Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Greece hotel reviews
  3. Attica hotel reviews
  4. Athens hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Stanley

Reviews of The Stanley This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Odysseos 1- Karaiskaki Sq, Athens, 10437, Greece

#209 of 325 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 6276 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Very nice hotel. I was upgraded upon check in to a Superior Room. Room was very clean, new, and comfortable. Clean housekeeping. I arrived at 12 noon and didn’t wait for more than 15 mins to have the room. I will come back again within my next visit to Athens.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    8.8
    Good choice // value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything were ok

    A big hotel. Metro line is next to the entrance. Very good breakfast. My room was a little bit small but clean and had everything that i needed. Soundproofing is ok. Nothing from the neighbourhood but i could hear the noise from the corridor but it wasn't annoying. I'm really satisfied.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    10
    Great breakfast, clean and comfy room, good location, great service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I do not like. Everything is perfect.

    This is very good hotel, a real 4 star. Beautifully designed, simple and stylish. They offer free computor and printing service. Just at the metro, 4 stops to the city center. very clean room. The breakfast is so nice, different kinds of drinks, fresh fruits, fresh made dishes. Very nice hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    10
    Great location - Friendly staff - Pleasant stay in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much to say here... Everything was really good

    Very good location - close to Metro that could go to the main city. We got an upgrade upon our arrival and the receptionist was very friendly. Bonus for storage of our luggage the last day that we wanted to walk in the city WiFi speed more than satisfying

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    8.8
    Awesome staying, will be back soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing staying! Few steps away from the underground station, close to the downtown. Awesome room, comfortable enough, nice decoration! Parking area is available. Helpful staff and kind.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    6.7
    The cleaners didnt clean the room properly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners didnt clean the room properly.. No vacuum used. The didnt pick up the plates from the room that we had dinner the night.. Hairs at the bathroom and on the bathroom towels.. This needs to be fixed..

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    8.8
    Location very close to the metro station.
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When using the shower, the water gets on the floor. It is unpleasant and there is a risk of slipping.

    Location very close to the metro station. The restaurant on the roof with a gorgeous view.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    10
    Location is too good and the breakfast is also very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room didn’t have an AC only room Only heater. It is winter but I think the choice should be give to the customer.

    Location is too good and the breakfast is also very good. The lady at the reception was so helpful. We asked her doubts multiple times but she was so patient and always had a smile on her face. It was our anniversary and I had mentioned it once they sent champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate and it was a surprise .

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    6.7
    No comment.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Even though it was November it was warm and the AC did not work. Sleeping with the window open was extremely noisy because of a nightclub across the street with loud music spilling out in to the streets and loud fights from brawling people each night.

    Location is great. Metro station right out the door to the right.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    Very nice. Would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    We celebrated a birthday and the hotel staff was beyond wonderful. They helped us with every request and even provided a cake free of charge. The breakfast is very good and serves both continental and Greek style dishes. I definitely recommend checking out the view from the roof. The metro station is right outside the door, which is really convenient.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    Rooftop restaurant is excellent - great food and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room we had smelt like a smoking room though the hotel is said to be smoke-free. We were that this was likely because people smoked elsewhere and the smoke ended up in our bathroom through the vent system. That is probably true because the bathroom was worst, but the fact remains we both had sore throats for four days.

    Rooftop restaurant is excellent - great food and service. Overall friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    9.5
    Great location, great price clean tidy with all the amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff weren’t sure about tours after we inquired and there was a day waiting period

    Loved the rooftop bar and our view from the 6th floor balcony. Staff were very accommodating as we arrived early but they were able to arrange early checkin at no extra cost

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    8.8
    Good place at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It seemed the Hotel is trying to save on trivial things. We stayed for 4 nights. We expected shower cap, slippers, alcoholic drinks to be provided anew everyday, but they weren't. The room was renovated, however the bathroom, though spacious, did not seem renovated.

    The hotel's location is quite close to the centre, about 15-20 mins walk to all happening areas. Staff are polite and friendly. Good quality facilities and clean rooms. Free complimentary drinks (2 bottles of water, two cans of beer, and a small bottle of wine). Water was replaced everyday. Overall, good experience.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    It was a great stay and I definitely recommend The Stanley
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The elevator

    The staff were excellent and so friendly. Have stayed there before while it was not renovated. This time We were upgraded to a superior renovated room which was great ! Location and accessibility is wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Location next to train station, and the hop on hop off bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bread factory, coffee shops and dinner locations were very close, after a long day of site seeing!

    Location next to train station, and the hop on hop off bus stop! So very easy to get around the city!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    7.5
    weekend in Athens
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room and bathroom were a bit tight; location is not that good, other than being next to a metro station the neighborhood is a bit dodgy; balcony is big enough to have a couple of chairs and small table but it was not the case;

    comfy bed; nice balcony; double glazed windows; right next to the metro station; right next to "Bread Factory" pastry shop and restaurant which is open 24h; reception staff is nice and friendly; breakfast hall is huge and food selection is good.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    10
    It was a fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very kindly and professional, the location was the best, only a few blocks from the boulevard to go at Partenón site, but the best of all was the night view of the Partenón from de last floor of the hotel. Thanks you very much.¡¡¡¡

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only English TV channels available were sky news and bbc world news. The bed was not very comfortable.

    The location of the property was perfect. It was just outside of the busy areas so it was quiet at night times, but there was a metro station right outside the hotel that was only 2 stops away from the main square and sights. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, and the room we stayed in was clean and very nice.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    The location is great, metro is near.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no about hotel, only one recommendation: it is to be more attentive in the street and in the caffe : many thieves, including teenagers

    The location is great, metro is near. The staff are very polite and helpful. Room is clean. Thanks a lot and best regards

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.5
    One of the staff at the the reception was having an argument...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the staff at the the reception was having an argument with a customer which had problem with the room and they were screaming literally to each other without respecting others. I had to listen to the entire argument as I was trying to work on my laptop at the bar on the ground floor. Very disturbing incident.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.9
    Location and cleaning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really cold. There was no heating in the room. They told me that AC is working only for cooling, it does not heat. The water in the shower get cold during shower and didnt get warm back. I had to continue with cold water while the room is cold as well.

    Location and cleaning.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel. Great price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I know I should be out sightseeing but I’m surprised at hotels that don’t have movie channels!

    The location was perfect for quick access into the tourist part of Athens. The staff were exceptionally helpful. The room rate was very reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff, delicious meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The door card was wrong. We have stayed 4 nights and we must to change the door cards 2 times. The pool was small.

    Good location, helpful staff, clean room. Very delicious meals in the roof restaurant. The gym room was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.3
    Good location - helpful staff - clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There weren't small lamp next to the bed, so we light all of the lamp in the room,

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good location, near to metro station, near to the sights. The room was clean. The breakfast is enough. There is miracle view from the roof terrace. There were very good and delicious meals in the roof restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    9.2
    All in all, I enjoyed my stay at The Stanley, I would definitely stay there again on future visits.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathrooms in the rooms were very small and seemed outdated. To get in and out of the shower you had to close the door, the door almost touched the toilet. In my opinion the next renovation they need to make is on the bathroom. Aside from that I thought the room was great.

    Breakfast was very good, a lot of options. I enjoyed that they offered buffet-style breakfast. The breakfast are was big so you didn't feel you were sitting right next to someone else.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    8.3
    Good comfortable middle standard hotel with great staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lift service terrible! Bureaucratic breakfast arrangement in 2 different dining rooms meant that my colleague and I couldn’t eat breakfast together! Crazy!

    Great staff, good location, great views of Parthenon.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.3
    Everything except the noise was very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much noise from neighbors. I could not sleep till 1 at the morning, and was awake by their voices, at 6 in the morning.

    Everything except the noise was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    7.9
    The Top is Top.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small bathroom. Breakfast had a lot of choice but taste was mediocre. I would advise less choice but more quality. Like no brewed coffee but a cappuccino device with fresh grinded coffee.

    Excellent large top roof terrace and swimming pool. Fair prices of the drinks.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    4.6
    Food was good quality
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paper thin walls. Smoking on balcony. Noise at night. House keeping interrupting several times throughout 5 day stay. Very poor. Dont plan to stay there again.

    Food was good quality Room service / restaurant staff were great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    9.2
    Average hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the breakfast seemed ok at first glance, with plenty of options to choose from, the actual quality of the food was not that great. I was also surprised that the room only had two outlets. A disturbing fact was that in the morning it was quite noisy on the hallway as the cleaning ladies starts working quite early in the morning.

    The room was quite big, modern and clean. The location was also quite ok, near a metro station and on the roof there was a restaurant with excellent Acropolis view.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    The Stanley sttaf was helpfull and the housekeeping of the...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Be careful with taxi drivers outside hotel nearby.he tooks me money for one way without pushing the taxi meters

    The Stanley sttaf was helpfull and the housekeeping of the 5th floor makes are stay in the room clean and comfortable too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    7.9
    it was great.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaner bathroom.

    the staff was great helpful and smiling. the room was O.K with coffee machine. the breakfast a big variety. nice view from the breakfast room. Very easy access to the metro just outside the door.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    8.5
    Very clean, great access to public transportation, good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was very small, outdated and you barely could move without flooding the bathroom floor. Neighborhood was not very secure.

    The room was very clean, the restaurant had a good breakfast and the hotel was located a block from the subway.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    enjoyed the hotel very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The immediate area of the hotel is ok, there is a beautiful square. However, but when you get a bit further, especially in the evening, the environment is less than inviting.

    the room was spacious and very very clean. The bathroom was really large, fitted for phisically disabled guests. The staff was more than helpful: when booking, we asked for a double bed (not twin beds joined together). However the room had two adjoining twin beds. When we mentioned it upon arrival, immediately 4 roommaids arrived with an additional double mattress and new beddings, and arranged it in matters of moments. The hotel is located just "on top" of the metro station. The hotekl has a roof terrace and bar. The view is breathtaking (especially at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.3
    Good hotel, staff could be more enthusiastic when dealing with customers.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom. And generally the room was like old -renovated but not enough.

    Stayed in the hotel again. The key question is which room or floor you ll end up getting. Some more modern than others. Roof garden is a great asset.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    8.3
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast need to be improved, we can ear everything in the room: the other guests talking, the guest in the other rooms, and our experience in the restaurant wasn't the best, the server seem to not want to be there.

    Housekeeping was nice, in room dining was perfect and the people were nice. Location is ok.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    5.8
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Area was seedy No Acropolis view as promised Door to balcony was stuck and wouldn’t open Double bed was two single beds pushed together that kept moving apart Shower head over bath wouldn’t hook onto the rail so I had to hold shower to use it.

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is good with sight seeing bus...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bedroom slightly disappointing, not a lot of wardrobe space and bathroom a bit small in comparison with the size of the bedroom.

    The location of the hotel is good with sight seeing bus stops outside the hotel. Hotel bars and restaurants very good serving traditional cuisine. Would consider using the Stanley again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.1
    Not a 4 star experience, unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately It is not the best value for money. Rooms were renovated quite a long time ago, pictures do not show actual state. We were quite disappointed - only superior room offered as an upgrade saved our whole experience. Breakfast was not high quality. Facilities at property are not 4 star. I do not recommend pool or restaurant areas. No proper view of Acropolis, not a nice view from any side. Not a nice surrounding.

    Very professional Staff, high level of service as you would expect from 4 star hotel. It is quite close to city center and very close to metro station. We were offered a room upgrade which is the only reason why we had a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and up to expectations
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room, the staff, the cleanliness

    I got a room with twin beds instead of a double bed. No big deal, but next time I shall be sure to ask for a double bed specifically.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    6.7
    Value for low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was poor, I was stayed in different hotels at Athens and it was a pleasure to wake up for breakfast. The waiter even didn't agree to serve me my coffee and called me to come and take it with an angry face. The pool was ridiculous, very small and the water don't reach high. The floor of the pool looks like an old country club from the 70's. must Renovate!

    The hotel wasn't in a center area but had a metro in less than one minute walk away which was nice and comfortable. the room was in a nice size,clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was simple but offered something for everyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The lifts were kind of odd, didn’t stop at the desired floor and took forever to arrive. It was actually easier and faster to take the stairs, despite the fact that our room was located on the 7th floor! Pool area was small and could do with some modernisation.

    Breakfast was simple but offered something for everyone. Quality of the food offered was good. Beds very comfortable and water pressure in bathrooms excellent!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    10
    Modern centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed at The Stanley Hotel and enjoyed our stay very much. It is centrally located opposite the Fallen Aviators Monument. The hotel is new and modern and the location is ideal since it is directly next to the Metaxourgio metro stop, itself 3 stations from Syntagma and 4 from Acropoli on the red line. We arrived very late in the evening and the hotel staff received us in a very polite manner and it seems they upgraded us to a spacious apartment sized room that was peaceful and quiet with a comfortable bed and a great bathroom. Our apartment and amenities was very clean and tidy, the AC worked well, and there is a bar fridge. The hotel has a great rooftop bar with a stunning view of the Acropolis at night; there is also a swimming pool. There are several restaurants nearby and a fabulous bakery on the next street corner. The hotel offers good value for money and we would recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast was rich and the reception welcoming.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was not so spacious and modern and the mini bar in the room is without water. They provide half bottle wine for free but it would be more useful not to have to buy water

    The breakfast was rich and the reception welcoming. Rooms were comfortable and the hotel has good services (gym, restaurant…)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor issue. The hotel is built over many levels and has mezzine areas for breakfast. I found it confusing.

    Good breakfast. Very efficient check in service. Hotel is clean. Good wi fi. Good location. Lovely rooftop bar and pool with lovely view of the Acropolis. Fitness centre is well equipped.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool size is just a joke... the pictures on booking.com are definitly taken from a special angle that I didn’t find. The sector of the hotel is really bad, ugly streets, the picture below is my view from my room : horrible ! This is a 2* hotel not a 4 ! Not recommending !

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    5.0
    Very low value for money. big disapointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was different from the pictures published. A bad feeling of deception. It looked more like a warehouse than a family room.

    The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast buffet was very good and offered a wide...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel is very nice but it's very much a business hotel with a high turn around of guests and some of the staff were lovely but there were one or two who could have been a bit more friendly. Overall a good hotel to use for a one night stop over. Our room was on the front and the traffic noise was quite loud. The bathroom was a bit tired .

    The breakfast buffet was very good and offered a wide variety of choice. The bed was very comfortable. The roof top bar and pool are very nice and you get a great view of the Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    5.4
    The bed was comfortable, the staff were nice
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was absolutely dreadful, immigrant area of town, highly dilapidated, needles on pavement and deviant sex acts in green spaces.

    The bed was comfortable, the staff were nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a pleasant stay in a clean and friendly hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable. Bathroom on the small side.

    Location good - right on a metro stop and a hop-on-hop-off bus stop. People were really lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    9.2
    Surprisingly nice stay. Amenities as restaurant and pool were a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower wasn't the best.

    I like the view from the pool and restaurant. The discount for dinner and drinks was a nice surprise. Overall I liked the room with a little balcony and nice view to the city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable and relaxing I will use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the room could have been better, this was a international hotel I would have thought these facilities would have been geared to international guests and not just Greek

    Breakfast was excellent, both in the restaurant and room. Hotel location was central with easy access to the Metro. the complementary drinks in the fridge were exceptional and welcome in the heat

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    Suited our needs well for touring Athens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was tiny. Shower was pretty basic.

    Good choice of breakfast. Rooftop bar and restaurant were good with spectacular views of the Acropolis. Location good for Metro.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.9
    Good 4-star hotel with nice facilities and awful wifi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is a bit small for the price. I wouldn't say it was uncomfortable, but it didn't really match my taste. The wifi connection was terrible, I got disconnected multiple times, this is not acceptable in a 4-star hotel.

    Nice location next to a metro stop. The staff is competent although they could speed up check-in a bit. There are some nice facilities including a rooftop pool!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    Warm Welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very kind and helpful staff. As an extra surprise, they upgraded our room from a normal one to a superior one for free. This included a small bottle of wine and some beers. This gesture was much appreciated after an exhausting boat trip from Paros to Athens! Our room was recently renovated; except for the bathroom, but this was certainly not a dissappointment. On the contrary, it was very clean with everything we needed. Big plus was the Nespresso machine with daily new cups and tea. Water was also resupplied on a daily basis Location is excellent. A subway station is right in front of the hotel and all the cool neighbourhoods and touristic stuff are within 20-30 minutes walking distance. Be sure to visit the roof top bar by night to get a view of the Acropolis/Parthenon. Highly recommended hotel when travelling to Athens.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    We got a room that is pland for handicap ( we didn’t ask for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We got a room that is pland for handicap ( we didn’t ask for that and no one told us about that ) The bathroom was flooded every time we took a shower because there is no glass wall around. Also there was no carpet in the room because of that.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    The hotel is very close to the metro station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very close to the metro station. We stayed there for 2 nights in the beginning of the trip and for one night before we leave. We got an upgraded room the first time we stayed, which had free drinks and a fancy coffee machine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was nice but could have been warmer and rooms were nice but bathrooms haven't been updated along with the bedroom (standard renovated room)

    So easily accessible by metro. Literally steps from the metaxagourio station, so easy if you get one of the metro cards you can hop on and off wherever you like and only few stops from the acropolis metro with lots of restaurants etc in this area. Staff were friendly and helpful and not invasive. Roof top area is nice but pigeons are a pain (not that hotelhave any control of this) The hotel accommodated our special occasion providing us with a lovely anniversary gesture on our first night, a really lovely touch and much appreciated. A few reviews we've seen have said the area wasn't nice or they had people approaching them, however we never experienced this at all!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.8
    Lovely weekend away! Hotel was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was fine in distance but was located right next to a dodgy section of Athens! And was really horrible to walk around in at night

    The size of the rooms were great! And hospitality was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.9
    Beds were very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom door wouldn't stay closed. We reported it to reception and was told an engineer would have a look at it, but it was never fixed. Also, the cleaner left both patio doors wide open after cleaning the room. Not very secure.

    Beds were very comfortable. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    10
    World-class service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My entire stay was amazing! The hotel staff went beyond their professional obligations to make sure I felt comfortable during my stay, and every little thing was taken care of. They organized my transfers to and from the airport and were extremely nice during my stay. Additionally, the complimentary itineraries for my 3-day stay in Athens I received by e-mail and the farewell message I got after I got home were a nice touch. I highly recommend The Stanley for its excellent service and staff - it's in my personal top 3 of over 100 hotels I've visited in the last 15 years all over Europe and the USA.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.3
    It was OK for only one night we stayed there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath tub was clogged and we had to call a technician at midnight to fix it, after the bathroom was flooded. Parking was at an extra cost, so no free parking.

    Rooftop restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.3
    Budget but ok, not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Looks good but actually fairly budget. Small rooms. Tiny bathroom that was a bit dirty and tired. Breakfast was average and like a school cafeteria. Not much in the neighborhood and long walk through dirty sketchy part of town to get to the tourist district

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    6.7
    Good location of the hotel and nice little stay. Some commodities should be redone (pool)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast wasn't very nice, although we had quite a lot of choices. The pool area was very crowded and the pool in a poor condition. It didn't appear very clean...

    Confortable hotel not too far from the center of Athens, really useful to have the metro just at the bottom of the hotel. Small but confortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel and amazing views from rooftop bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Television had no English channels but my daughter next door to us had a lot of English channels- sometimes it's nice to keep up to date with news and a nice programme/movie to relax in bed after being out and about all day. Informed reception who tried to get it fixed but just never worked - you expect a hotel of this high standard to have a working television in your room.

    Very clean facilities and very comfortable bed. The staff were happy to go the extra mile to be helpful and always with a smile. Our flight was at night but allowed to stay in the room til 1:30pm then for a small charge allowed us to book a cheaper priced room til when we wanted to leave for the airport at 6pm. Room cleaned every day with clean linen. Excellent variety of food for breakfast and amazing panoramic views from the rooftop bar. Excellent location and right next to the Metro underground and the tourist sightseeing buses and lots of restaurants around.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    5.4
    Clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room With Extra Bed - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We made reservation for renovate rooms. The room itself was renovated, but the bathroom and toilets were definitely old (completely not like the pictures). Only in the second night they agreed to change the rooms, and only then we got completely renovated rooms. Be careful!!

    Clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    Good location, metro station in front of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough escalador for the size of the hotel

    Good location, metro station in front of the hotel. Wonderfull view from the pool and the restaurant. Very comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    It’s a value for money hotel with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front desk is not very good with English. May not be kind to you if you are Asian.

    It’s a value for money hotel with everything you need. Very very close to the metro train.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Loved the view of Acropolis !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the view of Acropolis ! Beds very comfortable ! Will definitely stay here again . In fact my niece will be staying there in a few weeks with her husband !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    4.6
    Bad value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paid for a double room. Got a small room with a single person bed. Not good value for money at all.

    The check in and out process was efficient and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.8
    Everything was great except that we found out its not safe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Renovated Room with Acropolis View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great except that we found out its not safe to walk out in the area surrounding the hotel. Dont even think of taking the metro. Taxi is ur best option to go back and forth

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    8.5
    The room was beautiful and I felt so comfortable and safe...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Renovated Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was beautiful and I felt so comfortable and safe traveling alone. I even got the chance to have a nice relaxing bath. The breakfast was so yummy & the buffet had pretty much everything you could want.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, but room basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When walking from the hotel to the main area of the Acropolis you walk through a junky area, not pleasant. The bath in the room is really small

    Nice hotel, but room basic. Not renovated as booked

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great location -- would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was in a great location, as the metro was just around the corner and quickly accessible and convenient. Breakfast selection was good, the pool was nice, and the view from the rooftop quite lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    4.6
    This is the noisiest hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room - Renovated
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from other rooms, corridor & from the cleaning crew & their machines. The big bang rooms’ doors that keep slamming day & night. Furniture being moved in upper room after 2 AM. I never had a good night sleep during my stay

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Stanley Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: