Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sun City

Agii Apostoli, Kato Daratso, 73100, Greece

#19 of 74 hotels in Kato Daratso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 39

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shape of the floor in our bathroom (room 102) was such that water after showering was staying on the floor, could have been helped with at least a squeegee. The baby cot that the hotel provided had large openings between the planks on the sides, and sides quite low, modern designs are safer for babies who are big enough to stand and try to get out.

    An excellent place to stay close to Chania town, very close to amazing beaches, restaurants and next to two large supermarkets. The rooms are fine (bathrooms are on the small side, but that is almost standard for properties there), staff is nice, cheerful and helpful. Cleaning of the rooms was very good, and cleaning staff never interrupted us by trying to enter while we were still in the room. Very nice bar and pool area, shielded from the street with vegetation, lots of flowers, grass, with enough shadow. Nice spacious balconies to have a meal on. Our baby was quite happy with the selection of toys stored in the lobby. We enjoyed our stay and are planning to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've had to leave to return home😂

    Best holiday ever, Gina, her family and staff made us feel so welcome, nothing was a problem, always helpful, smiling and friendly, we really enjoyed the evening time around the bar with the other guests, whom were return guests for over 20 years. That says it all about the place. Cleanliness was top class. Location, perfect for beach or excursions or chill by the lovely pool. The Sun City is ideal for families and couples who want a home away from home experience.All in all we will definitely return to sun city and it's warm welcome 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nice and cozy hotel ,with a nice and friendly family :-) Close to a nice beach, supermarket and restaurant right outside :-) We had a pleasant stay at the hotel in August 2017.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We enjoyed our stay at "Sun City" and felt comfortable throughout our staying there. Gina and her family are very kind and friendly, always ready to help with a piece of advice, tips about the best places to visit, best restaurants and events in town. The atmosphere is very cozy, the rooms are clean, tidy and well equipped. It is a very suitable place for families with kids, as well as for groups of friends and couples. I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving!!!

    Just back from a superb Holliday here, this family run hotel is well presented and the owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent with a sandy beach 5 minutes walk down the road, Lidl next door and for €1.20 you can catch the bus into Chania town. The rooms where cleaned everyday except for Sundays. Tables and sun loungers where always available by the pool and little bar in the well kept gardens. Prices for drinks and food are also reasonable. Myself and my 12 year old daughter where made to feel very welcome here and we shall no doubt return! Thank you Gina, ilianna, Maria , papa and all the staff, this is how a hotel should be run! Mark & Amelia

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing negative to say about this property.

    Very friendly and peaceful atmosphere, within 5 minute walk from beautiful beaches, shops and tavernas. 2 minute walk from 2 supermarkets. Local bus stops right outside. Nothing is too much to ask. Huge balcony which provided both a sea view and pool view. Spotlessly cleaned by very attentive cleaning staff. Fantastic!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    No microwave, toaster or a proper cooker.

    The location which had four great beaches, walks, tavernas, local bus stop to travel the island which is just outside the hotel. Balcony view over the mountains with beautiful sunsets in the evening. Maria was full of useful information of details on how and where to travel to certain destinations. Maria and Gina would make telephone calls and help with bookings free of charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    it was perfect.

    This hotel was such a lovely surprise! Gina and her daughters were so lovely and make this a very special hotel. Our family of 5 had a great holiday here. We had a family apartment and it was just perfect for our needs. There is a delightful bar beside the pool with a lovely atmosphere. We loved the location as it was only 5 minutes walk from nearest beach which was beautiful. Also two other lovely beaches nearby. There are lots of lovely restaurants within walking distance. All we can say is we would definitely love to come back to Sun City Hotel again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome from Gina and her team was fabulous and they cared for us throughout our holiday. The hotel is very well situated for very good local beaches, tavernas and supermarkets (and buses if you need them). It's easy to get into Chania by bus or car or travel farther afield to explore beautiful Western Crete.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Exceptionally friendly staff -nothing was a problem Made feel like one of the family Very clean facilities Within walking distance of a number of safe blue flag beachs Local bus stops outside the property

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The swimming pool is at the front of the appartments on the road. It's screened by bushes and the Pool bar and it's not a main road, but you can hear and see cars and people passing. The pool has a shallow area sectioned off at the top for small children and I noticed an inflatable paddling pool on the poolside too. The bottom end is about 3 metres so depths change rapidly which I found unsettling. There are WCs and changing rooms by the pool. We would have liked a second saucepan in the kitchenette.

    Sun City is in a side road off of the main coast road, and it's very convenient for getting about as the bus to Chania stops a few metres up the road, and the trips we booked collected us from outside. Other buses pass nearby. There are 3 local beaches, the nearest is 8 mins walk and the other two are 10 to 12 mins walk. All are lovely, sandy, and safe for swimming, and each has a small Taverna and sunbeds and umbrellas to hire, basic WC, beach shower and changing huts. The local park area with swings for children is on the way to the beach. Lidl is next door to the appartments and there's a Greek supermarket further up the road. There are several restuarants and beach shops nearby, and more restaurants and shops along the main road. We had a room overlooking the olive grove at the back, and good views to the coast. The hotel is spotless, welcoming, well furnished, the Owners are lovely, they speak good English and couldn't be more helpful if we had been family. I have recommended Sun City to friends.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    noise travelled a long way from other rooms but that's down to other guests really.

    The studio was plenty big enough and the beds were comfortable. There were sufficient kitchen facilities and in good condition too. The wifi worked well in the room. The family who run it are extremely helpful and sociable too and nothing is too much trouble. Good restaurants a few minutes away and a few good beaches close by. Easy walk into Chania town takes about 45 mins and the bus back stops almost outside the door.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    would have liked to stay longer

    rooms cleaned every day,good size,very well kitted out,will seriously think of staying there again in the future next time in crete

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun City is a family run operation, and Gina and her two daughters, Maria and Ileana really made our stay special. Gina organized the Samaria Gorge tour for us. She also organized our car rental, then gave us excellent suggestions on where to go. The other guests we met return year after year, and I can certainly see why. We were quite sad to leave! Although the hotel is not on the beach, it is short walk to a lovely small quiet beach. We had a room with a balcony with the sea in the distance, and were blessed with a full moon during our stay. Our last night at the bar by the pool was great fun, and conversation with the other guests and with the family was lively and fun. I would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great, the staff was exellent - so sweet and helpful. The roomservice was fantastic - they even washed our dishes, and the location was fine, great city with shops and restaurants around and about 15 minuttes with the local bus to chania and 25 minuttes to platanias with local bus. Simply an allround exellent stay at sun city hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!!

    Everything!! Breakfast was excellent ..would set you up for the whole day! Apartments were spotless,came into a lovely,freshly cleaned room(even the washing up was done)..bus stop right outside,10mins into bustling Chania,while Sun City is just outside the town,it's perfectly located..so many fab restaurants within 2mins walk,every one of them so reasonable,we couldn't find a bad one,we stayed 10 days and could have easily moved there😎😎😎

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was kept very clean,the owners and staff were very friendly and helpful,position was excellent beach 5 minutes away,supermarket next door and bus service right outside.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad wifi connection in the room. Weak shower pressure and variating temperature. Requested double-bed but got two single beds instead, though maybe the hotel was full and a doublebed therefore unavailable, if so then it's understandable.

    Nice staff! Good location. Shops and restaurants nearby, as well as various beaches further down the road. Clean hotel (basic though). Comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gina and her family made us feel like we were part of their family. It's a really great location close to everything you could possibly need. The value here was second to none and we will definitely have to visit again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No regrets!

    Great location to avoid central Chania with its hordes of tourists, while near several great beaches and on bus route for Elafonisi and Falasarna. Staff always friendly and happy to help arranging excursions etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the only thing i regret about this place is that i had to leave.

    the location was excellent and just off from the touristy stuff but close enough that a cheap cab ride will get you to old town and just a couple minutes to walk to a beautiful beach. the staff was one of the greatest things about this place. we had a group of 16 and they treated us like family right down to the second we left giving us hugs and standing at the curb waving goodbye as our cab drove off. great restaurants with in a few minutes walk and a grocery store right next door. i have traveled all over the world and stayed at thousands of hotels over the last 20 years and this one is a place i am not soon to forget. i highly recommend this place for a group of friends or a family vacation.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Mattress too hard for me. More worktop space needed in Kitchenette.

    Outside area/swimming pool was immaculate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-Fi signal could have been stronger.

    Very friendly host and great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and shower was very small.

    Beds was good and was lovely family running the hotel. Walking distance too beach

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes it was too hot outside.

    Great staff! Wery good location! Overall a great experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere ,relaxing and super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely welcoming family. Great hospitality

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner Gina and her family were most friendly and helpful in making our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff. We had an excellent time there. The hotel is located near a nice and quite beach and there is a bus stop at the door if you want to go to the city center. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Description of Studio and hotel is a lie. Our studio facing garage, Lidl supermarket delivery truck parking and public lift from where everyone could see into our ".private balcony" Did not get the room that I reserved and was forced to pay for. This hotel has NO sea view rooms ! my printed confirmation stated " sea, garden, pool view". The hotel owner lied to me ( she kept better rooms for walk in while I was given economy studio instead of studio that I booked) and treated me condescendingly. Hotel and its pool is based almost ON the busy main access road and Lidl supermarket. This is complaint in process eith ABTA and booking. com.

    unfortunately when you are being treated condescendingly by the owner of the hotel who is trying to tell you that you have to be lucky to get room that you booked and paid for - you "like" nothing

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hotel in a great location, with superb friendly staff. I would recommend it to everyone. Will certainly be coming back here. From thaty and Michael from Dublin

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only fault I can say is, it would be nice if the wifi worked in all the rooms.

    My mom, sister and I stayed at Sun City for a week this last July and the thing that made the difference for us was the staff. Family run, Gina and her family went above and beyond to accomodate us and suggest restaurants/sites to see. Another big plus was the location. It is close enough to the city of Chania where you can go in and have dinner or sight see - but close to the beach as well. Sun city is a 20 minute bus ride and about a 5 minute walk to some beautiful sandy beaches. While the rooms might be a little bit outdated, they have all the basics, are cleaned daily, some have an ocean view and ours had a fully functioning kitchen which is nice for having coffee or a snack. Overall, I can say that we had a lovely experience at Sun City and we will be back next year! Thank you, Gina.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location of this hotel is amazing and the hotel itself is, I think, the best you can find in the area. I liked my stay there almost more than in a 5 star hotel the year before. There are plenty of good tavernas around and four amazing beaches. The supermarket is right next door. We were making our breakfast ourselves, although it is possible to have a simple breakfast served in the hotel (not a buffet, in case you wondered). If you prefer an "all inclusive" type of hotels, then this place is probably not for you. This hotel is good for people who like to explore the area around and try new things everyday :)

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, clean and big room, very close to the beach and supermarkets. Great atmosphere!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Group

    Staff, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hospitality!

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 39

Guests also reviewed these properties: