Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunset Hotel 3 stars

Main Street ,Xiropigado, Xiropigado, 22001, Greece

#3 of 11 hotels in Xiropigado

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 146 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    We staid for a couple of nights and we really enjoyed this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We staid for a couple of nights and we really enjoyed this family run hotel. The room was spacious and clean. A few steps from a pebbly beach. The village is very quite and small therefore would recommend for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Great pick for location, service and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ageing a bit.

    Fantastic place. Very spacious right In Front of the seaVery simple but with fantastic service, great location, very quiet. Food served at the restaurant was delicious and ultra fresh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    A magical place! Also a great base for exploring the area (especially with a car)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a great find, I'm almost minded to keep it a secret! Location: Xiropigado is a village half an hour's drive from Nafplion, and there is a direct bus from Athens (2h15) that stops in the village on its way to Leonidio. The hotel is directly on the beach; from the bedrooms you have a magical view of the sea and can hear the waves lapping. Romantic, even if you're travelling on your own as I was! The beach is a thin pebbly strip which makes for an intimate feeling, and I'm now a convert to pebbles: you don't get sand all over yourself. (A little shop in the village sells slip on shoes for swimming.) The hotel is run by a lovely local family who went out of their way to help me navigate the area as I didn't have a car. The closest local bus stop is Kiveri from where you can catch a bus to Argos, then Nafplio / Epidavrus / Mikines. The seafood was delicious and the portions were generous. Thank you to all the family for making my stay so special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location, wonderful views and friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make us welcome and even took us on a trip to see local sites of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful place to stay.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing that we didn't like. We loved every minute here. We were sorry we could not stay longer.

    Every single thing! Beautiful hotel, well cared for and modern. Great breakfast and dinner was fabulous both days. The second day our hostess made us our favorite dishes. This is another 'feels-like-home' hotel! Highly recommended. See my full review at travelspirit.ca

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    A lovely stop at the east coast on your way to visite Nafplion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The matras was a little hard sturdy for my taste. For swimming in the sea a pair of water shoes is recommended and since I had none, getting in and out of the water was a bit of an ordeal.

    The room was spacious and the breakfast excellent. The view from the balcony is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel excellent breakfast and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel as bit the beach which is beautiful but you would need rick shoes as the stones are very hard on your feet .

    Lovely location great breakfast and lovely staff. The room very fantastic for the price with a great view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful, friendly and kind hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed mattresses were hard. The bathroom needs shelves or places to place bathroom items (brushes, combs, toothpaste).

    Very helpful, friendly and kind hosts. The beach was amazing, well placed right in front of the building. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.2
    Excellent and comfortable last night before flying home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason the hosts asked us to lock all doors carefully. Since the apartment is on the bottom floor and all windows were actually glass doors - it made it impossible to sleep with open windows and fresh air, what we are used to.

    It was a perfect place for the last night before leaving early to the airport. The apartment was very big and comfortable and extremely cosy. Kitchen is perfectly equipped. Everything important, when you must pack yourself and prepare for travel and still you look for some comfort and pleasant ambiance to spend last evening in Greece. I think it would work similarly for the first night ;-) The hosts were extremely hospitable. Quite close - walking distance we found great small family run shops with everything you may need for supper including fantastic wine from a barrel for 1,4 Euro for 1,5 litre ... ;-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Stunning location, food and ambience from sunrise to sunset !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing negative I could say about our experience.

    Everything about our stay was excellent. From the moment we were welcomed until the moment we left. We could not of asked for a better hostess, the food was always fresh and cooked in true Greek traditional style - it was absolutely amazing. The location right in front of the beach allowed us to hear the ocean waves and see the incredible sunrises and sunsets. For a winter holiday it was quite sunny and warm and yet the fireplace was always lit, so we were always comfortable and we felt relaxed and able to take in the beautiful surroundings. The bathrooms and rooms were clean and we had great balcony views. This hotel is great for a relaxing weekender in spring, autumn/winter or perfect for a longer summer stay where all you want to do is swim, eat and relax. We will definitely would like to come back again in the summer time to experience this. All 5 of us highly recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    super!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms are big and comfortable. very clean and the food is amazing. owners of the hotel are very pleasent and kind, willing to give more info about the region and which places to visit. really made our vacation with a small child perfect.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Family friendly and wonderful sea access
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The monopoly game was incomplete- my kids wanted to play! This is the only flaw I could come up with!

    Perfect facilities for two adults and three children- all with different needs! Beach and sea accessible; breakfast available all morning as well as lunch if we wanted and when we wanted. Wonderful staff- quiet family atmosphere. Daily cleaning. Accessible for wide range of local sites with car. Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.2
    Lots of space and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought breakfast was good but not the best we'd had. The supplied shampoo was pretty awful. Wifi was frustrating at times. (These are small things. We did like this place a lot.)

    Very friendly place. Very good cooking at dinner. Stacks of space in the family room (two big rooms with private ante-room). Located in an amazing spot: at sunset (hence the name), the hills across the water (on the next 'finger' of the Peloponnese) are magical. Looks like paradise.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful holiday, wish to stay there longer then one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place, nice room, fabulous view from the balcony to the sea and beach!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Great place to stay right on the waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large rooms with balconies,clean, family run hotel, very friendly, food was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    We will come back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, people - just perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent sea view,quite,relax place,excellent food,full of history around.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    brakfest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    brakfest

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    2.5
    Great location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food is really good!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    10
    Very comfortable hotel. Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is great

    Excellent hotel, great location just in front of the sea and by a village. Beautiful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.3
    I loved the closeness to the sea - i could hear the waves...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A bit more attention to detail when cleaning the bathroom would be a good idea I think.

    I loved the closeness to the sea - i could hear the waves from my bed. I loved this. The breakfast was simple but plentiful. I ate dinner there and enjoyed the food.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    9.6
    Excellent location, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, right on the beach. Clean and spacious room, balcony with chairs and sea view. Breakfast and meals are delicious. Good choice for peaceful vacations.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful location directly at the seafront, clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    GPS coordinates provided by booking.com were not exact

    Beautiful location directly at the seafront, clean and comfortable room with tea pot and refrigerator. Dinner at the hotel had a good value, delicious and generous breakfast. Air condition is very efficient. Hostess was very friendly and provided us information about surrounding area

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.3
    Location, cleanless, quit place, view of sunrise from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was quite poor. Just few sorts of food to chose for dinner and more expensive than in other restaurants in the village. There was a wedding in the hotel when ee were there. We couldn't sleep until 5 am because of the music. We were almost the last guests for this season and the owners were already tired.

    Location, cleanless, quit place, view of sunrise from the window of the room.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    Xiropigado is great place, location of the hotel is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Xiropigado is great place, location of the hotel is very good. Nice atmosphere, very friendly and helpful owner. Very few people in the end of August and at the beginning of September. Nice sea view from the room and clear water. Holiday was nice

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    the owner was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the owner was very nice. The restaurant was excellent and the food was both delicious and reasonably-priced. It was on its own private beach and you could see the castle of Palamidi across the bay in Nauplio illuminated by the sunset. It was an unforgettable experience.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    We enjoyed the warm family atmosphere I.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We enjoyed the warm family atmosphere I. A lovely beachside setting and we had a delightful and peaceful stay over Easter. Good food and attentive service. Well worth a detour and we would love to go back.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    We loved the location, the ambience of the hotel, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the location, the ambience of the hotel, the friendliness of the people and the value for money. We came for one night and stayed three. We would have stayed longer if we had enough time

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    8.8
    The beach was a step away from the hotel with free lying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apart from the hotel, the village has not much to offer.

    The beach was a step away from the hotel with free lying chairs and umbrellas. The hotels Wi-Fi was also available at the beach. It is a very nice and calm place

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Location is right on the beach with balconies looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is right on the beach with balconies looking straight out to sea. Asimina the owner and her family and staff are wonderfully efficient, warm and helpful. Good size rooms - super clean with excellent bathrooms and towels. I recommend eating at their restaurant where everything is freshly cooked using local ingredients. Fish and seafood is delivered by a local fisherman straight from his boat.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    very quiet, a few steps from the beach, nice food on own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I understand that families with kids primarily occupy the rooms, however, i would expect that rooms are maintained in a better shape in view of forthcoming summer season

    very quiet, a few steps from the beach, nice food on own restaurant, food prepared on spot, friendly people

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    Family enterprise very welcoming and helpful including...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Family enterprise very welcoming and helpful including travel tips and road recommendations. fresh food often home produced ( see olives above ). Could not recommend more.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    The room has a balcony looking directly towards the ocean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They only had twin beds that night , no double beds for couples

    The room has a balcony looking directly towards the ocean, it's absolutely stunning.the staff was extra friendly. Everything else was great

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    My personal Breakfast The location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My personal Breakfast The location is superb.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    8.8
    Nice view on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice view on the beach Cheap price

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.6
    NOTHING
    • Couple

    WE PAID FOR BREAKFAST.TOO POOR

    NOTHING

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    10
    Close proximity of the beach area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Close proximity of the beach area.

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    10
    Great location right on the beach in a quiet town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location right on the beach in a quiet town. The room was clean and comfortable. Friendly service. Very nice restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    10
    Everything hotel location food and the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything hotel location food and the family

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2015

    8.3
    Excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Being very early in the season it was almost deserted,

    Excellent location and friendly staff

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: