Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunny Garden Apartments

Main Street Ancient Epidavros, Ancient Epidavros, 21059, Greece

#11 of 23 hotels in Ancient Epidavros

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 147 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were cheated by the owner or the manager of Sunny Garden Apartments. Initially I booked an apartment for two nights (May 13 and 14). However, in early May I learned that my conference presentation (in Athens) was scheduled for May 14. For this reason we had to return to Athens on May 13. Accordingly, on May 3rd I made a change to my booking. This was still within the time period for free cancellation. I even received an email from Booking.com to confirm the change. On the evening when we arrived at Sunny Garden, the owner or manager showed me an invoice of 100 euro. I told him that I had changed our stay from two nights to one night. The amount should be 50 euro. He said I should talk to Booking.com and could pay the next morning. His English is limited, so it was not possible to get an explanation about why he thought we should pay 100 instead of 50 Euro. As far as I know, there were no specially conditions or penalties for change or cancellation before the deadline set up by Booking.com. The next morning before we left for Nafplio by taxi, we had breakfast. My friend finished her meal first, decided to go back to our room first and make the payment. She did not ask me how much we should pay. On our way to Nafplio, I was surprised to know that the owner or manager charged us 115 euro. He showed her an invoice of 100 euro for our room and told her that the breakfast cost additional 15 euro. What is more surprising is that after she paid him 115 euro IN CASH, he gave her a receipt that shows a payment of 65 euro. This means that we have no way to prove that we were overcharged. Indeed, after I returned to Athens and called Booking.com, I was told that without evidence Booking.com cannot do anything about it. Should I blame my friend? Of course I feel that she should be more careful. However, at least I am sure one hundred percent that she did not lie about the amount . The owner or manager was being dishonest.

    The apartment and the surrounding garden are nice. It is a good place to relax if that's what you need. We enjoyed the breakfast, but the portion may be too small for a lot of people. A small beach is nearby, not in front of the apartments. There are people swimming and fishing in the ocean. The water does not seem to be very clean though. We did not get a chance to eat at the beach front restaurant because the chef went home around 6 pm, so I cannot comment on the food. There are many orange trees around. Being able to make your own orange juice is a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sea bay is not near to the rooms, you have to walk 3-5 min on a road.

    Big comfortsble room, private area in the garden with a table and cozy chairs. Kind and frendly stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no room cleaning during our stay, and in the first night the air conditioner didn't work, so we slept in the cold.

    The garden was beautiful, the view from the room extremely pleasant, the beach was close by. The breakfast was tasty and rich, with plenty of fresh orange juice from the garden. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was like finding a little corner of paradise! Spacious well equipped apartment with terrace and private garden that was set in the most beautiful grounds. Tucked away at the end of a little bay just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and 1km from nearest shops along pretty little road. Main town and port walking distance too. We loved it. Visited the amphitheatre and walked along coast path. The accommodation is a little worn in places but charming and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. The appartment is only 50 meters from the sea so no need for a swimming pool. There is a private beach with sun shades and beds and you can snorkle to the sunken city. We had an appartmant with a small garden. Just like on the pictures. Every day they made our beds, gave clean towels and cleaned the room very nicely. Personnel is very nice. The owner helped us with taxis and a rental car. Breakfast was excellent. Everything very fresh and every day something different. All absolute value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have a problem with light in the livingroom. I hope the could add some blinds to the small windows.

    I had one of the best treatments from owner as well as from staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Loved the orange juice that we could make ourselves and the peacefulness of the location. We had an upper floor one bed apartment for the two of us and it suited our needs perfectly. We went a little out of the main season and enjoyed the serenity of the place as we are rather mature travellers. I think in the height of the season it would be a fun place for everyone. Staff were excellent and respectful of our privacy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was basic, not enough cutlery and some of the hot plates didn't work. But only minor issues.

    Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of an 8 week European holiday. It was just what we needed- a place to relax: nice apartment set in lush grounds, 2 minute walk to a lovely beach, with a taverna right on the sea-side! Just wonderful! Also loved snorkelling over the sunken city! Yes, really! An ancient city now swallowed up by the sea! Would definitely come back!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many things were broke in the apartment. Although the staff was kind, it was difficult to communicate if people don't speak a little English.

    The garden around the accommodation is a jewel: the trees, the flowers, the oranges, the pond.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    These are very nice apartments with a cozy yard to spend time in isolated private garden. The hosts are friendly, plenty of tasty food and coffee for breakfast. The gardens are filled with great flowers smell and orange trees, use the oranges to make juice at your private kitchen. The beach is 3 minutes away. Great place for relaxation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The hotel is excellent. Situated in a quiet place between orange trees with nice and well maintained garden. The owner is hospitable and very respond. The stuff is polite and keep the place clean and cozy. The rooms are with fully equipped kitchen even with juice press so you can pick the oranges from the trees and make fresh every morning. There is a small private beach just 1 min from the hotel with his own sunbeds, umbrellas and two water wheels.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The internet reception was very poor in the room.

    The location was lovely, set in orange groves and very near a beautiful beach. The drive from Corinth was gorgous and the breakfasts were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Separate beds for a couple were inconvenient. Limited kitchenware.

    Nice owner and staff, delicious and varied breakfast. Sunbeds were great on the beach. Beach is really close, warm water, amazing with the sunken ruins and wide variety of colourful fish.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative: there was too little water in a shower

    Very lovely - the apartment and the hotel too, oranges everywhere to pick up and make fresh juice, flowers and lot of facilities included in price (bikes and seabikes, beach beds, shoes...)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our big studio had the kitchen in the patio of a private garden: it was fun coking outside. we found all we need for our vacation. the place is very well run by his owner.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing=)

    Pet friendly place with a lovely owner. Although it is an appartment there is a cleaning service comming everyday. Appartment is set in a lovely garden full of flowers and orange trees, 2 min away from the sea, has it's private beach. The area is absolutely lovely. There are plenty of places to visit around.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything, the breakfast though was special, well presented, delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location Very good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Overall an excellent experience! Ideal for relaxation since it's only 200m from the beach and an incredible taverna.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing

    Beautiful place in a lovely garden, quiet and peaceful. Spacious terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea urchins were a bit if a problem, need footwear

    Very nice apartments, clean and picturesque, very close to the sea, 2min walk, beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful breakfast, worth the money, prepared with care and local products

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfasts! The nicest hosts in the world :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Close to the beach, but far from restaurants and the port.

    Breakfast was amazing. Room is big and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    more time to spend there

    nice compound, very close to the sea, surrounded by orange orchards; beautiful sunrise

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is very nice and very well kept, the staff is friendly, fantastic breakfast! Nice gardens. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to beach with umbrella and chairs. very nice staff. Clean and fully equipped kitchen. Wifi access throughout the facility. Quiet and calm.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It need a little maintenance. A burned light bulb here, a chipped wall there, a few curtain rings missing....Little things, that still should be attended to. And even though the sheets and towels smelled fresh out of the washing machine, the room was not thouraghly cleaned, for example under the bed it wasn't cleaned or cobwebs were left in a couple of corners...Things you expect out in the country (the cobwebs i mean), but still, it was such a lovely room and premises, and good stuff, that these shouldn't be overlooked.... But regardeless of these if i visit Epidavros again i will stay here again.

    The stuff was very helpfull and polite. Generally they were all, owner and stuff, very obliging. The premises were beautiful. Nice enviroment all and all. 3 minutes walk from the sea where the hotel provided lounge chairs with umbrellas. The kitchenette and cutlery were very clean. Great breakfast/bar area. Every day the cleaning ladies left freshly picked oranges on our table from the propertie's orange trees. But you could pick yourself too.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    12k from theatre (30E taxi) - buses not clear - no saucepan in room only frying pan!

    Wonderful staff, very welcoming and helpful - beautiful views - 2 mins from the beach (where the hotel has chairs) - 5 mins cycle from nearest town/supermarket - free bikes - cheap bar - good facilities for children (snorkels, ping pong table)

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property was a little run down & many of the features listed were not working or were not working correctly (stove & washing machine in particular).

    Very friendly family owned hotel with a delicious breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Surrounding rather quiet and nearby shops were closed.

    The orange orchard, beautiful garden and surroundings. Room was clean and big.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    very friendly hosts, quietness, relaxed atmosphere, the superb breakfast at any time of the day...! the frogs in the evening, beach at 50 m.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Sunny Garden Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: