Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Theros Hotel 3 stars

Tavronitis, Tavronitis, 73006, Greece

#3 of 9 hotels in Tavronitis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    4.2
    Hotel staff couldn`t care less about your stay to be pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View and Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Hotel staff doesn`t care about your wishes or complaints - cleaning of the rooms was super inconvenient for us and cleaning lady woke up our baby one of the days during the stay There are no "do not disturb" signs available, so the hotel staff can enter your room when you are in the bathroom In the last day they showed no respect to our stay and 2 hours before check out while we went for a walk (despite the fact that our bags were still in the room) they started to prepare the room for the next guests and threw away food that we left in the fridge to have late breakfast before leaving On the cover photo this hotel shows a picture of a sandy beach so I assumed that it is close to the hotel, there is only pebble beach (3 min walk) but actually they don`t sandy beaches within 25 min drive distance Wifi doesn`t work properly, really slow connection, sometimes no connection at all Leaking shower and sink, no squeegee in the bathroom Ants in the kitchen and bathroom No locks in the shared toilet/shower by the pool No microwave No airport transfer and no support in finding taxi Super slow to no response on requests by mail Annoying and incompetent staff In the middle of the stay they started to put less towels in the room If you want to use hotel towels at the pool you have to pay 2 Euro / day extra No kettle Air conditioning only in the dining area, you can`t use air conditioning when the balcony door in your bedroom is open Loud music until 22:00 Breakfast available only from 8 to 10, so if you want to go to the beach early it is better to prepare your own food

    Comfortable bed Baby cot and high chair were provided for us Nice pool with sun beds Quite clean in the rooms Mini kitchen and mini fridge Quite during the day

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    5.8
    Smart, but very overpriced boutique hotel in a poor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Maisonette with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff welcome. Location. Very impersonal. Charge for pool towel. Nearby beach not very nice.

    Well appointed room with lots of storage. Everything new & modern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    The bed was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was great! I have trouble sleeping but had no worries here. The room in general was very smart and just a nice space to be in. Tavronitis is quite sparse with a few nice places spread out. The beach is just down the road and is quite pleasant. It is lovely and quiet but is just a 5 minute bus ride away from the more lively towns.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Closed to the best beaches in the West Coast of Crete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs around the hotel made rumours during all the nights. Rooms closed to the reception without privacy. Breakfast in the room every morning with the same things every day. In the room you have only curtains on the windows. ..light filters in the early morning ...and you sure wake up.

    Great Position to visit the amazing and fantastic beaches in the West Side of the island and 20km from the beautiful Chania. Clean hotel with a Kind local People. Good Quality of Beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Tranquility!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little dated, too similar everyday but they asked us what we wanted and changed it to suite our tastes, very lovely staff!

    What a wonderful holiday! If you're looking to get away from tourists this hotel is for you! The tranquility is unreal here and it's so peaceful! The staff were so lovely! The lady who owns the place is always smiling and does her best to make sure you're happy! The Russian lady who works here was also very helpful and really fun to talk to! The breakfast was a little dated here but that didn't ruin anything. The bed was nice and firm and helped my injured back! Main transport is the bus in crete and it's very easy to get to one town to another! If you like a little bit of remoteness but not too much you should stay here! I would come back to this hotel anytime! Thank you so much for probably the best holiday I've been on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.5
    Family Friendly and couple Friendly Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet was not good (the connection was low and often it didnt work). We thought that it was because of the area where the Hotel is but after we visited two Restaurants that are next to the hotel we found out that its not about the area as the Internet in the two Restaurants were perfect. The breakfast is almost exactly the same. I think it would be great and attractive if there would be changes sometimes - Not everyday something new but only sometimes something different/ special. At Night like at 8.30pm the pool looked so nice with the lights on but unfortunately the pooltime is only till 8pm. It would be great if the pooltime would be until 9pm. At this time most of the guest come back to the Hotel and would like to relax for 30 min in the pool with the sunset. (It was sad to see the Neighbor-hotel-guest relax in the pool while our Pool was closed). If these points would change we would definately come again to this Hotel.

    Super friendly Personal which were always ready to help - excellent. Fast Breakfast- if you asked for breakfast it was ready some minutes later. Breakfast on the Balcony was so nice. Nice view to the beach and Nature. Absolutely Family-Friendly. Bus Stop is Next to the Hotel. Beach is only 5 min by Foot. Restaurants, pharmacy and supermarket are next to the Hotel (5-10 min by foot). You have a fridge and a little kitchen in the room. We recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Perfect week in Crete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good, but could have been more varied.

    Nice little hotel. The staff was very polite and professional. The breakfast was brought to the room every morning. Since we had to check out early the last day, they prepared some food the evening before that we could eat that morning. The location was great for exploring west Crete and all the nice beaches. The room was cleaned every day, and towels changed every third day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    6.7
    If you looking for cheap option, but be ready for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was with connection door to another room. The door was closed and locked, but we could hear our neighbors voices very clear. Also when they returned to their room near 2:00 am it made me and my wife wake up. Secondly, we have problem with air conditioner and it took the hotel 3 days to fix it, the meaning of this is two hot nights sleeping without air-conditioning (water flow from it when it worked). The only solution they gave us was some pot to put under to collect the water.

    The price is good and overall it's good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.6
    great value, comfi, clean hotel in good location for west Crete!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hotel is excellent for this price range.

    Staff was amazing and very friendly! location is great, nearChania and close to the west beaches (best ones). breakfast was good enough since it was free. big rooms (but small shower), clean and quite.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.9
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The view from the room was disappointing, expected sea view (as it was advertised), but instead got "bush view" and just in front of the bar and the stairs. Breakfast good, but lack of variety. Poor wifi signal.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable, modern and quiet hotel. Rooms are cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was simply perfect! We will definitely come back to the Theros and its kind owner and lovely staff members! (For the staff "Kalimera from Vid!" :) )

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    5.8
    Good but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    no air-conditioning (it was but didn't work), ants, poor wi-fi. The staff let our kids be quiet in swimming pool because one man wanted to sleep at 4 pm! That was our first day of holiday so we were unhappy

    Good breakfast, every day clean room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Pool and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting in the Olive grove was nice. View of the ocean pleasant.

    Pool and staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast in bed a bonus 😜
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just WiFi. Nothing would have been better 😳

    WiFi worse than awful. From 3mb to .60 Kb that aside Hotel was exactly as described. Very satisfied

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    everything was perfect for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was perfect for us

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    8.8
    Spacious appartement and balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maisonette with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bathroom

    Spacious appartement and balcony. Nice breakfast served in the room. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    perfect for couples
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    sometimes the breakfast wasn't served on time

    new hotel with a lovely atmosphere, breakfast was brought to the room, good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    COMFORT SUPER! STAFF BEST EVER MET. VERY HELPFULL AND KIND. BREAKFAST IN THE ROOM CHERRY ON THE TOP

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    8.8
    Generous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds very hard

    Generous breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    9.2
    By its location you can enjoy of a peaceful and relax time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the lack of shampoo in the shower

    By its location you can enjoy of a peaceful and relax time

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast to bed, everyday cleaning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wi-fi doesn't work in the room.

    Breakfast to bed, everyday cleaning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was very nice and the rooms were cleaned...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is quite far from beaches that has cafes or umbrellas and the picture of the beach on their website is not within walking distance which was a bit disappointing. The area is very run down and a bit depressing. The receptionist for the day shift doesn't speak English, we had a very hard time if we wanted to ask something, we had to use basic words and body language to make her understsnd what we want. It made me feel very uncomfortable so we always tried to discuss everything with the girl in the evening shift. It's not like she wasn't trying to be helpful, she just didn't speak English and even when she understood us, she didn't want to go out of her way to settle something for us if it wasn't the easiest way/within her obligatory duties. For example the website says you can rent bikes, but actually the hotel helps to rent it from other companies. We wanted a bike for a day initially to explore the area. She originally said it was €9 per day but in the end, we had to pay €80 alltogether becausewe were told we had to rent it for at least for days if we wanted them to be delivered. When were in the city later, we realised we got probably the worst deal, other rentals, that were much closer, were charging €7/day so it'd have been good to know that not wasting all that money for days when it was raining and we couldn't use the bikes at all. When the rainy days came and we asked her to maybe convince them that we return them early and maybe get some money back, it wasn't possible, of course. Also, we are very tall people, and they delivered a two bikes that were very small for us. So we had to ride 40 mins to the rental company to get bigger ones - again, it'd have been good if the rental company was informed that they should bring bigger bikes...

    The hotel was very nice and the rooms were cleaned immaculately every day. We got breakfast to our room every morning which was fantastic. There are two receptionists, one during the day and another for evenings. The one in the evening is a super nice young girl. She speaks very good English, she's super helpful, in our first and last night she stayed in late to keep the bar open for us longer than the usual hours just to make us feel more welcome. She was very proactively trying to help us with everything, whether it was ordering veggie pita at 10pm or giving us advise about what to visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice quiet and peaceful hotel with friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We found the bed a bit hard for us but this is only a matter of preference. Wanted to hire bikes from the shop in Tavronitis but when we went there it was shut for the bulk of September which was a bit annoying.

    Nice quiet and peaceful hotel with friendly and helpful staff - we were given a very warm welcome by Antonia on arrival. Perfect location for us with no concentrations of tourists from any single country, i.e. package holiday clientele.Rooms very clean and kept clean by staff who replace bedding and towels every three days. Good breakfasts in the morning which often was enough to provide us with lunch before going out in the evening. We would recommend three good tavernas in the area: Vicenzos in Kamissiana (about 15 mins walk), Caneva in Tavronitis (10 mins) and one by the beach called Anemomilos (5 mins). Supermarket and fruitshop in Tavronitis for all food and drink needs.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    the staff is good and the hotel also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    you have to buy whatever since 22:00 because the reception/bartender is finishing that time and you can not find something close to the hotel. also the wifi on my room was not so good

    the staff is good and the hotel also.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Very clean rooms, everyday cleaned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were very hard and the room is smaller then the pictures showed. Breakfast in the room was for us not a good idea. Poor wifi connection.

    Very clean rooms, everyday cleaned. Very nice and polite staff. Very quit locating to relax. Good price for the accomodation.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    9.2
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom-leak in from the shower. Just inconvenient Wifi is bad, anywhere in the hotel.

    Quiet location. But still enough shops and restaurant nearby. Friendly staff. Kitchen is well equipped Room was cleaned almost daily (except the maid' s one day off)

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    9.6
    The breakfast was brought to our room each morning it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If the bar opened longer

    The breakfast was brought to our room each morning it was deliciously prepared fresh produce, ham cheese fresh bread lots of fruit ,eggs, cakes , fresh coffee and juice. The staff Eva and Antonia were very helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned every day and was quite spacious. The pool was a good size and clean with plenty of sunbeds

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.8
    It's a good 3* hotel in a lovely small, quiet yet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The bed is hard but the pillows are of good quality. We requested an extra pillow each, as only 1 is placed on the bed. The shower room is small but does the job. WiFi not so strong in the rooms. No breakfast options or pre-ordering offered. No kettle or any tea/coffee in the room but a pot of coffee arrives with breakfast, there is a filter coffee maker & a few pots. We took our own tea bags & bought milk, then boiled water.

    It's a good 3* hotel in a lovely small, quiet yet central location. Between 2 couples We booked 2 studio rooms, which were clean & of a good size. The staff were helpful & friendly. The pool area & facilities were good too. Continental breakfast being brought to your room was lovely, as it meant eating from from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    It is a quiet and nice hotel, with very friendly staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower is way too small. The breakfast (served inside the room) should be diversified, as we had almost the same thing for 10 days in a row.

    It is a quiet and nice hotel, with very friendly staff and very clean. A good location to explore Western Crete. Very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    The hotel is clean, with nice and new furniture, well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The shower may be considered small by some people. The hotel is at about 1km from the village center. There is a sign that indicate it... just continue driving from Tavronisis village center. Better use GPS coordinates. You need a car. Restaurants are located either in the city center (not many) or at about 10km distance.

    The hotel is clean, with nice and new furniture, well maintained. The rooms have a good size, with a small kitchen hidden in a drawer. The balconies have views to the pool. The sea is at 500m from the hotel, visible from the balconies. Jasmine plants climbed up on the balconies and the flowers were beautifull in May. The pool was well maintained and cleaned every morning, located in a sunny area all day long. It has also a smaller pool for small children. A small pool bar is available. The staff was very friendly and active. Breakfast is served in the rooms everyday, at the time requested.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Amazingly clean and staff very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Amazingly clean and staff very friendly. Perfect location and breakfast was great... we could not fault anything and will definitely be back!!

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    7.9
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not working or poor most of the times.

    Very clean. Nice to be in a balcony at evening.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    Great place, beautiful rooms and amazing staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place, beautiful rooms and amazing staff. Also, superb breakfast included in the rate.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.2
    Small but great home run hotel with good staff, new room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hot water unstable

    Small but great home run hotel with good staff, new room

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wi-fi

    Breakfast was delicious.The stuff kept the room clean all the time.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    beautiful and peaceful place, tastefully and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beautiful and peaceful place, tastefully and comfortable furnished room, good service

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Guests also reviewed these properties: