Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofia Hotel 3 stars

Stadiou 57, Heraklio Town, 71601, Greece

#17 of 58 hotels in Heraklio Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2169 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great Stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. It was perfect for what we wanted

    The perfect hotel for a stopover to and from Heraklion airport. After a four hour flight it's marvellous to sit near the pool and have a souvlaki and beer

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    The staff were very obliging and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very obliging and helpful. The hotel is very near the airport which we wanted. It was very clean and the breakfast was plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    For a one nighter its great location next to the airport,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a one nighter its great location next to the airport, less than 3 minutes away. The one big thing is that you should remember your ear plugs as it sounds like you are sleeping on the runway..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Upon arrival we where assigned to a room not as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: I should have reviewed more for amenities around the hotel. A bit of a hike to cafes and restaurants.

    Upon arrival we where assigned to a room not as we anticipated based on our review of the hotel. The host happily offered us a choice of a more updated room which worked out just fine. Reno’s have started but not on upper floors

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    perfect hotel for a flight next day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    you hear the airplanes from the nearby airport but the proximity was the reason we picked the hotel. you can hear people walking on the corridor quiet loudly.

    nice, professional staff, fast check in and check out. close to the airport, public bus station to the center within walking distance. nice rooms

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient to Heraklion airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast quite bland. Also needs improvement in hot food...no cooked eggs available (only cold hard boiled). No fresh orange juice.

    Convenient to Heraklion airport. Good snack bar open until late.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Pleasant breakfasts at pool area. In the evening drinks and light meals available. The bedroom and bathroom of a good size and were very clean. Once we found the bus stop it was easy to get into town. The hotel is also situated close to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Friendly Staff
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 225 had splash stains on the wall and the dry wall is exposed. The bathroom shower door needs a good cleaning, use bleach.

    The staff at Sofia Hotel are very nice and helpful. They were resourceful with our inquiries. We stayed in 225. The room was clean except the wall on one side had something splashed on it which sort of grossed me out and the same wall had dents probably or maybe from suitcases smashing. The bed was not comfortable for me. The mattress was too hard. Some folks might like this though. Our stay came with breakfast which is nice. Don’t forget to feed the cute kitty cats that come over for breakfast. I don’t mind them. They are adorable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    For an overnight stay close to Heraklion airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee from the machine for breakfast

    15 min walk from the airport with a suitcase: good choice to stay when you have a late\early flight to\from Heraklion airport. We landed late at Heraklion, stayed one night at Sofia Hotel and the next morning walked to the car rental after a good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    One night stay close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was ideally located close to the Airport and Ideal for a late night arrival. It was also a short taxi ride into the centre of Heraklion. The rooms, staff and poolside were all perfect for our first day on Crete.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Good alternative for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings. Nothing to do outside the hotel... but normal as we wanted the hotel near the airport.

    The swimmimg pool, terrace and all staff kindness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Our sons were staying at the hotel before we arrived next...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only strange thing in the room was the distance between the toilet and the toilet paper holder on the opposite wall.... But that was not crucial :)

    Our sons were staying at the hotel before we arrived next morning. Easy to find, close to the airport, nice breakfast - all you need. Myself and my husband arrived very early in the morning to Heraklion airport and went to the hotel waiting for the boys to get up. We were offered coffee for free and that was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    A nice and friendly hotel + Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small elevator to get to the second floor but it was manageable.

    The location of the hotel was very good. A short taxi ride (6 euros) to the city centre. The room was nice and clean and cleaned everyday - fresh towels etc...The swimming pool was very nice and clean and there is a bar area around the pool and desk chairs/sun loungers. A pleasant stay and very convenient to get the port and airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.8
    perfect hotel of you have to catch a flight next day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little bit small. (unfortunatly i didnt had time to use the pool) Funny thing to notice, i have never seen a phone next to the toilet in a hotel room (see picture)

    Good and nice hotel. Its clean and fresh. Breakfast is oke. Very nice Hotel if you have to catch a plane the next day (less than 5 min from the hotel) early breakfast in the morning from 6:30.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    Basic but friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds pushed together to make a double but were essentially just two singles. No kettle in the room. Only one glass in the room. View wasn’t great. Snack bar only open between 7pm and midnight - was hoping to use during the day around the pool but had to go out to eat which we didn’t really want to do as we didn’t have much time. We were staying for one night so we were near the airport.

    The pool was a treat in that area. The lady on reception was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    It was a short stay, but I would not go back if it wasn't for an emergency.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC in the room had a terrible smell, so we had to sleep with the window open. It was very hot and we were disturbed by the noise from outside. The room was not cleaned well. Not worth the price.

    I was happy there was a room available on such short notice. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't have time to check out the nearby beaches but, it was quite a distance from the museums.

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, everywhere was beautifully clean and there was plenty of greenery and shade outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    Decent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could seriously be improved.

    Hotel located at 5 minutes from the airport. Amenities fit the purpose. The staff was nice and helpful. We just stayed because our flight landed late during the day and we did not want to drive at night in Crete. We appreciated that they kept the kitchen open until 11pm to have a dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    For one night of transition the place is OK but far from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located 1.5 km from the airport . planes take off just over your head.

    For one night of transition the place is OK but far from the center. A restaurant is available at the hotel even late in the evening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Very close to the airport, just the right place to have rest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to the airport, just the right place to have rest before an early flight. Hospitable staff, kindly provided breakfast at a convenient time for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Superb proximity to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred to pay on arrival - I had booked so many hotels that I thought this one was also covered by my usual card and it was a shock in the morning on departure to have to delve into my case for my purse after I had closed it with great difficulty since I was due to travel with an airline that did not allow a handbag! Also, no Disabled Parking!

    Receptionists on both shifts excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Very close to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We experienced less polite manners of reception staff as normally expected, but we couldn’t be bothered about it.

    Very close to the airport. Our room was clean and felt new. The restaurant serves nice meals.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Plain but very convenient for business travel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No toiletries, except small bar of soap. Location convenient only if you have a car.

    Very clean. Rich buffet breakfast,. Very good restaurant by the pool. Easy parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.8
    Had a short but sweet stay at Sofia hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a short but sweet stay at Sofia hotel. In regards to location, it was great as it was very close to the airport. The staff were helpful and the stay included a pretty decent breakfast. There is also a swimming pool that is good also. All in all a good stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.8
    Fair hotel. Breakfast needs improved. Close to airport for late night or early morning flights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Double bed' was two singles pushed together. Breakfast was poor. Tea and coffee making facilities would be a cheap opportunity for a good improvement.

    In the morning, a very helpful lady receptionist gave us excellent advise on reaching our next destination.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Great welcoming place to stay, close by to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shampoo in the ensuite bathroom.

    The level of care was very good, I’d highlighted on my booking of one night that my husband was coeliac and we would like breakfast. The staff made the effort to procure gluten free bread for the breakfast which we really appreciated. We arrived quite late and ate in the bar/pool side restaurant, where the staff were helpful with suitable ideas for coeliacs to eat.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    5 min drive to the airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed for a few hours sleep after my flight...

    5 min drive to the airport! Clean and comfortable. We arrived quite late and the restaurant was closing but the chef still cooked us some food :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    Good Overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Satnav managed to take us and lose us through lots of tiny back streets with peoples washing lines! But not sure apart from being on the side of the dual carriageway how that could have been improved.

    Needed somewhere to stay for one night due to late flight into airport. Was good quality privately run, clean & modern city hotel very close to airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    One night stop location, definitely not for a longer stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was chaotic in the evening with one waiter doing his Greek impression of Manuel from Fawlty Towers as he struggled to cope on his own. Someone who appeared to be the Manager took over the table nearest the TV screen and promptly turned up the volume, without consideration for the guests wishes. He also commandeered Manuel to look after his “needs” with no regard for his paying customers.

    Perfect for a one night stop on arrival at or before departure from airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    I wish I had found this place earlier in my journey around...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, but for a solo traveller it was enough and had everything that I needed.

    I wish I had found this place earlier in my journey around Crete, what an absolutely joy to stay there. The staff and family were amazing and extremely helpful, even to the point of giving tips for learning Greek. Food was amazing and the best Shrimp Saganaki I had the whole trip. I shall be back...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel to visit all the Heraklion area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel is perfect with a delicious breakfast and beautiful swimming pool. It is not near the center but for us was perfect because we had car to go to it and to Knossos. The staff was superfriendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Convenient hotel for airport arrival/departure. A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pot luck with quality of bathroom - first stay was rather tired bathroom but last night of holiday up to date shower room. No sound proof doors onto corridor so noise heard in the room.

    Convenient for the airport - bus stop just down the road to travel the less than 2 mile trip for 1.2 euros.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Excellent airport and city centre bus links. Free parking. 10% discount on Beepit car hire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An excellent location for an airport stopover, particularly if picking up a car rental which we did through Beepit the Hotel's recommended car rental supplier with a 10% discount. We paid 10 euros extra a day for full insurance cover. There is free car parking at the hotel and on the street which is a big bonus in Heraklion. It is very easy and cheap to take a bus from the airport to the hotel and if you buy a ticket at the machine the cost is just 1 euro 20 cents per person. Unfortunately the bus had stopped running before our late night flight arrived and we were charged 15 euros for a taxi !!! (Our one bad experience in Crete!!!) The rooms in the Hotel are fairly basic but there is a nice swimming pool and the breakfast is ok. We also had an evening meal there which was fine. Because of it's proximity to the airport you can hear the planes but the double glazing does dampen the noise level considerably. The City Centre is easily accessible by bus, which at the time of writing cost 1 euro 20 cents if you purchase a ticket from a machine or kiosk and 2 euros per person if you pay the driver.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent airport overnighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing.

    Perfect location for airport overnight stay. Plain and simple, but it provided exactly what was needed. Dinner in the restaurant was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Would return if I go back to Crete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very conveniently located to the airport. The beds were comfy and we had a nice balcony. The breakfast was nice. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. This was a nice hotel to use as a place to fly in and out of Crete.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    We stayed 1 night and its a decent hotel. Location is close to public transpo and center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in have a very strong smell of cigarette, even the bed, it felt like it was not cleaned thoroughly.

    close to the port to get us to Santorini. Location is close to the center but a bit far to go to Archeological sites. The staff (Sofia) is wonderful at helping us getting familiar with the area and suggested some great things to do and places to eat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Good location for the airport users.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and quiet hotel close to the airport of Hiraklion. Clean and cosy. Nice and helpful staff. Good breafast. Nice restaurant with good food. Nice swimming pool. Good taxi service for reaching the center and the airport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location for quick access to Heraklion airport. Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park is very small so you are unlikely to find a space. Parking around the hotel is fairly difficult.

    Comfortable hotel within very short distance of the airport. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay close to the airport and if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is quite small and you can almost touch the planes but that is so for all of Heraklion.

    It’s th closest hotel to the airport and you can have breakfast at any time,even at 4am in the morning. There is also an off the road parking area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Good Quality Basic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was tricky and sparse. The morning shower was cold.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was basic but clean, breakfast was basic but good. Cold beer on tap a bonus. We landed late and decided to stay here before a 7.30am drive to North West Crete.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Okay for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite poor and tastless

    Good location, staff and clean. Just next to the airport if you dont have a need to stay in town, still, only 10 min by taxi if you wanna visit the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Stayed here for one night en route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed here for one night en route. Very close to airport, good food, comfortable room, good deal. Best thing was the service and consideration of the staff. My wife left her top and they couldn't be more helpful in making sure it was returned when we dropped in later that week.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Excellent, good value hotel near to the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked this as a convenient stop due to a late flight arrival at the airport. The hotel was so helpful in providing a cold meal for us ( pre arranged) on arrival. The rooms were comfortable and we were very glad of the air conditioning.....though one of our party didn't realise that this only works if the balcony door is kept closed and had a hot night! Lovely buffet breakfast on the terrace and attractive looking pool, though we did not use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Excellent local hotel close to the airport for a comfy and peaceful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Sofia is very close to the airport and is located in a nice residential area. We were not expecting a lovely swimming pool. The hotel has a small cafe that is open in the evening, and breakfast is included. It was very comfortable with friendly and helpful staff and and excellent location for having to catch an early plane. The hotel does not has an airport shuttle, but they will call you a taxi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice hotel quite near the airport (about 1.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were quite hard and as such a little uncomfortable.

    A nice hotel quite near the airport (about 1.3 km, walking distance). The room was spacious and clean, AC was helpful, there is a nice outdoor pool for hotel guests and the breakfast was quite rich in very satisfying. All this for a fair price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We always start our crete holiday at the Sofia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport location. Arrive on an evening flight. Relax by the pool. Have a snack. Good sleep. Good rooms. Good breakfast. Go back next morning to pick up hire car. Taxi 12 euros. Sorted and stress free start to holiday. We have done this method 4 times. Great value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Always love staying here the staff are so lovely and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always love staying here the staff are so lovely and it's so convenient to the airport and a short taxi ride away from the centre of Heraklion. Lovely pool. Great breakfast. Nice bar and snack menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit bland but comfortable, no tea or coffee making facilities. No real fruit juice at breakfast and could do with more fruit and nuts for the yogurt at breakfast.

    Evening cafe reasonably priced breakfast included nice reception. Very polite and nice staff. Easy to get a taxi as a long way to walk into town. I walked there and back and it was over 10k on my pedometer...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Perfect for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very close to airport. Particularly friendly and helpful staff. Taxi ride 10 eoros for 4 is a bargain and the driver was nice and helpful. The meal as well as the breakfast were great and earthy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Very convenient next to the airport, with free wife and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was very convenient for the airport. We arrived about midnight, so that was very important to us. It had everything we needed, especially free wifi. The pool is definitely a bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    As a stop over before travelling this hotel was perfect. We will definitely be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was easy to find from the airport and we were checked in within half an hour of landing. Very flexible on leaving time from the hotel and the staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.5
    Perfect hotel to start your holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow which was a bit thin, we prefer thicker pillows or multiple :)

    Breakfast was very good, very extensive, nothing to complain about. The rooms were also very neat, bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    It isn't worth the money for the room. You pay for the proximity to the Heraklion airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are very hard and tough to sleep on. We paid for a family room but they only had a double room available so we had to take that with no reimbursement.

    They have a free printer to print boarding passes and serve food after 8.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Had a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small for four people.

    Received a warm welcome upon arrival, we were told where to park the car (they don't have their own car park but there is parking on the street if available), free breakfast was a plus, hotel was extremely clean and generally felt we had good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    A great start to our holiday in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's on the flight path - but that's because it is so close to the airport!

    This was a comfortable place to stay over after our late flight. They managed to produce a beer and a delicious meal for us after we arrived at 11pm. Very close to Heraklion airport. And we managed to squeeze our wee hire care into their car park. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn’t like

    A leisurely stroll from the airport in 20 minutes. Everything about the place was better than expected. I would use this hotel again and would recommend to others

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.5
    Convenient for the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very convenient for the airport. We had an early flight with 3 kids so this was ideal. Staff was helpful. We didn't really use the facilities as we came in after dinner and left before breakfast. The beds were a bit hard but fine for one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Easy location to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was supposed to be open for dinner but we sat for 30 minutes with no service so left to find food. Breakfast buffet was good. Wifi was poor in our room

    Easy location to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    good value airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi not strong or consistent; slight smell of drains in bathroom (but then I'm very sensitive to smells) but not in bedroom. Dinner in restuarant not good. Not the easiest place to find as very small signs from main road .

    room on the side so not disturbed by aircraft; beds fine so had good nights sleep tv with and english channel (rare in Crete). Common areas very pleasant with variety of inside/outside places to sit. Bar and swimming pool .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    A superb hotel! I will atay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside is that it is a bit hard to find.

    Great faciity! Marble everywhere, very comfortable room, welcoming drink [I had two!], nice pool, great breakfast. Fine, helpful staff. A very good bargain!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    10
    A convenient place to spend the night before collecting a hire car at the airport next day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked the hotel to book a taxi to the airport and I think I was overcharged. Probably not the hotel’s fault but ......!

    Staff were really helpful and I enjoyed a swim in the pool after seeing Heraklion in the morning and before checking out. Pool wasn’t heated of course but I didn’t mind that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Works for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, all good.

    Ideal for the airport. We use The Sofia regularly when we arrive in Heraklion on late flights. Wake ip refreshed in the morning, after a fine buffet breakfast. We also have our hire car delivered straight to hotel, far easier. Taxi transfer from airport, arranged on Booking costs €9.50, all pre-paid including tip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    No frills hotel but very adequate with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although no kettle in room, I could get hot water for tea from the bar/breakfast area. No restaurant for evening meal. although it was out of season and there are restaurants close by.

    The ambience of the hotel on arrival. Excellent, friendly and helpful reception staff. Lovely breakfast. Even had a swim, although it was cold, but pool was nice. Walkable distance to airport. Lovely bakery close by selling very good icecream and other goodies.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    It was a very convenient and comfortable hotel when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine

    It was a very convenient and comfortable hotel when we arrived late at night from Athens. The staff were really helpful - over and above expectations

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    Clean, basic, but with nice staff and good facilities. Spacious and light too.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue that I would have was the tiled flooring in the corridors outside the rooms. Not the hotel's fault but I was woken at 07.00 one morning by two guest playing basketball in the echoey, tiled corridor outside my room. On the other hand, the tiling makes the place easier to keep clean, which it was.

    Does exactly what it should do. Clean and basic but with nice staff and good facilities. If you go, I'm hoping that the basketball players will have left!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Most impressed, would stay here again.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit hard to find

    The rooms were large and clean, nice bathrooms. Everywhere smelled really fresh and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful quick stay, staff very helpful and all night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful quick stay, staff very helpful and all night reception and snacks were very appreciated. I have to say that the gentleman who was at the desk for my check in was extremely helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Room was good size ,clean and the bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park was full so could only park on street. The walls are so thin that you could hear every conversation - even the noisy ones at 3am.View from room was an ugly courtyard where the trees had been pruned and just left on the floor.

    Room was good size ,clean and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel near the airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    perfect position for the airport and for the highway, the hotel is very clean and recentely restored with confortable rooms and a nice common area, everithing at a very convenient price, staff very elpfull and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    The only thing warmer than Heraklion on a lovely sunny day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing warmer than Heraklion on a lovely sunny day in December is the amazing welcome you get at the Hotel Sofia. Always clean, friendly, quiet and super helpful, every time we stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great value conveniently close to the airport and on bus route into centre of Heraklion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location: very close to the airport; number 1 bus stops within 300 metres of the hotel, and continues into the main square (by the archeological museum) of Heraklion (1.20 euros fixed fare for any distance provided tickets are bought from machines before boarding....otherwise 2 euros). Very clean; extremely friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Sofia Hotel is a mid-sized family-run property that is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighborhood was semi-urban, a little crowded and a bit non-descript. On the plus side there was a nearby market, bank, and gasoline station.

    Sofia Hotel is a mid-sized family-run property that is very convenient to the Iraklion airport. It is located in a semi-urban residential area a short distance off one of the main streets to town, and about a 5-minute drive from the airport. Accommodations are good, well-maintained, and very clean. The staff is friendly and very helpful. A small restaurant/bar is attached. Buffet Breakfast was included and was good quality. The hotel looks to have 30 to 40 rooms so availability was good, it was a quiet locale. Free parking is included. This is an excellent choice for a pre or post airport stay. A nearby bus route serves the center city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Early breakfast a bonus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed for one night before our flight the next day, we had to leave at 3am and were so happy to find we could have self service breakfast! A good selection of food and drinks was available. Lovely clean and comfy rooms. Next time we will stay a of nights to explore Heraklion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant hotel, within walking distance of the airport, though NOT noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel for access to Heraklion airport (as of 2017, a new airport is "due" to open in 2019). In fact you could walk to it, a 15/20 min walk. A good buffet style breakfast in the morning. Very helpful staff. We have used this hotel a number of times.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Just stayed one night to fly out early the next day. Perfect for that but could stay there longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to note.

    Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent location for the airport and for public transport to get to the centre of Heraklion. Quiet. Restaurants and shops close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: