Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sun Beach Resort Complex 4 stars

Ialysos Beach, Ialyssos, 85101, Greece

#18 of 43 hotels in Ialyssos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The housekeeper never cleaned the room and the staff was rude. We asked for a quiet room and got a room above the childcare and they were fixing and working on the rooms next to us so that woke us up early.

    Nice place for family’s, good kids area and nice locations. The bartender at the beach bar was awesome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    You need cash to pay for the beach chairs if you choose to rent them on the beach (chairs at the pool are free), wish you were able to pay at the front desk for the whole stay, so you don't have to remember to have cash on you while laying out.

    Great stay, very relaxing week. The staff was very helpful, they also provided information about taking the city bus, along with a timetable, and contacted taxis when needed. Supermarket right across the street is convenient for drinks, snacks, pool floats, sun block, quick souvenirs, and more. Also, the having rental cars on the premises made renting for the day super easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at midnight, no water, milk , brew facilities. Asked at reception suggested we go to one of few open restaurants to ask for water!!!Had a bath , let water out and it came up through drain in bathroom.. only staying 1 night as moving to other Sun Beach complex following day

    Room good, clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall it was very good, should be more choices of food on the pool Bar menu

    The staffs were all amazing. Very well situated. The only issue is with the sun lounger, the pool area gets full up quite quickly n not enough sun lounger to accommodate for everyone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Crowdy beach, there could be more places

    I was my 3rd time in this hotel. Best location on this island for a windsurfer. Kind staff, no problems-what else? Haven't been to other places in Greece, but people of Rhodes-hat's off!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2-5 Adults) with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Beach looks great but it is not sandy but with (large) pebbles and even rocky stones in the sea. Actually it's sandy only partially but the sea access is not sandy at all. Also the sea access is very steep and then it's getting deep very quickly so kids can't use it. We booked the hotel for the sandy beach but we spent only half a day on the beach and had to rent a car to get to other beaches. Pool is far to small for the size of the hotel with not enough beds . Wi-fi in the room is not working at all. Gym - don't expect much (few old machines, not working well, no free weights...)

    Very good size of the room (family room with a sepaarte bedroom). Good level of cleanliness. Very helpful rent-a car company based in the hotel (friendly, good service, pricing on the level of web offers). Great view from our top level sea-view room. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Pools closed at 7 pm every night. The Night Entertainment could have been better - but that might be depending on your taste. The main food (desserts and fruits were great) in the hotel was not that good - it was buffet-style, but lots of it without taste. The room could have been a little bigger for 4 people but we didn't spend too much time inside anyway. The beaches close by are all rocky.

    The hotel was super clean and so were the rooms. The pools were awesome, the Staff was friendly. It was very close to the beach and very close to some great restaurants. The desserts and the fresh fruit every day at the buffet were very yummy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was spot on for a relaxing week. Lovely bedroom, good good and really good cocktail. Staff couldn't do enough for us, always welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not very easy to find, not a lot of parking. Beach is pebbly.

    Very good food in buffet restaurant, lots of food choices. Location on the beach, near windsurfing station.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Communication with hotel staff was ridiculously complicated. Directly after booking I asked them to do 3 things: enable late departure for me, make a taxi booking and prepare a baby cot. In the end I needed to write them 5-6 mails about it and it took several days to regulate (keeping in mind, that they have ignored my first mail). They were not able to book late departure for me, and I needed to offer them an idea to pay for 1 extra night. With a taxi they asked me several times to confirm, that I really want them to book it, trying to avoid it, so I booked it by myself. Finally, they managed to reserve a baby cot, but then answered me via booking.com, that if I want to have a baby cot as a sleep place for extra person, then this is not possible, which was totally irrelevant for my case. The hotel ignored meal prices in my booking and forced me to pay extra money for dinner and breakfast. After I mentioned, that my reservation claims cheaper prices, they rejected to reduce the price, saying that I should have booked it in advance, although there was no such option at the time I did the booking. They also forced me to pay for the deposit safe, although it was included in the booking. All in all, hotel staff is polite and tries to look helpful, but if you ask them for something even a bit unusual, like to book a taxi, or reduce a price for dinner according to your booking, they will probably reject it without any options. The same with a car rental service from hotel. I asked them to give me a child seat for several hours to go for a tour to the city of Rhodes, and the guy at the car rental (affiliated with a hotel) rejected it, even though I offered him to pay for it. Actually, he lied me, that he never gives out a child seat without a car. But when I rented a car from another company, they somehow managed to get a child seat from him. The hotel does not have own beach, and you need to pay 3 Euro per sunbed per day. Animation was really weak.

    The hotel area is very big (several buildings and area around) and includes multiple restaurants and water pools, including a big one, where you can even play water polo etc. There are also fields for mini-football, mini-golf, volleyball, etc. There are table-tennis tables, pool tables and a lot of other staff available. Hotel is family-oriented. There are at least 3 playgrounds for children, which was very useful in my case, and 2 playing rooms where children can play under supervision of animation team. There is even a small stage for performances in the evening (for children and families). They have at least 2 water pools for children, 50-60 cm deep, which is perfect. One of this pools has a very nice water slide, which my son liked a lot. A big advantage is that there is no rescue on the beach, and the staff do not try to hang a red flag because of minor waves (like, for example, in Germany). Actually, there is always a bit windy and waves are almost always there (but I would say they are minor). So you can really swim as far as you want without any interruption from rescue service, and you can enjoy waves. Since it is always windy, you do not feel too much hot there, and it is quite comfortable to stay on the beach and to walk around. If you do not like when it is too hot, like me, this location fits perfectly. Food in the main restaurant is very good, tasty and high quality. The service in the restaurant is also very good. The restaurant at the pool also looks very good and prices are adequate there, they often have very nice live music at the evening, etc. Our apartment was located directly on the beach, we had a very nice view from our balcony, and it was very comfortable for us with a small child to go to the see, pools, etc. The 2-room apartment was quite big and comfortable, although not really new/renovated. If you want to do wind-surfing, 2 rentals are located 50 and 200 meters away from the hotel, which is very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drinks and beverages at the dinner was extra cost and not cheap, that was really something new to my experience...

    Lady at the desk was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room that I supposed to book was at the front. but the reception gave me from behind.Althogh they upgrade my room to superior room.Thank you

    staff was very kind and helpfull.Hoel was clean and tidy.Food was very sufficent and delicious.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun beach 2 is 30 m away from beach( need to cross the road) , planes noise as hotel is on the flights course.

    Friendly welcome. Good variety of food for buffet. Clean room. And OK location. Amusing animation program during summer times. Good quality/cost ratio

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Unfortunately, if the kids are younger than 4 years old it is mostly up to the parents to entertain them because the activities conducted by the animation team intended for kids older than 3 or 4 years old. If the hotel had a supervised baby club it would add a huge value. Most dishes were poor quality. On one of the days I asked for a non-alcoholic mojito in the pool bar but the barman said that they don't do it - they strictly follow the list from the bar menu, it happened to me for the first time ever that the barman could not do a mojito without an alcohol.

    On the whole, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel a lot. Staff were very friendly and nice. Animation team was good. The hotel has a very good entertainment for kids aged from 3-4 years old. The food was not great but there were always at least one or two nice things among hot dishes to choose. Big variety of delicious desserts for dinner! Taking into account that there are so many great restaurants around it was not a problem in general. Because we chose this hotel for proximity to windsurf and kitesurf spots - for us it was perfect. We enjoyed pool in the morning, windsurfing in the afternoon and minidisco at night. Minidisco was one of the best things in this hotel. It is also great that the hotel is so close to the airport and to Rhodes town - very convenient. I would stay there again if I come to Ialyssos for windsurfing.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large Cockroaches in the room which staff claimed is normal for clean rooms. Hotel directly under flight path which can be heard from room. Having to pay extra to use the sunbeds on the beach even though it should be private. General uncleanliness of the hotel room such as mould on the ceiling. First room provided to us was not as advertised overlooking a dirty ceiling and the pool and not the sea. Reception staff were stubborn and unapologetic.

    Location on beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault anything!!

    Animation team-AMAZING my 4yr old didn't want to come home! Hotel- spotlessly clean Rooms- cleaned everyday Staff- All so friendly and helpful Food- Excellent so much choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Garden View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    There are several buildings. The pictures here show only the firs one with the expensive rooms. The breakfast menu never changes.. it is always the same. So no variety.

    Quite huge hotel. You can find a shop and the restaurants there. Its very handy. The location is also very good. It is very close to the sea beach and to the street restaurants. So you may choose were you want to have a dinner. There are several playgrounds, so if you are with kids its very convenient. The staff is very nice and polite. The rooms are clean, but the standard rooms are quite small. The surfing station is nearby, so if you like windsurfing it is the right place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its complex with two buildings. One has the pool (studio apartments) other building cross the street. It wasn't mentioned in the booking.com

    Staff is great , very clean place, location is 15 min from city

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing really ... but if I have to write something here ... perhaps more beds at the pool :-)

    Excellent value for money and great activities for children and adults. Clean rooms and great buffet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Failure to provide drinking water without charging for it Internet service

    Food Animation team Reception and actually pretty much all staff The island of Rhodes is a fantastic destination

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Garden View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel is on the landing line of the Rhodes Airport, where in average each 5 minutes planes are flying over the hotel, making to much noise. Wi-Fi service is working good only in the reception.

    Good hotel with useful apartments. Staff very kind. Good animation and sport activities with nice animators. Good hotel infrastructure.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2-5 Adults) with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had to be up early to get a sun lounger despite warnings about putting towels out early.

    Very spacious apartment for 5 people. Children really enjoyed the mini club.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Garden View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was mixed and there were some odd combinations on offer. Sun beds reserved early with no action taken to remove towels on unused beds.

    Reception staff were professional and courteous on arrival. We upgraded our room to a suite with a sea view which was lovely.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am a frequent world wide business traveler and found the staff very friendly, helpful and professional. Great location, right on the beach - which was very nice - and a brief 10-15 min drive from Rhodes' Old Town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Kids Suite Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 22 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is patchi and slow.

    The staff is very friendly. The food is good. The location for windsurfing is nice as was windy every day. Kids had fun with the great animation team

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2-5 Adults) with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The animation team was fantastic, so friendly and professional. The food was very nice, to bad the buffet was indoors. The room was lovely, had an amazing view over the sea. The beach was nice, but a bit too steep and wavy for our young children.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we didn't like the beach because it was windy but you cannot do a lot for this.

    very nice breakfast, nice location, clean rooms and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi worked in our room but only in one place

    Hotel right on the beach. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. There looked to be lots of activities for children in hotel and windsurfing close by. The Beach bar served simple and tasty snacks along with a good selection of drinks, just right for a break from the beach. The Cocktail bar served a good selection of cocktails and had a 'Happy Hour' just before dinner. Lots of restaurants, bars and shops to choose from close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We got room with beautiful sea view instead of garden view, beach was nice and very close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very comfertable for public transportation

    2 rooms. Comfertble kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2-5 Adults) with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea is not sand. Some egg smell where we eat. Animation song repeated too many times

    Animationteam. Programs on the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi could still be faster.

    Great place for family.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach had rocks and stones instead of sand.

    Little piece of haven

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    kitchen too basic for us like to cook breakfast or lunch and towels were very small and old

    view

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly staff, very tasty food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi totally poor, smell in room, cleaning not up to standard

    Food was good and service in dining room was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Garden View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wireless connection is terrible!

    The sea view rooms are perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi is absolutely terrible

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Apartment (2-5 Adults) with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault it

    Location and facilities were excellent. Pools and entertainment were great. All staff very nice had a fabulous holiday

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs renovation and refurbishment. Internet very slow or not working in the room.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When checking out there was no one on the desk. Room service wasn't that good...best use supermarket or go near by to one of the restaurants.

    We used it because this hotel was near the airport, it was user friendly and quiet. Nice fruit, good beds. It's child friendly, and the pool were full of kids. There's a great mini super market at the hotel so that kept the price down for breakfast and dinner (beers).

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    there are some fixes that could have made our stay more enjoyable: wifi was not good enough in our rooms and many hotel areas, the shower was horrible - the water moved from cold to hot with no control, there was no window or anything to clean the shower or toilet air (however all these did not ruin our stay)

    we were big family with small kids, the room was doubled, looked nice with a balcony and great view, nice beach and pool area (which are closed to each other), the kitchen is small but usable, there is many stores and super markets around and nice restaurants. Restaurant inside the hotel was ok not more. All and all - we really enjoyed our vacation in this Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The stony beach, strong waves sometimes, not proper for children, but the pools of the Resort and the animation team makes you forget about it.

    Staff polite and helpful, room, very good, fresh, variety breakfast and dinner,well maintened gardens, palm trees, mini club, fantastic animation team, professional, every evening a different show, a very good one. My older daughter wants for the next year same hotel ( it s first time when she asked that).

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Low quality food in the hotels restaurants and beach with stones.It was not easy for the children to swim.

    Clean and comfortable room.Very polite staff, nice pool for the children.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-fi signal in room was poor to not accessible. if you are traveling with children ask to be placed near the children activity area.

    Staff staff staff so friendly and polite and helpful! Beautiful pool and facilities for children.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    People from hotel on the other side of the Road reserving sunbeds at the pool area. Even if they had their own pool area, so not possible to go to pool area until late afternoon. Great for us since we really like the Beach, but the kids wantedto be at the pool area.

    Good location, close to airport and Rhodes town. Really liked the beach and the ocean view.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The beach is not very child-friendly as it is very difficult to get into the water without protection on your feet (very pebbly and uneven) The breakfast was the worst experience of the stay - breakfast room crammed full with people, lots of stuff on the buffet but of poor quality, hardly any fresh fruit and terrible coffee!

    Location is good, lots of shops and restaurants around and proximity to Rhodes town. Booked a "Deluxe" family apartment, which was spacious and had a well equipped kitchenette. But no more than a good 3-star quality.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no wifi connection is possible in the rooms, we needed to go down to the mzin lobby, where the wifi is unstable.

    The breakfast guys where very friendly and nice, Dimitris and others, the kids liked them a lot and where happybto meet them every morning.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything, it's amazing !!!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Staff was very friendly a specially Jinna barmaid in lobby bar... She knows her cocktails and Jinna is very friendly and really funny...

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi could be better

    Good breakfast and nice staff!

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Area too touristy, equipment in apartment only ok.

    Great staff and facilities

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi doesn't work in rooms, had to sit at the bar to make calls and work over the Internet

    Location Breakfast Food prices very reasonable

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very stony on the beach, not suitable for small children to walk in to the sea

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: