Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vanisko Hotel 3 stars

7, Andrea Papandreou Street, Amoudara Herakliou, 71414, Greece

#35 of 48 hotels in Amoudara Herakliou

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 241 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.1
    Clean good swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for 4 people. When we booked it looks big and double rooms but it was all the beds in one room that made it very narrow.

    Clean good swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    A good place to stay for a couple of nights on visiting Heraklion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main street where the hotel was situated , was quite noisy at night with cars racing up and down from time to time .

    I stayed here with my husband for one night after taking friends back to the airport. The sat nav did not direct us to the right place but with help from a friendly shop keeper we were able to find it. The room was clean and comfortable and perfect for a one or two night stay. The TV worked well. The bathroom was clean with a small bath and shower. Towels and toiletries were available. There is a hairdryer. The hotel gave us easy access to Heraklion town centre, shops and tavernas by car. There was a small car park outside the hotel and we left the key with the hotelier so cars could be moved around as necessary. The breakfast was very good with a wide choice of different types of foods. Although we did not have a chance to use the bar it looked well stocked and comfortable modern seating areas downstairs. The pool looked clean and welcoming although I did not have time to use it ! There was also a small bar next to the pool. I would use this hotel again. It is very close to Llidls and across the road is a large supermarket.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.8
    Could be a good place if better management and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel location is between two roads : constant noise of cars (Greeks do drive noisily) and the car washing, rooms are not at all sound proof, so you hear all the noise of your neighbors / corridor. Bed is short (about 190 cm), and pretty uncomfortable, pillow is just awful. No chair in the room / only old plastic chairs on the balcony. Staff speaks poor English. The space in front of the hotel is abandoned and this spoils the view.

    The location near the bus stop direct from the airport, public beach (just a send beach, no facilities), large shops. Swimming pool of the hotel is nice and clean. Typical Greek style breakfast (but don't expect much fruit). Bathroom is in proper condition (though sometimes you need to wait a minute to get hot water).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    6.3
    Pool,reception,new design toilets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People from next room can easy make a party until late in the morning,now body from the hotel took care about the other guests if you were complaining. The hotel is more like a hostel.in this hotel we were disappointed,first time with booking com

    Pool,reception,new design toilets

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    One week in Amoudara Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved staff at the reception. You felt that when you asked them something, you interrupted them and they did not make you feel welcome. I think that they had too much work, because they seemed preoccupied. Also their English was not that good, which may have contrbuted to this experience.

    The location was great. The bus stop is outside the door and on the other side of the street is a huge Hypermarket. You reach Heraklion city in 15 minutes. The hotel is clean and our room was renovated with comfortable beds. The air condition was very good. Big outdoor pool and close to the beach. Nice greek breakfast with friendly service staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small rooms. At the beginning I booked a 2-bed room and I asked to changed from 2 beds to twin-bed for me, my wife and my son. When I arrived they gave me a semi-double bed room. Finally one night I had to spend on the floor and the next day, after my complaint, was given to me a 2-bed room and I put the 2 beds together. The swimming pool was not so clean, could see sand from the beach inside and hair from the people. The stairs were ready to fall and could be dangerous especially for kids. And after 20:30 the staff didn’t allow us to enter the swimming pool, due to pool <<cleaning>>.

    Location is very good. Opposite of 2 big super markets and 10 minutes walk from the beach. Very clean hotel and rooms. Very polite staff. Simple and nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast & Lunch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quadruple room is one room with 4 beds, one wardrobe, thats it. Too small for 4 people. Tiny elevator.

    Breakfast & Lunch. Big reception area. Supermarket and kids playground within 5min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Pool, bathroom shower pressure awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren’t that helpful, breakfast wasn’t too good. Location opposite a supermarket is good for families. Too far to walk to port with all the shops though.

    Pool, bathroom shower pressure awesome. Basic hotel recommendation if you just want a bed for the night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.0
    Ok location, close enough to airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had black hairs all over the room which had not been cleaned properly. Cleaners entered the room twice in the morn if without knocking whilst we slept and when we arrived at 10.30pm our room was still not ready.

    Ok location, close enough to airport.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    This lovely, friendly, quiet hotel is ideal for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find anything of it.

    This lovely, friendly, quiet hotel is ideal for a super-relaxing holiday. I wished I had more time there, which I should. The breakfast buffet was tasty and varied. Everywhere is kept spotlessly clean, too. The bus stop for center was few feet from the hotel so easy there's no need to rent a car. My room was on the 4th floor. All in all, it's the space and peace and friendliness of the staff that make this hotel something really special.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    3.3
    Heraklion is great. This hotel needs to be put to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I know exactly what I am paying for - I was expecting a low scale a motel type of service place but the place is lower even than this. Room, bathroom, restaurant and personal (at the reception) quality is really poor. I've seen hostels and mountain huts for lower price but higher quality. It is not fair to the other nice hotels in the area to be priced same level as this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    bad service, do not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the service is dreadful. we waited ages untill the administrator stopped talking to a friend so that he could call a taxi. then he gave us a taxi plate number. the car came with a different number so we werent sure it was ours. when the driver went to see the administrator, the guy ran out being irritated and rude and making us look like idiots. i rarely leave bad reviews, but it was a poor experience overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.1
    Good place for small budgets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are pretty old and not very soundproofed. Curtains are too thin.

    It's clean and beds are comfortable. It's definitly stays a good quality/price ratio

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.8
    Bad checking experience due to tourist buses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very crowded hotel with tourist buses checking at night

    good only for a single night on the road to Chania

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend for Short Stay/ no big requirement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area a bit industrial/Noisy, but ok!

    Good Ratio value/Money, everything Worked Fine - Little balcony, clean Swimmingpool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect over night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was perfect for pur one night stay opposite large supermarket and easy walk to beach and restaurant's

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelled of cigarettes and couldn’t sleep

    Nice room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    worth spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not realy to say anything

    staff is very good and co operative

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Good peronal, friendly and hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Narrow beds, noisy in coridor.

    Good peronal, friendly and hospitality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    The beds were very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plugs in sink

    The beds were very comfy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    6.3
    La situation horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La situation horrible

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    It was fairly cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price i think it is good for what you pay I did not like leaving my passport at the desk for the duration of the stay

    It was fairly cheap

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.9
    Very good family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not so good at the breakfast.

    Overall good ! Frendly people and very helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stuff, very kind and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stuff, very kind and helpful! Special thanks to Kostas. Perfect location, very good service and food. It's really pleasant stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Extra big room and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud AC.

    Extra big room and pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    Bus stop a your door for easy 15min ride to Heraklion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 star neighborhood

    Beautiful large resort style pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    family gateway
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small parking space

    Great pool & breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    10
    Great Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited Parking

    Family run business and everybody is friendly. Amazing pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    staff and the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    im very satisfied

    staff and the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    5.8
    Swiming pool and very nice breackfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room faced to the main street is very noisy

    Swiming pool and very nice breackfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite a bit of a walk to the centre of town if you don't want to get the bus.

    Staff very helpful and pleasant. Good links to island and airport form bus stop directly outside of hotel. Pool very nice. Good value for money for budget traveller. Wifi good range.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Good quality for small money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast could include more fresh local fruts and vegetables.

    Good quality for small money. Hotel is located very close to the Beach(3 minutes). Bus stop to Heraklio centre and Lidl/Carrefour shops are right next to the hotel. Staff is kind and very helpfull. Clean rooms with nice sea or mountain view. I will definately stay in Vanisko hotel once again.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Very friendly staff, they make you feel really special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly staff, they make you feel really special. The food was really amazing, We loved it and the position of the hotel is near to everything, beach, supermarkets and airport.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    8.8
    We have spent a pleasant week here, everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We missed a little bit the variety of vegetables at the breakfast but apart from this it was good enough, everybody can find their desires.

    We have spent a pleasant week here, everything was satisfying. The staff was very kind and helpful (we had troubles with the booked transfer service but the receptionist interceded for us). Accessing the city is very easy with the local bus which stops next to the hotel, but you can easily reach the city center by foot. The opposite direction leads you toward the hotels in Amoudara with many taverns and shopping opportunities. Several travel agencies located near to the hotel which has many excursion offers to explore Crete (we went to Balos-Gramvousa). The hotel absolutely meets the requirements of the given category.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    4.6
    No room service Availble 24 hours
    • Solo traveller

    No room service Availble 24 hours

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    7.9
    Lovely pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely pool area.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    8.3
    The staff is really nice and helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the free wifi almost never worked which is a huge problem when we want to work

    The staff is really nice and helpful The room are good

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    3.3
    Staff tried hard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bad location, small uncomfortable beds with only a thin sheet, terrible shower.

    Staff tried hard

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.8
    The pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was so bad Elevator is not safe and just for 3 or 4 persons

    The pool and some of the staff was behaving good

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: