Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stavros Villas

Main Street, Karterados, 84700, Greece

#8 of 15 Holiday rentals in Karterados

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 171 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 64

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool is rather small and shallow, but hey, the rate would have been great even without the pool

    Great location, in the heart of the island, away from the hustle and bustle of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too simple, would have require more local product specifications (yogurt, fruits, ...)

    We arrived very early on the morning and we were able to do our checking at 7 am to rest from our travel. The owner is very nice and arraget for us some visit and the rental of our transportation. Nice pool Beautiful sea view for the sun rise

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one point. That the reception wasn’t open when we arrived at 2.30pm had to wait until 4. But hey this is Greece so no worries

    Staff super friendly and helpful in every way. Property extremely well maintained and very pretty. It’s about a 20 minute walk into Thira but there are a few good bars and restaurants closer. The rooms beds and towels cleaned every day. Great central location for exploring Santorini

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found Mr Stephan and Ms Eva very friendly and helpful. They provided us all of the needed information for two-day visits. What you need to do is to tell them your duration of stay, and they will suggest you the perfect plan. We were picked up 1 AM in the morning from the airport, and Mr Stephan also dropped us. The staff serving the breakfast and housekeeping were very pleasing. Within 10 minutes walk from the Villas, there is Karterados bus stop. You will find all the bus connections (Except Oia) there. You can book the boat trip in the reception without any additional cost. This is very convenient to go around the Island. We strongly recommend the accommodation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no toiletries in the bath, hardly any space in bathroom, ok room. not even water provided by the hotel, you have to pay for it. the pool very small.

    it was very average.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow.... and the shower was the best, there is attention to detail in the layout of the property a lovely clean pool and easy access to the airport. A big thank you to Eva and Stephen for my visit to Stavros Villa so wonderful!

    Eva and Stephen were so genuinely helpful and kind, I was given so much information about the island. The room was very clean and spacious, with clean linen and everything you could need. The site is quiet, perfect for a relaxing break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paid 5 EUR breakfast could be improved, especially compared with the 5.9 EUR breakfast buffet in the city centre.

    The staff is friendly. The space in the room is also quite large, including a big and comfortable shower room. It is a nice option if you don't prefer to live in the city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you intend to use public buses, keep in mind the bus stop is a bit far from the venue. Credit cards not accepted (!)

    The room view was fantastic. Clean and well arranged space. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities were very old. Towles and bed sheets too, lights were down for hours also we couldn't sleep beacuse of the light and we hear noise from other rooms.

    nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, location, facilities & everything it was the worst experience ever & its very expensive however it doesnt deserve half the money & ill never go back there even for free

    Nothing we didnt like anything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stavros, Emma and Eva were all really nice to deal with. Cute family run business. Thank you to Artemis for renting the car to us and dropping it off. We will be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there 4 nights and it was really good,clean,spacious,20 min walk from the bus stop and 30 min from Fira city center.A nice swimming pool. The owner a very helpull man in anything we needed it an Eva his daughter a nice smile to receive always. I recommend this place.Really nice for us it was

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you dont hire a car or anything its a fair walk into town or the beach on the other side of the island

    the staff were super lovely, really clean place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is CASH ONLY - which was not indicated at all on your website, so I had to withdraw cash to pay for the accommodations.

    The staff was incredibly helpful and took care of us - arranged car rentals, tours, etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were not full black out. Too much light was coming from door also. Thus, we were waking up with the first light in the morning.

    It is located in the centre of the island. 3 minutes by car, from Fira. Quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not very near from the see, neither from the most populous part of the island. But the island itself is so small anyway, that in 10 to 20 minutes you cross it by car.

    Not the best location in the island, but the place is OK if you have rent a car. I found the price a bit high, but everything in Santorin is overpriced anyway. The room is comfortable. The staff is kind; my refrigerator was doing to much noise at night, I told the staff about it and in the other day they installed a new one. And there was a parking place.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly further out of town so need to definitely hire transport around the island. Otherwise great

    Comfy bed, good room size, great pool, excellent aircon. Lovely friendly family business.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi is not that stable, so come to relax and don't bring any work. The location is not quite close to any public transportation, but walk for 30 minutes/cab for 9 minutes takes you to the city center Fira, where you can then go anywhere. The location is great if you want to stay in a quiet place far away from tourist crowds.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful, amazing view and swimming pool. Wonderful experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It takes around 25 minutes to walk to Fira. It takes more than 10 minutes to the first bus stop, however the owner is happy to drive you to town if you need (7€).

    Nice and friendly owners. Clean room. Quiet at night. It was very hot in Karterados so having a pool to cool down was nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent recepcion of the owners. They made our stay memorable. Very helpful with everything, transfers, car rental and tours. Quiet place but a minute from lovely Imerovigli and Fira!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Distance from main road/ town, lack of nearby food options. Lack of tea/ coffee making facilities in the room- would have been nice to be able to just have at least coffee in the room in the morning (I ended up buying my own French press to solve this).

    The staff at Stavros were lovely, especially Emmanuela the receptionist, who went out of her way to help book tours and transport. However, solo travellers on foot should note this hotel is really quite a walk up a steep hill to the nearest village, with very limited food options. The walk up to the main road/ bus corner is about 20 minutes, mostly uphill. The nearest beach is lovely (Katerados Beach) but is about a 45 min walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you are in Santorini you definitely need a car to move around freely and enjoy all its beaches, views and hidden treasures, so even if this apartment is not within walking distance from all of the most famous spots in the islands, it is not a problem... actually it's a benefit! The apartments are nice, cosy and with a lovely terrace facing the black beaches on the east coast... a little far from Thira's noisy roads, it's perfect to sleep after a long day around the island. the family running it is very kind and helped us with tips on where to go eat and swim.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about but beware if picking up a taxi at the airport. Our driver took us on a 15 minute drive when it could easily have been less than five. Obviously he charged us accordingly. I knew our accommodation was close to the airport , in fact it was so close we walked there to catch our flight home

    For the price we paid this little hotel is excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has been a pleasant stay even though too short. The hotel is great value for money and it is well positioned ... not far from both the beach and Fira and anyway in Karterados there’s all you need. The room was clean and spacious. The staff always friendly and smiling helped us with atv rental, excursions, transfers and advice on good value for money restaurants ...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stay at Stavros Villas twice at is always a great pleasure. No worries. My room was always sharp. Great customer service and always feel like home in Santorini.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was super friendly and accomodating. They offered suggestions on attractions and restaurants during our short stay on the island. Made us feel at home!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The furniture is a bit old and the mattress a bit uncomfortable. The room where we stayed in was oriented to the east and every morning the sunlight entered through the door and windows and wake up us, as there was no blind. With slight improvements it could become a nice place to stay when visiting the island.

    Staff is really nice and helpful. The room is spacious. Swimming pool and common areas are also nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was basic but great for the price. If you are not a walker you will need transport to get around. There are many lorries passing during the day and due to the geography of the road they get a full view of the pool area when passing.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Emma. They gave us great information about the local area and sights on the island. The Villas are equidistant between the black sands beach and the town of Fira, but 1.7 miles or 30 minutes walk away, although keep in mind the beach is downhill and Fira is uphill. Car hire is offered but everything is within reasonable walking distance with the town of Karterados only 10 mins away. The room was small and basic but sufficient for 2 people and ideal if you are going to use the room as a base while you explore the island. The pool area is clean and gets the sun all day and the pool itself is crystal clear and cool.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were horrible pillows were like concrete, outside our room were the washing lines for the whole of the hotel we were stuck down a side of the hotel traveling with 2 children in prams this was not ideal. We were not happy at all.

    Honestly nothing really

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Good base to explore the island. Transport is a must (there is an ATV rental place about 8min walk which cost 20euro for 24hrs in July). Very friendly staff, arranged transfers for us to a port, and provided information about the island. Large rooms. Although a little expensive, in the July high season i would still recommend as good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looked very different online- pool was tiny! Location wasn't the best, 25 mins to Fira but if you don't mind the walk or have a car or scooter it's fine.

    Staff all lovely and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is bit away from fira town so requires walking or hiring of transport for catching public transport or for eating out. But that we already knew when we booked this place. Someone stole petrol from the almost full tank of our hired ATV that we parked outside the apartment in the night, maybe a passers-by or Co residents. Though the owners said it was unheard of but it did happen with us. Better to fill only as much as you can finish during the day and hire the bikes with fuel tank locks. The breakfast is home made simple cheese ham and toast with boiled egg and tea/coffee/juice. And then it's repeated next day. Some variety will be really helpful. Greek yogurt, cereals and fresh fruits could be easily added.

    Excellent helpful family owned business, comfortable and spacious accommodation with lovely balconies and a nice little pool to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no drinking water.

    The swimming pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, nice clean room, in a quiet part of the island

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not available all the time

    Very nice and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts were very nice and hospitable. Would always be very quick to comply to any requests

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a few more options for breakfast

    Lovely staff! Gorgeous view absolutely amazing time in Santorini

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small

    Very helpfull and nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners where absolutely amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything about Stavros!!! :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints!!

    It was ideally what I needed. It was away from all of the hustle and bustle, which is what the description said.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to restaurants, lovely staff, good view from the rooms. Good shuttle service from the airport, maybe a little expensive

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good people and very nice place for holiday in Santirini.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room does not have any view. Small too

    Clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is 15 min walk from the nearest bus stop.

    It is a neat little place in a quiet locality and complete value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's just a little far from down town for someone without a car. Taxi is like €7.00 from Fira

    Great hospitality!! The girl who checked us in was amazing! Xxx

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception wasn't open when we arrived despite it being 1pm in the afternoon. We waited an hour for someone to arrive who had gone out to lunch despite knowing we were coming. The villas are not close to anything on the island and require either a 30 minute walk or renting a car. The room was not clean and lacked shampoo. The deals recommended by the host were worse than those we had already found just walking around on the island.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You can't really go without a car or motorbike due to the steep hill. Rooms are basic. Some hidden behind the building.

    Very friendly and helpful staff/family. Nice pool, relative quiet.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you don't have a car oder so, you have to walk quite a bit to Fira busterminal. But it wasn't a problem for us...

    Free arrival transfer & friendly staff, that organised car rental and exkursion. Brakefast can be eaten there!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Slightly far from the beach and centre of Santorini. Not an issue if you have transport though.

    Staff are incredibly helpful. Arranged out Buggy to be picked up and dropped back at the property. Also arranged a day trip for us. The prices they offer are cheaper than what you would get on the high street. Lovely rooms and hotel would definitely stay again if in Santorini!

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The door in our bathroom only opened half way and there was a step getting into the bathroom that took some getting used to, after we got sore toes the first day or 2. The mattress was old and uncomfortable. The rooms are a bit small. You need a car or motor bike to get to the beach or to Fira unless you like walking uphill a lot in hot days. They are not close, but with transportation the beach or the center of town are just a few minutes drive. But you won't be staying locally much as there is a lot to see around the entire island which has breath taking views. Be aware that there are some rooms in the back of the hotel and a couple downstairs with no view..

    The staff was great and the a/c was working really well as we could adjust it ourselves with the remote. We liked the big refrigerator and the sink in the room we had (not all rooms have a mini-kitchen). Liked the view of the Aegean as well from our balcony and the outdoor pool was good. Proximity to the local beach and Fira was a plus (with a car). It was a cute hotel (white & blue) with marble throughout and ample parking. This is a pretty decent hotel if you are on a budget. There are stores, restaurants and 2 bakeries nearby without having to go into town.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There wasn't a view of the ocean and was a little in land but to be honest it didn't really affect us as we spent very minimal time at the hotel.

    The staff went out of their way to make us happy and accomodate us. Organised quad bikes for us that where waiting upon arrival and a descent price and had provided activities to do on the island.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stavros and his daughters were extremely friendly and welcoming. Stavros personally picked us up (despite arriving at 4AM) to and from the airport. From there, we were able to book ATV and other services through them. We had a few flight delays and room change, and they were all very accommodating of it. All in all, it's a great price for a basic place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location, quite a walk up a hill to the small village & bus stop.

    Clean room with a good shower. Large sunny balcony with views across fields to the sea.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a bit more than 20min to Thera, rather 30-40 min depending on your walking skills (uphill..)

    Very friendly staff, clean and spacious room, great value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    When we returned to the hotel at 10pm, the wifi was not connecting at all and the reception was closed for the evening - so this lasted all night into the next morning when I had to ask for the modem to be reset. Breakfast, which was not included and cost €5, was comprised of stale toast, a small piece of coffee cake, and an egg. 30 minute walk into Fira.

    Stavros and his daughter were very friendly and informed us of different excursion options. Stavros was kind enough to offer to drive me to the port at 6AM.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I loved my stay in Stavros! The family makes you feel at home and welcomes you with open arms. They are very caring and help you with everything. I would stay here again when I come back to Greece! Thank you :)

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the location is quite inconvenient. the walk to the nearest bus station is far and bus schedule is usually infrequent and unpredictable making it basically not feasible to take the bus. so we took taxi to fira instead to change to other buses, which cost 5 euro.

    free pickup to and from airport, extremely efficient replying to email enquiries, friendly staff (they are actually a family run business and the whole family was friendly and helpful - there was no water kettle originally but they gave me one straight away once i asked for it, same for extra blankets). they really care about your needs. on the day of check in they even made us coffee and tea and gave us a map of santorini showing where all the attractions are and stavros, the owner, showed us where all the supermarkets are. the rooms are very spacious and beautiful, and they provide a lot of utensils and cups. all in all extremely good value for money and i had a great time.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Family run

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Older

    Staff were great very helpful

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff! When I arrived I was without shoes and the lovely lady at reception loaned me a pair of her shoes for me to use!

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stavros and his daughter were amazing!! So helpful and really cared about your stay with them

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The warmth and hospitality of this family-run hotel is unbeatable. Professional, kind and courteous service.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 64

Guests also reviewed these properties: