Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Athens Gate Hotel 4 stars

10, Syngrou Avenue, Athens, 11742, Greece

#37 of 295 hotels in Athens

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1177 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Superior Double rooms with Interconnecting door
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website showed a usable balcony and view which we paid extra for. No balcony furniture and no view as we were on the 2nd floor. Rooms were modern and clean but very small.

    Location was close to everything we wanted to see. The top floor restaurant for breakfast and evening drinks was wonderful and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one key per room, hard to coordinate with husband / wife if you wanted to go eat or have coffee early, if you take the key, all electricity goes out in the room (no AC, or light in the bathroom!). I understand it is important to conserve, but just a bit inconvenient. Also, there is no electrical outlet in the bathroom, or mirror in the bedroom, so how do women curl (or straighten) their hair without seeing themselves?

    Outstanding breakfast with an amazing view of the Acropolis and other important sites.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for those on a limited schedule, very close, 1/2 block from the Acropolis Museum and central to all of the local attractions and neighborhoods .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The views from the room and the restaurant are spectacular at night. Our room was ready earlier than official check in time and at the time the staff said it would be ready. The location is perfect for the Acropolis and Acropolis Museum. The staff were very friendly and fluent in English. This was our second stay at Athens Gate and we definitely would stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is perfect.the views are beautiful.near from the plaka the pedestrian area....very good breakfast ...high standard of housekeeping...friendly staff... and a special thanks to Anesthesia ❤️

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not hot Needed a mirror in bedroom Needed more hooks in bathroom Bench entering bathroom on right - to place clothing items

    Breakfast buffet

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurante was ok but expensive for a not very original menu. The view compensates though

    The amazon view from the room garden. Excellent position in Athens

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During my stay in the hotel, some of my jewellery worth around $1000 was taken from my suitcase and stolen while I was having dinner. I went to the receptionist and told him what happened and he took some notes and promised he will discuss that with his manager. I checked out from the hotel and told the receptionist that I will follow up with them after a couple of week as I moved to another city. When I came back to check the status of my complaint, I was surprised no notes were found and no action was taken regarding my stolen jewellery. All what the manager said that any valuable items should not be kept in any place other than the room safe, including suitcases!!! And my jewellery is gone! This was the worst experience I had at a hotel, and I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't access Wi fi in room!!. Difficult to keep water in tub while showering. Need enclosure. Need more places to hang wet towels. Need coffee & hot chocolate in room, not just tea.

    Perfect location to everything!, View of Acropolis from room; views of everything from rooftop garden; wonderful breakfast, & pastries!, helpful staff. Comfortable bed and nice cotton bedding. Appreciated no feathers in pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and bedding, breakfasts, all staff who we met were perfect. Busy street but glazing shut noise out most effectively so sleeping well was not a problem. Thank you Athens Gate for a beautiful stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about!

    Your concierge was extra helpful specifically Valante! Breakfast was very satisfying. Cozy roof garden with a terrific view. Beds were comfortable. Our room had a balcony with no view but was nevertheless super clean and has that homey feel. Hotel has an ideal location, close to restaurants and supermarket. Super convenient to visitors like us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was clean but very small, very expensive, breakfast was average. For this hotel the lifts were tiny and slow.

    Great location and views of the two main archaeological sites. City center very close to the metro

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slow Internet and limited facilities.

    Feeling like home in the heart of Athens. Maybe one of the best locations in Athens with extremely friendly staff and amazing restaurant views of Athens. Small cozy rooms that offer intimacy in a fashionable environment. Perfect for tourists that enjoy walks in the old town and want to visit the numerous touristic attractions around the city. The hotel offers a good mix between indulgence and familiarity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was so hard that I didn't sleep the first night. It was just like concrete - shame because everything else was good!

    The location was fantastic - 5 minutes walk from the Acropolis Museum and entrance. Very close to the plaka, the Temple of Zeus etc. The view at breakfast was amazing and the staff were very helpful. Very clean room and bathroom. We had an internal room as we'd read some rooms were noisy - this worked out well as there was a window, just no view and no noise! The restaurant on the top floor was good for the evening meal - lots of local produce and good quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has great views of Zeus Temple and the rooftop resturant has great views of the Acropolis. Bed was pretty comfy and the curtains blocked alot of light out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room, located on Level 1 overlooking Temple of Zeus was VERY noisy due to constant sound of traffic from the adjacent main road which runs all the way through the night without stopping. Because of this our sleep quality was poor indeed. I would recommend to bring ear plugs or not stay on this side of the hotel. Rooms on higher levels might be better as well.

    Very close walking distance to the main sights. The views from the terrace where you can have dinner and eat breakfast are simply amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a great stay at the hotel. Great view on the rooftop to have breakfast and a drink. close to walk to the acropolis, plaka, parlement... Very good service :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little to fault, except maybe a couple of the finishes look a little tired. There was no iron/board in the room, but an enquiry to the concierge and within minutes they were delivered to the room.

    Excellent location, very handy to Athens central, and perfect for our last night in Greece. The rooftop bar and restaurant offers outstanding views of Athens’ main attractions, and is pretty romantic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Superior Double rooms with Interconnecting door
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some might be bothered by the street noise. No worse than any big city though.

    Perfect location. Walking distance to everything of interest on a short Athens stay. The most incredible 360 view from rooftop restaurant. We sat up there for hours marveling as we ate their incredible breakfast buffet every morning. (And went up for a drink every night to watch the sunset). The staff were helpful, friendly and completely professional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temp in the room was too warm. Opened the door to balcony to sleep. need to be able to control the thermostats in room or remove them.

    The view was grate from the 7th fl. we stayed on the backside facing the Acropolis.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The road at the front is very noisy all through the night. these rooms have great views from all floors but if you are a light sleeper or used to a quieter location, take earplugs or ask for a room at the back (although you will miss the view unless on a high floor).

    The views across Athens, including the Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus, are fantastic, especially from the restaurant. The food is good at the hotel and there are many restaurants within a 5-10 minute walk. The location is excellent for sightseeing. The Acropolis and Temple of Zeus are on the doorstep and it's an easy walk to the Panathenaic Stadium, the Agora, Hadrian's Library etc. The Acropolis metro stop is just a few minutes away or it's a 10-15 min walk to Syntagma Square for more transport options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a huge noise each night around 3am - we think it might have been bins being emptied? Woke us up! The beds were a little hard.

    The restaurant view was amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were fabulous and the location is perfect. The hotel is close to the Plaka, Acropolis, and museums. Rooms are beautifully appointed and very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are little small but good enough.

    Wonderful location for Athens center , either for pleasure or bussiness. The view from the roof bar is unique.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The temperature got quite warm at night because the settings on the a/c unit was set to winter time. After the first night, they updated the settings for us. Definitely make sure it works before going to bed. While the location is convenient and the view spectacular, it is on a main road and it can be quite noisy.

    View from our terrace (7th floor) was spectacular. We overlooked Olympian Zeus and when we went out could also see the Acropolis. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly. We would stay at again. If you have a preference, be sure to specify which side (Acropolis or Olympian Zeus) you prefer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making facilities in the room but no coffee. Rooftop bar closed to early at 11-00 pm. Bacon, eggs buffet needs to be warmer

    Location, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Due to the proximity of the hotel to city centre and being on the main road, it can be quite noisy even with the window closed. It would also be nice to have coffee (not only tea) available in the room for guests to make a cup in the morning, etc.

    The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the entrance to the Acropolis and just across the road from the Temple of Zeus. It is very central for all major tourist sites. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also a good spread.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Superior Double rooms with Interconnecting door
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There really wasn't anything here that let this place down. I would happily stay here again.

    The location was easy to get to by Metro (take the blue line from the airport to Syntagma, then one stop along the red line towards Elliniko) From the Acropoli station it is only a 4 min walk. The staff were friendly and made us feel right at home. The room was great -modern and clean and spacious enough for our needs. The breakfast restaurant on the top floor was fantastic. Great views of both the Temple of Zeus, and the Acropolis (see photo), and there was plenty of tasty fare.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a bit hard Family room very compact for 3 of us Otherwise no issues But location is what makes this hotel

    Location was excellent could walk everywhere Views good but very noisy road since we were at the front Would have preferred a room overlooking Acropolis but no family rooms on that side Enjoyed breakfast with amazing view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The power sockets were not conveniently located, you might want to bring a power strip with you.

    We were upgraded from "exclusive room" to a suite, which had a large balcony with excellent views to both Acropolis and the Temple of Zeus. The bed was comfortable and bathtub with hydro-massage a very nice addition. There was a fridge, a safe, a set of bathrobes and large wardrobe. AC worked as expected. Overall, a pretty good room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the rooms, including the one I stayed, do not have any view and windows are blocked.

    Create location, great rooftop restaurant / bar. View from there is great. Very close to metro station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Maybe the noise from the cars because is located next to Temple of Olympian Zeus but this is relevant since, back home, we live in a very quite area. But you can choose a room in a higher floor or not facing the street.

    Probably best value for money hotel in combination with location. 2min on foot from the closest metro station, Akropoli, which will take you anywhere. 7min on foot to Plaka and 12min on foot to Syntagma!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t consistent enough for business conferencing, Shower glass shield was a bit short(but the bathroom in general was awesome!)

    Staff, breakfast, AC, great balcony on 7th!, location, bedroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay and location was amazing. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Their customer service skills were excellent and our room was even upgraded. That made our stay and start of our trip even better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We liked the central location, everything was close (things to see, restaurants, metro, buses..), the friendy staff of the hotel and of Athens. The late winter or early spring weather of Athens was very friendly towards us, too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Awesome location. situated right across the temple of Zeus, the breakfast on the roof top with the same view. All other sight seeing places within walking distance and nice food option nearby. the staff was nice and helpful. Worth the money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    During my first stay at the hotel, I was given a great room. Considering I was staying for appx. six days this last time, and during a major holiday which I booked in advance, I would have appreciated a room not located on the 1st floor.

    I enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although i had requested a quiet room, the noise from the traffic below prevented our family from getting a good night’s sleep. Perhaps thicker, sound-proof windows would help.

    Location. Breakfast very good. View from restaurant excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was small and slow. The bar at the ground floor was always closed.

    Very good location, fantastic views, all you need for breakfast, polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find something that wasn't good. Maybe that I needed to wait for the waitress with coffee/tea, because it wasn't on self-service. I supposed it's for a keeping the dinning area cleaner.

    I was amazed by the view from my balcony! Room is very clean, warm and comfortable. Bed is good and shower is nice. I asked for the earlier check-in and I got my room even earlier than was said... It was a really good welcome present after my night flight. I ordered the taxi via hotel and it was on time and with very nice drivers. The views from the roof of the hotel is also amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    loud, even w closed balcony doors it was hard to sleep w outside traffic noise, the air con didnt work. there are only two tiny lifts so my guess is when the hotel is busy that causes issue.

    the location and the view from the restaurant is brilliant. the staff is nice and accomodating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No soundproof. Absolutely none! For a 4-star hotel charging more than 100 eur pet night, it is unacceptable to listen to the maids and cleaning and everything next door fot 3 hours straight!

    Very clean, rooftop terrace amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were no chairs or table on the balcony of the room. It seemed as though our things were constantly gone through and placed in different areas. We made sure our things were not in the way of house cleaning, but things were still moved around a bit. Nothing was missing. I would still stay here again!

    The view from this hotel is unbeatable~! The staff are friendly, bed is comfy, and the bfast is top notch. The view from the balcony at the top is incredible (6th floor facing the temple of Olympian Zeus). The bar staff is friendly, and drinks reasonably priced.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too soft for me and I ended up with a stiff neck.

    The location is great - just a 5 minute walk to the Acropolis south entrance. Many of the other key places are also within walking distance. And for those who are interested in taking the Hop On Hop Off bus, the stop is just by the side of the hotel, making it really convenient. The roof top breakfast area is fantastic for its view of the Acropolis. The breakfast spread is ample.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are pretty small and the bed was just okay. We stayed in the Hilton for our first few days in Greece and it was so great for the about the same amount of money as the Athens Gate that i just expected more.

    The breakfast was great. The rooftop bar was nice and had great views. The staff was friendly. They gave our umbrellas which was nice because it rained everyday we were there. Everything is so close and the Plaka is right behind it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit small. The restaurant is not very big and was crowded for breakfast. The breakfast itself could be improved - espresso and more Greek traditional sweets like baklava, cadaif and similar.

    Great location - 5-20 min walking to all major sightseeing, most of them are clearly visible from the hotel, especially good view from the roof restaurant, where also the breakfast is served. 10-15 min to the shopping area and the city center, plenty of restaurants, taverns and cafes nearby. The staff was very polite and extremely helpful. The room is clean with facilities to make tea and coffee. The bathroom is large and very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only downside was the evening meal which we ate in the Restaurant the first night. The food was a bit stodgy and it was overpriced compared to others in the area which we found later.

    The location couldn't have been better for all the sights. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of choice. The room was fine with a great view of the Temple of Zues from our window. The traffic noise was always present but you get used to it pretty soon. That's Athens! Really comfortable bed and everything spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area restaurants are all tourist trap type places. Didn’t see any restaurants where you would expect locals to go.

    Clean, comfortably appointed and recently renovated property. Lovely roof restaurant. Literally steps from Temple of Zeus, Acropolis, museum and plaka area. 10 minutes walk to parliament square. Excellent value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a budget room so it only had a view of the fire escape but the compensation was paying less for our room.

    Easy to get to from the Acropolis Metro station - a five minute walk. Good size comfortable double bed. Clean room. Great buffet breakfast with lots of choice - both hot and cold. Very helpful staff. Fantastic view from the roof garden restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were in a second floor room close to one of the main routes from Athens to Piraeus. Consequently there was a lot of traffic noise from around 5:00 AM until 2:00 AM the next morning. Not a problem when you are out and about in the city, but pretty frustrating when you're trying to sleep. This is the only criticism I'd make of Athens Gate.

    The view from our room was amazing. All the staff we met and had dealings were helpful and courteous and very professional. The breakfast buffet was excellent and they also had plenty of staff on hand to help at a very busy time. The view from the rooftop dining room was simply stunning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was horrible. We went on early November but the weather was very summer-like, and the centralized heating system blocked the “cool” option. The fan option didn’t work at all. The elevator is funny, looks old and feels that it will break at any time. It’s a nice one, but yet it needs an update. The noise is intrinsic on the location.

    It was a very classical yet modern hotel. The staff was very kind, the breakfast was delicious and the view of the restaurant is amazing. The dinner is gourmet and delicious as well. The hotel has a luggage store if you need to hold your belongings after the checkout for a few hours. The room was clean and the balcony view leads directly to the Temple of the Olympian Zeus. It’s very close to many archeological sites, restaurants, shops and transportation stations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost and found my phone in taxi. I would like to express my sincere thanks to Ms Amalia, with her extra effort by calling my lost phone continually and sending the Greece language messages to inform the founder to call her . We had finally located the lost phone. She also offered to collect it from the founder. Once again , thank you Ms Amelia.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was disapointed in the food served at the restaurant. Even the great view could not over come the average food at a premium price. There are many great restaurants near the hotel so have a drink at the bar, check out the views and then go out to dinner.

    The bar and restaurant on the top floor has a magnificent view of the Acropolis. Especially the view at night. The rooms were clean and staff did a great job. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slow elevator. No noise cancellation in the rooms, heard every discussion on the same floor. Taking a shower flooded the bathroom. Breakfast started too late for my travels.

    Location. View from the rooftop restaurant. Price decent for the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -We stayed in first floor. It was very noisy due to the busy traffic of Syngrou Avenue the hotel is situated adjacent to. I don’t know if this problem of noise is unique to our room or floor. I’d advise you to ask for it while booking your room. -Rooms are ok though a bit small. -Air conditioner in the room was switched to cooler mode. I had to ask the reception to turn it to heater mode every time, which eventually turned back to cooler mode after a while.

    -Elegant hotel decoration. -Location is wonderful. -Hotel has a wonderful roof with amazing views of Temple of Zeus and Acropolis. -Breakfast is rich and delightful. -Rooms were clean. -Staff were attentive and kind. -Restaurant at the roof is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole hotel is modern, well maintained, and has a very good, contemporary decor. The room was very comfortable and had a fantastic view of the Temple of Olympian Zeus. However the view from the rooftop restaurant pretty much justifies the choice of hotel by itself. There is a spectacular 360 degrees view of Athens, dominated by the nearby Acropolis. You are very close to the Acropolis, the Temple of Olympian Zeus, and the Acropolis Museum. Situated on Syngrou (one of the main roads in central Athens), it it easy to get a taxi, and the Metro is two minutes away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe provided a bottle of water each day.

    Views of the different historical landmarks as well as Athens from different parts of the hotel were beautiful!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the elevator is bigger it will be great.

    The restaurant on the top floor is very nice, the staffs are all friendly. The banana & chocolate croissant is delicious. The location is great, you can walk to Syntagma Square and the Acropolis, the flea market etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast buffet was not great. No water or juice offered by waitstaff, self serve only. Scrambled eggs were awful and no a la carte egg options like many other hotels offer. I saw the kitchen using canned dolmades, really???? Chairs and table were pretty run of the mill and the old grey staff polo shirts were not a good look. Room was comfortable, but nothing great. TV volume went to 15 only, impossible to hear. No complimentary bottled water. The large step at the entryway is very awkward. The lobby bar seems like the unwanted stepchild, not inviting whatsoever and a waste of a potentially great space.

    Desk staff very helpful. Housekeeping extremely friendly. View from rooftop and room were amazing. Location is great. Awesome artisan shopping and restaurant area on back streets just blocks away, bring your credit card :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I honestly can't come up with anything negative to say.

    Well equipped comfortable room. Excellent buffet breakfast. Very attentive and friendly staff. Great location near the Plaka and the Acropolis.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The location, staff throughout the hotel, breakfast was the best, room with a great view of Athens was wonderful! Everything was sparkling clean . Will return there when visiting Athens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not appreciate having "John" treat me like a child upon my arrival. All yo get monetary to. Entered my hotel room to explain how the phone, safe, how to open doors at. This is crazy. At the end he waited to get compensated. Borderline being aggressive. All other staff were professionals.

    Overall experience was great. One issue with a particular staffnupon my arrival. He addressed himself as John.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking out the front was difficult, but not the hotel's fault.

    The view, both from my balcony and the rooftop, would be difficult to beat in Athens. And the helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were always pleasant and extremely helpful. Fabulous location within walking distance of most sites. The rooms were very comfortable, spotless and quiet. The Roof Garden was a bonus; eating excellent breakfasts in sight of the Acropolis & The Temple of Zeus was a real thrill.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked the desk for the location for the nearest cash exchange. He circled the location on a map for me then I proceeded on a wild goose chase for my first hour in Greece. Suggestion: go prepared with Euro in hand before landing in Athens.

    Location in Plaka is great. Great food in the rooftop restaurant. Booked this hotel to get away from the graffiti riddled walls of Athens. Got exactly what I was looking for: Bigger hotel, clean, Plaka lifestyle literally seconds away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Internal Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent location to view all of the historical sites. The staff are happy, friendly and helpful. They were more than happy to assist with finding out about shows for me at the historical site. We had a small problem with our room and they sent someone up straight away and even moved us to a different room even though it was late and we were checking out the next day. The rooftop breakfast/bar is delicious and the view from up there is second to none.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They had a small elevator (making it a tight squeeze if more than two people) but it wasn't an issue.

    Great view from our balcony overlooking the Temple of Zeus, and the walkability was unbeatable. We could walk to every site in the Athens area, as well as great areas for food and fun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish the balcony has a sun shade and a sofa bed or couch so we could stay longer in the balcony and chill out with the beautiful view.

    Perfect Location. The view from the balcony and the roof top restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevators a little old school but fun.

    Roof top restaurant view of the Acropolis worth every penny. This is also where you eat the included breakfast. The rooms are very very clean. Great bathroom and shower. It looks like a brand new hotel on the inside. Would only stay here again if back in Athens. Location is perfect times ten.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here a group of friends and 2 kinds 2 year old and 6 year old, we could not be happier. Excellent staff made impossible happen frequently, attentive excellent views good breakfast and good rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi did not work well in the room, but was fine in the lounge. The floor of the bathing cabinet was slippery when wet, but the staff immediately fixed the problem by providing plastic covering, which we greatly appreciated -- this was especially helpful for the elderly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No boiler and free coffee and tea prepared in the room, they just provided tea wthout cup and small spoon after we requested. And the WIFI is not so good.

    Good lcation and great view at roof

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room (at the first floor, with a not good view) were not so comfortable: there was not any fridge, nor a little table to work. Generally, these are not real problems... but these are details difficult to accept in a hotel with these prices.

    The location is perfect, near to all the main cultural sites of the city. The room was very cleaned. The breakfast in the garden roof is very beatyful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Slow Dinner Service not enough wait staff in busy restuarant

    The Rooftop Garden with great view of Acropolis; for Breakfast and other meals Central location with Acropolis Museum and Metro Station close by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Absolutely excellent stay. We stayed 3 days with two young children, the staff and the hotel went out of their way at every corner to make our stay comfortable. We were there with other friends for a friend's 40th. They organised a cake at a very short notice accommodated our demands everywhere. They made sure we coukd stay in the same room as a family by organising a cot and an additional bed even though their riles clearly states only one can be fit in the room. When our pre-arranged baby sitter fell through, they organised one with a couple of hours of notice. They are amazing, one of the best run hotels I ever stayed. It is clean, new, modern and has fantastic views. Overall 5 stars for everything!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: