Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Smaragdi Hotel 3 stars

Main Street, Perivolos, 84703, Greece

#3 of 26 hotels in Perivolos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really hard and there was a loud pump outside our room that would make a loud noise throughout the day which was a bit annoying. The photos looked better on the website of the rooms, ours was a little more basic than what I thought it would be.

    Clean and lovely staff. Nice pool. Walking distance to beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable room, nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbourhood is not very lively... as there are only beachfront restaurants around so it’s not for people looking to stay out late !

    Very comfortable room, nicely decorated. The swimming pool is also good, even though the lay down area is small compared to the capacity of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    10
    A great place to get away from the crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a 2 minute walk to the black sands beach and restaurants/ bars that line the beach. The hotel had a great pool area, bar and restaurant. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it was quite warm in the room, the AC was not coping with the heat very well. the room was not as spacious as shown in the pictures.

    the staff was very friendly and helpful, the pool and the location were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded expectations for Greek island accommodation and would seriously reconsider returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette (2-4 Persons)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The metal spiral staircase and adult room in slightly cramped upper floor was a slight passion killer if with kids

    Great amenities and close to beach and tavernas. Very classy environment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    We will come back for sure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at the hotel was good and all we have is good words for the staff, the breakfast, the pool atmosphere and the facilities

    Unbelievable staff, smiling all the time and always ready to help and make your stay a lot easier. A perfect location too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Rooms were a great size, bathroom looked new and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a great size, bathroom looked new and very clean. The staff were beyond incredible, they helped with every question and were over accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We payed extra for the room and the bath leaked, also no view from room. Don't think the room was worth the money, it was a shame the air-conditioning turned off when you took key out. Paying for the beach towels when you have already payed quite alot for the room.

    It had a lovely bed, very comfortable, was nice to have air-conditioning, also the pool was great. The general size of the room was great, lovely balcony, good size and had the sun in the afternoon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with an easy walk to the beach and bus station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool and bar area. Room was large with three single beds. Bathroom good size. We had a great balcony overlooking the pool with a view to the beach. Hotel had access to chairs and umbrellas at the beach through two restaurants. Good place for our pre-teen son. Virginia, Maria and George were very welcoming. Free shuttle from the airport if you book in advance. I really recommend staying in this area if you have kids. Great hotel - we would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Clean,modern, perfect position also with collection from the airport and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beer too pricey €3.60 for a small bottle.

    Close to sea and restaurants and bars.Clean towels daily, free pool towels and room safe and air conditioning included. Lovely pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was as described and seen in photos, the beach was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elegant Suite with Outdoor Hot Tub
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only downside was that tap water was salty, so it was a little unpleasant to brush your teeth or take a shower.

    The hotel was as described and seen in photos, the beach was 1 block away and the pool in the hotel was good. Around the hotel there are restaurants and there is a transfer available to take you to the supermarket. If you want to stay right in the middle of the action this is not the place for you because is 40 minutes away by bus of Fira and Oia, the main towns of Santorini, but it was ok for a more quiet location. The girls in charge of the recepction were very nice and always helped you with a smile.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was located perfectly, the staff were extremely friendly and the overall standard of the hotel was clean, tidy and relaxed. Right from the beginning and all the way to the end of our stay, the performance of the hotel was maintained at a high standard. > The cleaners thoroughly cleaned the rooms from top to bottom everyday without fail. > All of the staff from Maria the manager right down to the bar staff were always willing to go out of their way to make sure your stay was the absolute best it could be. Myself and my partner have agreed to visit Smaragdi Hotel with our families again ASAP!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    A great hotel in a great location, extremely friendly and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The customer service was exceptional it’s simply 10 out of 10, the staff here at reception and restaurant were so lovely and helpful and professional, simply can’t fault anything about it. A lovely hotel, spacious room, the bathroom is superb with great water pressure, lovely big pool outside, within short walking distance to all nice restaurants and bars on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    10 out 10 Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the staff they went over and above by telling us how to travel in to the different cities and what was the perfect time to see the famous sunset in Oia. It was by far the best place I have stayed in. It felt like being home. It's a 2 min walk to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    We were so welcomed by the staff,they were all so great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so welcomed by the staff,they were all so great,polite,king and very helpful. Location is great-5mins to the beach and just couple of minutes to the bus stop or mini market. I did enjoy a lot the presentation by the hotel administrator/manager explaining about the area,how to get to the most visited places, how productively to spend time while staying in Perivolos.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for the area and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A couple of small things: The "jacuzzi" is actually a cold pool, not a hot tub, which was a bit of a shock. Our room felt a bit like a basement, but that's fair enough since we got the cheapest one. It would've been nice to have better curtains so the light didn't wake us up so early. The only other negative was that Perissa was not at all what we thought it would be, although that's not the hotel's fault. It's kind of a deserted wasteland, even though we were there at the beginning of high season. The black beach is cool but very expensive and touristy, and the town is otherwise dumpy, and everything else is far away. As far as Perissa hotels go, this is a good choice, but you'd be much better splurging for a hotel in Oia if you can.

    The staff here are great and super helpful, but honestly they were so friendly and constantly smiley that my friend and I were a little unsettled--it couldn't possibly be genuine when it's that over-the-top. But they were super helpful with check-in, picking us up at the port, and arranging a taxi for us at the end of our stay. The hotel is nice, pool is nice, and even the super-cheap room we got had a really nice bathroom and even a little sitting area out front which was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.3
    Good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is really small.

    It's cute. But we only spend one night here. There's a big swimming pool in the Hotel. Staffs are nice. Near the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    It was so close to the beach and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so close to the beach and very clean.It was a quiet and sunny room. The staff was so accommodating, professional and friendly.They really made me feel like I want to come back to Greece.Thank you so much!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful.. stayed 9 nights and was delighted with the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn’t very good so we chose to eat breakfast elsewhere. We were pleased that this was an option. Also the sunbeds around the pool are uncomfortable and need updating.

    The staff at the Smaragdi were exceptional. So friendly, kind and professional. Pool area is lovely and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    The staff was beyond helpful and so sweet, as soon as my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was beyond helpful and so sweet, as soon as my family and I walked through the door we were happily welcomed. The staff also answered all of our questions about the island. Great place in quiet location of santorini and next to beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    This hotel was the best in our trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was the best in our trip..quality and price🔝..closed to the best beach (we were on Koloumbo👎🏻,Kamari😀)..Personal in hotel were very helpful and kind. Oia was amazing 😍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel with amazing staff in an even better location 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The beds are a little hard but this is just my taste and they could do with new pillows. It would be great if they could provide a mirror in the bedroom near a plug to be able to do your hair. They do provide a hairdryer in the bathroom but is not as good as a plug in version. I would have also liked to see a microwave and toaster provided as only a kettle is provided.

    The staff at this hotel can not do enough for you. The pool area is beautiful clean and well laid out. The rooms are small but perfectly formed and the showers are amazing. For the price this hotel can't be beaten. the location is just of the main road so you have very little noise but are only a 2 min walk to everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Great stay over all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Maisonette (2-4 Persons)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome drink should contain alcohol and not be juice

    The beds were super comfy, the pillows were amazing! The location is right by the black beach and many restaurants at a decent price which is great. Pool was warm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed it and recommend this place, especially off-season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bathroom door and salty water, even in the pool. The only non-salty water was bottled. I know some places offer non-salty water in taps.

    Very friendly helpful staff, clean rooms. Books for guests in different languages. We can't say anything about food, as we didn't eat at the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Smaragdi was the perfect place for us to stay in Santorini! We would have loved to stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a reflection of the Smaragdi staff, because they were wonderful and helpful, but the bus system in the area is not especially reliable. So you just need to e a little flexible with your planning! There are three bus stops nearby, but the bus doesn’t always come at the right times so just be prepared to be patient and flexible.

    Our stay at Smaragdi was phenomenal. Everything was lovely! The Smaragdi staff was so kind and hospitable. They welcomed us warmly and provided us with all the information needed to enjoy our stay in a Santorini. The accommodations were wonderful. Everything was very clean and easy to use. The pool area is stunning. This hotel is very close to the beach and to many restaurants. We had the most wonderful time and we would have loved to stay longer. It was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly nothing I can think of regarding how nice the staff was with our very small issues!

    We had an awesome 3-nights stay here! Rooms are comfy and well equipped, pool is nice, beach is at 200 meters only. We had some slight issues (small water leak on the jacuzzi, broken doorknob) but every time Maria and the Smaragdi staff were very helpful and found solutions quickly, for instance we got another room where we could use the jacuzzi or even sleep (we kept both keys at the same time), free cocktails, they helped us even late in the evening... Wonderful experience and very kind staff! Definitely good memories here :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.8
    The staffs are absolutely amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmmm I guess the location isn’t that perfect for those who want to see the island. It’s for those who want to just chill at the beach and inside the hotel; super close from the beach! But if you rent a car, it’s quite easy to get around.

    The staffs are absolutely amazing! Never had that kind of warm greetings and service before! You guys made our day. The room and facilities are also very very very clean which is really important to me and the beds are also super comfy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Smaragdi is all in all a great place to stay - but you might want to skip the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are a smoothie and fresh fruit lover - skip the breakfast. I'm not a prosessed foods fan so this breakfast was not a favourite of mine. And don't expect a fresh greek menu!

    Friendly and welcoming staff. Quiet and nice pool area. Clean rooms and good atmosphere. One of the guests told me he had been coming back to Smaragdi for twenty years - I can understand that choice! Short walk to the beach. Quiet area and just a short walk along the beach to the center of Perissa. I can highly recommend a stay at Smaragdi!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really close to a lot of Restaurants and a perfect beach. Pool is beautiful. Very clean. Staff were super helpful. Really enjoyed staying on this side of santorini. We rented atvs and explored the whole island. On atv took about an hour to get to oia and 30 minutes to fira.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Excellent quality for a low price. Would return again without hesitation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music is a bit too loud in the evening and more fruits at the the breakfast could be great

    We liked the proximity of the hotel from the beach. The welcome was great with a lot of explanation on the island ! Everything was perfectly clean at the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.6
    Good and quiet stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was far from Thira.

    It is a nice hotel although it was low season and there were few tourists along the beaches. It is far from Thira town, about 30 kms so it took us about 30' to reach the town from Perivolos. We rented an ATV and 1 of the nights someone stole our gasoline because the hotel does not have a private parking lot and we had to park it in an open air parking lot across from the hotel,which was very dark. The next morning we were out of gas and had to struggle to reach the gas station. The hotel staff is very helpful and they gave us an informative talk about the area the day you arrive. The hotel is near the restaurants and bars which is a plus. The breakfast is a little poor. There should be more variety of things. If you go during summer time this hotel is a very good option.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very good bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bathroom could have some place to store shaving foam, aftershave etc.

    Very good bed. Breakfast is okay. Very good service and all customers got a lot of attention. We also got an extra info meeting with touristic in formation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. I'd definitely recommend a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was a little expensive

    Absolutely spotless accommodation, lovely friendly staff, beautiful pool area. All in all a beautiful place a real oasis of calm and tranquility

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel close to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the bed in our room was far to soft for my liking but I do prefer firm mattresses

    Nice hotel close to the beach & restaurants and the staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Kind and helpful staff, nice swimming pool atmosphere, brand...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was supposed to be a double bed but we got a twin bed. Be careful when parking in front of the hotel, somebody stole all fuel from your bike.

    Kind and helpful staff, nice swimming pool atmosphere, brand new room and very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facility in the room is not good enough regarding to the price.

    The reception was vey enthusiastic and hospitable. The hotel is very close to the black beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    A perfect 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite with outdoor Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is preferable to rent a car or ATV to get to Fira. A bus passes by but it is unreliable and sometimes not too good.

    Very well maintained hotel with a great pool and welcoming staff. Near a very good beach. Perfectly clean. Could not fault it and would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    The hotel itself is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself is beautiful. We arranged to use the airport shuttle as we had an extremely early flight that arrived in Santorini at 8 am. We arrived to the hotel shortly thereafter, and while our room was not ready as it was peak season, we were allowed to use all of the pool and facilities and store our bags. The hotel itself was gorgeous, and a short walk from the black sand beach. It's also close by a market.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moaning staff,made our stay uncomfortable,bathroom no window smelly at times,purchase nothing,spent little time here, very disappointed.

    Location & pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Conveniently located near the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located near the beach. Beautiful hotel. Our room was large and comfortable. Staff of the hotel were extremely nice and helpful. Over all exceptional experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    The prettiest, cleanest hotel with the best ever staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite with outdoor Hot Tub
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a huge shame we couldn't have inflatables in the pool.

    The staff were totally amazing . So welcoming, friendly and helpful, they went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and looked after. We got married close by and they arranged some deals for me and saved me a lot of stress and money . It was the loveliest experience because of them. Some guests who stayed local kept coming to Our hotel as they to loved it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    The people were really kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people were really kind and helpful. The property is beautiful, tidy ant it is very near the beach and also close to a nice area where you can have dinner.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel for chilling and adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect if you want to chill in the pool or at the beach, or if you just want to explore the island. I recommend to rent a quad/ATV for a day or two (if I go back I might rent one for my whole stay). It makes it really easy to get around. The hotel is 1 minute from the beach, which has plenty of restaurants in both directions. The staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    The staff were so friendly and couldn't have been more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. All the facilities were really clean and in great condition. The hotel was in a great location for the beach and lots of restaraunts, and the staff were happy to organise any expeditions for us.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful place to stay with warm and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have more vegetarian/vegan options.

    The staff were absolutely lovely and always eager to help. The rooms are really nice and the beds are super comfy. The swimming pool is really beautiful with plenty of space to relax beside it. The beach is only a minute's stroll away too. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only criticism would be that the room towels and sunbed towels have seen better days but that's a personal opinion and others may not be bothered by this.

    Had a fabulous stay at the Smaragdi Hotel. Very helpful and friendly staff - nothing was ever too much trouble. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Gorgeous, most gracious hotel steps from the Black Sand beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    That we could not spend more time here and had to go back home.

    This hotel is so wonderful! it's a beautiful property just steps from the gorgeous black sand beach. Our stay was so comfortable. The hotel has beautiful landscaping, flowers, wonderful pool and patio. There's a bar to get food and beverages by the pool. You can't want for anything. The most special part are the owners. It's a family owned establishment. They are warming, caring, and charming people who want you to have a wonderful time! It's one of my most favorite hotels I have ever been to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downsides of our stay was there were ants in our room, and the hotel is located about 20-40 minutes away from the areas we wanted to spend our day at (Fira and Oia)!

    Overall the staff was the highlight of our stay. They were extremely nice. It wasn't until our last day that we discovered the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the beach which has a few restaurants and bars!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel very close to a beautiful beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The petrol from our quad bike was unfortunately stolen during the night, it would be nice if there was a place to put the bike to avoid the risk of this happening again. We were told by the bike rental company to park the bike under a street lamp which will deter such thieves. It might be worth informing guests who rent bikes about this problem/solution.

    The staff were lovely and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Amazing vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was cold

    The hotel crew are so great, kind and always want to help . This is the main reason why I promised to come back. Thanks for unforgettable vacation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Awesome stay in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very hot during our week there so the room would be hot as the A/C turns off while you're out (although this is great for the environment). Bed was a bit stiff and the sheets were rough.

    The staff is extremely knowledgeable and willing to help you however they can. Booking taxis and excursions is very easy and they will be real with you. We were interested in a volcano tour and they advised us against it as my wife is pregnant. They went above and beyond to make sure she was comfortable during her stay in many ways.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Outstanding service with many smiles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast did not include the very typical Greek dish taramasala; the display of the many selections was suboptimal; and nothing was replenished twenty minutes before breakfast officially ended.

    The staff were extremely competent as well as friendly. Every one of them made it a special pleasure to stay here. Cleanliness was also tops, and the beach really is only 50m away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Super smiley welcome, gorgeous hotel, close to the beach, perfect sunny get-away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was on the ground floor and faced out the back so there wasn't really a view but as we hardly spent any time in the room (why would you with the beach so close by!?) so this is really just nit-picking. Nothing negative really.

    The team at the hotel were super friendly, smiley and helpful. The hotel grounds looked very much like a Greek villa, lovely flowers, open-plan, gorgeous pool, and is really close to the beach. Bliss!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    Economy room is very basic compared to pictures on booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Economy room is very basic compared to pictures on booking.com for hotel. Would have booked a better room if id of know how basic the economy rooms are. No tea or coffee in room. Room next to kitchen and cleaners closet where staff were smoking. No view from room. Air conditioning unit was very noisy but worked well

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect base for Santorini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had room 46, room 45's aircon unit was on the floor of our balcony. It was running every evening when we were sat outside.

    Excellent hotel. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Everything was spotless!! Bar expensive though. Go to the ones near by, there are plenty. Food in the area is very good especially fish. For sunset, not to be missed! try Panorama restaurant Akrotiri, easy to get to and not expensive considering the fantastic view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more snacks available for when your relaxing by the pool having drinks, all they had was toast and peanuts we were told.

    The hotel itself was very nice, staff very friendly and location brilliant for us. Away from the hustle and bustle of Thira but perfectly located for the gems of the island.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    One of best at black beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff and facility. Walking distance to black beach. Many times in santorini. If you choose to live around black beach. This is one you have to choose.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great value for money, stylish, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was very beautiful with a lot of facilities. Close to the beach, clean, comfortable, strong Wi-Fi connection, stylish. The apartment was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was good value for the price, and you got discounts at specific restaurant's. Hotel staff assisted with booking tours and were very responsive and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    N/A

    I was unable to land in Santorini due to low clouds and had a stop over in Crete until the next morning missing one nights stay at the hotel, Manager offered a free upgrade to a junior suite and included breakfast for the week which was a really nice touch after a difficult arrival. I was there for a wedding and having seen other friends accommodation I'm really glad I choose Smaragdi Hotel; if I'm ever in Santorini again I'll be booking into Smaragdi Hotel :) 10/10

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    The best place to stay in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is excellent. It is just a walking distance to the black beach. The area is safe and you can go home anytime you want. The hotel got a nice pool and they have a lovely buffet for breakfast so you can get to choose what you want to eat. There are also restaurants along the way to the hotel and are also a walking distance which serves nice and cheap Greek cuisine. I recommend personally Safran Aegean Restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Amazing service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing ! They were all friendly and very helpful. The place was clean and it was 5 min walk to the beach . I would definetly recommend this hotel to friends and family .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    You won't find a better place in the area for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Possibly more fridge space or a slightly larger station to prepare our own food. But really this is minor and not something that caused any problems.

    From the moment we arrived the staff made us feel completely welcomed. Their positive attitude was so helpful, they give us excellent advice on local restaurants, activities and bus information to the other towns and to the airport. I cannot believe anyone could stay here and be disappointed. Great place!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.3
    Well situated hotel! Friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast additional €8-9. Only had it one day, other days had brunch at restaurants.

    Room was spacious, nice balcony, staff friendly and efficient! Beach across road and well placed for bars and restaurant! Free transport from airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    A perfect gem in Perissa, Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel was the highlight of my holiday. It is fairly priced and walking distance (200m) to the black beach. The hotel is well maintained and has a very good ambience. The staff at the hotel are very warm and helpful. The breakfast was very good. They have partnered with a two hotels nearby where you can buy lunch or dinner at a discount of 5% which I thought it is very good. They also gave me and my wife complimentary wine for our first year anniversary. If I want to Santorini again, I would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    10
    Would go back tomorrow ( if possible) :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Taxis and shuttles are expensive but if you book for more than 4 days they will give you free transportation to/from airport. The staff is great. Talk to them and arrange with them for your trips, cruises etc - they have the best prices ! Do not book tours online before you talk to Maria or Aliki.

    Extra large rooms. They have many options for rooms - go for the pricey ones - you won't regret it ! Breakfast is 'all you can eat' and includes American and British staples , both cold and hot options - everything you can possibly want for breakfast (including bacon and eggs done four ways) plus fruit, yogurt, cereal etc. The restaurants nearby serve very good food for very decent prices compared to Oia and Fira ... and all of them, located on the beach road, offer free beach chaises and umbrellas

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Will be back here and recommend to anyone visiting Santorini.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My only issue was that we had heavy rain and the road from the beach to the hotel got flooded.

    The location is just a stroll away to the beach and unlike many of the other hotels in Santorini, doesn't feel like you're in a place being flooded with cruise crowds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Simply great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Maria at the reception is super attentive! Excellent value for money hotel, the location is great and the view is stunning! Had a wonderful time, highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    Nice place with personalized service away from throngs of tourists
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just some minor details that we recommend to make a good room even better: rooms could use more outlets for for charging phones, laptops, cameras etc. that way one does not need to unplug lamps; also more hooks/bars to hang wet towels and perhaps a shelf or something in bathroom for arranging toiletry items in the bathroom. We were lucky noise wise until a family moved in next door and we could hear their every move in the evenings; this may not be an issue in warmer months when air conditioner is on and then noise can't travel through open windows

    The staff went out of their way to make our stay go as well as possible. They picked us up from the airport for free, helped book a boating tour (which I highly recommended btw), explained how to catch local buses to go to Fira/Oia, Akotiri etc. My friend and I really appreciated the fact that we were located on the southern part of the island away from the throngs of tourists in locations like Oia or even Perissa. The hotel felt cozy and private. Our room featured a nice balcony with a view of the pool; with a kettle in the room we could make coffee in the morning and enjoy it outside. The beach was less than a five minutes walk from hotel. Many good restaurants and basic markets also near by.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Brilliant value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredible- extremely helpful. The location of the property is a few steps away from Perissa beach. The hotel itself is basic but very clean and brilliant value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Amazing hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was great!!

    The hotel management team are incrediblv nice and helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and look great! The pool is wuite big and there's also a jacuzzi. The beach is with 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel, from there you can walk or drive along the beach to restaurants and bars. I absolutely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Will definitely return in august for a week.
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perissa is an up and coming area.. as Greece went into financial difficulties. They are doing there best to make up market. The new hotels that are being built and that are already built are gorgeous. This will be the place in a few years to come.. Greece needs more monies through tourism. They are some bottles and rubbish on floor.my only 😱 Outside the hotel when walking but Like most areas of Spain Ibiza and Majorca. Monies need to be invested. But then it could get to pricey for us all. Euro for pound etc. To stay in thira it's like Italy Capri 15e for a beer.. here in this hotel 4e max. Excellent value this is not a run down hotel buy far.. it's brilliant and seriously service is outstanding an hygiene.staff can not do more for you. All I would have possibly liked is them to provide a restaurant for dinner if families didn't want to go out. And the bar to be more stocked with prosecco. Maybe some entertainment in evening. But hey we was there before the season started so we are not 100percent sure if they might have done this as many bars restaurants where still getting ready for this season 🇫🇮

    Couldn't really fault. We attend my brothers wedding in cavo ventus. Hence why we stayed at this hotel. my husband and our 3 kids.. room was spacious for 5. It allowed our children to be free, Really good for families.. staff brilliant. Cleanliness outstanding. Very safe for children. As a family an parents . we could relax. Hope to return in august. beach location and 20m pleasant stroll to shops bars restaurants excellent location 😀 Would recommend as most of hotels/villas are for couples many with plunge pools.. children need space. And us parents need to relax. 🇫🇮👌

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.3
    owner is sweet people sweet in there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    water is salty ,maybe all island is same i dont know but hotel people sweet 2restaurant on map we tried one which on map right side name start f not recommend that

    owner is sweet people sweet in there! i dont know if because its island or something the water always salty!if u are coming after 7 walk in big road ! and the price was good ! not recommend the restaurant hotel wrote on map on right side ! start with F ! expensive but taste soso

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have enjoyed a lot our stay att this hotel as it has a very good atmosphere, very clean and everything beautiful. The hotel staff is very helpful to our needs, the service was excellent. And the beach so near make this hotel our perfect option.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though we definitely appreciated having air conditioning, the placement wasn't ideal (directly above the bed). Worried that we might catch a cold, we decided to mostly keep it turned off. A better place to put the AC unit might be above the front door to the room.

    The staff at Smaragdi Hotel were very nice and attentive to our needs when we were there. We thoroughly enjoyed lounging next to the pool and exploring the town. The hotel courtyard is very nicely decorated and maintained, and the room was comfortable. With such easy access to the beach and bus stop, getting around the island was easy. Tip: Ask the staff for the timetable for PERIVOLOS bus stop, not Perissa.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Recommended for a few relaxing days in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Budget Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee.. Sadly it was not very good. We put that down to the island being at the end of low season however and that perhaps places weren't stocking fresh beans as it happened in a few places - very minor detail, but perhaps some helpful information :)

    Very much enjoyed our stay. Staff were always very helpful, be it prior to booking or during our stay. Our room was always cleaned to a high standard each day, and the general hotel was really well kept. If your looking for a quieter stay then most other parts of the island, then this would be a great location. Spend your days laying by the lovely pool setting or the easily accessible beach. Also, the tavern Poseidon just down the road has amazing food within a short walk. Definite value for money overall for Santorini!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: