Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai 4 stars

33 Hennessy Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#153 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3291 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Finally somewhere where you can sleep and not being wake up by people shutting door or making noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Empire Club Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Honestly all was good, breakfast, location, helfull staff,

    Finally an hotel with a very quiet room…… Ok I have booked a room on the Club Empire and I have been upgrade to a Suite, but at least I got what I requested. A very very quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel made sure that guests stayed indoors & were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel made sure that guests stayed indoors & were safe during the Typhoon 10 signal by providing them free buffet dinner. Ms Rosanna A. who was stationed in the club lounge gave exceptional service except that the place wasn’t as we had expected compared to club lounges of other hotels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice stay in amazing area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have expected a newer interior for the price.

    Descent hotel to stay. Lovely staff. Clean room, small but nice view. Comes with a free mobile WiFi device. Excellent location. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    You couldn’t get a better location, close to Wan Chi Station...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Bar

    You couldn’t get a better location, close to Wan Chi Station, pubs and restraunt’s all with in easy walking distance. £2.40 in a taxi to the airport express. The staff are excellent. We were there during the recent T10 Typhoon. The Hotel put on a complementary dinner on as it was dangerous to go out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    Is not worth it the price I paying for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    coat hager right beside TV uncovered. Not clean enough for hotel standard. Not professional customer service dealing with clients.

    Location and Conciage is helpful. Excellent breakfast with many varieties.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Good position in Wan Chai . Near train and thousands of places to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the very small bathtub with Plastic curtain sticking to you, but well appointed BBC and NBC the only English channels Should be better at this price range .remote not replaced as requested

    Comfortable bed . Room sufficient size..this is Hong Kong Free wifi. Free minibar, with soft drinks Excellent breakfast. Great selection for English Chinese, Japanese etc style meals Helpful concierge though sometimes hard to understand accents .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a little bit far from metro station wan chai Room is small No smooking rooms in whole hotel due to environmental conditions

    Staff are very friendly and helpful Breakfast is very unique and has a lot of varieties Swimming pool is good and gym as well Near to everything except the metro station which need 10 minutes walk Expensive comparing to other hotels however its still good value if you are looking for many facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    HK
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains didn’t completely close. Late cleaning of room. Bit worn room. Airco only 3 settings.

    Great Location, near Wanchai station and pubs and lots of old Hk. Free WiFi device during stay. Friendly staff and a small pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Helpful perceptive staff, comfy room and beds. Great location for accessing the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found hair in the bathtub and found it pretty tight to shower in the bath without touching the shower curtain. Otherwise no complaints.

    Helpful perceptive staff, comfy room and beds. Great location for accessing the city without staying in the most expensive areas. Had option of free mobile data device to loan when going out for the day. Very accommodating with holding luggage for the day after check out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    I always like Empire Hotel Wan Chai like a second home to me. Staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs some upgrading in the room. Like change of carpet and upgrading of toilet. Standing bathroom is good.

    Hotel is convenient as tram and MTR are near the hotel. Airport shuttle stops at the hotel. This is excellent. Tram to Central and Causeway Bay is extremely convenient which I like very much!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated. Moldy around bathtub Bathroom is way too small. Don’t bother paying for the breakfast. It’s all cold and nothing good

    Great Location Good bed it comes with hard side and soft side

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Hotel is very clean, staff is helpful and polite. MTR is just a mere 300m away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were free mobile wifi device given by the hotel which really helped me alot in getting connected in Hong kong. Going sightseeing and accessing information through the web to navigate myself and my kids was a breeze. We stayed for 4 nights and we used this mobile wifi throughout our stay. Didnt expect the hotel to provide this service and i was very happy that they did.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    everyrhing was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything was great

    everyrhing was great. location is excellent, staff is super helpful - and fluent in english/mandarin, depending on your needs. amenities are great. they handled our luggage for us even after we checked out. highly recommend it. there are plenty of bars and cafes just round the corner. swimming pool, gym, etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Good location and good value
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The tub/shower is a bit too small, and the shower curtain always try to hug you. Other than that the room is ok. The pool at the top floor, somehow the day we visited and tried to pool, we got an angry pool guards, very impolite and yell too much. Not nice, maybe he had a bad night before?

    The hotel's location is right smack in the center of activities in Wanchai, pretty close to both Central and Causeway Bay. Close to lots of variety of food and shops, plenty of choices for 4 days of stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location and basic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are noisy. It’s the first time in 15years of travelling that we heard babies screaming from another room. Non sound proof windows and we can hear the screaming and cheering from bars nearby and the pedestrian crossing sounds from 14floors up. Mouldy corridors , holes in bathroom walls that made you think a camera was lurking behind it, metal blinds that when hit were so loud it would wake you up. Guest constantly slamming their doors all hours of the night. 10 staff on just loitering in the lobby and we still had to try and open the door when arriving when our hands were full with bags or shopping items. Buffet breakfast was the second worst we have wver had anywhere in the world. Small cramped space with little selection and heaps of people pushing past for cold food that is suppose to be hot. We paid 8 days with the room for breakfast bufft and gave up after 5days

    I liked the fact that the room came with a free mobile hotspot you could take out. The downside was you had to go to reception to request it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location for events at the Convention Center. Great value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was all good with many options except for quality of the bread :) It's hard and dry. Nothing I didn't like beyond that.

    Location was great for me to walk to the conventions center and many restaurants around. Access to tram lines a bonus. Clean. Very friendly front office staff who did their best to get a room ahead of standard time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    I have spend a very good time
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location on Hong Kong island, you can walk and take transportation very easier Near restaurants And sport bar for the match of World Cup Clean Staff at reception nice Easier to come from airport by airport shuttle bus about one hour My corner room was 1508 was big and userfull Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.5
    Worth the value in return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanest of rooms , security and the super breakfast

    The best location in wan chai area , housekeeping service is excellent and the breakfast was super mix of European , Chinese and South Asia food

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.1
    It could have been better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The size of the bathroom was very small, hardly enough space to turn yourself around. There were some hairs on the bath towels. The toiletries were insufficient. No wardrobe, just a railing with few hangers. When the AC was on, the room was too cold. Without AC, there was no air. Not good ventilation system.

    My family and I have stayed several times at this hotel. I should say that every time is a different experience. Our last one wasn't as good as I have hoped. But still we had a comfortable stay. The bed was big enough; the pillows - big and soft. The room was relatively clean and big enough to accommodate two adults and a child. It was okay for one-night stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Just ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small. The breakfast was exceeding crowded with no where to sit. Room smelled from bathroom. Housekeeping not thorough in making up room during our stay. Road construction blockages outside front door entrance to hotel.

    The location of hotel in wan chai was good for public transportation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.5
    Very satisfied with my stay would stay there again in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi signal wasn’t very good Restaurant wasn’t open on LG2 Room service menu very limited

    Close to all amenities Friendly/helpful staff Room was small but comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.1
    good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you can smell the air conditioning......

    great location for singles, couple but not with family. lots of local food to explore if you want to experience some proper HK culture.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    Ok for short stay, but smells moild
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould smell when I entered the room, mould on Windows frame Dirty windows- i think it's the same everywhere in humid areas on high floors Tiny bathroom (I guess HK standard, but the room was relatively spacious, so cutting 10cm of to make bathroom accessible wouldn't hurt...

    Location Overall standard

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    4.6
    Breakfast was quite ok.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning is way below average. It took around 5 hours to finally get the iron. And almost half an hour to fix the toilet flush which was not working on check in. Only one set of personal hygiene supplies was provided daily despite the 2-beds room. Wi-Fi would go off randomly now and then, had to reconnect. Swimming pool is a mere mock (2*2 meters)

    Breakfast was quite ok. Location was convenient for our purposes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Definitely worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed is comfy, toilet is clean and the room I was in was spacious! Very convenient location and will definitely go back to stay even just for a weekend in HK!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    wont be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    expected more for that price we took the twin room with a city view, but the view wasnt of the city, just some other hotel's windows the staff was'nt so helpfull, did'nt knew english the bathroom was a bit old and not so clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    The location is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water of shower was very very hot, and the volume of water was so little. The bed was too soft and unsteady.

    The location is fantastic. The bathroom is very big compare to most hotel in Hong Kong. The room is also much bigger already. The AC can be very cool which is rest in the summer time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    For a one nighter in the center of Hong Kong Island, it was great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't delay breakfast...it gets too crowded to find a seat or get around to the excellent array of dishes comfortably. I missed out on the shuttle bus because I forget to book a day earlier. The vast variability of price for the same room...the hotel responds to supply and demand and a function like the Hong Kong wine convention will send room prices dramatically upwards.

    The room was spotless with good WiFi. I had a good night's sleep on a comfortable bed and from the bed I had a glass panel between me and a well-stocked (shampoo etc) bathroom with large bath. Very friendly receptionists and helpful general staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel is great, deserves a 4 stars. Staff attitude and courteousness needs improvements.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were there just to do their job. Most of them would not crack a smile. Check in was easy, but nothing was offered to me or at least a guide of the property (ie breakfast, restaurants, pool). I received a voucher when I checked in, I did not know what it was for. Nothing was explained to me. I had to ask what it was for and the location. Door man, they are more security officer than door man. They did open doors, but not a hello or, again, crack a smile. Overall, the property is in a good location, very clean, comfortable, good size room, and good amenities, deserves to be a 4 stars hotel. But, staff attitude and courteousness needs a lot of improvements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.9
    Good value for location and facilities. Very nice compact roof top pool and gym.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was good but will be in need of a refresh soon.

    Breakfast buffet was excellent with lots of fresh fruit, western cuisine as well as Asian options.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in a great location
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be honest they wasn't much to dislike i was only here for a few days and it was nice place

    I was surprised that i would have a good stay as the room was very small compared to others i had stayed at but it was adequate. The bed was very comfortable and the view was better than i expected. Complementary drinks and snacks were a bonus although they was not much to choose from. The breakfast was amazing so much to chose from that i had no idea what to have. I went to the pool but they have a wooden floor and this burnt my feet when getting in and out to of the pool so it would be nice if they had a mat to soak the sun up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Very weird and unfriendly people working at the reception,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weird and unfriendly people working at the reception, no one was willing to help when asked. Thats why we decided to go from Hong Kong after 2 nights

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel in Hong Kong!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Very good location.Near airport bus stop(A11).Not far from subway.Many restaurants and minimart near the hotel.Breakfast is good.The room is not too small,size is ok.You can take free shuttle bus from Airport Express (Hong Kong station),the shuttle bus stop in front of the hotel.I think I’ll stay at Empire Wan chai again if I travel to Hong Kong next time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Basic hotel in Wan Chai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not the most helpful or friendly and the bathroom and rooms need an update.

    The hotel is basic but a good price for Hong Kong. The location is very convenient - close to the metro and tram lines. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel and is great if you enjoy Wan Chai.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, super comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too cold. Lobby was like being in the Arctic, room not much better, and the aircon could only be adjusted by strength of the fan (off and three levels).

    Good location, super comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Will book again if my events is at Wan Chai
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room air-conditioner is abit too cool for night despite we adjusted the control to LOW. Others overall okay. Noticed that on the early Sunday morning there are a number of drunk Negros hanging at the pub areas, looks scary.

    Transportation assess is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    A perfect place for business trips
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As anything in HK goes, the room was a bit small. And there was a bit of disparity between the renovated lobby and the rooms; however, this was not significant downsides.

    Wasn't expecting anything nice given how low the price was, but honestly, the venue had everything that I needed-a decent fitness center with nice breakfast. Not sure if I would've liked it so much if I were traveling for leisure, but for a business trip, the hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    great location - decent breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was small - especially the bathroom. There were no electrical outlets by the desk. The sink was a very poor design. Because the way the water spout extended so high and far across the sink it was difficult to wash because I could not get my face close to the sink and water would splash over everything. The thermostat was tricky to set to the right temperature The desk/dresser furniture needed replacement

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    The location was most convenient close to MTR and our offices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI is tremandously slow, breakfast area is not attractive and more like a great refectory

    The location was most convenient close to MTR and our offices

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Will repeat staying there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi service is sporadic. Works most of the time. I like to listen to live streaming radio — lots of incidents of buffering

    Location location location !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Convenient Hotel in Wan Chai great for restaurants and bars close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Empire Club Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi not very good

    Room very comfortable and staff very efficient and friendly. The breakfast is good but very busy Close to bars and restaurants MRT 5 mins walk Airport Express free shuttle stops outside hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice room and especially friendly staff as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was medium quality and atmosphere in the crowded restaurant area was not so nice.

    Very nice room and especially friendly staff as well as small, but nice roof-top pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.0
    unsatisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the staff not so accommodating and the service was so poor. they let you carry yoir bag and didnt even bother to assist for help. my bags were so heavy and the staff can see it and didnt even bother to ask if needed help. the bathroom was so small that i bump my butt on the sink before i can sit the toilet seat. i wont recommend this hotel to any of my friends or family

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.0
    Room given was not the room booked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant very bad. Quality of food very bad. Cleanliness in the restaurant not as expected as for a 4 star hotel

    Room given was not the room booked. No city view...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.2
    Really too expensive for the quality, service and room space
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    These hotel has air conditioning at 16 degrease in the common areas. You can ask to all the guests. Some people were using jackets at the breakfast because it was very cold. Many people had get a cold and be sick because of that.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.8
    Decent stay. Very Centrl
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    GYM opens only a 7am and closes at 7pm.... really if you are serving business clientele. Breakfast set up was more like a mess hall

    Great location. Rooms was great... got upgraded since it was a 05 night stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location in Hong Kong for walking to major sights or using public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is very cold which makes food and coffee cold very fast.

    Great buffet breakfast with very good coffee. Chinese and western food choices were good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.0
    A reasonable hotel but certainly not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not value for money. Feel not much different compared with 3-star hotel we had stayed elsewhere. Bad smoking smell in the room is a constant complain. We paid sgd280 per night per room- not worth the money.

    Like the location that is near good local eateries and 7-11. Like the good water pressure that offer pleasant showering.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.0
    Totally disappointed with Booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well for Booking.com with finality PLEASE- you know my profile already & my requirement always is a HOTEL with smoking rooms!!!! Otherwise I will no longer book thru you

    Disappointed- they were listed as part Smoking Hotels in HK

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    simple, clean and nice enough for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room is pretty small, but that's what you get in Hong Kong.

    simple, clean and nice enough for the money. I liked there was no window from the bed area to the bathroom like many hotels in Asia have. I don't like those.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Clean and good location for trip with 1.5 year old baby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -For a baby who just started to walk and not willing to stay on the bed, may need to pay attention to their head on narrow space between bed and long wall mounted table but enough space to let the baby enjoy walk around -Bathroom looks old but bearable as it was clean -Test the pocket wifi as my fist unit did not work but hotel exchange -Hard to identify hotel on first arrival from bus stop as no sign of hotel name on main road hence advice to check google street image. Entrance is opposite Outback Steakhouse

    -Bus stop from directly between air port is near, few minutes walk (A11 line, Luard Road bus stop, HKD40/pax, Every 20mins for 1 hour, sufficient space for baggage storage) -Bed was king size and comfortable to sleep with 1.5 years old baby with 2 adults -Bus to Central Area is convenient. We went back to rest during the day -Free pocket WiFi rental is given to use outdoor

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Great staff, excellent location, rubbish breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is the only down side- it feels like a rugby scrum to even get into the breakfast room, let alone try to get some half decent food, and you have to queue for everything. I'd recommend giving the breakfast a miss and nipping across the road to the flying pan restaurant instead.

    Staff are super friendly and helpful. The hotel is very clean and gives the impression of luxury right at the outset. The location also couldn't be better for enjoying the sights of HK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Good. Staff excellent and obliging.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Freezing cold in room and corridors - offered heater Toilet did not flush properly, had to hold 2 buttons down for whole time. Toilet was dirty when took up occupancy.

    Position Breakfast included

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    Bed and pillow was horrible.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and pillow was horrible. The "hard" pillow was ridiculously soft where I had to put another pillow underneath to stop sinking. The room was outdated and requires modernising. The carpet looked like it was from the 70s. Great location though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but it took 10 minutes to get seated and a lot of food wasn’t available as they had run out

    Everything about the room was fantastic. Even had a small heater provided as I t was an unusually cold period

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.1
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too cold without heating system, i was freezing, price a bit high compare to same level

    location was great, facility is ok, nice staffs , help upgrade room for me

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.0
    It happend to be cold in HONGKONG.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It happend to be cold in HONGKONG. The hotel has no central heating system and air conditioned was full blast on.Made the stay unbearable. Other wise the hotel centrally located.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable Wan Chai
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's so cold during my stay there, even if I shut down the air-conditioner. It seems that the hotel cannot protect the coldness from the outside.

    I usually stayed in Kowloon peninsula rather than in the Hong Kong island. But in this trip, I don't want to wake up too early for the business in the morning, so I decided to stay at Wan Chai. I must admit that I had been wrong for several years, not to stay over nights in this area. It's quite entertaining to stay in this area. There are many bars and restaurants. Most of the bars in the area welcome international travelers with Live music and various sorts of drinks and foods. I love the international culture of this area. It stirs my creativity for doing business.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Lobby service is good, in the path of the Hotel Shuttle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No temperature control for aircon, only for the fan speed, and on-off; no heating alternative for cool weather at night.

    Lobby service is good, in the path of the Hotel Shuttle service of Airport Express

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Great until I checked out.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was taken aback with the way I was treated when leaving the hotel. The staff members overcharged me for the train ticket and left me stranded without clear instructions on how to get to the airport. Also, the television in my room wasn't working.

    The room was very comfortable and the view was great. The chairs were comfortable. Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    The location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When arrived in the room it wasn’t clean, the airco system made alot of noise, a lamp in the bathroom was defect. After consulting the reception I was offered another, renovated room which was way better.

    The location is good. Travel facilty to Central Station is perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    2-night stay at Empire Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine. No complains

    I didn't like the room first offered to me. I requested for a change or even an upgrade if necessary. The change was made for me and I am happy with the response of the staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable and convenient. Functional and affordable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con control - too cold and not able to adjust. Either on or off. External road works noise, Internal lift noise.

    Convenient location. Efficient staff. Comfortable overall.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I extended my stay I was given a higher rate. I didn't think they exhibited customer service. I should have been given the same rate

    compared to other hotels the value was way up there

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location, decent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little pricey for what you got, but that's normal for Hong Kong.

    Great location in wan chai, good breakfast and the rooms were a decent size (compared to other hotels in Hong Kong). The hotel also provided free bottled water and some small snacks. Overall, it was nothing fancy but a good place to rest your head.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.6
    Rooms made everyday.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit overpriced for what it was. Furniture was chipped. Floors and quilt felt unclean to touch.

    Rooms made everyday. Free wifi and portable wifi access. Didn't use the restaurant so no comment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    5.0
    not ideal for business but great if you are on a group tour.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room on the 8 Floor (819) appeared to be contained within a housekeeping storage closet - there were countless cleaning trolleys, equipment stored in the common areas at all times and lots of chatter by the housekeeping staff at all hours of the day and sometimes the night just outside the room. When I raised the matter nothing was done. This is not suitable for business travel - it is a group tour hotel. It is loud and noisy with luggage scattered throughout the lobby and hordes of tour groups pushing in and out of lifts. Avoid for business.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    6.3
    Still above average for Hong Kong.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    As with most hotels in HK the room was too small as was the bed. Gym and pool below average. Breakfast room far too small every seat was taken, I had to invite a stranger to sit beside me as he was standing eating his breakfast.

    Good location in Wanchai, close to lots of pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.2
    Pretty Decent stay in Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get a little buzzy in the weekend evenings if you are staying on lower levels as there are a lot of pubs ard the corner.

    The rooms were decently sized. Don’t expect state of the art electronics in the room. A decent tv with working air-conditioning and working showers. The most important thing was its really clean! The room was made everyday, towels changed. Service staff were very friendly and courteous too. Location is great! 7mins stroll away from Wan Chai MTR. Alot of food around the hotel. The tram stop was just around the corner, which will bring you to causeway bay or central.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    8.3
    Overall, it was a good experience. Rooms aren't too big but it was ok for two persons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We booked a room with city view, however our window faced directly into an office building. we were a little disappointed by that, but in a city with mostly high rise buildings, I guess that's as good as it gets.

    The hotel is located in a great area, it is very lively and has many restaurants and bars around it. It's also centrally located, so tram, subway and bus stops are less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    A good place in the heart of Wan Chai
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The rooms are very small - The toilet is very small - Not very clean setup as a 4-star hotel - Large lobby but with limited chairs

    The location is in the heart of Wan Chai next to the night clubs zone, but it is very quiet at night. The nearby Cafe and restaurants

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.3
    Satisfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Careless cleaner due to throw away my contact lens container and plastic toothbrush cover. Safe box problem

    Front desk call service due to prompt action when I can't find my contact len container

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.2
    Big suite, complimentary lounge access, fresh fruit
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Empire Executive Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a lot of money for a night’s stay

    The suite was really big, there was fresh fruit. Lounge access was nice too with free water and soft drinks. Great breakfast selection and buffet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    the bed very confy , pillows real pleasure , breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    pressure of water is very weak in the bath

    the bed very confy , pillows real pleasure , breakfast fantastic , staff very friendly ,near buses and underground .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Reasonably priced hotel in a very good location and with exceptional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was overcrowded. Though we stayed there for Christmas, and the hotel was packed and all room rates included breakfast evidently. We stayed there two weeks earlier and didn’t experience a similar problem.

    Excellent staff. Gave us free 4 PM late check out though the hotel was packed. Perfect location. 5 min walk to MTR. 10 min walk to Ferry to cross the harbor. 5 min walk to Pacific Place Mall if needed. Plenty of taxis around. Very good breakfast with largest number of western choices we had during our two week trip through SE Asia. Rooms are reasonable in size with very good AC available year around. Bathrooms are smallish, but good enough for one person at a time.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Wan Chai traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: