Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Mata

Yalos Beach, Ios Chora, 84001, Greece

#6 of 20 B&Bs and Inns in Ios Chora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic location, seconds from the port and beach and 10 minutes up steps to the village. Buses were also very close and an option to get to the village if you didn’t want to walk. The port is a small pretty harbour with shops and restaurants, not the standard feel of a port. The service was fantastic, with the owner always on hand to provide tips and say hello. Unbelievable price and very clean. Highly recommended. I hope to stay here again one day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi wasn’t great at all. It often wasn’t available or kept disconnecting. But for a total of 20 euros/night & given everything else was terrific, I really can’t complain

    On foot. Lambros personally met us and walked us back to the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower: small, water fluctuates between hot and cold (but at least doesn’t run out of hot water!)

    Good deal, quiet but has communal social spaces, close to port and bus stop, small and basic kitchen space, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all I want to apologize for the delay in writing this review. We stayed at Villa Mata during our summer holiday. We chose the place after reading the previous reviews and I can confirm that you won’t be disappointed. The room was spacious and clean, with a small terrace with table and chairs, and a daily cleaning service. There was a communal kitchen in the garden; very handy if you don’t want to spend every evening eating out. The location of the place is perfect – a short walk from the port, beach, shops and restaurants, but still in a quiet area a little way from the main town. The best surprise was Lambros, the owner. He is extremely welcoming and helps with any problems or questions you might have. He also went out of his way to help us find another convenient accommodation when we had to move, saving us time. I recommend Villa Mata without any hesitation and if I go back to Ios it will definitely be my first choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Villa Mata is situated about 5 min walk from the port. Our room was not too big but nice, clean and with a balcony. Generally there was nothing to complain about this accommodation according to the price. The main star of Mata was THE OWNER ! We have never met such a host interested in his guests ! I think that Lambros must be some kind of legend on Ios :) Nice place, nice price, great owner! You don’t need anything more ! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was amazing, very accommodating to a large group of young adults. Place was clean, rooms were ready early and each room had fantastic facilities. Great knowledge of the island as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was a bit small and nowhere to hang up the shower handle.

    Lovely place with outside space to sit together and enjoy in the evening. Garden and outside sitting areas. Big room with plenty of space. Nice bed. Quiet location. Friendly cat who came visiting. Very helpful and friendly host who could not do enough for us.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The washroom, women needs a well set up bathroom. And the bed, it was not a king size bed, it was two beds together, so i course you will fall on the wood in between...

    The location, The room size, the balcony, and the good care

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lambros was very available, he was very kind and nice. The building was very nice, especially because there were many young people so you can make friends!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't change one thing.

    The staff in Villa Mata were brilliant. Beautiful location. Beach very near. As good as us Irish could have hoped for!! Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issues: shower curtain not great-water went all over the bathroom floor, poor WiFi connection

    Friendly owner, clean, comfortable, near beach and bus stop, close to port, nice atmosphere, beautiful garden, daily cleaning, fridge in room, outdoor kitchen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wifi was a little spotty but not too big of a deal.

    Lambros was a wonderful host! For a great value, you're getting a wonderful location, room, and hospitality. Would highly recommend to everyone!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only got to stay one night, but we wish had more time to spend here. Everyone was very friendly, the room was nice, and very comfortable. Great location, and beautiful property!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we just loved our stay in villa mata... excellent located, right on the beach and still 10' walking from the center of the island where all the night life is... the room very nice, clean and comfortable.... the owner is a friendly, nice guy who helped us a lot during our stay... generally, we had a great time and we def recommend the place for other people too!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very dusty balcony and room. Worn and threadbare furniture, kitchen box and bathroom. Too small room for 4 persons. Only for short stay.

    Helpful host. Gave us useful information about the island. Big parking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They changed the sleaves and the towells every three days. The location is not that bad, but you will definately need to rent a car to have access to Chora.

    The wifi connection was great. Friendly staff. Nice rooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chora is about 15 mins walking and uphill. Mylopotas (the nearest beach) is only accessible by bus.

    Mr Lambros was very friendly, he came to take us from the port and he helped us with everything. I liked the decoration in the yard. Good wifi.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was really small. Such impression was enhanced by the fact that it was enormously hot in it, even the air conditioner couldn't help. Obviously, there was some problem with thermal isolation.

    Accommodation is really close to the port and Yialos beach. It's secluded from main street (you can reach it only across a dusty parking lot, what can be a problem if you pull your luggage).The accommodation has it's charm, but for enjoying in it you have to be a teenager, or in your early twenties, as majority of guests was in time when we were there.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room smelt a bit, but I think that was possibly from outside? Wasn't that bad, and we would absolutely stay there again!

    Staff were lovely. Lambros was very helpful and chatty! Good location. One minute walk from the beach. Rooms were very spacious and bathrooms were new and clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! Really enjoyed our stay.

    Lambos (the owner) was extremely friendly and helpful. Made our stay very pleasant and comfortable. I like that it was away from the party section on the island. A bit of a hike to the party, but so close to the beach and port.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    The only thing I can think of is maybe a few more utensils for the kitchen area but overall an excellent stay 😎

    The accommodation was excellent the family were very helpful and friendly I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and will book to go there again as soon as possible

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom flooded very easily

    Great location and amazing host

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lambros is really friendly and helpful. Bed really comfortable, which I never thought I would say about Greek beds!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly host Location is perfect Shower was very good Great local knowledge Close to beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and welcoming. Close to the beach, harbour, restaurants and the main town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Always willing to have a chat and help out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are to small if you're traveling in group Kitchen has few conditions.

    Owner very friendly Outside areas are nice All the rest

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything

    The owner is a legend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful place, perfectly located. Awesome staff ❤

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    The staff was very friendly and were always happy to give us tips around Ios.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our second time there after a quick stop at far out. great place, just love the garden!!! best thing ever: the price!!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tranquility. Charming. Simplicity. Authentic feel. Character. Amazing hospitality. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff and owner/manager (he can handle anything, even the most annoying guest, like me). What more could you wish for?

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection wasn't the best.

    Lambros and his family could not be any friendlier. The villa had the best family feeling. Our room was lovely with a big balcony and view of the sea (wonderful sunsets) and so cheap. Best value for money. Very convenient and close to both the port and Yialos beach, with easy access to the bus to other parts of the island. Area was peaceful, but not too quiet and we could easily get to Chora when we wanted. Small outdoor kitchen area, but adequate for breakfast. Food on the island is cheap and delicious anyway so we didn't bother cooking. Thank you very much for the stay, we will definitely be back as soon as we can :)

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If I really had to point out some cons, completely offset by pros, our bedroom was a bit small (they asked us if it was fine when we checked in, and I am sure they'd have found another place in case we were not satisfied) and our window was right in front of a table used by other guests to have dinner/drinks etc, so from time to time it was a bit noisy.

    Staff very nice and helpful: came to pick us up at the port and gave us a lot of extremely tips about the island (beaches, restaurants, bars, etc.) Perfect location and very comfortable room with AC/wifi and cleaned everyday. We would definitely go back to Villa Mata!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I enjoyed my stay last year and decided to book my stay at Villa Mata once again and was not disappointed. Great pension, supet-friendly owners, quiet location. 20m from the beach and within a short walking distance from shops, taverns and beach bars.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super property, excellent location and staff that made you feel like a member of the family. Don't give it a second thought wonderful place to stay

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    When we arrived to Ios, Lambros met us at the port and he told us that he switched our rooms to another hotel for his aunt because he said he had very noisy guests in his Villa Mata. we went to this other hotel and it was horrible. No hot water, small and dirty rooms. So we asked to be transferred back to our original reservation in Villa Mata. And surprisingly there was no noisy guests. The villa is pretty charming. The double room is really small. the bathroom is tiny as well.

    Location, cute villa.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lambros and his family are absolute legends. Genuinely happy to have a chat whenever you run into them. The location is a fifteen minute walk from Chora, "the Village", where the party scene is at, and a two minute walk from the port and some restaurants and a supermarket. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fantastic - sea & beach, port, Carrefour & a lot of tavernas nearby...thanks to Lambros & his mummy for their hospitability & friendly atmosphere. It's going without saying we'll recommend our friends to stay at this little but very warm soulful Your Home on Ios as we called it!))

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was in a quiet area, yet very central. The welcome we received on arrival and concern for our comfort during our short stay. Had we been staying longer than just one night we would have made use of the kitchen located on the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Villa mata is awesome! Lambros the owner picked us up at the dock and vas very helpfull with everything. Villa mata is approximately 45 seconds from the beach and 10-15 minutes from the village. Definitely reccomend it and we will return.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is excellent, Lambros and his family who run the place couldn't do enough to make me feel welcome and the property makes you feel like your on a Greek island

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice atmosphere. Position was absolutely brilliant.The owner Lambros was very kind.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving

    Clean. Friendly. Helpful. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Super Staff, our Host made us feel very welcome at Villa Mata, and gave us directions to clubs, food places etc.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At times it tend to be noisy by teenagers going out late or returning early morning.

    Very good location near the port and Lambros is very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The family run business is lovely, our host Lambros was amazing and very friendly as well as helpful.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is right beside the beach! 1 minute walk to supermarket and restaurants. So safe to walk back to after a night out

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner is really nice! we made a mistake our reservation,but they didn't ask to pay! so kind! we really appriciate it!

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: