Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Thanos Village

Next to the old school, Gialova, 240 01, Greece

#7 of 11 hotels in Gialova

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 130 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I hate it when the power goes off once you remove the key from the wall-mounted keycard switch. But, as you can imagine, I am mentioning this for lack of any other major complaint. Which means the place is wonderful.

    What a lovely view from the balcony! That's maybe its most outstanding feature. But everything is fine: a beautiful garden, very nice swimming pool, quite convenient location for Gialova restaurants and most beaches in the area (a short drive away)... The room is also nice, and spotlessly clean. It seems to have been recently refurbished. And it's affordable! We did not use the breakfast service, but the staff was most helpful -as it's usually the case in Greece-. To sum it up: just writing this review makes me long for the days I spent in Gialova.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Great family holiday in an affordable and well placed residence.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much really. The cleaning could have been a little bit more thorough I guess.

    Comfortable rooms, great view of the sea. Not too many people (only 12 rooms in the main building). Nice breakfast if you wanted to have one, good value for money. The pool was lovely to come back to in the afternoon after at a day at the beach. The owners son was very kind and professional, always ready to help us with any request we had.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    almost everything we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little more room for clothes storage. a couple of knives and forks to make a scratch breakfast for having on the balcony with incredible views

    The view across the Bay of Navarino was stunning. The studio set in a gardener's delight. Location great for restaurants, beaches and sites such as Olympia and Nestors Palace

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate accommodation and good location, a bit noisy at times from the nearby road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There is no-one at the property to speak to about any problems (we did not have any specifically) but would have liked someone to ask (or a folder) with local information. A little expensive compared to similar places we stayed at which had better facilities. The swimming pool was excellent - but that was in their low season so nobody else there.

    Room was adequate, beds very hard but that's usual in Greece. Most of the time we were the only people staying there (early May 2018). The location is good but it's a bit soulless, could do with some finesse - no toiletries, room is bare with no pictures. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, perfect for couples, not really for children. Off the tourist trail which i love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Limited facilities at apartments - we could buy breakfast which was nice, but then you would have to go out for lunch and dinner, which is fine, however it would have been nice on days when you feel extra lazy to eat there... also problem with language barrier... we had to call a lady who supplied hire car to help us out.

    The room was perfect, fantastic view of the pool and sea, eating on the balcony was great. Good walking distance to the facilities - i.e. bars/restaurants and supermarket, and the beach very close. All 5-10 min walk. Safe included

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing week me and my wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not so big though.

    Nice landscape with view of the bay at sunset. Swimming pool. Nice breakfast (not included). Five minutes walk from village centre with restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Divine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Villa with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location amazing accommodation wonderful hospitality! It was a walk away from modern bars restaurants and the beach of Gialova . I haven't been to mykonos yet and am going soon... but heard from tourists that Gialova is smaller version of mykonos!!! Gialova is just amazing and has changed so much since i last visited ten years ago. So many good restaurants modern bars and coffee shops and very nice clothes shops..all beach side ..i was amazed!!!...The villa I stayed in was incredible too. It was quiet and comfortable and had a view of the entire navarino coastline and hills. Nestled in a hill the villa I stayed in was surrounded by beautiful trees so it was also very private. It was very well made and felt like home. All facilities looked new. Although there were other villas and apartments close by I could not see anyone even from my balcony. The staff there Maria her brother and mum were so lovely. Maria's mother cooked fresh brekky for everyone every morning and brings in to your table with the help of some other lovely ladies. I was just really blown away by Thanos village the quality of the accommodation and the hospitality of the owners and am so glad I stumbled upon this property as I will be staying there now every summer without a doubt.☺going back again by the way...tomorrow☺

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.1
    breakfast is not even basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is not even basic. Thre was no espresso coffee when everybody has one espresso machine in Greece and the quality of the instant coffee served was very low! The rest of the stuff (yoghurt just a few grams-, marmelade, honey) was of low quality. Not to mention the tiny quantitities... Very disappointing! One more note: the bathroom needs stronger light bulb and the room needs a bin.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely apartments, great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little contact with owners apart from on arrival so do research on what area has to offer in advance

    Set in beautiful grounds and surrounding a lovely pool, Thanos offers great, value for money facilities. A car is needed to tour the area but restaurants and shops in easy walking distance . Superb beaches a few kilometres away. Lovely Breakfast on the terrace overlooking pool and distant sea views. Rooms simple and spacious with balcony and sea views. Very clean, fresh towels daily. Staff friendly. No reception so be warned to contact in advance with arrival time

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    A little corner of paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful place to visit Navarino bay and the archeological sites not far from there. The garden and the swimming pool are a little corner of paradise. The staff is really kind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    This is a wonderful place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is a wonderful place. The staff are helpful, friendly, and respectful. The cleaning staff are particularly wonderful and thorough. The pools are always clean, presentable, and well managed. I stayed in a studio room which came equipped with everything you need to cook and eat in the room/balcony. All I needed to do was buy groceries. I have been traveling to Greece for a very long time for work and vacation and I have to say this place is a bargain and I don't think Id stay anywhere else in gialova again. Best place to stay, give them a shot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    9.6
    Amazing romantic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The swimming pool is fantastic, views from your own balcony are amazing, Gialova is just 5 minutes walk, on the road to Gialova there is an ATM and a day/evening/nightshop, housekeeping was done every day and the breakfast downstairs at the terrace feels like you are in heaven.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Excellent place for vacation and sight-seeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We would like to have more time to stay there...

    The small apartment houses are situated on a very beautiful little hill, very close to the sea, with an amazing view at the beach, gialova lake, Pylos, Sphakteria, and the entire Navarino gulf. The Thanks village has two cozy pools that are perfect for relaxing. The garden has all sorts of plants and beautiful flowers that have been planted and are being taken care of by Gianna and Christos. They did everything possible to make our stay pleasant. The region has plenty of historical sight-seeing from ancient castles, palaces, museums, to beautiful natural habitats to explore. And last but not least, plenty of very nice tavernas with delicious food in walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    6.7
    Could be so much more welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The studio was quite large but for me this emphasizes how little is in them. The cooking area is very small and restricted to 2rings and almost no preparation area. All the furnishings are too small with poor drawer storage space. Bed took getting used to. Pillow originally too hard but changed on request All the facilities were minimal just enough for 2 which for me emphasizes the spareness of the rooms.

    The views from even the ground floor are lovely and overlook the great pool which is nearly always empty. Pleasant lady cleaned on a daily basis.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Totally nice at Thanos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a bit hard form me but that is my personal choice.

    Great location and really nice room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    4.6
    Mattress was hard and wifi access poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was hard and wifi access poor

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    The bed was quite hard, not comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard, not comfortable. The breakfast was very poor. The A/C needs to be renewed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Good Service orientated Management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds little too hard

    Good Service orientated Management

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Splendid location in the middle of Lemon trese
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Splendid location in the middle of Lemon trese

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome and departure didn’t feel that welcome but old women did her best!

    Pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Views and pool, plus room cleaned and bin emptied every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Views and pool, plus room cleaned and bin emptied every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect quiet location but within walking distance of facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only snag was being unable to connect to WiFi . although a password was given We could not connect

    Warm friendly approach made you feel very welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shaded area around the pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    10
    Good location, clean, big studio, great view
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, clean, big studio, great view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.2
    Great stay in Gialova
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, spacious room, nice garden, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, always helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, always helpful. Breakfast was very good and offered more than needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    8.3
    Pleasant and cost effective.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bring your own soap and bottled water for room.

    Very pleasant environment and quite location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Visited several years ago and always said we would go back. Glad we did and will do so again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fly screens on patio doors so they can be left open at night. Don't like air-con

    Room fracilities, pool and view all excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Modern rooms , excellent bathroom and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Modern rooms , excellent bathroom and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    2.9
    Wonderful sunsets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All kind of insects in the room. No double bed. Ikea style furniture. Very bad shower. The only table to have a meal is on terrace and in Aprile is quote cold. All 3 days a tractor plowing 100 mt. to my apartment. No WIFI.

    Wonderful sunsets.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful views, clean rooms, idyllic pool and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautiful views, clean rooms, idyllic pool and friendly staff. Near of the Golden Beach, restaurants, super market and lagoon.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean, Great views, Luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, Great views, Luxury. Nice small beaches around + ancient places.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    10
    Wonderful private balcony with stunning views over Navarino...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful private balcony with stunning views over Navarino Bay.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Thanos Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: