extremely friendly! Also the restaurant is really good, the pools are very spacious and the spa is highly recommendable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff couldn't help enough, it was my partners...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little far from the main town however they did offer a shuttle service at a charge cheaper than a taxi.

    The staff couldn't help enough, it was my partners birthday and without telling them we received a lovely surprise from them. The pool area was to die for with amazing views of the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    The gem on the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool and Sea view
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The accommodation was superb, we stayed in a presidential villa 407, so private and so peaceful, well maintained garden and of course the best part being your own pool, it was exactly how we wanted our holiday to be. We were collected at the airport by a guy called Pavlos. What a gentlemen. He was so helpful. Had water for us when we arrived, and had oils for us to take home. Its the little things. The lady at the reception was friendly and so helpful. We were made feel very welcomed. All the staff were fantastic. Real gems. They are a credit to the hotel. The hotel is located on top of a hill and I know people complain about this, but if it wasnt, you wouldn't have such an amazing view overlooking the town and sea, so no complaints from us about that. We got a taxi back up which cost 7 euro. It was way too hot to walk anyway. Overall we had a ball and will be returning soon. Highly recommend the villas. Thank you royal heights for a fantastic holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Very, very good hotel and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambassador One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very, very good hotel and excellent staff! Special thanks to Kostas and Alpida on Gym, Athina and Despina on Front Desk. Crew on main restaurant did everything to our pleasure. We will definitely back to this wonderful place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    The pools are lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A car is necessary unless you want to pay €7 each way from the church in the village- only a couple of kilometres away but down a very steep and curving hilly road.

    The pools are lovely. Staff are very obliging. Very comfortable rooms and loads of parking. We'd some lovely touches left in our room when we arrived!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    STAY HERE!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ambassador One-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing could have been better - this is a place where dreams are made.

    Imagine a best case scenario, then multiply it tenfold and you almost have an understanding of a stay at Royal Heights. The staff is worth mentioning first, as they were professional, kind and involved before our stay even started and proved to be even more wonderful in person. We stayed in a villa with a private pool and were very lucky to enjoy a mini heat wave during our stay so despite the pool temperature being brisk (to say the least), we got a lot of use out of the garden area. The facilities of the resort are great as well, with a full gym, indoor pool and sauna. The breakfast assortment was massive and changed a bit each day so you can't get bored with it. I was a bit concerned about the town (Malia) after reading a hefty array of articles listing out the terrors of vacationing alongside throngs of beyond-wasted teenage Britons, but the resort is separated enough from the main area to sustain very genuine tranquility while still being close enough to visit the wild side if one so chooses. If you're thinking about staying here, just do it. Float around in your own private pool. Eat the delicious breakfast. Live the dream.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    We did not like that the hotel was actually an event hall for weddings. Was loud and not relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We did not know that the main purpose of the hotel is as an event center (Royal Hall). There were weddings with over 1500 people on Friday and Saturday. They partied till 4am and were so loud that we could not sleep. We did not feel comfortable using the facilities because we felt like we were intruding on the wedding guests. Also, the gym is a public gym, meaning that there were always locals in the gym and it was very busy. The gym and spa are closed on Sundays and didn't open till 9am so that was annoying because I normally like to run before I eat breakfast. The gym equipment was quite old and 2 of the treadmills didn't work. Also, the indoor pool was ice cold and not usable. The sauna was cold and we had to ask them to turn it on which took 40 min to heat up.

    The staff was friendly, especially the woman handling breakfast. It also had a nice view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value and luxurious stay before returning to Brighton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pools are quite cold but this seems to be quite typical for Crete. We did find swimming in the pools quite challenging but then we used our lovely whirlpool bath to warm up. Apart from that minor matter I can't think of anything else we disliked.

    We were allocated a villa with its own pool. The place was beautifully fitted out, very smart. There were flowers, fruit and a bottle of wine in the villa! The view from our pool over Malia was gorgeous. The place is lovely and peaceful because it is on the outskirts of Malia and either you have to be ready for a walk into town or to drive or take a taxi. The hotel has a gym and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Breakfast is very good and the the staff are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    A wonderfully relaxing week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The aluminium framed mesh sunloungers are not great for such a beautiful hotel, although some of the Ambassador Suites now have nice wooden loungers so maybe there is a replacement programme. the mattresses are not the best I have slept in, no true double beds two singles placed together. Did not spoil a very pleasant stay.

    A really friendly team, everyone eager to ensure you have a good time. Lovely pool and pool area, great pool bar and outstanding poolside service from Jiannis and his team. the restaurant service was really friendly and helpful with a good buffet breakfast restaurant service. The restaurant is a bit lacking in atmosphere in the evenings so we tended to eat in the old town although the evening meal we did have was good food and reasonably priced. Quiet location but a 20 minute downhill walk gets you to the quaint family restaurants of the old town, with a taxi back up the hill costing just €7.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.9
    Fantastic views, quiet place, nice big swimming pool, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First we were given a room #101 with a view over a road and palm trees. But it was supposed to be a sea view. When we complained we were said "it is a sea view. Its a sea far away behind the trees". The next day we were offered a room on the second floor which actually has partial sea view. We also didn't like open kitchen in the restaurant. It smells not very nice and makes the restaurant looks cheap.

    Fantastic views, quiet place, nice big swimming pool, nice childrens labirinth open till late, good breakfast, comfortable room, breakfast is ok

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Family Friendly Malia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Presidential Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool and Sea view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was on the hard side for me and the Wi-Fi not good at all.

    Fantastic staff they were super friendly and helpful. Wonderful views, excellent gym & spa and family friendly. Food was great and overall the trip inexpensive.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Presidential Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool and Sea view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service could not be faulted, the staff were fantastic. If you like to be away from the noise of the beach and the town, and get great views, then this place is recommended. Best of both worlds having a private villa and pool with the benefit of the hotel complex.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    8.8
    Very nice hotel expect from the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is not on the healthy side and with very minimal options, also not fresh. vegetables looks like they were taken from yesterday. coffee is not tasty and if you want cappuccino you need to pay 3 euro

    suite was very comfortable for us (couple with baby + 2 small kids) . kitchen fully equipped and good, baby crib supplied, also a big balcony for the kids to play with. other than a dafni to wash the baby they helped in everything we needed

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    10
    Everything was of a very high standard & the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Booking.com were very poor as one my friends had a visa issue & could not come on the holiday with us. I informed Booking.com well in advance & they couldn't have been anymore awkward if they tried. I had the rule book threw at me & no way were Booking.com flexible at all. Take into account I spend literally thousands a pounds a year using Booking.com they would not budge on the company policy. I will be looking elsewhere for future holidays & I have passed it around to all my family & friends how you dealt with the issue. Very unprofessional. Not satisfied at all.

    Everything was of a very high standard & the staff were exceptionally good. Bent over backwards for my group of friends.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent trip , would like to return in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Two-Bedroom Villa with Private Pool and Sea view
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No souvenir shop Restaurant slightly limited

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Beds and cushions are uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds and cushions are uncomfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and luxury place to stay! Special location, amazing breakfast, Wide & luxury rooms Say no more..

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Unfortunately very short
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    wonderful place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Facilities and location are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No issues other than Villa 303 (which was an upgrade and is very nice) suffered poor Wi-Fi coverage due to its location. Anneleise (in reception) tried her best to rectify this, even arranging a IT Tech to try to improve the system immediately I reported the problem. It may now be solved, but if you need good Wi-Fi check. The coverage through the rest of the hotel is excellent with good speed.

    Facilities and location are excellent. Be aware the hotel is a drive from the beach, not a walk as the hotel is located inland on the hillside. However, the concelation is the spectacular view from the hotel. Anneleise at reception was very helpful and informative. All the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was really nice, the room was more like a suite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The cooked breakfast was cold on all three mornings but it turned out to be an issue with the equipment and they were waiting for it to be mended.

    The hotel was really nice, the room was more like a suite and was very luxurious with a kitchen area, spa bath and balcony. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a nice experience!

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.9
    The hotel has excellent facilities (several swimming pools,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have booked a double deluxe room with a seaview but the room we got was actually on the ground floor with a direct view to the pool and quite dark. Impossible to get another one since the hotel was appearently full, we were disappointed because we chose this hotel mainly for the view. Many rooms (especially the ground ones) shoud not be advertised as having a seaview since they don't have it. Also consider that the hotel is isolated on a hill, quite far from Malia, so you really need a car (this was not a problem for us). Rooms are not really soundproof, you might hear many noises in the morning (from the cleaning staff) and in the evening (from the clients).

    The hotel has excellent facilities (several swimming pools, sauna, jacuzzi in the bathroom etc.). Rooms are big and have many facilities, beds are very comfortable. The hotel is up on a hill and the view from the main pools and restaurant is amaizing!

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    10
    We travelled with an age range of 10 years to 83 years and...
    • Family with older children

    We travelled with an age range of 10 years to 83 years and they were brilliant with everyone. Refreshing, excellent accommodation, staff impeccable. Spotlessly clean, food excellent. Pool was absolutely excellent, beautiful gardens. I can't speak highly enough of the whole experience we had from start to finish. Would definatley return.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    7.9
    Wonderful and big room, really nice staff, always very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location - not so good. The hotel didn't have staff early in the morning to proceed the check out.

    Wonderful and big room, really nice staff, always very helpful, nice swimming pool, big and wonderful academy, breakfast perfect.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    8.3
    Our fault, we were not looking for a resort to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was more 3* than 5* although upgraded to villa the house was cold and damp and the heating wouldn't work the first night. The indoor pool could have been heated, it was april and all outdoor pools too cold to try.

    Our fault, we were not looking for a resort to stay in. Great restaurant down the road. Anne lize was very helpful in reception

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was a wrong time and too cold to use any of swimming pools. Including indoor pool was not heated and I could not enjoy as much as I was expected.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. I got a villa with private pool and good view and good view of Malia.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not enough TV channels in English, and no channels for kids

    Beautiful resort!! We had a room with a sea view and a private pool. We loved it

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Great staff, food, locations spot on close to old Malia town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff, food, locations spot on close to old Malia town and beach road.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: