Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Zannos Melathron 5 stars

Main Street, Pirgos, 84701, Greece

#27 of 42 hotels in Pirgos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Your home on Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Faucet of the bath tube in room Theodosia requires attention - I had to learn how to fix it on daily basis as plumber couldn’t fix it once and forever.

    Staff is absolutely amazing and makes you feel like home, especially Maria from HK. Breakfasts are served until the last guest, the hotel design conveys the history of the place and let you feel the spirit of the island.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    My room at Zannos was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Cavana Suite with Shared Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room at Zannos was amazing. So spacious and clean. Hotel restaurant 20steps from my room. A few steps up to the property but after the first day had it mastered. I rented a quad bike (ATV) and it was really easy to get to all the main locations from here. A few more instructions in the room on how things worked would have been handy. There was a coffee machine s z fridge that dispensed water that I couldn’t work. The Jacuzzi on my deck had the most amazing sunsets from it. Definitely recommend..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Wonder vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that i didn't like. But you should take under acount that the beautiful hotel is on the top of a hill, and the only way up is by foot

    The town of pyrgos is in a fantastic location. 15-20 minutes from everything in the island. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is wonderful to say the least

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Refurbished mansion located in the traditional settlement of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom looked a bit old (partially on purpose) and needs refurbishment

    Refurbished mansion located in the traditional settlement of Pyrgos. We stayed one night and were able to enjoy a mainly freshly prepared breakfast at the terrace with a nice view over the north of Santorini. Our room was very clean and spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    Location, few steps down the hill then you reach Santorini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little work on the bathrooms, tap fixing and give a more luxury look for the toilets. The white color of the towels is not showing they are clean maybe changing the color would be better although they were clean.

    Location, few steps down the hill then you reach Santorini square, staff were very welcoming we got upgraded, we highly appreciate this gesture. Our villa was super spacious and well decorated and definitely stunning view and very authentic atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Stunning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 6 nights

    From the moment we arrived in the village square of Pyrgos we knew our adventure had started. Set in the hillside of the ancient capital of Santorini we immediately were immersed into the local culture & way of life of the locals. With Marcos the donkey hauling our luggage to our hotel to settling into our magnificent honeymoon suite, the entire experience was breath taking & one of a kind! Being the second highest point in Santorini, the view from our private balcony complete with jacuzzi was amazing! The air is so fresh & the experience so rich. Our arrival was met with such helpful and friendly hotel managers & staff. No request was too hard & always done with a smile & such gratitude! If Pyrgos is the choice of location for you, then Zannos Melathron is the place to stay & will be our again should we visit in the future!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    It was a wonderful experience and different from anywhere else we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only the towels (I know, that's an odd thing, but they were strange and very heavy.) Otherwise, it was clean and lovely.

    The bed was very comfortable, the room cool & quiet. We loved being in a grotto (even if it was a little damp). The staff was kind and very accommodating. It was also great to be away from the hoards of people who stay closer to the beach. Do be aware that the only access is by foot and that suitcases need to be taken up by donkey. It's also a trick to sort out the busses but the staff will help.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    One of the must-stay in Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very different from Oia or other hotels on the rocks. But it’s must place to see the traditional local Greek neighborhood. All staff are very nice! They have ‘the best bartender’ in Santo and a warmhearted room keeper help us taking pictures. All of them are lovely!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Not a 5 star boutique hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rate of 5 stars for this hotel is overrated. Our room was very basic, with old furniture and with an additional problem that the room was very humid. The breakfast 'à la carte' was very basic and every day the same. The management needs to have a look to make this place better and more attractive.

    We liked the location very much. Pyrgos is a nice place to stay. We liked the views from the breakfast terras and the pool area. The staff was very helpfull and kind.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    The staff are some of the most amazing human beings I have...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing bad to say about this property. It is as luxury, true Greece, as you can find.

    The staff are some of the most amazing human beings I have ever come across. They took care of us like family and truly care about the people staying at their hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent view and stay away from the hustle of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyday Long hike up to the hotel was a bit hectic but once you reach the top it’s totally worth it

    View from the top was amazing, staff was very friendly and helpful. Brilliant multitaskers! Great breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    From arrival to departure the experience was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not 1 thing we didn’t like. Everything was perfect!

    From arrival to departure the experience was wonderful. The staff at Zannos Melathron are impeccable! Always there to help and great service. The location is amazing, great sunset views. Food in Santorini is the best. Would highly recommend to everyone and will definitely be returning to Zannos Melathron if ever in Santorini again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Come to this hotel and live like a king!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our particular room had an ok view but wasn't the best. That's ok, we spent most of our time either hiking around the town or at the pool/restaurant which both had fantastic views!

    Walked in the door and the receptionist invited us to the sitting room for a glass of wine while they prepared our check in, great recommendations from the friendly and knowledgeable staff. Accommodated all of our requests and even went above and beyond on every occasion. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    A lovely old world style hotel with fabulous views and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We’re had a hard time locating the hotel. It is at the very top of the town and you can’t drive up so you have to walk up via a maze of small alleyways. There were almost no signs to help direct us to the hotel. We didn’t know we were to call the hotel to arrange for someone to help us. Perhaps add this notation on the hotel site? The only other small comment is that it would be very helpful if the hair dryers could be updated.

    The location and views from the patio outside our room were breathtaking. The staff were wonderful. They made us feel very welcome and couldn’t do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The breakfasts were delicious!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    1890 Building, a historical special Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very special boutique hotel which was previously the mansion of Pygros richest Merchant in the 18th century. Just a few minutes away is a cafe, secret place to watch the sunset!!!! Sarkas who checked me in is one of a kind. Amazing customer service. We were in heaven. Loved the stairs lol..exercise!!!! This building is part of Santorini history. The view....awe inspiring. The service ..exceptional The donkey beautiful ...The breakfast fresh and yummy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    highly recommend this hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything we did not like. first class service and food.

    Everything was perfect. Enjoyed our stay and the food and accommodation were excellent. Staff could not do enough for us to make our stay perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing views from a stunningly beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not fault, but please be aware of many steps. Marcos the donkey has to come and get your lugguage

    Stunningly beautiful hotel in a beautiful authentic village, Pyrgos. The views were outstanding, especially from the incredible pool. Best view on the island. It was up lots of steps but that kept us fit. The food and the staff were so brilliant. Don't stay anywhere else in Santorini

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    Pythia is beautiful and less touristy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy as guests walk past rooms at night time and windows don't keep out noise

    Pythia is beautiful and less touristy. The hotel is lovely with great pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was good and staff was extra courteous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is very bad. It is located on top of a hill and you have to walk up the hill by foot which is extremely tiring.

    Breakfast was good and staff was extra courteous

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Sanctuary in busy Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to Not like about it! If I have to be extremely picky - use some softener in your towels or buy new fluffy ones. That's really all that was missing - but that comment is only because you pushed me to say something I didn't like about it booking.com-....This place is truly a hidden gem!!! Wouldn't be at all surprised it becomes a little exclusive boutique hotel out of my price range in the near future. But it is for the traveler who don't mind the hike up the stairs of the village every night. The beauty of that though - is that Santorini is nearly spoilt by the masses of cruise ship tourists now & this place still have the vibe of an old Greek village. We loved it!!!

    The amazing staff , The quiet authentic Greek village location, the food, the view and the familiar friendliness rarely found in any hotels today.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Special place in the sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cavana Suite with Shared Hot Tub
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I felt sorry for the donkey having to transport so many heavy cases. Lighting in room a bit dark.

    Staff are excellent. Very friendly and helpful. Fantastic views over the island. Lovely room. The main part of the hotel is glorious and full of character. Felt very safe. The village is quiet due to no cars. Lots of lovely restaurants close by and food in hotel excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Best hotel of my life
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the nicest places I have been in my entire life. The hotel in Pyrgos offers privacy and an outstanding view of Santorini and the caldera. The staff is just perfect, motivated and gave us all the good tips to know better the island avoiding the crowds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.6
    Great for peace and wuiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Cavana Suite with Shared Hot Tub
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As an animal lover, it was tough to watch a very old donkey carry heavy luggage to the top where the hotel was while the guy hit its belly. But I understand it's a tough trek for a human to do.

    So quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely Pryrgos stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our Marcos suite was awesome. There was one friendly local bug but easily taken outside. The room is a cave in the rock so it is generally cool. The jacuzzi was marvelous and the setting sun views to the west were to die for. Pannos (Front Desk), Bill (Driver) and Marie (Restaurant) were very helpful. Marcos the donkey was an immense help with our bags and well deserving of his carrot gratuity.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    4.6
    2 star property at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything except their staff. Away from town, horrible approach to the hotel. Staff does it's best but the property is below average so there's only so much that they can do.

    Staff only

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely quiet hotel with wonderful staff and stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were wonderful and very accommodating! Our room was upgraded which was lovely. Excellent breakfast every morning that was included in the price of our room! Views from hotel were beautiful! Was very quiet. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location and would highly recommend this place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was awful and needs to be replaced.

    Great location and would highly recommend this place to stay. Great pool and outside spa. Staff were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Nothing was a bother. The Donkey that carries the bags from the lower street level to the hotel was a treat and we hope that his life is long as he is now 25 years old.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    8.8
    Hotel details
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Cavana Suite with Shared Hot Tub
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is accessible for young people. Parking is away from hotel, tiring hiking to hotel, no drivable road to hotel. Luggage can be transported by mule. Jacuzzi and pool are not heated, not usable. Staff is wonderful, accomodations good, rooms are cave, no windows Not close to beach. Magnificent breakfast, probably the best I have ever had anywhere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was amazing the staff was great and the cleaner lady I believe her name was Mariya was extremely kind

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.0
    The room was effectively underground and very damp;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was effectively underground and very damp; the bed and sofa were uncomfortable and overall the room felt grubby and dated

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for a romantic getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole stay was fabulous. We have no complaints about this hotel. We loved feeling like we had our own cottage and hot tub.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very bad with leakage everywhere but the staff was helpful

    Staff very nice Hotel great new experience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Great location in Pirgos, beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in Pirgos, beautiful views. Staff friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful, they wanted as to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, they wanted as to be very happy and comfortable, the honeymoon are the best

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff went out of their way to make us and our baby as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went out of their way to make us and our baby as comfortable and happy as possible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The spa was not open
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was not open

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Amazing Santorini
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite with Private Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a lot of walking needed but worth it

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location and breakfast was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel really needs to get new towels and fix tub drainage issues

    Beautiful location and breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.6
    I loved staying at this hotel, particularly the pool and breakfast areas, which have amazing vistas
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the hotel is spectacular

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    Private jacuzzi
    • Couple
    • Cavana Suite with Shared Hot Tub
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness

    Private jacuzzi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    A Wonderfull hotel, great staff, great view, great location in a great place. Pyrgos!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Master Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This place is amazing! Much better than I expected.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.1
    The views were amazing the building had so much history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the room let us down. The damp was so bad our clothes smelt and the bed sheets were damp not nice at all. No views from our room as no window at eye level.

    The views were amazing the building had so much history.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    We stayed 4 nights and it was one of my best hotel stays...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is little bit poor.

    We stayed 4 nights and it was one of my best hotel stays ever. It feels like you are going home to family. Stuff is extraordinary friendly and helpful. Amazing view, great location on the hill and superb architecture and facilities. I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved it! We booked on short notice due to a delay and had a wonderful night at the hotel. It is on the top of the village and takes you a short walk to get up there. All staff we met took care of us in best ways! Reception, bar and driver. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff went above and beyond!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff went above and beyond!!

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: