Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong 5 stars

387-397 Queen's Road East, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#165 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4897 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Nice hotel but need more improvement in cleaning toilet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet was’nt clean enough that we urine in the toilet cover still visible for our 4 days stay. We were 5 in the room they should have put more bath gel and shampoo and towels. The description of the room itself says room is Good for 5 person. Not worth the upgrade room price. Cleanliness is a must.

    The location, it’s in the sentrum and the shuttle bus made us more comfortable and easy to and going back to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value, nice breakfast, comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family Bedrooms pretty small if kids over 6 but that’s what HK is like! Location in a really interesting neighbourhood but it’s a 15 min shuttle into the centre proper. If you’re fit and healthy, it’s better to walk for 16 mins!

    Beds, breakfast, concierge very good, flex on looking after luggage

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Hong Kong with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Rooms a bit small but nothing major.

    Free shuttle, very close to bus line to The Peak. Facilities very convenient, modern and exactly like on the internet, stunning. Hotel staff very responsive and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Recommend to fellow travelers. Free Coffee in the morning and Candy in the evening was a bonus!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Little remote and not in the center of things but it was a comfortable walk to the time sq area where there are loads of shops and eating places.

    The hotel is value for money. The convention center shuttle was great. Staff helping us on to the shuttle was the best. Cemetery view was creepy but nice! San Ka La Restaurant on Morrison Hill was an amazing find and a must try. Just across the road have to take the underground subway .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.0
    Location is a total joke, not central at all. The rooms are small and the windows are blocked
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a joke. You cant call it central cause it is located just at the end. You have to walk past 2 underground walkpath to come to anything, about 10 min walk. And the view from the room is non existent if you get the rooms that face the back off the building. The room is not well insulated towards the hallway. You can hear the noisy neighbors having a party.

    The rooms are small but clean. Just big enough for two people.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfy and compacted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that close to the subway, we had to walk from the subway in quite a heavy rain storm and it seems pretty far. Breakfast seemed pricey, so we decided to miss breakfast and search for eats else where. Room over looked a graveyard which was interesting, but you could also see the misty hills.

    Comfy and compact. Small but functional rooms, nice bed linen, good pillows and comfy beds. Close to city trams. Free shuttle bus service was extremely useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.1
    Silent, viewing is nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dorsett Wanchai 3 Wishes - Premier Double or Twin Room With Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no bathtub in the superior room, according to staff, only suite room has bathtub.

    Silent, viewing is nice. Staff service is better than HK basic hotels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, 10-minutes walk to Causeway Bay, Time Square...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd made a reservation base on the photo showing the furnishing of the standard room which I'd been told was a premium room photo when I checked-in, thus I need to pay 47% up of my original price in order to meet my expectation.

    I like the view of my room 1511.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable hotel, but room size does not meet booking.com specifications
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Dorsett Wanchai 3 Wishes - Premier Double or Twin Room With Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room I booked on booking.com was advertised as 28sqm room, but I was given a small regular twin room with approximate size of 3.5x5 meters. All the rooms found in booking may be the same, so dont spend more on larger room, they may give you the regular one.

    Excellent staff, clean rooms and comfortable beds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    Easy access via bus, tram to all places in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no convenient eating places. We arrived at about 9 pm after a day of traveling and had to walk a good 15 min to find food. The hotel staff also weren’t very able to provide us with answers to several queries we had. Which was a little frustrating.

    Easy access via bus, tram to all places in the city. A 10-15 min walk gets you to Times Square, Wanchai etc. Very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.3
    For the quad room we staying;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a long walk from Wan Chai station. My suggestion is that the hotel should offer a direction to guest to take the Electric Tram to Wan Chai if they can’t get on the shuttle bus to other stations they offer.

    For the quad room we staying; it has space enough to move but once the baby cot is in, space are limited. Hotel shuttle to the airport express line (HK station) is good when we are returning. It offer us a quick way and saved some taxi fare.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.8
    None of the staff on the ground floor are approachable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the staff on the ground floor are approachable. They all have a long face. My wife had a hard time finding drinking water in the lobby. She was rejected outright by the bartender for asking filling her bottle with tap water. She was finally given two small complimentary water bottles after being questioned by another staff. We witnessed another customer being treated the same way. Appalled. What an unpleasant experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Dorsett Wanchai 3 Wishes - Premier Double or Twin Room With Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to walk about 10 minutes to find an ATM and shops.

    The room was large (for Hong Kong) and very comfortable. Lots of helpful extras such as an iron, hair dryer, wine glasses etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    You Wan regret a thing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Hong Kong Style Breakfast at Kam Kee Restaurant
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking lists the hotel as being 5 star but it is actually a 4 star. Initial room was small, dark and next to the service elevator but was thankfully soon moved to a much nicer room. Breakfast was included but there was some confusion as to where to eat it - I was supposed to have vouchers for an external cafe but ended up having it in the hotel. A bit more clarity would go a long way at check in, although I clearly benefitted on this occasion, so certainly no complaints!

    Lovely clean hotel in a really good location. Cleaning staff and breakfast staff were excellent, I felt, really on the ball. Although not affiliated with the hotel, Connie is the tour guide and she is exceptional. Her knowledge of Hong Kong and how to effectively navigate it on any budget is absolutely unsurpassed. Seek her out and tip her generously!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Siteseen. Food. Infraestructure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrive from the AirPort to the hotel by shuttle it’s the best option. Steping out from the hotel door there is a subway station: A PLUS! Even with the few people whom speak english, you can be able to enjoy Hong Kong and use the public transportation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    They gave us a cemetery view and told us we can’t change it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a cemetery view and told us we can’t change it. I thought it was very insensitive. Room had a smell. After 30 mins of ruckus at the lobby then they changed it

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Good option in HK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small and breakfast at the restaurant is a bit pricey.

    Hotel offers convenient shuttle to Central Station and to to Causeway Bay. Confortable rooms. Staff is always ready to help with anything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Overall, the stay was a pleasant one except the one that I didn't like about the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room with City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the room that was given to us was for 2 people. I have requested a 3 people room. An additional bed was added and was laid besides the 2nd bed. The picture that was provided to me during my booking was a room with 3 beds that were separated to each other. However the two beds that were given to us were laid besides each other. It was quite crowded.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Frosted window
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window was completely covered with opaque frosting and thus it was not possible to look outside. This is totally unacceptable. It was not disclosed on Booking.com when the booking was made. I have never stayed in a hotel where the window was completely covered up.

    Reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Very accommodating front desk staff esp.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms but expected of HK. No other facilities like pool,etc.

    Very accommodating front desk staff esp.Mr Choi Jaewon ( korean), shuttle to central,causeway, airport Express station. CelPhone provided with wifi was very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Staff were helpful and able to deal easily with difficult...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were big for Hong Kong, but small when compared to similar locations, prices and standards in places like Singapore, London or New York.

    Staff were helpful and able to deal easily with difficult requests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little on the edge of wanchai great locale to racecourse but quite a walk to central

    Everything!!! Clean comfortable bed even the extra trundle was great to sleep on. We has 3 people in our room and was fine even by HK standards. Clean and sufficient bathroom. Professional staff at valet and checkin. The bar staff very helpful for directions and a handy little HK tourist book in our room was invaluable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    I will not stay at this location again.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family room we got was very cramped. We were expecting a larger room. The location of the hotel was not accessible to the subway, good thing they had a free shuttle. It was also beside a cemetery, which was a bit creepy.

    The beds were comfortable, the towels clean and the breakfast buffet was not bad. A chef was there to prepare eggs the way you like them. There was free candy at the lobby at 6-7pm.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location if you want to go into the city or get taxi to the peaks for a leisurely hike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small for a couple. But still convenient.

    The bed was very comfortable. The hotel location was quite central being near the race course and underpass to cross over and walk to time square and MTR (10-15min walk). Tram line is also near hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    great place to stay but don't use room service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Causeway Bay City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 10 nights

    despise the menu states that room service ends at 23:00 this information is wrong once they stop accepting requests at 22:30, information not available anywhere

    diversity on breakfast, from chinese to western food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Best location with nicest staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just had a little problem with the room arrangement. Based here in booking.com 2 kids were included in the room so we were 4 adults with 2 children (3&5 yrs old). When we arrived in the hotel we were advised that our room is only good for 4 adults good thing the staff was so kind enough to help us with this problem. Bathroom is too small i think the exhaust fan is not working, room is smaller than expected.

    Best location with nicest staff! Breakfast was yummy, clean room. The shuttle service going to the nearest MTR station (causeway bay) was very convenient you just need to follow the schedule of the service which is every 30 mins. Very fast wifi connection, and bonus they also have a 4G with hotspot mobile phone that you can bring around the city! Super recommended place to stay in HK. Will definitely stay here in my next visit to Hong Kong.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall a good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and cramped and not per the pictures shown online. The housekeeping staff on our floor was rude and non cooperative. Asking for anything additional like towels or toiletries was like causing them pain and she almost threw blankets on our face one night when we asked for an extra few. There is no swimming pool in the hotel and therefore not much to do for the kids in house.

    The hotel is located very conveniently and is well connected with their shuttle bus to the causeway bay MTR. The city view rooms have a great view. The breakfast spread is basic but a good mix of local and continental food. The concierge staff are very helpful and will guide you on how to get around the city. There are several buses that start outside the hotel and get you to the city centre very conveniently. We had asked for an early check in and the request was met with when we arrived at 10am.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.8
    Comfortable rooms though a little way from the MTR and Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had booked a double bedroom months in advance but they said none were available when I arrived. They put me in a twin, which was not as comfortable as what I had booked. The location was not as central as I'd hoped. Nevertheless, it was easy to get to the MTR.

    The toiletries were useful and regularly stocked up. Clean room. The free shuttle to Hong Kong MTR station was useful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Adjoining Two Standard Rooms with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    convenient store is a bit of a walk, shuttle service should be made more frequent or focus on punctuality especially during pick up at Hong Kong station once you arrive on the Airport Express, for first timers with lack of communication it may cause unnecessary anxiety.

    water pressure for the shower was a blast, shuttle service to Causeway and other places, Muslim travellers will like this hotel as it is just 7-10 min stroll to the Islamic Center for their marvellous halal dim sum and Wai Kee for their delicious halal duck rice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was clean and comfortable, sufficient space for two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Adjoining Two Standard Rooms with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel is not so ideal - takes about 10-15mins to the nearest two MTR stations, not ideal for those with lots of luggage. Room was a little dark, insufficient lighting + my room had tinted windows.

    Room was clean and comfortable, sufficient space for two people.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    We’ll stay st Dorset Wanchai when we travel to Hong Kong again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should improve the bathroom.

    The staff was very solicitous and respectful. Beds were perfect. The hallways and rooms were clean. Breakfast was very good and sumptuous. Location is accessible to restaurants, shops and malls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Shuttle van, cleanliness, location.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cloth pressing facilities in the room. The pressing service need to book way early in advance while the "express service" needs 6 hours.

    Shuttle van, cleanliness, location. Times Square is within walking distance. Metro and tram station are right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Hong Kong Style Breakfast at Kam Kee Restaurant
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was on the top floor (25th) and the whole floor smelt of damp. Our room had a strong smell of damp. We tried to communicate this with the staff, but the word for damp apparently is lost in translation to Mandarin so all they could sent up was a maid with air freshener. We got used to the smell, as they couldn't move us to any other rooms, but it wasn't ideal.

    We upgraded to the premium room, overlooking the Happy Valley race course was really special watching the races from above. Short walk to Causeway Bay station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.3
    An experience of a small space hotel room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back facing cemetary which was not told. For a person who are sensitive to the other side, its not a place to stay

    Free shuttle service based on schedule to MTR

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    It was clean, had a good view and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small for 4 people. We kept stubbing our toes on the raised tiles at the bathroom door. Very small bathroom.

    It was clean, had a good view and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Bed were comfy, bathroom was great, reception and staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Hong Kong Style Breakfast at Kam Kee Restaurant
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was far especially when you need to get home because of tiresome day and missed the shuttle bus catching the last trip; can't get rid of itchiness which must be so tiny bedbugs, even when sheets were replaced.. day after day bites were added; breakfast is not free, half is for you to pay on the restaurant; I was expecting to see the view of horserace track, but to my shock they put us facing the cemetery grounds instead, i asked to change the room as advertised, but they need to charge me a thousand more because of the location.. damn! Thats the one reason that made me choose this far off place! But staff were helpful and kind though... thanks anyhow!

    Bed were comfy, bathroom was great, reception and staff were accommodating, with shuttle bus to take us to city drop points.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    The free phone to take out with you for wifi use was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were very small.

    The free phone to take out with you for wifi use was brilliant, it meant we had connection at all times Very clean, staff were very helpful. Free shuttle was helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.8
    Staff are helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel are far away from the Metro station. The room look much older than the photos shown in the webpage and it is not very clean. I found the bathroom is a little bit mouldy.

    Staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Staff were very arrogant they dont want to understand the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very arrogant they dont want to understand the instruction given to them

    Staff were very arrogant they dont want to understand the instruction given to them

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Sufficient but nothing to get excited about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Causeway Bay City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel really needs a pool or access to one. Room service menu was limited and every meal we tried was disgusting. On site restaurant was also limited and very disappointing particularly for the price.

    Staff were attentive and accommodating. Regular free shuttle service to key locations was great. Great hotel for business travellers. Free Lilly buffet of an evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Convenience transport, good presentation and very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the face cloths wasn’t white enough, but when I complained then the face cloths were white.

    Convenience transport, good presentation and very good customer service. Augustine CHEUNG is such a lovely man, he help me through the days I and my family was staying there. He and another colleague bring my parents 70th birthday cake complimentary from the hotel. His customer service is supper and I definitely would recommend you all to book here in this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location for us, handy to public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was very small & would be hard for larger people to use as the shower door is very close to the toilet. Average lighting in the bathroom, as in most hotels. Difficult to find a power point with access to a mirror for hair drying.

    Comfortable bed in a clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.0
    Good service, nice , very clean, price is ok, good thing the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good service, nice , very clean, price is ok, good thing the hotel has bus take customers to subway / downtown locations every 30'/or HR free of charge!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    It was a very enjoyable experience in the hotel.
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hopefully will have more transportation available.

    The hotel was nice and clean, friendly staff but the aircon was a bit too cold specially with child under 3 years old

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    6.7
    Good price but several flaws
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are cramped with blocked windows, and thin walls allow you to be entertained by your neighbours’ conversations. What is seriously lacking is late night food service of any kind after closure of the good Cantonese restaurant on the first floor at 10 pm. This would not usually be a problem in Hong Kong as street restaurants are everywhere - but the nearest to this hotel are a taxi drive or 20 minute walk to Causeway Bay. Anybody arriving on a late flight would be screwed as the suggested alternative the Cosmo hotel next door cannot oblige either. Seriously suggest to the management that they organize some sort of basic snack service or a machine in the lobby with snacks if they can’t think of anything more imaginative. Also suggest by the way the desk staff try to include all bills for guests with an early start who want to settle the bill the evening before.

    There are good things about this hotel: price, shuttle bus, bar, good concierge service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    This hotel is best for a short stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Course View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most reception desk staff were miserable and seemed like they hated what they do. They never smiled. Breakfast was pretty awful and mostly the leftovers from dinner were served up. Runny scrambled eggs daily. Bacon was served once and was tough as leather. Otherwise it’s Asian food. 2 choices of juice and banana and watermelon only for fruit. Plain yoghurt only and sweet things like cake and jelly!!

    Stayed in a “premier” room. May as well have chosen a standard room as nothing much differs in terms of size and comfort. Only decor is more glitzy and its on a higher floor but faces the traffic so always noisy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointed. Inaccurate description
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never come across such a rude member of staff on check in. Made it very difficult. Had to escalate to manager. Tiny room. No view...glass was misted.

    Shower was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    The location is not accessible, had to walk 30 minutes to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms and they made us wait for 3 hours before we can check in to the other room. No specific reason was goven except that it is still for cleaning (for 3 hrs). Not so good.

    The location is not accessible, had to walk 30 minutes to the nearest MTR station. They do have bus service on selected locations but make sure to be there on the depart schedule.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall, really good from families, though a little way from the airport for late arrivals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fantastic 4 Family - Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only really disappointing thing was not having some extras, such as airport shuttle bus that we had requested, charged in with the booking fee. While this was not really an issue overall, it would have been better paid with room fees in advance (or at least to have the option to include it). When you arrive late and are tired from travel, the last thing you need is "unexpected surprises."

    We had a really good stay and thought the place overall was very good. In particular, the senior "Guest care manager" was helpful in providing good directions and guidance for for getting around and keeping a handle on our large family's budget, enabling us to save wisely where we could and spend where we needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.1
    Very small rooms but overall not too bad
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low lighting Highest ac temp too cold due to room size Very very small room (do not underestimate size reviews) - we were a couple with just one 80L backpack and a school size bag for luggage and we found the space very small so if you travel with full luggage...not sure how you will manage. Bar fridge was full with overpriced drinks so no space for your own food Windows were locked and blurred so no view no fresh air (there is a Muslim cemetery on the other side) Housekeeping seemed a bit lost...for example we would ask for 2 plates and knife (specifically) to cut fruit and they would send 1 plate and a plastic cutlery set 🙄 I wouldn't call this a 4 star hotel or service, we've seen better in much less.

    Room cleaned everyday Staff were friendly enough Shuttle bus system 10-15 minutes walk from mtr/main Wan Chai areas Toiletries useful Kettle in room Full size mirror Overall, we had a comfortable 4 nights stay and enjoyed Hong Kong thoroughly. High rates and small rooms r probably due to real estate value. Service was not bad but I think they can improve the service where they can't make up for room sizes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Friendly and attentive staff
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location not so convenient, a bit far from both Wanchai and Causeway Bay MTR stations, considered that no taxi are available in town during the fairs.

    Staff polite and very helpful. Concierge great in handling all the requests. Definitely a plus the availability of an hotel shuttle bus connecting to the Convention Centre in Wanchai.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Not our best stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Hong Kong Style Breakfast at Kam Kee Restaurant
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old decoration. Also, what is wrong with their doors? So difficult to open, my grandparents were almost not able to open it. Also, the view on the cemetery is amazing

    Beds are really confortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Rooms were small. bed covered the entire space and there was very little movement space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had informed that we are vegetarians. the staff did not help me to get some food at least breads and toast. I had to always travel outside for food.

    The property was declared as 5 star whereas it really did not match the rating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The room that we have booked has a bathtub that suppose to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room that we have booked has a bathtub that suppose to be convenient for us to bath our baby but as per the staff has told us that is facing the cemented. Hence we are quite disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place, great rooms, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn't do a great job of conveying all the features of the property, the shuttle buses only operated on one direction - from the hotel to the central station, and not the other way around. It was great on the way out, but coming into Hong Kong meant grabbing a taxi.

    This property was all in all phenomenal. It was directly on the tram line, which connects easily to the MTR. It's a little tucked out of the way, which is nice for me; but not everybody would like it. Super close to a 7-Eleven and Circle K; but the closest food place is a street food vendor about two blocks north. You definitely get a feel for the actual neighborhood, though, which is more than a lot of hotels can say.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.1
    Fist room I get had "milky" glass windows so...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good localization . Clean rooms. Very helpfully stuff - nice, smiling , willing to help

    Fist room I get had "milky" glass windows so impossible to see thru, I can't even see what the weather is outside. I asked to change the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    2.5
    The hotel is money seeker n for everything they will ask money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small for 2 ppl n the staff is rude n busy selling bigger rooms by giving u smallest of the rooms initially. We were given room with cemeteries view outside n the we were asked 150 hkd per person one way each for airport shuttle, which is otherwise free. The hotel is far from any tourist spot n shopping destination n the room facilities were not as they were mentioned in the ticket overall the worst experience I had in my overall travel so far n it was utter wastage of money.

    Nothing I found good as compared to a 3 or 4 star hotel it's a very basic hotel with no facilities at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic. Will come back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic comfortable king size bed. Fastest reception service ever. Checked in and out in less than 5 minutes. Location is great – 10-15 mins from downtown administrative area in Hong Kong. Price is way too low for what they are offering and considering the other hotels nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    3.8
    Very Poor service and location, over priced and low standerd.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room With Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was very basic had to push for a reasonable room. Had to wait until 4 pm for the second room! Having to pay extra for a room to accommodate my daughter husband and baby. Even with a family room there is no room for a cot. Our booking made it very clear there would be a baby! Could not get into the wardrobe as the bed was against the door. Fire alarm went of with NO exploration or NOTIFICATION. Fire exits were partially BLOCKED with beds We walked down five floors before a staff member told us it happens all the time?

    Bar tender in the lobby bar and bell staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent value, convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Causeway Bay City View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are areas of the hotel facing a cemetery but my room was not one of them.

    - very comfortable bedding and generously sized rooms relatively speaking for Hong Kong - Shuttle buses from hotel went everywhere on Hong Kong Island you would want. Made taking the MTR unnecessary for our trip except when traveling to Kowloon side. - Free use of hotel smartphone as WiFi hotspot was essential and made our navigation and finding restaurant a etc very easy. - Staff speak excellent English and provided very courteous service. - Very close to bustling area of Wanchai. - Hotel made a very thoughtful travel guide for surrounding area that we actually used quite a bit despite us already knowing Hong Kong pretty well. Had great restaurant suggestions including Kam’s Roast Goose (must try).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.2
    The lobby smells so good, it was like stepping into a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Fantastic 4 Family - Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to be able to broadcast your travel photos onto the room television.

    The lobby smells so good, it was like stepping into a little piece of heaven, the moment you step into the hotel from the sweltering heat and noise of outside! The staff were all professional and helpful- from the receptionist to the friendly cleaners. The rooms were all I expected and more, with comfy beds and the best views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walking distance to good food and other amenities. Free shuttle to Hong Kong station for airport express was a good touch. The staff were very courteous, warm and welcoming. The location is next to jockey club which is very convenient for those who wish to do some running or jogging.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    4.2
    Mobile phone in room to use and charger
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Dorsett Wanchai 3 Wishes - Premier Double or Twin Room With Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOT GETTING THE ROOM WE PAID FOR RUDE STAFF PUSHED BEDS TOGTHER FOR MY NEICW SO NOT THR BED WE BOOKED POKEY ROOM MINE NOR CLEAN

    Mobile phone in room to use and charger Book libiray delivered to room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    The room did have a good view of the happy valley race course as per our booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Course View and Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact there was only coffee creamer provided in the room with which to make tea, how is that possible. The trouble to then get any one in the hotel on the various phone numbers ie house keeping, room service or reception to understand creamer was for coffee and not tea, so could we have some milk to be finally told after over twenty five minutes of ringing around yes at a charge of 20 Hong Kong dollars (approx £2) when the small open paper cup came there was enough for four cups only, not acceptable. Also the breakfast had a very limited English base, various ways with eggs, toast, cereal, and stewed tea in jugs on warming plates very poor start to the day!.

    The smart phone in the room providing wi-fi,calls and most importantly a hotspot for our own phones. The room wi-fi was very good though having to constantly log in did become quite wearing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel for those wishing to enjoy Hong Kong travel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Family Quadruple Room with 2 Queen Beds with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    15 minutes on foot from Wan Chai (mar) However, we did not dislike it. Because there were many shops on the way from the station to the hotel, I was able to enjoy it

    The interior theme of this hotel is very cute. many women like there interior here. There was a smartphone in the room. It was able to carry it outside. we made it a router. And we enjoyed sightseeing by connecting Wi - Fi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Ok stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Dorsett Wanchai 3 Wishes - Premier Double or Twin Room With Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a premium twin room -it was a bit on the small size. The bath robes were old and not soft to the touch .

    Beds are comfy . The Coneirge team were excellent and sorted out taxi to airport for 5am - went to plan.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice room, great beds, friendly staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Hong Kong Style Breakfast at Kam Kee Restaurant
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please provide an international breakfast for your (international) guests inside of the hotel. Other than that, great stay!

    Nice room, great beds, friendly staff, good location. The transfer from and to the airport is extremely easy to book and not expensive at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    It's okay. Don't expect 5 stars.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Adjoining Two Standard Rooms with Free Wi-Fi
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms as expected in HK, but definitely not 5-star. An okay 4-star facilities, room and breakfast was more like 3.5 stars.

    Good location, clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    What a pleasant experience with Dorsett Wanchai Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over all the staff are unhelpful and unfriendly. The F&B staffs quite unpleasant and noisy when handling the closing of the buffet breakfast at 10.30am. I picked up a mody bun during one of our Buffet breakfast. That's a no no.

    The hotel has a small lobby but the guess are expected to walk up some steps to the lift with their luggages during the check in and out. It takes us a longer time to get used to moving around the island. We spent 5 nights but happier to move.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Good place to stay in hk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - all was good. Maybe just one bad point would be than the employees start very early to clean on morning ( at least during the week) and make some noise talking to each other's in front of the doors

    -good localisation, near wanchai (10min walk) near mtr and bus - good quality/price for the room with a big cumfortable bed; big tv and very good shower + toiletries - breakfast in room good but a little bit expensive

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value modern hotel with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Hong Kong Style Breakfast at Kam Kee Restaurant
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location wise I think I’d choose something a little closer to the city like the Crowne Plaza or similar if I was travelling in Hong Kong again but as we are on a budget and I really like a modern hotel we decided this was ideal. It was a 10 minute walk into the main part of Wan Chai either up and over the Queens Road East or across a few of the major roads. Wan Chai is the closest MTR and about a 10-12 minute walk. The other downside is room size. We had one of the cheaper rooms which was pretty squishy for the 3 of us. We all shared the same bed and there wasn't really anywhere to store our 3 suitcases. Next time if it was in our budget I would definitely pay the extra to upgrade to a slightly bigger room. My understanding of space in Hong Kong is that all the rooms are really small so I daresay this is a common problem experienced by out of towners. Check in was a little bit slow and there were a few misunderstandings - mainly on my part. The room came with breakfast included but I didn’t read the fine print. Breakfast was a traditional Hong Kong breakfast of soup with beef or pork liver and noodles a piece of toast with butter and a ham omelette at a cafe at least 10 minutes walk away. While this would be fine for us for 1 morning there’s just no way we could eat this each morning and with the amount of rain we had we sometimes just didn’t want to schlep it to breakfast to eat a meal we weren’t super enthusiastic about. We decided to grab some supplies and squeeze them into the mini bar (some yoghurt, fruit and muesli). Then we spoke to the concierge a few days later and upgraded our breakfast for $60HKD each (or approx $10AUD) to have the buffet breakfast in the hotel which we wish we had done sooner. The buffet breakfast in the hotel was great. It is a very basic but reasonably varied breakfast with fruit, cereals, juices, pastries, dumplings, noodles, soups, salads etc.

    The bed in our room was super comfy despite having to share it. The bathroom supplies plentiful, the view was also pretty great. We were on the 21st floor looking over happy valley racecourse and a cemetery as well as the mountains. One of the best parts of the hotel offering was the free pocket wifi device they gave us. This came in very handy when we were out exploring. The other is the free shuttle they offer to some of the main locations around Hong Kong including Central MTR and the Airport Express Station. The shuttles run fairly frequently so this was a great option for getting around. The one thing our 3 year old loved was the little lolly buffet from 6-7pm which he looked forward to each night either before or after dinner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.3
    Absolutely worst
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a 2 star at nest. Room was tiny. When complained they said they upgraded me (that i don't laugh). Restaurant served food with "special ingredients" for foreigners or at least me.. You could see that by the protocol when the waiter brought the food to main waitress she looked askingly and he slightly nodded (and hear just shortly before food was brought how someone in kitchen made the according noise). Absolutely terrible experience. Never again! Oh. After the experience with restaurant i checked out immediately. They weren't apologetic nor anything whatsoever

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Easy to get to from the airport on the shuttle bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we got was very small, could only just walk around the bed and not enough room to put two small suitcases other than the bed! The bathroom was very smelly, like old cabbage which progressively got worse and seeped into the room, maybe air conditioning unit. we couldn’t put on the air conditioning as there was no low option, so for the size of the room the lowest setting was like being blasted by a jet engine and so loud it was uncomfortable. I also left my kindle at the hotel and have contacted them but they won’t bother replying. First time I cannot get a response from a hotel at all! No room service and no real bar to drink at for a casual evening. All in all a very average place.

    Easy to get to from the airport on the shuttle bus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was dirty. Wallpaper peeling off at seams. We were offered the choice to pay to upgrade our room when we checked in which we politely declined. When we got to our room it was a twin room rather than double which we had requested. We went back to reception to ask if we could please be switched to a double bed, we were informed we would have to upgrade, and then told it would now cost $100 more than five minutes ago when we had checked in.

    Location Nice reception area decor Concierge staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.1
    Happy Valley In HongKong
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet breakfast can be improved, bit into a moody bread one day. Avoid serving plain white rice and have a bit more variety in dishes. Stayed for 5 nights but we are happy with out discovery of the interesting neighbourhood.

    Interesting location near race track and cemetary with historical background. Worth reading up on and exploring. The nearby market just behind Times Square filled places to eat and interesting things to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: