Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Charterhouse Causeway Bay 3 stars

209-219 Wanchai Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#220 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3049 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.2
    Condition is very old.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Condition is very old. Photos given are totally not reflecting the real condition. Reception staff said security amount needs 2-3 weeks to refund to my credit card which I have never heard of this arrangement in all the past bookings at other hotels before.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to swipe my card again but explained the money was already taken from my account so after a few minutes all was Ok

    That buses stop at the front door every 15 minutes

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.0
    Other than room & restaurant, pretty good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was slightly 'worn looking' and needing some tlc. Breakfast room was too cold as hot breakfast did not stay hot for very long!

    staff were very helpful; location very good; ample breakfast; bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Location is the primary consideration.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms not so spacious.

    Location is the primary consideration. Very close to commercial complex like Times Square. All modes of transportation are easily available.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are also some older rooms. And our new room still had a pretty old bathroom. But it was still okay though.

    Very friendly staff. Nice room and very clean room. We booked a twin room but when we got in it smelled like someone had been smoking in there. When we mentioned this to the staff we got an other room. We got upgraded to a family room which was much nicer and just renovated!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    I stay in the signature floor (2/F) which is newly...
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk staff was not warm and welcoming. I'm not sure if he was tired (i checked in at around 11:30pm) or what, there was no smile and he bluntly told me, 'you can't extend your stay as someone booked the room for tomorrow".

    I stay in the signature floor (2/F) which is newly renovated. The room was sizable and clean. Furniture and interior were new and I particularly love the massage shower faucet! With this price (around HKD650) i think it was a great deal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a door in our room with led to next doors room. We could hear everything from conversations to trips to the bathroom.

    Great beds, good breakfast and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and walking distant to everywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like the bathroom, flushing the toilet sometimes takes effort he he he... it was funny for the kids. I also don't like the fact that the room didn't have a table or closet. There was only two double bed. and that's it! We store the luggage under the bed (obviously it was a compartment for bags and luggages) otherwise we couldn't walk in the room.

    I like the fact that it's within walking distant to Times Square and all the shopping malls. very nearby 7-11 shop, and a bus stop right in font of the hotel for easy bus riding. Which I used most of the time staying there. I also like the pillows and bed it's really comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Location was very good and staff seemed to do there best except for booking in staff who were surly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room that I was given was for seven days was situated by the housemaids cleaning location.So coming out in the morning was caotic and noisy.For seven days my room was not cleaned,only the towels and toilet paper changed.I had to ask for sheets to be changed after day four.room was dark and dingy and hadn't been vacuumned for sometime.Wallpaper peeling.These rooms are past there use by date and feel I deserved a better room for the time I was there.

    Front of house staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is very well located, very close to the metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could use a renovation, but it was functional.

    The hotel is very well located, very close to the metro station and also there is a bus station in front of the hotel (101, 111 are passing through Central and back) so is very conveniently located. The room is rather small, but knowing Hong Kong hospitality standards it’s pretty decent. The room is clean but has bare minimum.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Location on causeway bay for ease of access to HK Island and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed on 19th floor, loud AC fan or similar sound never shut off from above room

    Location on causeway bay for ease of access to HK Island and mainland. Walking distance to star ferry, take an umbrella!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    I like how helpful and quick to address of concern the lady...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like how helpful and quick to address of concern the lady in the frontdesk upon checking in. I somewhat felt a a little hassle checking out regarding the guy who is handling me. I was okay tho cause concierge helpfulness took my little annoyance away. All in all good. I would stay there again when I am back. Location is great, easy taxi infront of hotel, staffs are generally good, food is okay, housekeepers are nice too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.1
    Great
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a good property to stay, but the facilities not as good as I think. I am only got the drink for the first day I arrived. I quit different if I traveled to another country using another hotel. Sorry

    So many places I can choose for my dinner and also for my present to my family in Indonesia. Great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    I been stayed twice in Charter House, I like the locations...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I think if I want to suggest an improvement it will be on the receptionist of the hotel which a bit snobbish and quite not friendly person.

    I been stayed twice in Charter House, I like the locations of the hotel. The room was clean and the air inside the room smell's good. All in all I will highly recommend it to my friend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    i would highly reccommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rate was really good, comfortable room, in room safe, free wifi and hotel was nonsmoking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    The whole setup needs some refinement. Aside from that good volue for mobey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom waterdrain was not able to fully cope with shower. Breakfast offering quite limited and wrong choice was delivered ...

    Gratis airport shuttle. Attentive and friendly staff. Generally clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    A bit dated but you know what you're going to get
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guy cooking eggs and omelettes. He is the first person you see when you enter the breakfast room. What a bundle of misery. Nowhere to be seen for 5 minutes then when he comes back no words at all. Smile buddy !! If you hate your job so much go do something else.

    Small room but comfortable bed. Nice hot shower. Staff generally very helpful. Have stayed here plenty of times over the years. Breakfast buffet was pretty good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    4.2
    WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ROOM WAS IN POOR CONDITION; REFRIGERATOR WASN'T WORKING; BATHROOM SMELLS POORLY MAINTAINED; LCD TV HAD A HOLE IN THE SCREEN SECURITY WAS LAX - NON GUESTS WERE HANGING AROUND THE LOBBY AND SEEM TO ENTER AND LEAVE FREELY

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff was superb with assistance!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Older bathrooms and very difficult to turn water on/off in shower and sink.

    Staff was superb with assistance!!! Very accommodating!!! Especially the concierge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    My usual place to stay in HK - cosy but a bit old and run down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't really know why I always go there. The staff is really bored and tired, the rooms are also old and a bit run down (excpet the newly renovated ones on 2nd floor).

    It's becoming second home, I stay there every time I go to HK. I guess I'm starting to get used to the neighborhood and I have my local habits. The local market is good for fruit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    A friendly value for money stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts, felt forever too come

    First thing the staff, very friendly and helpful.The room was comfortable and location worked well for me, near to things I wanted too see and do

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Their breakfast was reasonable and had lots of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Even though we informed them we were 4 people, they only gave us 3 towels so had to call housekeeping to get additional towels. Their soap/shampoo container was blocked so just used the toiletries I brought with me.

    Their breakfast was reasonable and had lots of food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    Frustrating front desk staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was pretty frustrated by the front desk staff. Shortly after checking out, I returned to the front desk and asked to exchange currency. The front desk staff refused. It was a real bummer as it wasn't much and was in a tough spot (the restaurant across the road was cash only). I get it. You have a policy. But I was a guest here a couple hours ago.... Don't be a jerk, you are in the hospitality business. I won't be coming back.

    Good price in a good location... But there are other similar options.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    If was okay. Will consider going back because of the staffs friendlineaa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got the family room for 4. However there were just 2 towels. Complimentary water served only on first day. Blankets/linens had some stains.

    Staff were so helpful and very friendy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Best value for money. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain to be honest.

    Love the wide selections of breakfast and the speed of the free wifi. My family and I really enjoyed our stay on this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Coffee inside of the building when you leave in the morning,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well the price but we're in HK right so that's as cheap as it can get for a good hotel :P

    Coffee inside of the building when you leave in the morning, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Not worth the money! This is a refurbished old hotel! Not even a vintage or boutique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small, old, dirty and broken. Air conditioner was too old and run loudly all night long...old people can’t not get the sleep well :(.

    Only in good location! But still almost 3km walking from the central. No taxi want to drop us off at the hotel except for airport transferring. You can just walk around the neighborhood. If your family can walk 1km to the MRT station and go with MRT then it is fine. Even the staff told us to go with MRT and can’t call the taxi. Taxi don’t want to drive you to other areas like Kowloon even it is 8km drive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    4.2
    Great location, but very tired. Over priced for what you get.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very tired rooms. I requested room change , got slight upgrade to 18th floor rooms much better than 9th . Everything needs to be replaced- tired, did not feel clean ( perhaps was but didn't feel it). Great location, handy phone very useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they placed the two beds beside each other,,no place to get off the bed,,they should place two single beds ,,will fit better,,no tables, no desk,,no chair,,no coffee..

    location and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    the bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the noise. the walls are super thin, so we all woke up with the insane screams of children in the corridor.

    the bed was comfortable. and the location is very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    good stay with family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More discount, haha~

    Very good location, easy to reach to subway station and Victoria Bay. As room size, typical sample as most of HK hotels, small but clean. However, the bed is big and very comfortable. Reception area is also kind of small, but it's not a big deal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    Aging hotel that needs to raise its game
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception is cold and functional, with frequent lines. Room quality: some are ok, some are sub-standard. Overall you can do better for the money.

    Room quality varies massively. All are small, although some are upgraded and some are original 1980s. I was shunted around among three different rooms in five nights so got to see a variety! Breakfast is good if you like western style, and location is quiet despite being 10 mins walk to Wanchai. Housekeeping staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    4.2
    Dont take the upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They offered a upgrade from two single beds to two double. I have never had a Hotel room that has two double beds from one wall to the the other, no gap in between.

    The pub on site is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and terrific value for location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No fridge in the room a little disappointing.

    The staff added great value as they were all friendly and efficiently helpful. From the room cleaner, reception, concierge and cafe, all we terrific.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    The location of the hotel is very convenient, near the MTR...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms are required to refresh. The shower in bathroom is an American system.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient, near the MTR station Wanchai and The Times square mall. A quiet hotel in the spirit of the seventies. Breakfasts are continental with the necessary set of dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.3
    Horrible experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    EVERYTHING! The room is as small as other HK hotels', which I can get it. But the room is not clean at all. And the noise, OMG, you can hear everything outside the room. It's a terrible experience and I'll never recommend it to any other.

    nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    4.6
    Never back to hongkong for any think
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small Safe under bed door can’t close every time walk hit to leg No refrigerator Other room talk hear all most 70

    I don’t like any Hongkong people not friendly never come back to hongkong I am not recommend people go to hongkong

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing as the staff were happy and helpful.

    What I really liked was the bath tub. It was a key win for me because I don't have one at home. So many hotels are getting rid of the tub to modernise to showers. Charterhouse- dont do it, your fine just as you are.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.7
    They have phone with access to internet that is very useful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked late check out till 18h and charged full day but at high prices, much more than level I paid for my room.

    They have phone with access to internet that is very useful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable stay at reasonable room rate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-con is chilly...

    Everything! Location is convenient, staff are nice with pleasant responsiveness, room is clean and tidy, bed are soft, decoration is nostalgia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.8
    Good Hotel in Central Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise

    Good Hotel in Central Location. Price value ok in Relation to Other hkg Hotels in this area. small Roms but clean and friendlly staff would come again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Our favourite hotel in Hong Kong to date
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the second floor which made it a bit noisier at night.

    Shower was brilliant. Big enough to showera whole family. Breakfast was very good. Pleanty of options for most tastes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.4
    Well located business hotel in Hong Kong but rooms are not same as photo
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception (2 guys who worked on March 4th evening) were only interested in getting payment and advance but did not even assign a staff to assist in bringing up my luggage. Hospitality Zero. Photo shown in the booking.com is new but room provided was old one.

    Location is convenient, 5 minutes to Causeway Bay and 10 minutes to Wan Chai. Hotel has good access to bus and train. The room had high ceiling and the desk in the room was wide and easy to use. Staff cleaning lady was very courteous and approachable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    4.6
    Never take a single room in this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and their single room means not even a proper size bed, just a small cot..They don't even provide drinking water in the room...And the check in at reception is rude

    Only location advantage Very near to Times Square, causeway bay and wanchai

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room are very small , and worse for me is the bed itself is very small . Old furniture , should be renewed .Hotel sent a no show notification by mistake . The staff said to me that I cannot go to the Champs bar because of private party , but when I tried myself it was just subject to entrance fees

    Only Location

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.0
    I needed to b there longer to give an accurate explanation
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very far from airport Room was too too small for price $74-$76 was the price I believe n thats too high

    I wasn’t there long enough to give a solid rating. I arrived at 2:00AM n left at 7:00AM.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.8
    Centrally located hotel with excellent customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The small top floor rooms look a little tired and carpet would benefit from a refresh which I stayed in. The ceiling airconditioners in the Gazebo restaurant can do with a wipe. Some of the bigger rooms on the Signature Floor have no windows (my parents stayed in one of these) - this could and should have been pointed out in advance.

    The staff were superb. Polite and helpful, efficient and utterly professional. From the room cleaners, restaurant staff, front desk and the concierge. Helped us book successfully a last minute table at the only revolving restaurant in Hong kong. Kept our baggage on the last night and let us wait in a quiet space upstairs waiting for the airport shuttle. It's quite close to an MTR stop (Causeway Bay) through a food market - very interesting. Lots and lots of little cafe/noodle bars everywhere and a 7 eleven round the corner. The Breakfast buffet is really good. Lots of chinese and western items. Signature Floor rooms look as if they have been refurbished and have really nice walk-in showers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    It is modern, well organised, well run, spacious enough,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived I was asked for my credit card and informed of an additional deposit of 500 hkd and asked to sign for a total bill that had a 10% service charge extra. There was no pre information about this that I recall when making the booking. It was a poor way to start.

    It is modern, well organised, well run, spacious enough, friendly and well positioned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing stay in previously better hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    #Room 721 - Avoid at all costs! Room had 2 single beds on a raised platform (with 3cm gap between them, (o not like a pretend double) which went wall to wall, so had to climb into bed from end. No space at all around beds.. Remaining space had no chair, small table or even a fridge! Wifi constantly dropped and when I asked about it was told by the manager that nobody else had complained so couldn't do anything. No wardrobe, just a hook on wall with 3 (1 broken) coathangers. Kettle with complimentary water BUT no cups, no tea or coffee!!

    Friendly staff, good location between Wanchai and Causeway Bay. Housekeeping tried their best to improve comfort of room and bought me a chair so I could sit on something other than the bed. Room clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.0
    The location is good, bus stops and tram stops right outside...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They put me in a nice room, but the neighbors were extremely loud (a boy yelling non-stop), so I asked to change rooms. They put me in an inferior room, much smaller. The AC was too noisy, the shower area was too small, the curtains got sticking on me during shower, could barely move in the shower area. The toiletries were only toothbrush. No water for free (in the previous room it had 2 complimentary waters). The pillows were TOO flat, not comfortable to sleep with. The room was somewhat dusty, moldy, the wallpapers dirty and aged...Breakfast was ok, but for a hotel this big, I expected a bit better. I asked for help to connect the wifi to my computer, the receptionist just said he didnt know, and didnt even try to help. Probably wont stay there again.

    The location is good, bus stops and tram stops right outside, metro is close too. Many stores like 7/11 and restaurants around. The bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Generally, a pleasant stay made memorable by the friendly and helpful hotel concierges!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were a little run down, in terms of the furniture and cupboards. Fridge was not working in our room. Water pressure for the shower was not strong. But room was clean and beds comfy.

    The hotel concierges were very pleasant,approachable and extremely helpful. The buffet breakfast though basic in choice was good,eggs were cooked well and pastries were yummy! Hotel is just next to the Islamic Centre Canteen and less than a 3 minute walk to Wai Kee at the cooked food centre in Bowrington Market which serves lovely duck rice and mutton curry.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value for Hong Kong! I would definitely recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is cold. They brought me an extra small heater but I felt it was still not enough. I guess this is common on old buildings in Hong Kong though.

    The room even though small (which is standard in Hong Kong) was very comfortable and had everything you could need. Room cleaning service was excellent, I would be back in the hotel by noon and the room was already cleaned (something that often fails in other hotels). Breakfast was the best of my trip, great selection, variety and very yummy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Housekeeping was very good and prompt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room size was small.

    Housekeeping was very good and prompt. It is centrally located with 7 by 11 and K store nearyby. Bus stop was outside the hotel. Other bus stops were also quite nearby ( around 200 to 300 meter max).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.3
    Budget stay in Wanchai/ Causeway Bay, but beware of odors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room smelled strongly of mold, and the window couldn't be opened to air it out. As mentioned in other reviews, the rooms are tiny and the lobby minimal, but sufficient if your plan is just to sleep there. The furniture and carpet were well-worn, and in need of an update.

    Located between two mtr stops, so transportation is relatively convenient. Many small restaurants/ coffee shops in the vicinity. Price was reasonable for HK.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Confortable and lively neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Overall, our stay was really nice. If I have to say something we were at the top floor and sometimes was a bit noisy (I believe were the pipes).

    We stayed at The Charterhouse for five nights. We loved the location, easy access to the metro, buses and ferry. We thought the bed was amazingly confortable, as well the pillows and duvet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    I always book to stay here when I am visiting Hong Kong as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only to have been able to download my emails on the morning I was leaving before I signed out.

    I always book to stay here when I am visiting Hong Kong as the location is perfect for me. This time I actually used the free phone which is in the room which certainly helped a lot when I was visiting some attractions as it knew where I was so I was able to use directions very easily when I was unsure where I was. I was also able to ring friends to let them know where I was, etc, when visiting them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Overall an enjoyable stay
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No working heating system installed in the room (which was bad) but luckily they provided us with portable heaters

    Location quite strategic, near causeway bay and wan chai

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.8
    The reception and the way they get the payment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception and the way they get the payment.. i used my debit card which is deducted already but they ask me to pay cash upon arrival. And they told me that it take 3-4 weeks before they refund my money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice breakfast, 8min walk from subway, affordable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need some updating, bathroom is at least 20years old, bit musty and smelling, no heating in room while it was pretty cold.

    Nice breakfast, 8min walk from subway, affordable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    6.7
    chilly
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's February and the room is cold and uncomfortable for that reason. Maybe they don't have heat .in HK.. didn't seem to work

    It's February and the room is cold and uncomfortable for that reason. Maybe they don't have heat .in HK.. didn't seem to work

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Pleased with overall stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are small but guess for the price, it’s pretty competitive. Sound insulation not good as near lift and can hear people talking quite loud in early hours of the morning.

    Hotel location very handy, 10 mins+ either side to Wan Chai or Causeway Bay MTR. Easy access to shops and foods.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Value for money. Luv to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The connecting door is locked and cannot be opened until we checked out. Hot water is too hot and or just warm, I like it hot warm but it's okay.

    I like because it's near from dingding tram, halal foods, mosque, friendly environments, not too crowded. Right on the sidewalk of main street. Easy to find. 15 minutes walk to MTR. Near 7 eleven. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    a variety of dishes at breakfast with both Chinese and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A suggestion that it would be a good idea to change the old fashioned and uncomfortable bathtub into a shower cabin

    a variety of dishes at breakfast with both Chinese and western food.. and good coffee! A small comfortable and nice bar where you besides drinking also could eat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is close to metro, the reception is opened 24-...
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap in bathroom is rusty and did not work properly. We had a kettle but no tea caps, tea or coffee in the room. I have booked 4 people ( 2 adults and 2 children) but toiletries were only for two people.

    The hotel is close to metro, the reception is opened 24- hours. The beds were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.5
    best stay at HK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    behind the hotel is an Islamic centre. Muslims can pray there and also got halal restaurant inside the centre. Walking distance to wan chai road. easy to find all sorts of souvenirs and t-shirts. Easy to get public transportations. MTR, tram stations nearby. Coffee shops nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.0
    I like the cleaning lady.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all the receptionist guys. the receptionist area is very small.

    I like the cleaning lady. they are all very friendly. Not the receptionist. the guys standing around the receptionist area are very friendly too, only the receptionist. most of them very rigid. the breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location, close to lots of transportation methods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated by others, decor is in need of updating, cleanliness in the room was fine but I was expecting a much higher standard. Some staff were very helpful, but a number of them were very brusque or indifferent when asked questions or for assistance. A minor complaint, but the gym is typical of hotels in that it is very under-equipped, but that was expected.

    Good location, close to lots of transportation methods. Facilities were comfortable. Bus stop literally right outside the reception was very convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    4.6
    Old pimped up hotel/room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was mouldy and smell was stiff. There was no fan in bathroom so that the steam,moisture from shower stayed in the room. I had to spray the room every day but the mouldy smell stayed.

    Location, close to square market.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    4.6
    It is good location.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is so rude. There is one front desk staff in the afternoon shift , abit fat. He is not accommodation the guest at all. My visa didn’t work, therefore I have to pay them cash for 2 room for 4 nights. Since I didn’t have all cash to paid everything in advance , I just ask to pay for what haft of everything first and paid everything in a few hours later but the front desk guys said no and he reserve room for what I paid them. It is so rude.

    It is good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    3.3
    Location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel location was very good. However, single rooms were dirty and very smelly. We had to change rooms twice and even then the carpet was filthy, bathroom had not been cleaned. Front desk staff especially the men just ignore what you had to say... customer service and satisfaction very low in priority.

    Location very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.7
    Good place to stay if location is the prime concern.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet is old and unclean with quite some black spots. There were still toilet paper residues in the toilet, hopefully from the cleaning crew rather than... And the toilet smells bad as well. Air-con is noisy.

    Location, 5 minutes walk from Causeway Bay. Colonial period decoration in the room. Air-con is strong. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Good stay, overall
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Business Floor Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have better available bathroom goods (face towels, mouthwash, face/hand lotions)

    Has all I needed, including a good enough gym and complementary cellphone with data for the entire stay/trip

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice repeat visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is old and I saw mold under the bath soup holder when I took a bath.

    Wet market and modern shopping malls within 5 mins walk. Get to see and experience where locals and tourists do their daily shopping. Great balance of real life vs holiday experience

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed & misled by Booking.com but Hong Kong is a fantastic city to explore.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com description is completely inaccurate. A mini bar, wardrobe, desk.. all a complete joke.. No furniture in the room except a bed - and that you had to crawl into from the foot of the bed (no space either side at all). My room also had an adjoining door to the next room so essentially I was in someone else’s room for the duration of my stay! I could literally hear every word they said. Generally I would call it a grubby, unkempt and very overpriced hotel. Location wise - with tram & MTR I found I could get everywhere I wanted to with ease so a good location but i’m sure you could find better.

    Well located and fantastic house keeping staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    We really liked the food served at the breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite a long walk from the mtr station. Also you have to pass by the market to get to the hotel. The rooms are small.

    We really liked the food served at the breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Charterhouse Causeway Bay traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: