Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Skamnos 4 stars

Parnassos, Arachova, 32004, Greece

#5 of 14 hotels in Arachova

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 127 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    Too many kids around turned a quite place into a play ground.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1. Breakfast was mediocre - falls more into "European Basic" category: Very few choices in hot and cold dishes - mainly based on egg. All coffees, but the filter one, are charged separately and they are overpriced (i.e. 4€ for a double espresso). Bread was not fresh. 2. The Hotel needs renovation (i.e. wooden materials cracked, bed overused, et. al.). Not too bad but not acceptable for a 9+ booking.com ranking. 3. Towels and tοilettries were not changed daily. Shower cabin's hydro-massage was not functioning due to excessive salts. 4. No extra towels for the swimming pool; we had to use room's ones. Same with slippers. 5. Swimming pool was marginally clean. Several ants were partying around. 6. Spa facility hygiene was unacceptable - mainly for the steam room: Scale and salt dark deposits have been built up in sharp corners (which shouldn't exist in the first place). 7. Access to the Hotel is rather difficult for a conventional car (i.e. not SUV). Connecting pave with the main road is not asphalted and at the same time it is bumpy and potholed. Very dark at night (no lights at all).

    1. The overall architecture of the Hotel signifies indeed a "Boutique Hotel". 2. Quiet location. 3. Kindly received room upgrade, free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    We visited the hotel on March. The facilities of the hotel are fantastic. It is only 15 minutes from Parnassos Ski Center. Spacious rooms with very comfortable beds. Balconies with great mountain views. High speed internet. Excellent and helpfull staff. We had a great stay. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful and very close to Parnassos ski center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn’t exactly heated but was nice temperature for swimming. I enjoyed it overall

    Beautiful and very close to Parnassos ski center. About as close as you can get!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    4.6
    Not value for the money you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was cold and even though we told them so, the reply was that the pool was ok. It is not the 1st time we use an indoor heated pool. Water was around 22oC when it should be close to 30oC. Room was clean but not to the advertised standards. Bathroom tiles were full of holes from previous installation & you could see the wiring connections almost everywhere. Also there was no private parking. We had to park our car on the side of the road told them

    Breakfast and location were the only 2 things that was worth our stay. Breakfast had a few nice twists and is the closest you can stay if you plan to visit the ski resort.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.0
    Just what we wanted: peace, quiet, and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really lovely place, with very hospitable hosts. Coming in from the cold evening the place was toasty warm, and beautifully decorated for Christmas. The room was lovely, with a thermostat in the room to control temperature. Good breakfast, incredible views, silence all round. It's a drive away from Arachova, but that didn't bother us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed mattress in bad condition. Hard and uncomfortable. Sauna was charged extra. Lots of dust in the room.

    Breakfast was very good Indoor pool was clean with nice temperature. Good location. Calm and quite. Ideal for skiing and/or hiking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to relax and explore Delphi and surrounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We went just at the start of Autumn. The woman running Skamnos is incredibly friendly and helpful. She gave us suggestions for the area, and recommended restaurants in several of the nearby towns. The hotel itself is in a beautiful, secluded part of the mountain and we did a couple of lovely, family-friendly walks nearby. The breakfast was delicious, and in the afternoons we sat and had a cup of tea in the sunny side room taking in the panoramic views. It's about 15 minutes up the mountain from the nearest town of Arachova (a lovely place to wander and eat - and the drive there from Skamnos is spectacular).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Nice to breath fresh air and far away from the smells, noise and dust of a hotel in town. Fabulous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    It was high up in the mountains, very quiet and restful indeed. We were made very welcome indeed and would not hesitate to go back again. The breakfast was good and from every window a lovely view of the surrounding countryside. Lovely few days. Thank you to our hosts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Nice place with views of the Parnassus mountain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place with views of the Parnassus mountain. Nice winter-style hotel with excellent rooms and a nice swimming pool. Good breakfast. The owner is friendly and it is nice to talk with her about what to do in Greece during vacations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    A surprising special moment (we hadn't realised it is quite a way from Arachova!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alpine ambience; the charming lady owner, who rustled up a delicious supper (her mother's stuffed aubergines); the quietness; views from windows over mountains...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel in the midst of a national park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette with Fireplace and Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a little far from town, but we liked that it was in a beautiful national park. The scenery around is spectacular. Much of the area is near a ski resort.

    Our host Kaloussa was amazing. She was friendly and went out of the way to help us. She gave us suggestions for activities, restaurants and local trips. The breakfast was outstanding. There were delicious freshly made goodies including home made preserves of many kinds, delicious home made bread, pesto, spanakopita and more. Kaloussa's mom prepares much of the food on site and it was fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast and the atmosphere are excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is small when you have two suitcases. The address of the hotel is in different place in booking.

    The breakfast and the atmosphere are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    The location of the hotel, in quiet area high in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool was too cold. It was 12 degrees outside and the water was not over 21 degrees. Little bit too cold for the season. Pitty that was not warmer. In our point of view, in comparison to the price, some equipment is missing inside the room like drink glasses, free bottle of water or extra cover. Normally the booking said that we have the view to the mountain but our balcony was in the parking side. There was a mountain visible but not THE principal mountain that everybody expect to see.

    The location of the hotel, in quiet area high in the mountain. We could see snowed peak from there. the room was spacious and very comfortable. The breakfast was also great. We were very welcomed. We have received very nice advices before our arrival and during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    Rooms were good sized, cosy, breakfast view was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms were good sized, cosy, breakfast view was great! loved the hot water in the shower capsule very constant. A short drive to the ski lifts was great! We explored Arachova from our hotel, not too far off.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    9.6
    Great ski holiday at Skamnos boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Deluxe Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay at Skamnos hotel! The staff was welcoming and very helpful. Our room and bed where very comfortable. The hotel is as close as it gets to the ski centere wich was another bonus! Everything was clean and inviting, very recomended!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful luxurious mountain hotel with a cosy, personal feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything:the very welcoming, calm and helpful host, the amazing location, the decor, the wonderful breakfast using mainly local ingredients, the cake, the pool, the personal and relaxed atmosphere...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Incredible, first class place with a feeling of home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner was very friendly. The place was incredibly clean and felt like home. Very welcoming. One of the best places we stayed at in Greece. We loved the views and the breakfast service as well!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable stay in the mountain near Delphi and Arachova
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to pay for coffee at breakfast

    Comfortable room in very cosy well appointed hotel in the mountains. Indoor pool and very hospitable owner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Unique combination of friendly hosting, relaxing environment and stylish design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quiet location, nice style and friendly stuff. Hiking paths from the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Location, Warm environment, Hotel felt like a proper home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road to the hotel had to many potholes. Not very easy access

    Location, Warm environment, Hotel felt like a proper home

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.4
    Close to nice trails in the mountain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some things didn't function,like the jacuzzi and the fireplace in our room

    Close to nice trails in the mountain

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Lovely facilities, homely, quaint n friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Deluxe Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The building, the owner, the breakfast, the comfort of the stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    A boutique Resort !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money especially when you visit Parnassos for skiing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    great for nature lovers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Remote location, pool was on the cold side.

    Large well appointed rooms. Nature all around. Great staff, we got good recommendations for places to see.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful location, easy to start walks from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool only opened at 10:00

    Peaceful location, easy to start walks from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    4.6
    Beautiful location surrounded with mountainsl
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had so much humidity, and there were no smoking area inside the hotel

    Beautiful location surrounded with mountainsl

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is great. Accomodation and facilities of the highest standards! Kaloussa, thank you for your great hospitality!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    10
    We did a trek tour with a guide called Jannis to a path just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did a trek tour with a guide called Jannis to a path just few minutes away from Hotel. After our 3 hours trek we jumped into the heated pool and felt so unique! Magnificent view right across to the Parnassos Mountain. Gorgeous rooms and lovely staff........

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    6.7
    Location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I had booked the room with buffet breakfast. The buffet was good BUT the last day of our stay there was NOT a buffet. Because the hotel had very few customers that day they decided not to make a buffet breakfast and just serve a VERY BASIC breakfast. Before i booked that hotel i had made contact with them in order to check if the breakfast was a buffet and they responded that it was.

    Location very good. Clean rooms. Indoor Pool.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.3
    Really friendly personnel and really beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was quite small. It does not really provide you value for money, as the amenities were not deservant of the price, especially for this time of season. The bathroom could use some renovating.

    Really friendly personnel and really beautiful location. It is quite picturesque. The breakfast was quite decent and the jams and marmelades were home made.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent service, very friendly and helpful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service, very friendly and helpful people. The hotel is very pretty. But more important the owner and staff go the extra mile to ensure you have a great time. This is a perfect place to rest and be in the mountains, near charming villages and ancient sites. Excellent breakfast included in the price!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    Extremely friendly welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Extremely friendly welcome. Very helpful throughout stay. Very clear facilities and swimming pool. Delicious help-yourself breakfast, all grown or sourced locally.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    Such a beautiful & relaxing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I think this was a ski resort and we went off season ... I'd love to see it "in-season". I can only imagine the beauty!!!!

    Such a beautiful & relaxing place! Oh so friendly and HELPFUL staff!

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    10
    We had a great time at Skamnos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a great time at Skamnos! The owners were amazingly helpful and friendly, felt like staying in a small bed and breakfast because of all the personalized attention we got. Kal made great recommendations about places to eat and towns to stop in on our travels. The room was very nice and the breakfast was excellent. We were in town to visit the archaeological site at Delphi and enjoyed the opportunity to come back to such a beautiful and serene place after a day of exploring. Delphi was only about a 15 minute drive away. And Arahova is a great town as well. We wholeheartedly recommend Skamnos!

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    3.3
    Location, decor of the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inaccurate description in Booking.com, OK breakfast, rooms had no sound proofing, bathroom not as shown in pictures, sauna at extra charge (not really a boutique hotel then). Overpriced for what it offered...

    Location, decor of the place

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    Staff was happy and friendly and more than wiling to help...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was happy and friendly and more than wiling to help out. The breakfast is varied and very good quality . The pool and sauna just superb!

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    1)We just loved the room and especially the steam room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1)We just loved the room and especially the steam room and the amazing pool which is heated even now on April.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    10
    They made me feel very comfortable, and welcome, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They made me feel very comfortable, and welcome, very informative as to the questions I had concerning trails, routes, restaurants,

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful location. Lovely friendly staff. Lots of character to the whole hotel. Really enjoyed our stay

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful scenery, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful scenery, helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, good spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    10
    Super place, super kind staff, brilliant facilities!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Super place, super kind staff, brilliant facilities!!!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: