Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sofitel Athens Airport 5 stars

Athens International Airport, Athens, 190 19, Greece

#52 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4412 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    Very convenient for airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decour very old style and dark and no outside pool space had to pay for taxis to go into athens thus defeating the stayover

    Very convenient for airport

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    AIRPORT HOTEL WITH GOOD FACILITIES, EXPENSIVE - NEEDS REFURBISHMENT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CARPETS NEED REPLACEMENT. BREAKFAST FINISHED 1030 - MISSED THIS - SHOULD FINISH 1100. HAD TO EAT IN BAR CAFE - CUP OF TEA 6 EURO TOO EXPENSIVE

    WALK FROM AIRPORT VERY HANDY LOCATION

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't work properly. The wake up call was 7 minutes early. I would expect better at that price.

    Very comfortable bed. Room very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Startling unwanted overnight surprise
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another guest made a room service request and gave incorrect room info. Hotel staff failed to verify and called our room simultaneously when delivering whatever was requested. This happened at 23:35 and we were asleep with a necessary 3:45 wake up time for our flight. Front desk staff could only say “sorry” about the mistake. It was a weak response. Because the incident was startling, we never really got back to sleep. So much for five-star treatment. You’re left with few options for early flights from ATH - I would have hoped Sofitel would have a way of preventing mistakes like this. I am waiting to hear from management because the front desk was useless at check-out. I was in the hotel for less than twelve hours, got about two hours of sleep, and still paid full price.

    Excellent location for easy airport access

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    the new business floor suites which we re upgraded to a far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    would have like a window that opens even if its the tilt type for safety reasons

    the new business floor suites which we re upgraded to a far superior to the old rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    6.7
    Over priced and under serviced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor check in, poor check out, rooms were small and uncomfortable, old in appearance and service Only stayed here because of flight schedules, would preferred to go elsewhere in hindsight

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location after a long flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old and could use an update. Expensive but that’s what you get for the convenience.

    Excellent location after a long flight. Easy access straight across the road from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Perfectly located for early flights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very expensive for what you get.

    The beds and pillows were very very comfortable. Being at the airport it was an excellent location for an early flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Airport Layover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The light in the WC was not working when we first arrived, but the staff did respond immediately to fix the issue. The bathroom had an unusual shower-had both a rainforest shower head and hand-held unit that were controlled by a button. Unfortunately, the way to operate one over the other was to pull the faucet out fully, at full blast. At 5 AM, I couldn’t figure this out until the end of my shower, which resulted in water pooling on the floor. Seems like a wasteful water design. While the location is fantastic for a layover and early AM flight, the distance from Athens is around 40-50 minutes by Metro. Be aware that there is a “special fare” from the metro that costs 18 Euro per person for a round trip fare. Having stayed in Athens a few weeks previously, we were expecting the usual city fares, and were surprised by the airport surcharge. The metro is very convenient, however, and still cheaper than getting a taxi.

    Great for an early AM flight. Very Attentive Staff responding to problem in WC. Extremely quiet-great for light sleepers like myself.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Very close to airport and train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loose carpet in hallway made pulling a suitcase on wheels very difficult.

    Very close to airport and train station. Comfortable soft bed. Huge shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Overnight at the Airport on our way home
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with any airport hotel, food and beverages were overpriced.

    Great location for an overnigth stay on our way home. Steps from the Athens airport terminal. Even though we were directly across the street fromthe aiport, we never heard a plane departing or landing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    This was a good pick of a hotel for our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price was a little high but I think it is the market price for the city.

    Stayed at this hotel since our flight next morning was very early. We were pleasantly surprised to see how spacious and nicely decorated the room was. We got to use the pool and sauna to wind down before our long flight. Very nice hotel and right across from the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Once again - perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proces are really high, but location and service quality pays back in general

    Yet another time at Mitsis Sofitel Athens. And once again spotless clean room, great warm welcome and fabulous staff. This hotel has a superb location for any transfer flights in Athens, and exceeds requirements. The only disadvantage is the pricing (yes, high), but once I come back, I say to myself "good to be back". One of my favourite hotels worldwide, due to the people working there and what they create.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, as always, ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't opt for the breakfast as this was going to be a further £60 which with the airport only across the road we opted for the food here which was much cheaper and still delicious to get us on our way on the holiday.

    the staff on the front desk were welcoming and spoke both greek and English which was helpful. We were checked in the hotel within 5 minutes and up in the spacious room with a beautiful bathroom and separate toilet. the bed, especially the pillows, your head just sunk into them and soon fast asleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.5
    Convenient but Pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel corridors and rooms are starting to look a bit tired and not 5 star. It's pricing is based on a monopoly location. Not a good ad for Sofitel chain

    Great location for an early morning flight, but if flying with Agean remember that all their aircraft leave Athens airport early minting every day so check in is chaos first thing. Allow plenty of time

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.8
    Practical, clean and comfortable but expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, rooms were small, sometimes rooms smelled like someone smoked cigarettes before. I don't think the hotel enforces the non smoking policy very well. The restaurants are VERY expensive, be careful to check the prices in advance of ordering.

    Excellent location if you have a connecting flight the next day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    5.4
    Never going there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that they constantly asking me for extra money after i paid in full from booking.com it has never happened to me ever before in any other hotel! Just because the euro changed i had to pay them extra without providing me with a receipt! If the aus value went up will they give me my money back?? I don't think so.

    It's close to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel next to airport. Too expensive.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive, in fact absurdly expensive for the chap who walked in without a booking and had to pay >400Euro for one night. The high prices are the result of their being few (no?) options close by. If you check out Booking.com you will see the absurd lack of hotel beds around the area. Stinks of corrupt local officials. Has me thinking twice about the option of moving some business there.

    Location is perfect if you have an early flight and need fast reliable access to the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Walking to the airport was so ideal, the buffet breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking to the airport was so ideal, the buffet breakfast spread was unbelievable and the staff were accommodating to a late checkout. All in all 10/10.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    very convenient airport hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in hallways starting to show wear and tear. Tile grout in bathroom discolored in spots. Other than that, all good.

    All staff were attentive and upbeat. Location could not be beat. A/C worked well and the room was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.3
    Inside the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and not renovated hotel. Dirty carpet at the room, very old installations, not updated shower and toilet structure. Expensive for the services and structure provided.

    Inside the airport. This is the only one positive point.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Great as a base when leaving Greece for a night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly, for the price paid, the room was anything but ‘superior’ or ‘luxury’. The minibar was locked. The floor had pieces of the boards missing, the bathroom, while large, was mouldy and with soap scum. The rooms and hallways could use an aesthetic upgrade considering the cost to stay here. The beds were comfortable, but upon entering the beds looked lumpy and one had a blood spot on the cover. The air con could not be moved higher than 22 degrees. The wifi was weak. Also the tv was interesting - could not get any movies as they were disabled - I would’ve paid for a movie (not the adult kind) but didn’t have the opportunity. For the price paid, I expected a more modern room, not such a dated room. I know I was in their cheaper room, but considering the price of the cheaper room, comparatively in other cities that price would’ve afforded me a suite.

    The location - great if you’re getting off a long flight or preparing to get on a long flight and don’t want to stay in the city (40 mins away). All the staff are helpful, polite and friendly, very welcoming. The restaurant was nice and the buffet (both dinner and breakfast) were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    An excellent start to my first journey through Greece.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for awhile because we checked in too early.

    Room was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was out of this world.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    The convinence of this hotel was perfect for the first time staying or flying into Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room Club Sofitel - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was like sleeping on a cloud with a perfectly dark room. Would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Athens or that has a stop over in Athens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel at airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little pricey, but there aren’t any other options

    Very clean, modern lobby and room, massive shower. It’s across the road from the terminal, 5 minutes from room to security screening. Very quiet, didn’t hear any planes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.7
    Conveniently located at the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and bathrooms look tired. The senior staffer managing the pool was rude and abrupt when I asked her where the bathroom was. The movie channel was blocked and after calling concierge to help fix, they did not. The pillows were horrible, clumpy and ragged and when I gave feedback to the woman checking me out, she dismissed it saying that I must have slept wrong...REALLY!? Some Greek people should NOT be in customer service roles. This place is super expensive for what you get, especially food prices.

    Conveniently located at the airport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool Corridors were dated and need redecorating

    Very good reception team, very good comfortable rooms -bed was superb Room service very good Spa and pool were quite small but adequate

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Location 10 out of 10 no problems about good night sleep perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    The room was excellent perfect Close to airport Had meal in restuant staff very polite excellent service value for money most certainly will stay there every time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay 1 minute away from ATH airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    We got upgraded to an executive room which was delightful. Room was very big and a lot of amenities were available. The dining options are really good - we've tried the dinner buffet which was a very good value for money. Staff was especially helpful, helping us find a fuel station and indicating where we could return the rental car in a lot of detail.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Location is perfect for late arrivals and early morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet is in need of replacing. It’s clearly stretched, wrinkled and very worn. Had a bit of an odor.

    Location is perfect for late arrivals and early morning flights. The staff is professional, knowledgeable & friendly with quick check in and check out. Separate water closet and shower which was a bonus. Spacious room. Decent restaurant on site.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Handy to airport!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired in need of renovation, not worth the money. Strange set up Frig provided but needed a key....just wanted to chill our water not drink everything in the mini bar!!

    The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect hotel to stay at if transiting on to the other Greek Islands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was a little dated

    We were transiting through Athens on the way to Santorini. The hotel could not be closer to the the airport terminal. Although it appears a little tired it was perfect for us and would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location but probably would not order breakfast again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was very odd. It was not over the bath and was very low on the wall making it difficult to wash my hair. Also the door did not close properly so water was all over the floor. I ordered breakfast in the room. I asked for bacon but got sausages and asked for juice which didn't arrive at all and the scrambled eggs were cold.

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the pillows were the best I have slept on. The room was spacious and very quiet. The staff at check in and check out were very polite and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Perfect location for a stay in Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Super rooftop bar with amazing views of the Parthenon and a wonderful barman called Aris who was efficient, professional, friendly and charming. Fabulous location for exploring Athens. All staff were very friendly and kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    3.8
    Stay only if desperate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smells, the carpet is filthy and poorly laid. The hair dryer in the bathroom does not work. The restaurant charges 7.50 euro for a small bottle of coke, and the staff try to justify the ridiculous cost because ‘it’s a five star hotel’. This is by no means a five star hotel. I have stayed at many five stars hotels internationally and have never encountered one in such poor condition with excessive prices. I have stayed at nicer Ramada Inns.

    The only thing good about this hotel is the location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    The breakfast spread was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would like a plain sheet on the bed without a comforter. At least that way I could have the option to use either or both.

    The breakfast spread was really nice. Good quality and selection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Have the buffet breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers were on a low stand rather than from full height. Not enough of a deterrent from staying again. The breakfast was too good to be true

    Have the buffet breakfast! It is incredible although expensive at 25 euro per person. Also the hotel is literally about 30 meters from the terminal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Very adequate for one night stopover enroute to our final holiday destination
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of a wait at check in due to it being busy. Only given the tiniest pot of hot milk with my cafetière of coffee at breakfast.

    The Late evening snack on arrival was very nice. Every member of staff was pleasant and helpful? The swimming pool was lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    The property is in a great location for home bound...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is in a great location for home bound international flights. However in my opinion the hotel (apart from the entry) is looking very tired and dated for a five star hotel. In particular foyer carpets are faded, dirty and rippled. Bathrooms in hotel rooms appear to have mould on grout etc. Carpets in rooms also quite tired. The pool area is also in need of some tlc with decking around the pool area all grey and deteriorated. The staff kindly upgraded us when I noted the bathroom issue in our first room but the theme appeared to continue so we just accepted the situation given it was one night. I will be writing to Accor hotels as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice comfortable hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The prices of food and in particular the drinks are quite steep. When travelling around Greece for 6 weeks and paying 2.50 for a lemonade, it was a shock to then have to pay 7.50 for the same drink.

    The location is the main reason we stayed there. The food was really lovely and the beds are amazingly comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    It was extremely convenient, quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is a little tired and could use a facelift. For example, the carpets in the hallways were bunching and were worn; the hallways are dreary; there was mould in my bathroom.

    Proximity to the airport; nice bar; good sized rooms; very comfortable bed; very quiet given proximity to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.1
    The proximity to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that I arrived in Athens in the morning after a very long flight only to be told that I couldn’t check in till midday. I had given the hotel prior notice of my early arrival, to be told that they would try their best to accommodate. I understand that there are check in policies in place, but I was disappointed that nobody had made the effort to notify me that my room had been made available from 11:15. Through sheer desperation to shower and sleep I made the enquiry to see if I could check in, to be told my room was ready. For a five star hotel that charges top dollar, I would think that it would come down to simple courtesy when a guest is so exhausted. Anyway not sure if you would deem my concern important, but that is exactly the reason why people who fly from countries like Australia, come to your hotel for the expediency of being able to rest after such a long flight.

    The proximity to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.8
    Unless you have an early morning flight, it’s not worthy staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only good thing about this hotel is location which is soooooo convenient and sooooo close to airport. But the room is old and small. It’s not worthy for 200euro per night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Very clean and comfortable with great facilities and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very expensive. You really pay for the convenience.

    Very clean and comfortable with great facilities and staff. The location is excellent for people catching early flights or coming in on late flights.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice comfortable hotel in a great location for the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from the centre.

    Nice comfortable hotel in a great location for the airport. The hotel is actually opposite departures/arrivals for Athens International airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Average for a 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was locked, movie channels locked on my TV. Cleaner knocking on my door at 9am to clean when check out is 12pm - better coordination with reception would improve this. Except for the reception areas , the decor in the hotel feels dated and need of a tidy up for a 5star hotel (carpet worn and starting to rise in areas as an example). For 300 euros plus a night I'd expected more.

    Staff are the best part about this hotel. Gym was good but if more than 3 people it would have felt too crowded. Indoor pool was nice. clean rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Functionally adequate yet a little frustrating
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Checking in took more than 30 minutes. This should have taken 10 to 15 minutes. Finding the hotel from the airport was also frustrating. Signposting should be improved.

    The hotel was good, nothing exceptional, just a good hotel. The food was also good and for hotel food, not that ridiculously expensive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location when waiting for connecting flight, comfortable, good food and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff serving time in the foyer lounge area left a little to be desired. Had a light lunch before heading off to the airport and ordered drinks with meal. All appeared in reasonable time. Ordered another drink to finish with meal and it did not arrive until we were ready to leave and pay account. Declined second drink as we wished to leave and they could not understand why but after a consult with management did not charge for it although I offered to pay if a problem. The live piano music in the top floor restaurant was a little loud for dining pleasure.

    The location was excellent- close to airport and train station The rooms and facilities were good and as expected The"Karavi" top floor restaurant was excellent as were the meals The breakfast buffet was very good and the quality was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Rooms & pool area could do with a facelift and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms & pool area could do with a facelift and bar/cafe is very expensive for what you get. Water is also ridiculously expensive compared to the rest of Greece!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in took quite a while the adjoining room was unlocked, when asked to please lock it when we first arrived and was told it would be. When I was leaving I checked and it wasnt locked so had to wait to ensure it was.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Bathroom shower, walking distance from departure terminal,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the swimming pool was on the rooftop, but actually it is tiny and indoor

    Bathroom shower, walking distance from departure terminal, room breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Good experience. Would return again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel is perfect for stopping between flights. It is located across the road from the airport so we were able to collect our bags and walk straight over. The staff were extremely lovely and very helpful. We also loved the pool here and small gym facilities. Perfect to help cure the jet lag after a flight over from Australia!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast was a highlight & offered to us at a special...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I forgot something in the fridge. My fault. Room 445

    Breakfast was a highlight & offered to us at a special rate too. The staff were very professional, caring & a delight to deal with

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Once again, a very good stay at Mitsis Athens Sofitel Hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, the price is really high, IMO too high, you can add 2x taxi and spend the same amount in a comparable hotel in Voula, though in case of early flights this one in unbeatable

    Once again, a very good stay at Mitsis Athens Sofitel Hotel, exquisite location for transferring passengers. spotless clean rooms, nice and competent staff. Good breakfast, all just like expected. Congrats to the Staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    Property is outstanding if you are looking to stay somewhere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property is outstanding if you are looking to stay somewhere near to Athens airport. You can walk right across the road from the terminal, it is very convenient. Breakfast buffet is great and staff are outstanding. It is expensive but for the convenience, service and room standard, worth it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing, and Refreshed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room Club Sofitel - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Will definitely stay again. Suitable for families. Hotel very convent to airport/taxis. As we drove to the hotel, we noticed local shopping centre it you need. We did not visit this as we just stay the night for early flight next day. The restaurants are clean, good selection in menu. The main restaurant had an awesome buffet on the night, delicious ,fresh food. Staff in all areas of the hotel, were welcoming, accomodating, and extremely helpful. Could not fault this hotel at all. Job Well to Hotel Staff in all departments. Hope to see you again soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Will 100% use this airport again if we need to stay over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Literally my only quibble was that the truly excellent breakfast was also very expensive .

    It was so good to walk out of the airport at 2am, straight into the hotel and be greeted with a warm smile and efficient service. Our room was great and had a very comfortable bed. Outstanding breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    5.0
    Ok but not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated , very tired looking, not Sofitel usual 5 star standard, more like a three star room! Was very expensive, nearly £200 for one night, wasn’t worth it but there’s no where else as close so they have the opportunity to rip you off.

    Just across the road from the airport, 2 minutes walk. Quiet and reasonably comfy bed . Hotel restaurants were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    The staff was very professional, helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very professional, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast buffet at the restaurant was great. The location was very convenient as we flew into Athens late at night and flew out the next morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Good location and amazing beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini fridge in room was locked.

    Staff were extremely helpful. Good facilities including a printer. Shower in bathroom was amazing Beds were extremely comfortable Great location for aiport hotel. 1 minute walk to departures.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.5
    Comfortable, well appointed rooms with lovely sheets and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the passageways were very uneven and looked very scruffy - really let the hotel down.

    Comfortable, well appointed rooms with lovely sheets and pillows. Great bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    Overnight Sofitel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor, toilet and bathroom need upgrading. Despite non smoking room, stale cigarette smoke smelt. Breakfast expensive for €25, would recommend checking in earlier and eating at the airport as better choice and price.

    Staff great, seamless check in. Linen good. Good Spa Location super for business traveller in transit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    A world class international hotel which always exceeds my expectations.
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very comfortable beds but above all their service is always first class by all staff members. I had my frail wheel-chair bound mother-in-law with me and lots of heavy suitcases and had to board a flight in the early hours of the morning - they went out of their way to help me and make everything as easy as possible for us. Deeply appreciated and confirms that they are not only world class when it’s easy but also when a guest needs a little extra help. Sofitel never lets me down.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.3
    Woken by cleaning lady at 11.30pm to give me razor!!! Waste of €300.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • New Luxury Room Club Sofitel, 2 Single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rented room to get sleep before I had an early flight back to Dublin but got woken at 11.30 pm by cleaning lady banging on door, she handed me razors, I was asleep and failed to get back to sleep. Totally confused why she did this.not impressed for 300 euro hotel. I booked hotel at airport to sleep not to be woken at 11.30 pm with someone banging on my door!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Breakfast was good and coffee excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The open bar restaurant at the front of the hotel is very nice,but the food was bad.Had grilled cheese sandwich ( ok) and French fries ( cold and too thin).Dessert of chocolate profiteroles was a joke. A glass full of rich chocolate sauce with lumps of bad choux pastry.Not good.Pity because it's a nice place,but food is getting worse and is always the same.

    Breakfast was good and coffee excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.7
    Very disappointed with the level of service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very disappointed with the level of service. Have stayed there multiple times in the past. Bags took hours to come up and waits very long to check in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    Ok but breakfast change has spoiled it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast arrangements have changed for the worst. The breakfast used to be the best we had had anywhere in the world and for some reason is now mediocre. Such a shame.

    We have stayed here regularly over the years as the proximity to the airport is great. We have always had a good stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful and convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was great.

    Excellent service, luxurious hotel rooms, extremely friendly and professional customer service, good Wifi, extremely convenient location steps outside the Athens airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.3
    The location is PERFECT for traveling in and out of Greece...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms only accomdated 2 therefore, we needed to reserve two rooms. Not worth the money for one night. Rooms are old, dated, smelled of stale smoke even though it was a non smoking room. Carpet in hallways, old, thick and nearly impossible to roll your luggage as the carpet bunched up in spots. Average cleanliness, some bathroom grout work could use some attention. We ate at the hotel restaurant for lunch upon checking in. It took FOREVER to get our food. Those seated after us were served before us, when we only ordered club sandwiches. Then we couldn't find our server for our bill, because she left her shift.

    The location is PERFECT for traveling in and out of Greece to make your connecting flight. And that is the only reason I may consider staying here again. Check in agent pleasant. Sound proofing is excellent, as property located at airport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    The perfect airport hotel to have a great and trouble free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfect airport hotel to have a great and trouble free night sleep between two long flights! Staff are very courteous and the facility is well equiped to make the very early wake-up a stressless and enjoyable experience!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you have an early flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Room - 1 Queen Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here for a quick overnight before flying out in the morning. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms were nicely appointed. The bathroom was exceptionally roomy. The dinner buffet was good although not all menu items are available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.9
    Solid place to stay when you need to be at the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Room - 2 Single Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hallways to rooms are looking a bit old and shabby. Rooms might use a bit of updating, but all in all, still comfortable.

    For an airport hotel, it's RIGHT there. Nice staff. Nice lobby area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    The customer service in the main restaurant on ground floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service in the main restaurant on ground floor here was amazing - possibly the best customer service I've experienced in a hotel. That aside, the bed felt like sleeping on clouds. I felt very well rested and relaxed to commence my flights home after a one night stay here. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location opposite the airport. Very convenient when arriving on late night flights, comfortable bed and bedding, friendly and helpful staff. Impressive buffet breakfast. Convenient for catching bus into Athens city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Location (50m outside of the air port), Rooms were lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • New Luxury Room Club Sofitel, 2 Single beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price (probably due to being at short notice) - couldn’t compare properly unless I had booked in advance.

    Location (50m outside of the air port), Rooms were lovely and facilities were amazing. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: