Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windmill Naxos

Kotti, Naxos Chora, 84300, Greece

#19 of 94 Holiday rentals in Naxos Chora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a bin in the room for rubbish maybe under the sink? A few things for cooking in the room like oil and spatulas etc.

    Amazing hospitality, get to do a free wash load, free fruit in the morning, shared areas were nice to meet people, room was great. Lots of added extras! Transport to and from the port was so helpful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was really small, and the shower kept changing from hot to cold which was pretty frustrating.

    Amazing location, and excellent price. George picked us up from the port, and was super friendly and informative about the area and how to get buses to other parts of the area too. He also let us use the washing machine free of charge, as well as leaving coffee for guests in the reception every morning. We stayed here three years ago, and would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like better information on the hiking options in central Naxos, but that is not a criticism of Windmills.

    George was very friendly and helpful for options of where to go and how long to walk to each area in town. The place was perfect for my short but lovely stay in Naxos.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The host was very attentive: provided pick-up and drop-off at the dock and offered refreshments at check-in. Property was very quiet and easy to reach and get around on foot to the beach and the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small but that appears to be the norm in Greece. Wish there had been coffee available in the lobby rather than having to go out first thing in the morning.

    Excellent service. Great location. Loved George!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Twin Room with two single beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi turned off at midnight, but wasn't too much of a problem.

    George was wonderful. Came and picked us up at the port, which was so welcome after a long journey. The place is spotlessly clean, and great value for the money. The location is perfect. Quiet, but only steps to all the restaurants. Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager Giorgos is a werry nice person. He truly helped me out whit the transfer and printing and maps travel guides etc. He also gived me free air condition, cleaned the room every day etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basement Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    George was an amazing host who could not do enough for us. There is a washing machine available. He picks you up & drops you off to the ferry. There is extensive cooking facilities. Only a few minutes walk to the best beach & restaurants on the island.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment Top Floor with a big balcony (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is centrally located. It's easy to get to the port, business district, and beaches. The bus to the beaches is a 5 minute walk and the walk to the port is 10 minutes. George is a great host. He picked us up anthe port and gave us tips on how to get around, best beaches, etc. The room was an efficiency with fridge, stove, pots and pans. We only used the fridge and we purchased fresh fruit yogurt, juice, beer and wine. Our room had 2 balconies, one private and one shared, where we ate breakfast every day. We were also able to hang our bathing suits out to dry every day. We loved this room and would stay again if we come back to Naxos.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing we didn't like. A small shelf in the shower for shampoos and soap would be a nice touch.

    The location is very good, close to the beach and center/port. The room was spacious and cleaned every day and beds were comfortable. We liked the balcony and kitchen supplies were useful. We stayed at room number 1 on the ground floor. George, the owner, was very nice, he picked us up from the airport and dropped us off at the port. He gave us a map and some information about the island and places to see. There is also a common area you can use.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with two single beds
    • Stayed 9 nights

    George the owner was fabulous he met us from the port and took us to the hotel. He provided washing machine for use at no charge. There was a small library where you could deposit unwanted books or take any that you wanted to read. George was very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Twin Room with two single beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, short walk to beach and centre. Restaurants, car hire and minimarkets all nearby.good to have self-catering that meant we didn't have to eat out all the time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    George and his family have a great little hotel. My room was small but very well equipped. Safe, clean, good location, and pick up from the ferry, you couldn't ask for more. I also really appreciated all of the information and help that George provided and it was a huge treat to be able to laundry on site.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Twin Room with two single beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in the room I booked was small but it's no big deal.

    The owner was really great in offering a free transfer to and from the property. Room is cleaned every day and is comfortable. Location is close to some supermarkets, and close enough to town. You can do your laundry for free, and there's a little common area for you to chill downstairs when reception is open.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was quite tiny.

    George (the host) was very friendly and helped us whatever we needed. He gave us beach towels when we're going to the beach (which is by the way near to apartment). Room was cleaned every day and we had very nice little balcony.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    George is really nice, he picked us up and left us in the airport. He also gave us all the important info about the island and what to do during our stay. The hotel is well placed, just 5 mins walk to the beach and 15 mins to the city center. The rooms are very cleand and big, you have everything you need.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was quite small Shower was tiny 5 days only 1 set of towels

    Nice location Mr George is an excellent host Wifi worked fine Warm water all the time Special boxes to hold our luggage the last day after the checkout until our Ship would leave

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accomodation for laundry, very good geographic situation, free lift to the port and they kept our bagages since our departure was later the check out.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Everything was perfect great location great view from our top story balcony separate bedroom dining room a/c was great their was a brand new fridge the barthroom was huge rooms very clean rooms cleaned daily.staff very friendly George was a very nice person and would help you in any way he could.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small showers, few improvements in the room would be nice e.g better coffee table on the balcony. Floor seemed to be clean but when walking bare foot or white socks you could see the dirt very easily... Just my observation.

    Nice basic accommodation in a perfect location. Close to chora centre, beach, shops, places to eat. The owner is very nice and he offers pick ups and drop off to the airport or port :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great place for the cost. Room was clean and comfortable and there was sufficient cooking supplies for simple meals. We loved the balcony off the room for meals outside and hanging wet swimsuits, etc. George, the owner, was lovely. He picked us up and dropped us off at the port and was full of tips and information about the island.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Owner George was super nice and friendly! He picked us up and dropped us off at the ferry terminal for free. The place is located within walking distance from where everything is (restaurants, port etc). The room is clean. It was a very pleasant experience staying at Windmill!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only good things to say.

    The rooms are fitted with a little kitchenette and fridge, which is perfect for chilling water on those hot days! The rooms themselves are a nice size and have good wifi connection and air conditioning. The location is fantastic, a short walk to anything you need! Great restaurants around without the prices of the centre of town. However, the real highlight staying here was George. Such a legend! picked us up and dropped us off to the port for no cost, gave us all a glass of wine when we got to the hostel and gave us a fantastic detailed overview of what to do and where to go in Naxos. Can't wait to return to Naxos and The Windmill!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    George was very friendly picking us up and dropping us back to the port offering good advice. Room was nice comfortable bed. Good location close to beach and town. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like others have said, George is a great host, friendly and helpful with information, pick up/drop offs etc. The location is just a short walk from both the old part of town, and a nice beach.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the money. Good size rooms with ensuite. Friendly and helpful owner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything negative.

    Clean, cosy and close proximity to chora Naxos.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money clean basic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing really.

    The helpful attitude of George the owner. The location was very good and the room was clean and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great place and the thing that made it were the thoughtful extras.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    George the owner was very helpful.Reasonable price and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly Host!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely owner, great location, comfortable bed, excellent value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room - First Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Floor could have been cleaner!

    Easy walk to centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 8 nights

    a slightly bigger bathroom and shower but its not that important.

    I liked the location and the cleanliness and the friendliness of the owner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pickup and drop off at the port, very helpful and kind host. Very clean and comfortable room!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Single Room First Floor
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff,great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think the curtains could be darker

    I loved this place! First, the owner, Giorge, who is so nice, picked me up and got me back to the port. The place is quite and confortable. They clean the room and change the towels every day (even though i dont think this last is necessary...). It is close to bus stop, beach, supermarket and old town. There is a mini kitchen. The shower is strong and hot. And the price is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing negative to say.

    Great stay! George, the host, collected me at the ferry port and was very kind & accommodating. Very clean and comfortable room! Extremely great value! I will return on my next trip to Naxos. Windmill was recommended to me by a very reliable wordly traveller. I was not let down in any way!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. We stayed in two different rooms, the second room was a little small

    Very friendly and helpful staff, location excellent; 5 minutes to beach, 10 minutes to town; supermarkets, restaurants and shops close by.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Shower is a little small but typical of europe

    Great service and location. Clean spacious rooms minutes from town and the beach. Loved Naxos and didn't want to leave!

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower is a bit small, but we managed.

    Owner is very friendly and helpful, picked us up from the port and brought us there later again. The location is just outside the city centre (5 - 10 mins walk) near restaurants and car rentals. Very nice room (with a kettle and fridge), and a small balcony ideal for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great value, good location--only a few minutes from one beach and a short bus ride to others. The owner picked us up and dropped us off for our ferries too!

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Great location: 5mn from the beach by walk and 10mn from the port. George was kind and helpful: gave us a map and tell us things we can do and see in naxos. He also offered a free transfer from and to the port. Room with speed wifi, good air con, clean and spacious. Towels are changed every day. We enjoyed our stay and highly recommand the place! Thank you George!

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    The rooms were clean, the most comfortable bed I slept on during my travels in Greece and George went above and beyond. Not only did he pick us up from the port but also took us back when our suitcase was one wheel down.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was the best hotel of our trip across the Aegean. The staff was friendly and VERY helpful, the location was great, and the view from our top floor room was fantastic. The room was comfortable, spacious, and had all the amenities we required. We have no complaints and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The kitchen did not contain a pan, so I had to grill my sandwitches in a pot. The shower cube was small and the curtain would stick to me while showering. Some people (not me) might think the walk to the port is too long.

    Free pick-up/drop-off at airport and port. Kitchen in unit. Balcony with chairs. Friendly owner who went over all the possible activities on the island, gave me a map and bus schedule, and was usually around to answer questions - great service. Friendly 5' Market nearby, as well as a cafe and a laundromat. Only 5'-10' walk to the port.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Shower very small

    Very good value clean and very friendly

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small old rooms, located outside centre

    Friendly host

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was great: close to port, shops and eating places. The owner did everything to accommodate our requests.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Free AirPort Pickup, easy accede to town and beach.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to beach, easy walk to town andbus stop.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent shower facilities, friendly owners. Location near restaurants, mini-markets & beach.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, George is a great host, nice room with balcony, pretty good wifi. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed rather hard!

    Location - very easy to get to both town centre and beach.

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Totally hospitable and helpful hotelier who provided transport (despite us being late to check-in) and handy info :) would definitely recommend

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: