Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Stanley 4 stars

Odysseos 1- Karaiskaki Sq, Athens, 10437, Greece

#208 of 330 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 6293 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    enjoyed the hotel very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The immediate area of the hotel is ok, there is a beautiful square. However, but when you get a bit further, especially in the evening, the environment is less than inviting.

    the room was spacious and very very clean. The bathroom was really large, fitted for phisically disabled guests. The staff was more than helpful: when booking, we asked for a double bed (not twin beds joined together). However the room had two adjoining twin beds. When we mentioned it upon arrival, immediately 4 roommaids arrived with an additional double mattress and new beddings, and arranged it in matters of moments. The hotel is located just "on top" of the metro station. The hotekl has a roof terrace and bar. The view is breathtaking (especially at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel, staff could be more enthusiastic when dealing with customers.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom. And generally the room was like old -renovated but not enough.

    Stayed in the hotel again. The key question is which room or floor you ll end up getting. Some more modern than others. Roof garden is a great asset.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.3
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need to be improved, we can ear everything in the room: the other guests talking, the guest in the other rooms, and our experience in the restaurant wasn't the best, the server seem to not want to be there.

    Housekeeping was nice, in room dining was perfect and the people were nice. Location is ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    5.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area was seedy No Acropolis view as promised Door to balcony was stuck and wouldn’t open Double bed was two single beds pushed together that kept moving apart Shower head over bath wouldn’t hook onto the rail so I had to hold shower to use it.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is good with sight seeing bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom slightly disappointing, not a lot of wardrobe space and bathroom a bit small in comparison with the size of the bedroom.

    The location of the hotel is good with sight seeing bus stops outside the hotel. Hotel bars and restaurants very good serving traditional cuisine. Would consider using the Stanley again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    Not a 4 star experience, unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately It is not the best value for money. Rooms were renovated quite a long time ago, pictures do not show actual state. We were quite disappointed - only superior room offered as an upgrade saved our whole experience. Breakfast was not high quality. Facilities at property are not 4 star. I do not recommend pool or restaurant areas. No proper view of Acropolis, not a nice view from any side. Not a nice surrounding.

    Very professional Staff, high level of service as you would expect from 4 star hotel. It is quite close to city center and very close to metro station. We were offered a room upgrade which is the only reason why we had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and up to expectations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, the staff, the cleanliness

    I got a room with twin beds instead of a double bed. No big deal, but next time I shall be sure to ask for a double bed specifically.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    6.7
    Value for low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor, I was stayed in different hotels at Athens and it was a pleasure to wake up for breakfast. The waiter even didn't agree to serve me my coffee and called me to come and take it with an angry face. The pool was ridiculous, very small and the water don't reach high. The floor of the pool looks like an old country club from the 70's. must Renovate!

    The hotel wasn't in a center area but had a metro in less than one minute walk away which was nice and comfortable. the room was in a nice size,clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was simple but offered something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were kind of odd, didn’t stop at the desired floor and took forever to arrive. It was actually easier and faster to take the stairs, despite the fact that our room was located on the 7th floor! Pool area was small and could do with some modernisation.

    Breakfast was simple but offered something for everyone. Quality of the food offered was good. Beds very comfortable and water pressure in bathrooms excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Modern centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at The Stanley Hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. It is centrally located opposite the Fallen Aviators Monument. The hotel is new and modern and the location is ideal since it is directly next to the Metaxourgio metro stop, itself 3 stations from Syntagma and 4 from Acropoli on the red line. We arrived very late in the evening and the hotel staff received us in a very polite manner and it seems they upgraded us to a spacious apartment sized room that was peaceful and quiet with a comfortable bed and a great bathroom. Our apartment and amenities was very clean and tidy, the AC worked well, and there is a bar fridge. The hotel has a great rooftop bar with a stunning view of the Acropolis at night; there is also a swimming pool. There are several restaurants nearby and a fabulous bakery on the next street corner. The hotel offers good value for money and we would recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was rich and the reception welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not so spacious and modern and the mini bar in the room is without water. They provide half bottle wine for free but it would be more useful not to have to buy water

    The breakfast was rich and the reception welcoming. Rooms were comfortable and the hotel has good services (gym, restaurant…)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issue. The hotel is built over many levels and has mezzine areas for breakfast. I found it confusing.

    Good breakfast. Very efficient check in service. Hotel is clean. Good wi fi. Good location. Lovely rooftop bar and pool with lovely view of the Acropolis. Fitness centre is well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool size is just a joke... the pictures on booking.com are definitly taken from a special angle that I didn’t find. The sector of the hotel is really bad, ugly streets, the picture below is my view from my room : horrible ! This is a 2* hotel not a 4 ! Not recommending !

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    5.0
    Very low value for money. big disapointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was different from the pictures published. A bad feeling of deception. It looked more like a warehouse than a family room.

    The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast buffet was very good and offered a wide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very nice but it's very much a business hotel with a high turn around of guests and some of the staff were lovely but there were one or two who could have been a bit more friendly. Overall a good hotel to use for a one night stop over. Our room was on the front and the traffic noise was quite loud. The bathroom was a bit tired .

    The breakfast buffet was very good and offered a wide variety of choice. The bed was very comfortable. The roof top bar and pool are very nice and you get a great view of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    The bed was comfortable, the staff were nice
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was absolutely dreadful, immigrant area of town, highly dilapidated, needles on pavement and deviant sex acts in green spaces.

    The bed was comfortable, the staff were nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.9
    Overall a pleasant stay in a clean and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Bathroom on the small side.

    Location good - right on a metro stop and a hop-on-hop-off bus stop. People were really lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly nice stay. Amenities as restaurant and pool were a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower wasn't the best.

    I like the view from the pool and restaurant. The discount for dinner and drinks was a nice surprise. Overall I liked the room with a little balcony and nice view to the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and relaxing I will use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room could have been better, this was a international hotel I would have thought these facilities would have been geared to international guests and not just Greek

    Breakfast was excellent, both in the restaurant and room. Hotel location was central with easy access to the Metro. the complementary drinks in the fridge were exceptional and welcome in the heat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Suited our needs well for touring Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was tiny. Shower was pretty basic.

    Good choice of breakfast. Rooftop bar and restaurant were good with spectacular views of the Acropolis. Location good for Metro.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    Good 4-star hotel with nice facilities and awful wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is a bit small for the price. I wouldn't say it was uncomfortable, but it didn't really match my taste. The wifi connection was terrible, I got disconnected multiple times, this is not acceptable in a 4-star hotel.

    Nice location next to a metro stop. The staff is competent although they could speed up check-in a bit. There are some nice facilities including a rooftop pool!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    Warm Welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind and helpful staff. As an extra surprise, they upgraded our room from a normal one to a superior one for free. This included a small bottle of wine and some beers. This gesture was much appreciated after an exhausting boat trip from Paros to Athens! Our room was recently renovated; except for the bathroom, but this was certainly not a dissappointment. On the contrary, it was very clean with everything we needed. Big plus was the Nespresso machine with daily new cups and tea. Water was also resupplied on a daily basis Location is excellent. A subway station is right in front of the hotel and all the cool neighbourhoods and touristic stuff are within 20-30 minutes walking distance. Be sure to visit the roof top bar by night to get a view of the Acropolis/Parthenon. Highly recommended hotel when travelling to Athens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    We got a room that is pland for handicap ( we didn’t ask for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room that is pland for handicap ( we didn’t ask for that and no one told us about that ) The bathroom was flooded every time we took a shower because there is no glass wall around. Also there was no carpet in the room because of that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is very close to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very close to the metro station. We stayed there for 2 nights in the beginning of the trip and for one night before we leave. We got an upgraded room the first time we stayed, which had free drinks and a fancy coffee machine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was nice but could have been warmer and rooms were nice but bathrooms haven't been updated along with the bedroom (standard renovated room)

    So easily accessible by metro. Literally steps from the metaxagourio station, so easy if you get one of the metro cards you can hop on and off wherever you like and only few stops from the acropolis metro with lots of restaurants etc in this area. Staff were friendly and helpful and not invasive. Roof top area is nice but pigeons are a pain (not that hotelhave any control of this) The hotel accommodated our special occasion providing us with a lovely anniversary gesture on our first night, a really lovely touch and much appreciated. A few reviews we've seen have said the area wasn't nice or they had people approaching them, however we never experienced this at all!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely weekend away! Hotel was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was fine in distance but was located right next to a dodgy section of Athens! And was really horrible to walk around in at night

    The size of the rooms were great! And hospitality was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.9
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door wouldn't stay closed. We reported it to reception and was told an engineer would have a look at it, but it was never fixed. Also, the cleaner left both patio doors wide open after cleaning the room. Not very secure.

    Beds were very comfortable. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    World-class service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My entire stay was amazing! The hotel staff went beyond their professional obligations to make sure I felt comfortable during my stay, and every little thing was taken care of. They organized my transfers to and from the airport and were extremely nice during my stay. Additionally, the complimentary itineraries for my 3-day stay in Athens I received by e-mail and the farewell message I got after I got home were a nice touch. I highly recommend The Stanley for its excellent service and staff - it's in my personal top 3 of over 100 hotels I've visited in the last 15 years all over Europe and the USA.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    It was OK for only one night we stayed there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub was clogged and we had to call a technician at midnight to fix it, after the bathroom was flooded. Parking was at an extra cost, so no free parking.

    Rooftop restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.3
    Budget but ok, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks good but actually fairly budget. Small rooms. Tiny bathroom that was a bit dirty and tired. Breakfast was average and like a school cafeteria. Not much in the neighborhood and long walk through dirty sketchy part of town to get to the tourist district

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    6.7
    Good location of the hotel and nice little stay. Some commodities should be redone (pool)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast wasn't very nice, although we had quite a lot of choices. The pool area was very crowded and the pool in a poor condition. It didn't appear very clean...

    Confortable hotel not too far from the center of Athens, really useful to have the metro just at the bottom of the hotel. Small but confortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel and amazing views from rooftop bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Television had no English channels but my daughter next door to us had a lot of English channels- sometimes it's nice to keep up to date with news and a nice programme/movie to relax in bed after being out and about all day. Informed reception who tried to get it fixed but just never worked - you expect a hotel of this high standard to have a working television in your room.

    Very clean facilities and very comfortable bed. The staff were happy to go the extra mile to be helpful and always with a smile. Our flight was at night but allowed to stay in the room til 1:30pm then for a small charge allowed us to book a cheaper priced room til when we wanted to leave for the airport at 6pm. Room cleaned every day with clean linen. Excellent variety of food for breakfast and amazing panoramic views from the rooftop bar. Excellent location and right next to the Metro underground and the tourist sightseeing buses and lots of restaurants around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.4
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We made reservation for renovate rooms. The room itself was renovated, but the bathroom and toilets were definitely old (completely not like the pictures). Only in the second night they agreed to change the rooms, and only then we got completely renovated rooms. Be careful!!

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Good location, metro station in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough escalador for the size of the hotel

    Good location, metro station in front of the hotel. Wonderfull view from the pool and the restaurant. Very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    It’s a value for money hotel with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk is not very good with English. May not be kind to you if you are Asian.

    It’s a value for money hotel with everything you need. Very very close to the metro train.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Loved the view of Acropolis !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the view of Acropolis ! Beds very comfortable ! Will definitely stay here again . In fact my niece will be staying there in a few weeks with her husband !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.6
    Bad value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for a double room. Got a small room with a single person bed. Not good value for money at all.

    The check in and out process was efficient and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Everything was great except that we found out its not safe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except that we found out its not safe to walk out in the area surrounding the hotel. Dont even think of taking the metro. Taxi is ur best option to go back and forth

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.5
    The room was beautiful and I felt so comfortable and safe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was beautiful and I felt so comfortable and safe traveling alone. I even got the chance to have a nice relaxing bath. The breakfast was so yummy & the buffet had pretty much everything you could want.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but room basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When walking from the hotel to the main area of the Acropolis you walk through a junky area, not pleasant. The bath in the room is really small

    Nice hotel, but room basic. Not renovated as booked

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location -- would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was in a great location, as the metro was just around the corner and quickly accessible and convenient. Breakfast selection was good, the pool was nice, and the view from the rooftop quite lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    4.6
    This is the noisiest hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from other rooms, corridor & from the cleaning crew & their machines. The big bang rooms’ doors that keep slamming day & night. Furniture being moved in upper room after 2 AM. I never had a good night sleep during my stay

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Mr Tony Morgan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The worst part of the hotel was the bathroom. The shower in room 711 was very cramped, it was difficult for my wife to climb into and out of, there was insufficient space for two people to leave toiletries by the sink.

    The rooftop restaurant was a real bonus with friendly staff and great views.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.9
    Bed is very comfortable, sheets are clean and soft.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is super tiny, approximately 50cm x 50cm, so during shower my body was always touching the walls and the tap.

    Bed is very comfortable, sheets are clean and soft. Room is also very clean and decoration is nice. Wi-Fi works well and you can even watch Netflix.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Good base for a few days in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough lifts for the number of people using them.

    Location. Near to all the main tourist attractions. Lovely swimming pool on the roof, and nice roof resturant. Recommend a metro pass to get around and avoid the heat of mid summer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a one nighter
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large floor to roof glass door to patio that allowed 12-14 other rooms full view into your room. Able to hear all sounds from outside hallway. No bath only shower as bathroom tiny and very dated. Roof top area nice but pool quite old and grubby.

    Room is v.small but modern. Hotel is more of a overnight business Hotel. Staff extremely pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    One night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were booked for just one night. There was a mix up with our room and the staff went above and beyond to rectify it and make sure that we were comfortable. Rooms are modern, clean, have Illy coffee and beds were great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    modern and clean hotel. convenient to main tourist attractions by metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there's a net over the swimming pool which makes it less attractive to look at. and we don't know what it's for.

    just a few steps to Metro. Convenient to visit main attractions from hotel by metro. there's an elevator at a farther away metro entrance across the street, that allows us to easily carry our big luggages from metro to hotel. clean and modern hotel to have a comfortable stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like that I paid for a standard room and was expecting a view of the acropolis but my room ‘upgraded’ and i was put on the 3rd floor with a not so nice view.

    The staff were very polite and the breakfast was great, there was a lot to choose from. They have a gym and pool which are also really good. The room was spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surrounding area is full of graffiti, although so was every other area we went to.

    The renovation was beautiful and modern. The beds were super comfy and the balcony view was gorgeous. It was also around the corner from the metro that got us to the Acropolis in minutes!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall is a good place to stay when visiting Athens and the...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night.The rooms don’t have a good insulation and is hard to fell a sleep when can hear the conversation from the next room.

    Overall is a good place to stay when visiting Athens and the staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.0
    the roof top bar and view, the convenience of hotel to metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in sep in Stanley in 2017 and returned because our experience was so good then. This time I found that reception staff were very uncommunicative. Not very engaging. Also breakfast had gone down in standard. I'd expect fresh juices, and greater selection of breads and pastries. The staff in the breakfast area were very uncommunicative. We waited over one hour after ordering, in the roof top restaurant to get out meal. Last year we got a welcome drinks in our room on arrival.This year none. Seemed the whole atmosphere had become less welcoming and more functional.

    the roof top bar and view, the convenience of hotel to metro. The clean bright atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the short break :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is not very large, good length for actual swimming, but narrow, so if quite a few others are around at the time you can’t really swim. If a pool is important to you this may not be the best choice, especially in high season.

    Clean & comfortable, excellent staff, all the ones I spoke to or dealt with were very helpful & friendly. I very rarely stay in such large hotels as I prefer smaller places, but this was ok, it didn’t feel as anonymous as large hotels often do. I had a single room which was on the back of the hotel, just a view of lots of other balconies, but it did mean there was no traffic noise, it was a quiet room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Good location, right next to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, right next to the metro station. Helpful staff, clean rooms and a big lobby to chill in. Pool and restaurant on the rooftop with an Acropolis view. We were a group of 10, they upgraded our rooms upon arrival and we are thankful for that. Would definitely stay in The Stanley hotel again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    An easy and comfortable stay with a little disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was not a big fan of the pool and the pool area. The pool has no steps to get in just a ladder and its deep even in the shallow-end. Not a very kid friendly pool for the younger kids especially the ones who cannot swim or the w=ones who want to stand in the shallow-end and just play. The area around the pool is quite small considering the size of the hotel and the loungers are limited. So if you want to relax by the pool you need to get there a little earlier to get a good spot or even a spot at all some days. My biggest issue though with the hotel is that they took an amount off my card (holding amount as most hotels do). We paid Euro cash when we checked out and it has been over a month since our stay and I still have not had the holding amount released back into my card. I have emailed both them and booking.com and no one has helped. I tried to call the hotel but I cannot make international calls on my phone.

    The staff were always friendly and helpful. They arranged a cot for the 2 year old that was traveling with us. Breakfast was just divine, super fresh and yummy. The roof top had a beautiful view of the Acropolis. The biggest bonus for us was that the sightseeing (hop-on hop-off) busses have a stop right outside of the hotel which makes it supper convenient and you can buy the tickets through the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    front desk was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooftop bar is a bit run down and the staff not super friendly or helpful. had not requested twin beds but since they let us in the room early it was a good trade off.

    front desk was great... room, ac, view all excellent.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Handy for a two or three day stay in Athens if you are not fussy about the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The scary height, we stayed on the 8th floor Couldn't look down from the small square sized balcony

    Helpful staff The swimming pool area and bar Spacious room The bathroom Hop on and hop off bus stop just outside Room upgraded for free

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.8
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower kept flooding the whole bathroom. Really gave us no choice but to use one of the towels to keep the floor dry. !

    Central location. Excellent. Even a 24 deli downstairs if you feel hungry at 3am. Although not part of the hotel. Rooftop pool area and bar is a must.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel with an excellent and conveniently next to the metro station! Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints here.

    The rooftop view was amazing. The staff is helpful and pleasant to interact with. The location is superb, with the subway entrance just below the hotel, even a late night transfer from the airport was seamless and convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was really cozy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really cozy and clean. The beds were really comfortable. The breakfast was delicious and the staff always willing to help. Restaurant service was also nice. The pool looks better in the pictures but it was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in city centrum , restaurants , taxi , metro , tourist buses all very close.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 10 nights

    What is less than expected is toilet , and lifts ( only two available and really long time to wait during rush hours). One more less important remark: On reception they were unable to arrange hotel bill i the way that daily expenses are equal ( for example one day price is 80 € and next day 180 € despite the fact that booking price was 130 € per day).Total to be payed is according to booking but printed bill looks pretty strange for people that have to explain accommodation costs to company accountants.

    Nice hotel , walking distance to main squares and historic places. What is above expectations is breakfast, staff and kindness , climatisation , bed and possibility to have a coffee or tee free of charge in room. Hotel do offer free daily bottled water , welcome wine and beer .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, magnificent views, friendly and unpretentious, great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The balcony was too narrow and slightly dirty.

    The location and the view from the roof terrace! One can swim at the pool or eat at the roof garden and have magnificent views of both Lycavitos and Acropolis!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was very good, roof top pool was good, room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No furnishings on balcony, little view from room,

    Breakfast was very good, roof top pool was good, room was fair, very close to metro, staff were good at responding to inquiries prior to arrival.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is giant, so if you like a more personalized experience it might not suit you. The breakfast could be better.

    Good hotel. Marvelous view of the Parthenon and very easy to move around in all forms of transportation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Not a four star experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pictures of the room was very deceiving on booking.com. Bathroom vent was directly connected to the next room, I could hear "everything". Elevators in poor shape. Not a four star experience.

    Good staff, comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Everything is good.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing was they mischarged the 1st night’s room charge, causing I paid twice, but they refund the cost to me after I checked with them. Needs 5-7 days to be back to my account. Not so good for a guest coming far away.

    Everything is good. 1.5Km to Larissa Station, very convenient for traveling by train, by train is comfortable, convenient and cheap. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were super friendly, even ringing a few ours after check in to make sure everything was good, rooms were large and nice renovated bathrooms, complimentary beers x2 and a small bottle f wine and 2 small waters- bonus! location isnt right in centre of Athens but that is only a 20 minute walk and you get see many things others wont.....like where all the local shop

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.3
    Not a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was no water in the room, so even though we got in around 10pm, we had to walk around looking for somewhere to buy water to drink. The room was tiny and the bathroom even tinier. There was no space to move in the bathroom. Shower is so tiny that the shower curtain is literally resting on your back, which was quite disgusting. Environment wasn't very nice. There are homeless people sleeping outside the other side of the hotel at night. Streets around the hotel are dingy and unsafe at night. It's not in the centre of town, as it claims to be. Staff are very dismissive and unhelpful and do the barest minimum to assist. Not the worst hotel in the world, but I definitely wouldn't stay there again.

    There were taxis outside.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location near a metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smokers everywhere around the pool and roof terrace. A non smoking area would have been nice. Be careful walking around with glass on the floor.

    Good location near the metro. Nice to have a swim in the small pool after a hot day of sightseeing. Decent breakfast with a lot of choice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    outstanding staff go above and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was a little bit small but still with great views of the city. Could have also done with a bigger balcony in the room as there was no space to sit out.

    Lovely modern bathroom was great after 30 hours of travel from New Zealand!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small with three beds. Shower too small also.

    Great location. Loved restaurant on 9th floor. Excellent food and staff. Very convenient to rail station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    6.3
    Just to stay for overnight it is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception told us that we will get an upgrade for our room where we were positively surprised but when we entered the room we did not understand what the upgrade was as it was a little normal room for 3 persons ...? I don't know what kind of room we would get if there would have been no upgrade ... The surrounding is not that nice as there are many homeless people living very close by and asking you for money.

    The location is central .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    the restaurant had an outstanding view of Acropolis, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only difficulty we had was with the walking distance to the parking, there is no connection with the parking and the hotel. the area was relatively safe although not sure i would walk around by myself late at night.

    the restaurant had an outstanding view of Acropolis, the food was a bit pricey for Greece, stunning at night. the staff was extra friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.5
    Great views from the rooftop restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small and had a curtain rather than glass which made showering difficult and the bathroom floor very wet

    Location was great and only 10 euros in a taxi from the port

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was great . Location is very good next to metro station . Staff is very friendly , breakfast was excellent ,room is very good and clean .

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: