Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Schoolmistress With The Golden Eyes

Castle Str., Mithimna, 81108, Greece

Review score

Based on 132 apartment reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    there was nothing I did not like

    The room (6) the balcony and the facilities, the terrace and the view and the garden. I also like the friendliness and easy going atmosphere .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk up the hill with bags. It would be helpful to know how to get there easier. We had to ask locals a number of times.

    The view from the balcony was exceptional. The ability to have a late exit to leave bags and to explore the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault

    Very convenient In midst of village accessible to everything. Explained where everything was and helped you find any thing you need. Thank you so much

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extraordinary place to stay in the hart of Molyvos! Great panorama's. Basic rooms but extremely clean. Interesting name of the pension which refers to a wonderful book of Stratis Myrivilis. Helpful host.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Yorgios was very responsive to my email queries about very early check-in and parking and he provided detailed driving instructions to find the place and welcomed us warmly and personally, helping with baggage and getting us to our room. The location and the views are indeed stunning with beautiful sunset over the Aegean and the tile roofs of the village from our intimate private balcony. The room was quite small and extremely basic but perfectly clean with lots of electrical outlets and good lighting which we appreciate. There is a communal kitchen for storing and preparing food and we also had a small fridge in the room and a shared electric kettle on our landing. We also had a fantastic off-season price. Excellent value for money! It's a good idea to drive up to the top of the hill, unload your baggage then head down the other street to find parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communal breakfast/all day kitchen facilities. Laundry hanging. Central to village, easy access to tavernas, port, beaches. Great for solo traveller. You make your own coffee!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    George, the owner is very kind and helpful. The location/view is stunning. The place clean, private and simple. I couldn't have been happier here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is a little difficult to find Bedding and pillows are quite uncomfortable

    George and his mum were lovely and helpful and the view from the rooms is amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked to have breakfast, but the gentleman at the front desk told us that it'd be better if we went to the marketplace to have it. We'd have preferred paying for it at the hotel, but didn't want to insist, seeing as he wasn't in the mood to make it. If the option exists, it'd be nice if it's properly offered by the staff.

    Views are beautiful from the balconies, and the location is very central and close to the harbor where good restaurants + nightlife are located.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wasn't too hot while we were there so not a big deal, but a fan would be a nice addition.

    Adorable property in the middle of the village. A little tough to wheel my bags in with the path and some building happening, but just a minor thing that I'm sure the locals are used to. The owner, George, was the best. We got in just after 11 and he was ready for us, we had to leave at 4:45am to catch the flight home so checked out the night before. Ended up at the same restaurant he was at in the harbour and he bought our drinks, even though we planned to do the same! Loved the balcony with the ocean views and clothesline to dry or air things out. Very handy! Room was small, but manageable. Could be tough with a lot of bags. Comfortable beds and a large bathroom with plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you're driving, don't expect to just drive up to the hotel, park in their carpark, and walk in. There is a narrow one way lane that goes through Mithymna village. You'll have to have detailed instructions to get there, block the lane while you unload your luggage, then park at the edge of town.

    The location in the middle of a Byzantine town is amazing, as is the view. Mithymna village is very atmospheric.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dark room in basement with no air conditioning and no view. TV was a small computer screen. Bathroom had a curtain rather than a cabin which is not hygenic, very worn out towels. Room on basement is noisy with other people speaking loud in garden.

    There was nothing to like unless you make sure you get a room with aircon and sea view.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is very nice. You can enjoy the spirit of the traditional market and the stunning view both. Stuff is very helpful and friendly. Our room is cleaned on a daily basis which was essential for us. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not that important, but we think that it would be better if shower had a curtain.

    At the heart of the old market. Great view. You can enjoy Molivos even with the balcony of the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was very uncomfortable and fusty. There was no shower curtain.

    Location was good but you need the climb a mini hill to reach the apartment. And if you're in the right room you have a beatiful sea view.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room families (no TV and no bath soap provided) Location not easily accessible by car

    View from balcony Stone building Helpful owner Close to center

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location right on the main street of Molivos located towards the top of this very steep road. The rooms are basic, but efficiently equipped. The host is very helpful and always available. Some rooms and common areas have a breathtaking view of the Molivos bay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simplicity is the beauty.. This is what you feel when you arrive at the hotel. You have all you need there. No need for hair-drier,air-conditioner when you have the wind. You need to walk up-hill for about 5 minutes to have a great scenery. The rooms are very clean, the view is fantastic over the lovely city of Molyvos. You can even find books to read in the corridor if you forget to bring. The owner, George helps you with everything you need. The school mistress with the golden eyes is a good example of citta-slow hotels. You feel there is no need to rush for anything, all you need is to enjoy the moment. We will definitely be there again..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was nice but the view of room was epic! I definitely suggest a room with that view. Personnel was very kind and helpful. I think molivos is the best place in lesvos island.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scenary was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing hospitality, view and cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was fine.

    Peacefulness Calm Beautiful location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wonderful view, location, clean, laid back, friendly atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff is very gentleman, thanks all the things.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, fascinating view, great hospitality! Thanks to Yorgos!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Yorgos was always very helpful. Location is also perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some soap, shampuans are missing

    Balcony sea view and location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, helpfulness of owner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, excellent location, great view and facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing could have been better.

    Everything was just perfect. Location, service and the prices were all good. George's hospitality is priceless :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean at all, old bed linens and towels I wouldn't even consider to sweep the floors. No shower curtain

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Group

    Nothing I didn't like.

    I like this place a lot - it doesn't make a lot of fuss but it is right in the center of historischen Molivos, the views are Stimmung, the rooms simple and clean, the service friendly and personal.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Getting to the hotel by car up the steep, narrow street was challenging and rather scary. Also, the owner/manager was hardly around to answer questions, and the day before we left, he appeared to ask when we were leaving, letting us know the sooner, the better as he was eager to close up.

    The view was very good.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Group

    Charming! Very nice and helpful owner. Stunning view over the sea from the balcony. In midst of the village life, and nonetheless silent and peaceful. Simple but clean and friendly rooms. The price is very good for what you get!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Can't think if anything I didn't like.

    I loved everything about this place. It's location is superb; you can easily walk down to the harbor for a meal, but why stay at the harbor and put up with its noise? It is also warmer and more humid at the harbor. It's incredibly peaceful and quiet at Schoolmistress. The sir is cool and fresh. The view of the sea is as good as any you will ever find. One of Molyvos's top restaurants (the Tropicana) is a four minute walk away. Two mini-marts are even closer. The castle is within easy walking distance. You're right below ithe castle, actually. The manager is always helpful. The guests I found were interesting people. It's a quiet place-- by day and night. A truly memorable place to stay!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Ther is nothing I did not like.

    Great location. Wonderful view from my second-floor room. A lovely house with a great literary connection to Stratis Mirivilis. The staff is efficient and helpful. Everything you need is close by. You will appreciate being away from the noisy harbor. Very quiet and oeaceful. Loved it!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel's location is very good. It is close to the beach, harbour, bars, restaurants and also it is best place to view from balcony. Have amazing sunset wiew. It is clean and relax. I really enjoyed to stay. A wonderfull and warmly hotel with a very kindly owner..

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircondition in our room (3 out of 15 rooms were without), but a fan was at disposal in the room.

    Friendly staff. Great location. Close to the bakery with a lovely smell in the morning. No noice from the streets. Good common areas, with spectacular wiew. Nice garden with big walnuttree.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    As I understood most accommodation in the village is on a slope so it's not an easy option for someone that doesn't like walking so much or has some movement problems. That said I think that this is also a strong point of the place as you can have amazing views of the aegean from a lot of balconies.

    What I liked the most was that the manager was helpful and friendly always available for anything we needed. Also the room was really clean and cheap.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is in a great position. The view from the balcony is simply stunning. The rooms are clean and comfortable. George is very kind and helpful. Higly recommended !

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I stayed three times. I am glad each time.it has wonderful sea view. The rooms are clean and are cleaned up every day. The Balance between price and services is wonderful. I suggest it a lot.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air on but for the price maybe that's fair but a FAN please that would help. Also bathroom is really so basic - a proper shower head and a couple of hooks please!

    Location great

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room with view, but when we arrived we got a room on the ground floor. The owner told us that since we will stay only for a night it's not a big deal to stay in this room. The room was dark as it was at the back of the yard and there was a wall in front of the door/window. There was no air-conditioning in a room without windows, the pillow cases were torn and the bathroom was quite dirty with spider webs on the ceiling. When we arrived the mini fridge was not pluged in, so we weren't able to use it up until 3-4 hours later.

    Good location in the old market of Molivos, although it's quite hard to find it. Good wifi When we locked ourselfs out of the room at 12 in the night we called the owner and he was more than happy to come over and unlock the door.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You don't always find the staff at the reception desk but they provide a number for you to call at all times.

    Great value for money for staying in Molivos. The staff was very helpful. You feel like staying at their home. The instructions sent to use beforehand made it very easy to find the place. The kitchen downstairs provided basics to make coffee or prepare breakfast in the morning (bakery is right around the corner).

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    hotel entrance was tricky. molivos was noisy generally.

    hotel was clean and stuff was so helpfull. it has an amazing view. they don't have breakfast but there was 2 mini market so close the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location, right in the middle of everything. Nice view from upper storey rooms. No need for breakfast, hotel provides utensils, there is a nice bakery and market very close by. Also, wi-fi is problem free.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no dislikes except for the steep hill to climb but if it was lower then you would miss the views!

    The 'Room Only' accomodation was very suitable for us. It has great sea views from the balconies. The owner George was extremley helpful and friendly and the room was kept vey clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A car is not really feasible at this location but it is well suited for a scooter. The people at Moto George were a great resource for a scooter.

    The hotel had the most amazing view of the bay below and there were lots of things to see around the village. All the people in the village were also friendly and welcoming.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel had the most extraordinary views and atmosphere of any hotel in which I've ever stayed, and I've been on 29 foreign holidays averaging 3 weeks in the last 40 years.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sezon başı olmasından mı bilmiyorum ama hayalet gibi dolaşan bir işletmecisi var. Yeni evli çiftler gitmesin derim.

    Konumu çok iyi. Bütün Molyvos ayaklarınızın altında

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Couple

    Lots of steps to get to location, but on one of the prettiest streets.

    George was fabulously friendly, the balcony view was amazing

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is great, especially the view

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    hotel is located at the top of the hill, very narrow roads, not easy to reach by car

    very clean rooms, nice balcony with garden view

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pillows:(

    Friendly property owner. Perfect location:)

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location and good panorama view.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel very close to Molyvos center and perfect sea view over on balconies. Also Mr. George was so helpfull .

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too old room and beds. Not so clean.

    Location and staff is good.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Fabulous views. Conveniently locatrd for restaurants, shops and the castle at the very top of the market street. Easygoing and helpful ownrer.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air condition

    In the traditional center

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Great location, fantastic view, George was extremely nice and service minded, very affordable accommodation!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air con

    Best location an view!

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very well located, close to everything the town has to offer. And of course the view.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No A/C Narrow toilet and shower

    Pet friendly Good location Nice and polite personel Clean room Value for money apartment

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel owner was very helpful.he struggled arrange a transport to mytlini and he did it.thanks for evrything ☺

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything! Helpful staff who spoke English.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no a pool.

    Very friendly owner that was more than helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Group

    cleanliness is very good. Great location, great landscape and of course George is a great host.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: