Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Savvas-Demar Hotel 2 stars

Laganas, Laganas, 29092, Greece

#69 of 70 hotels in Laganas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

5.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.8

  • Comfort

    4.9

  • Location

    6.4

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    5.9

  • Value for money

    5.4

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was very unclean and no on came to clean or change the bins regularly. The was lots of boken things in the room and missing pain on the walls

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more kitchen equipment.

    Such a good place, doesn't deserve the bad reviews. Perfect for young people, such good facilities and a 5 minute walk from the strip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The paid Wifi did not work, The bed sheets were not clean, drunk strangers caused annoyance after midnight and security didn't take care of...

    The good location, Good outside facilities like pool bar,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They had a few expat staff members who were nice but Everything had to be paid ala carte (not properly noted when we booked). On a very hot day they charged us extra ($10 euro per day) to provide the air conditioning remote for our room! when we resisted, 2 women at the front desk said they will "take $5 euro off to give us the Booking.com discount". Everything was a negotiation and they seemed to change their prices at a whim. They advertise free wifi but it barely works and is only available in a very noisy bar. I have booked dozens of properties on Booking.com but this was by far the worst value for the money. I would seriously suggest not hosting this hotel on the site anymore.

    The location wasnt bad as it was near major attractions but we found that it wasnt worth the trade off for how frustratingly bad the hotel was.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    As this was not our main holiday but literally a last minute break with my daughter & her boyfriend, no time was had to read reviews which was a blessing in disguise because regrettably we would never have gone. We met & had a great time with some amazing people. Swim up Bar is perfect and food was great! Staff are pleasant & friendly. From the Proprietor's to reception staff to bar staff to the cook to the reps to the cleaners, all work very hard and always with a smile. For anyone wanting a cheap, lively break, concentrate on the positive reviews and not the negatives and go see for yourselves!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything!

    Absolutely nothing! This hotel is vile quite frankly. It doesn't look hygienic, the pools looked filthy, it feels unsafe at times, it is very poorly maintained, the rooms are atrocious and the vibe and culture of the whole place is dreadful to be honest. If you are looking to get smashed out of your brain drunk each day, muck up, feel uncomfortable around the pool areas, are happy to listen to smashing doors, foul language day and night, shouting & party hard for the entirety of your holiday, well this could be the place for you. If you're looking for a nice holiday experience with great facilities and a lovely environment.....KEEP WELL AWAY!!! DO NOT GO TO THE SAVVAS - DEMAR HOTEL. Trust me, you will regret it and there are much better and nicer options in Laganas. In fact, when we moved after staying only two nights, local Greek residents of Laganas, felt sorry for us and knew all to well what the Savvas Hotel is like and they even went on to say they think that hotel gives Laganas and the island of Zante a bad name. Need I say any more? I don't think so.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my friends went to this hotel and we all got diarrhoea and sickness as the hygiene in this hotel is very poor. All you could hear in this hotel is about people suffering from pain. We were feeling so poorly and we had to beg them to clean our rooms and give us clean towels and at first their response was that this is only happening in 5 star hotels.Such a dramatic experience staying in this dirty hotel. One of our bed was broken, the walls and the bedding had stains on them and the toilet stank and was very dirty. At the end we left 3 days before we should have and nothing was done by the owners. We still suffer from the pain. We are now back in uk and diagnosed with E.Coli. Don't go there !!!!!!!

    Nothing at all!!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, VERY NOISY, staff is rude, the pool is filthy, it's nothing like in the pics And they charge extra for everything

    5 minutes waking to the strip, but if is laganas what u need don't book this hotel, there's plenty along the strip

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was barely worth buying though- very ineffective. In addition, the music was played at full blast from 9am to midnight every night, which was fairly irritating.

    The pool was very nice and was quiet. The staff were very welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaners coming around extremely early slamming doors and waking everybody up, the hotel fines are massively overpriced and is clearly why the hotel is so cheap and overall would never stay here again or recommend to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really dirty and poorly cleaned. The sheets were stained, and I dont think they changed it once during our stay. The hotel-towels were also stained, old and there were holes in them. Everything outside our room was great, but the room itself wasnt really something you looked forward getting back to.

    The staff was really, really nice and friendly. Felt like being with a bunch of friends. The pool was lovely. The food was alright!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room was very basic and lacked a lot of standard equipment for self catering. Cleanliness was okay but could have been better. What really put the hotel down was its clientele and the amount of noise during the evenings. As it had a lot of young people drinking to all hours we would often not be able to even consider going to sleep until 12/1.00am.

    The pool with the swim up bar was nice and had a good atmosphere, quieter than the other pool area. The staff were great. Thankfully the hotel was at the end of the main strip of clubs and bars so not on top of everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is charged additional-air- conditioner, TV, Wi-Fi..... Everything. Dirty hotel, noisy. No one clean rhe room for 3 nights. No towels, shampoos.

    Almost nothing. Totally disappointed. The price looks like low, but in reality the totsl price is even higher.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    loud music from the hotel bar all day/night and lot of loud drunk guests, we were awake every night because of them. It is like patry hotel for drunken people - definitely not for couples they want a calm romantic holiday! (for example one night we were awakened because our neighborhs were throwing out very loudly on balcony at 3 o clock at morning). Do not order the breakfast! - it is not worth it! it is better to eat outside....

    location in the centre, near to the beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like that there was an abrupt guest who kept us up very late but that was resolved by the nightshift staff member who handled the situation very well !

    Dayna the manager was very kind to us. She made us feel very welcome. The hotel was a lovely place to stay and there were a lot of lovely staff who looked after us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    After booking a room you have to pay the full amount at the hotel in CASH. They do not accept any card payments. We were not informed of this matter before, thus, we had to beart extra costs for using the ATM services. As to this problem, the staff was very unfriendly and did not suggest any solutions. Also, breakfast must be ordered at the pool bar and this may take a lot of time. From two days out of five, making our breakfast meals took over 45 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all! Room is poor of Everything! U don't have even shower gel.. And i want to repeta is Not clean at all!

    The girl at the reception Was so kind! Cheap!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good spot for a clubbing holiday, great buzz about the place and serious value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are brilliant!! Saavas baby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptions area was a big mess.

    I liked a buildig,room,bar and the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The poor room facilities and the breakfast

    The swimming pools

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Smell, dirt, plunder, noise

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everyting

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To much noise! Bed linen old , stained towels. Old bed hot plate . Old broken refrigerator

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect,great value for money !

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no free wifi , no elevator

    location , crew

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud hotel staff not very friendly and go out for food it sucks

    Beds nice and comfy aircon was excellent bar staff amazingly friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very very very noisy

    Great budget hotel, had absolutely everything we needed for a girls holiday, in a great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud music from 11, half of us got ill one mate on drip

    The cleaner was very nice changed beds every day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing couldn't of been better

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No towels or toilet paper. No hot water for shower.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager was aggressive rude and unhelpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful place with rude and unhelpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleanliness, rooms

    most lovely staff members, great pool, shame about how unclean and bad the rooms and general place is

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no hot water misery cockroaches bad smell

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room didn't get cleaned enough

    Pool bar staff polite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy 24/7 could not sleep ! Security / reception had no control over patrons !

    Pool / slide

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shocked to have to pay for air conditioning and a safe deposit box. Loud music cranking from early in the morning. This is a British party hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds weren't very comfy. Rooms weren't 100% clean but for 1 night I could withstand this.

    Location and cost was great. Staff were very friendly as they normal are - Thank you Maria!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -They charge you extra for AC 10 eur/day TV 4 eur/day and 20 eur for the safe box so the extra charges were more then the room reservation. -There was a lot of noise in the hotel so we couldn't sleep. -The ladies from the reception are rude.

    -The room was beautiful and clean and the cleaning lady came every day. -The pool was very nice . -The hotel is about 1km from the beach so not so far. -There is a very nice helpful man at the reception at night.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    wasn't a clean hotel, had power cuts all the time, very quiet hotel no entertainment to say it was 18/30

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Guests also reviewed these properties: