Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Gateway Hotel, Marco Polo 4 stars

13 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#34 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1549 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests talking loudly on speaker phones in the continental lounge.

    The hotel is located near tourist sights, malls, restaurants and transportation. Staff is hospitable, friendly and helpful at all times. The continental lounge on the 15th floor is a comfortable and cosy place for a rest, snack and drink, especially after sightseeing and shopping. Thank you for celebrating our anniversary with wine and chocolates. For our next trip to HK, We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed there before we knew how good the hotel was & this time stayed in a club / continental room Great room size location & staff extremely obliging We’ll definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a very strange policy that you are not allowed to eat anything at the hotel lobby, even it is only a small bites! I bought croissant and was waiting for my family and ate the croissant at lobby, but the hotel staff came to me and told that it is not allowed to eat although i am the hotel guest.

    Location is great, connecting to shopping mall

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is relatively high.

    The room is big and clean. Their service is excellent. Bed is big enough to fit two adults. Location is good. The hotel is closed to subway and shopping center. Airport shuttle is available but the charge is a little high. Our family was happy with the stay. We will come back again in the next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey breakfast with ample selection but not my preference. Bed linens were stained and floor carpet also have stains. Overall cleanliness of the room made it unpleasant. Hotel staff not as friendly (but what do you expect you’re in HKG they don’t really smile a lot except for the bell service haha)

    Spacious bathroom Convenient location Accessibility is a plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Club - Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we enjoyed our stay.

    The staff most especially Marco at the Continental Club reception area was very accommodating. He made things easy for us. The restaurant staff - Mark was helpful too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little scuffed - and Hong Kong small.

    This is a stylish, if rather squat, and slightly rundown - hotel. However, the location and the friendliness of the staff made my stay rather enjoyable. The hotel itself is on the Canton Road, and actually part of the fantastic Harbour City Mall. The room was kind of smallish - but the bed was good - and the bathroom well designed and aesthetically pleasing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room attributed did not meet the expectations and sure was not corresponding to the amount that was paid. Thankfully we got a change of room the following day but the first night was awful as there was a very annoying noise all night long that did not allow to sleep. For a room of this price I find this unacceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    The most convenient one to stay in Kowloon. Clean room, good facilities. They even provide the handy phone for you (can use as pocket wifi, maps, and all). Staffs are also nice. I emailed the hotel in order to ask for help about restaurant reservation and they get back to me so fast. Very impressive as always.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The signage for the hotel as you get lost trying to find the hotel if you go via the shopping centre plus the shopping centre is only lots and lots of high end shops with a few restaurants which are hard to find! 200 million square feet with THREE hotels all called Marco Polo (one is MP Hong Kong, another is MP Gateway, the other is MP Prince). Gateway has no seaviews and no relaxing lounge. The swimming pool is at the other hotel, very disappointing! Noisey doors plus very noisey flushing toilets.

    Lovely big bathrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just didnt like that the signal of the free pocket wifi cellphone got weaker on our 3rd day til we checked out. Also we found the male front desk clerk quite cold and unfriendly when we asked where the breakfast room is (same morning when we tried the buffet breakfast) made us look stupid to ask. The pillows were too thin too. I would have loved to sleep on a little thicker one.

    We loved the friendly check in staff and quick procedure. Loved the comfortable bed too! I appreciate the free use of the cellphone that has wifi that we were able to use to call and text locally and internationally for free. We didnt expect this so this was a big, happy surprise. Appreciate the free replenishable mini bar as well! Check out was also as quick and easy and the staff readily assisted us all the way til our taxi to the airport arrived. We super enjoyed the buffet breakfast too which offered a wide delicious variety! I appreciate the concierge male personnel who went out of his way to print our boarding passes for us and quickly sent it up to the room just a few minutes after I requested for it, free of charge, when business center was already closed. I was expecting them to be done and sent to me the following morning. Im very grateful. I like the location too thats why when in hongkong, i prefer to stay in this hotel where it is close to all the beautiful shops i want to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a little leak in our bathroom near the toilet bowl. There was no smell. It did not bother us. But still there was that little leak. I guess your staff who made up our room missed it or just tolerared it.

    We like the location of Gateway Hotel, very near to all the nicest eating and shopping and entertainment places. That's why my wife and I consider Gateway our home away from home and will always come back here.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows are too soft (all "air" & goes flat when used = sore neck). Aircon is set to a warm temp at night: too cold during the day, warm at night when you actually need it to have a good night sleep. Location is great but not if you want to go to Macau China ferry. Taxis won't be happy to take you so have to walk to/from the terminal with your luggage.

    The dinner buffet selection was great - but a little pricey compared to other hotel restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    SUPER NOISY MAID STAFF ! Despite asking them over and over to be able to sleep later than 9am, they were shouting and extremely noisy during my whole trip every morning. Super poor wifi, no cable internet.

    Very clean room, bathtube, extremely good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room rate is kinda keep getting higher lately. Bidet!!! They need it already......

    We are family of 4! Rooms are perfect for us. Always...but noticed the Room rate is kinda keep getting high.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in the room was insufficient. Amenities like shower gel were not enough for 2 people's use daily. Arrival efficiency at the lobby was lacking. Thank goodness one of the 4 rooms we reserved was on the 15th floor. All seven of us checked in on the 15th floor otherwise it would have been a problem on the 1st floor.

    Breakfast and happy hour at the lounge were ideal and a true selling point.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel assigned the room that we found out in the morning that it was connecting room. Bad and strong chemical smell from thinner paint leaked from connecting room to my room. We can’t sleep. No other available room for us until late afternoon. Hotel should be carefully manage this. I won’t stay this hotel next time.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to say as I like everything.

    The big room, free mini bar (which the hotel replenishes everyday), WiFi, the free mobile phone use, and of course, the cleanliness and convenience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and carpet old. The housekeeping was not that good with leaving shampoo and stuff.

    Very convenient location to the subway and shopping

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got our room very late at 4pm and latest checkout without charge was 1pm

    We stayed in the continental floor and the food and drink selection at the lounge was very good. Perfect location of course!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Sale - Superior Suite with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I did not like that even on the 11th floor the traffic noise was loud - better soundproofing should be put in. I did not like city view, its just ugly so insist on a harbor view room. The rooms were COLD. The staff were lovely and concerned and supplied a heater but the air con is stuck on 22 and cannot be adjusted and if you don't have it on the temperature drops and its really cold.

    Club lounge was very nice and food lovely, staff very attentive. The bathroom amenities were extremely generous, free mini bar of 2 beers and 3 soft drinks daily was a bonus and free phone with international calls was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is all about location! We love HarbourView area and the restaurants around. Its easy to hop on the Star Ferry to get to Central and go onto HK Island. We Love staying here!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Lobby.

    Superb location. Hotel is used mainly by mainland shoppers. The refurbished rooms are comfortable and brand new. Tons of shops and restaurants all around. The only negative is the absence of a proper lobby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Club - Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the shuttle bus to and from the hotel to the airport. It actually was the worst airport bus ever!!! (But I guess it's not the hotels' fault?)

    Everything was perfect about this hotel, from the staff, food, room and location. I would recommend it to anyone I know who will travel to Hong Kong.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room need sound proof

    Location, the same building with harbour city the biggest mall in Tsim Tsa Tsui area, closed to MTR station. The check in time at 3PM but they allow us to check in at 1PM, so happy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room should have been on a higher floor. We could hear the TV and baby crying during nightime. Can hear children running the hallway.

    The bed matress are firm & comfortable. The room is always very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were checked in to a suite on our two nights stay & found out that there isn’t any heating system in the room. Could be quite a problem when it was close to 10 degree out there at night.

    Staffs were very spontaneous offering helps during checking in and out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i travelled with my kids the eldest is 16 next 1s 14 and the youngest is 8. they charge me for 1 more adult.. the fact is my 14 y old is still a minor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -airport shuttle service from airport to hotel is shared among a few hotels, therefore it took extra time to arrive at the hotel, and price is similar to a taxi ride from the airport. So no airport shuttle, choose taxi!

    - perfect location at the heart of TST(inside harbour city), where all the shopping is happening! - hotel staff is accommodating and very friendly and helpful - Comfy bed and Super quiet even during the day

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service of taxi UT4139. Just want to report the poor driving service. Since he was nxt in line from the taxi stand, he was compelled to drop us to the night market just a few blocks away. We were rejected at first probably because it is near but eventually compelled by the hotel service.

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not informed regarding our late check out request. We have made several follow ups but we never heard from them. The breakfast has been almost the same for years. I don't find the food tasty enough for me to eat my normal food intake quantity.

    Location was great! You can easily drop your shopping bags anytime of the day in your room coz it's on the same place. All designer labels are just within your reach! This is our go-to hotel whenever we go for a Hong Kong weekend shopping. We also love the handy phone provided which gives us free internet connection throughout our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Club - Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cable TV was limited and kept on repeating.

    Continental Club was great and had personalised service. Bedings felt so soft and comfortable. Improved wifi service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent Location and great breakfast including good variety of gluten free options, a huge plus! Staff were friendly and helpful particularly the wonderful concierges’.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The in-house internet really sucks. Don't expect to be able to do work here. They did provide a handy smartphone that doubled as a wifi hotspot, which was very helpful outside, but to have to also use that inside your room just doesn't make sense.

    The location is hard to beat - close to the Star Ferry (Ocean Terminal) and the MTR.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minibar was free as part of room packsge, but content is only 5 drimks, which we really dont drimk softdrinks and friit drink For suite, and hotel like marco polo, u expect minibar to contain something more interesting

    Was upgraded to suite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if i could've communicate better with the staff, they deducted a one day stay amount as a confirmation of attendance after checking out they confirmed that the amount will return to my account in two weeks.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comparing with similar class hotels in HK, breakfast is below standard (still much better than other cities though) and room rate is too high for what you get.

    No nonsense small hotel in modern style. Sufficient room space for HK standards. Nice to have in-room coffee equipment. Good location inside shopping mall and close to China ferry terminal. Ideal for business travellers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drainage in the shower area is clogged,when we used it, it was filled with water and we need to call the housekeeping to fix it at the middle of the night.Im disappointed this time.

    Area is so accessible for shopping and everything u need are within your reach.There is also a lot of nice restaurant around the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I chose this hotel because of its location as my company had an event nearby. There were a lot of logistics arrangement for the event. Kaws Li from Concierge is very helpful which he offered his helping hand from site-checking to the event day, the event would not be done without his assistance. He also got recognized by my business partner with his consideration and thoughtfulness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to lobby via stairs. Ok if arrive by taxi. Lobby small and uncomfortable.

    Fresh, clean, comfortable room. Close to transport links. Shopping eating facilities available in any weather. Good variety of both. Excellent position.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hoping to havewine glasses in the rooms and a spray bidet in the toilets

    Perfect breakfast at the Continental Club. After being away from Marco Polo for quite sometime- I was avoiding the renovations- I"m happy to find old friends like Mark at the Club and Eunice at the reception.... delightful service as always

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room rates should incorporate breakfast. and we were hoping there was bathtub. and there was a housekeeping staff took off my garment from being hanged and placed it near the toilet, i think that was wrong thing to do.

    because of the room rate we booked, we were given complimentary cheese cake. it was splendid!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like that it is connected to the mall and restaurants nearby. The room is big and clean. There is free use of phone with wifi connections which you can bring outside the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Limited Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One minor thing is the elevators' signals which are a bit difficult to notice when the elevator arrived, which I found that the other guests also have the same problem.

    Location is very convenience for shopping and eating. Breakfast lines are very nice. Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. Bedroom and bathroom size are cleaned and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been great if it has a pool inside its property and not just share pool with Marco Polo Prince.

    It is so conveniently located to food, shopping and mtr.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. staff all robotic and not friendly 2. I ordered king size bed but got twin bed room because no availability 3. construction noise from the mall at midnight 4. needed to change my room midnight then house keeping knocked my door 1pm although I put DND sign 5. the next coffee is at least 5 min walk away from the hotel 6. upon check out no apology not even how was your stay Overall serious issues for comfort and staff

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved all of what you had offered except that perhaps the HKD2000 deposit SHOULD BE RETURNED AT CHECK OUT. We are busy and we cant monitor the refund of deposit after 30 days! This IS the major downside!

    I have done extensive travelling and had worked with a renowned hotel group based in Hong Kong. Every time Im in Hong Kong, however, The Gateway Marco Polo is my hotel of TOP preference. The room design and interior details are splendid. I recommend though that basic fruits be offered as a standard.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a nice view from the window just office buildings. A view would have been a bonus but definitely not a deal breaker. The hotel is beautiful, the only point would be that the attached shopping centre is very western so no different to home.

    As we stayed in an executive suite we had access to the executive lounge which was fantastic. The lounge served a bountiful buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, evening drinks and hot and cold buffet. Our room was very spacious and as s family of three we found 2 double beds were ample. The suite also had a very spacious bathroom complete with shower over bath as we requested. The location was very handy to the harbour and we had a short walk to watch the evening light show which was amazing. The hotel is attached to a very high end shopping centre which was very large.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was comfortable and love this location. The front desk staff and housekeeping was also excellent. The phone with wifi that we could take with us out of the hotel was very helpful. Was surprised that drinks in the fridge came with the room but would have preferred breakfast over that . Truly appreciate the fruits that was given to us everyday.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Shower stall door could only be opened into the shower stall so it was difficult to turn on the water without getting sprayed by the initially cold water. Normally one can regulate the water temperature before stepping under the shower.

    Excellent location. Very helpful and friendly staff including hotel private car to and from airport, bellhop, concierge, front desk, house keeping, business center and laundry.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Sale - Continental Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was not very clean when we entered - there was a bug on the bathroom floor, and the bathrobe was smelling like smoke. Anyway the staff helped to clean the room. The view could be better. The food quality at the Continental Club could be improved, you expect a bit better quality food at the lounge.

    The room was spacious - the view was okay - the staff was friendly and helpful - the Continental Club lounge was great - it was quiet, private and very convenient for business people - breakfast was sufficient .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room given to us was smaller than where we usually stay in the previous years (no shower area, only tub). Not much restaurant options.

    nice interiors and great selection of shops

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A poor view from our room

    Great location very central, walking distance to harbour city/ MTR station. Room was very comfortable, great service (asked for extra towels, came up within 5mins), great value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We came to the hotel past midnight, the lift for the hotel is spoil and we have a stroller and a luggage. No staffs come to help us. We will there for 4d3nights and the lifts to access to the hotel was spoil all along. The staffs are not friendly at all. last day when we left the hotel, not the concierge who help us with the luggage is the cab driver. I will not come bk again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Limited Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No swimming pool and Gymn and have to share with the next hotel for a rather long walk.

    We were lucky enough by upgrading to the continental Floor and the Continental club staffs were very nice and attentive. The convenience of the breakfast and afternoon tea serving on the same floor is very handy indeed. Also, the car park attendants at the taxi rank are very helpful as well!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is small and often crowded. There's also no dedicated drop-off iarea in front of the hotel so you have to either go from Canton Road through an open area and up some stairs to reach hotel lobby, or come through a small entrance and pass through the shopping mall before you can get to the hotel. That entrance is closed after midnight so you have to call to get it unlocked. Imagine you arrive after midnight carrying lots of luggages and tired children...... Staff service was average. I was very surprised that they were not willing to consider room upgrade even though I would have reached gold discovery status during my stay. A free small cheesecake was given as a welcoming gift but our request for a bag to carry the cake was refused. I just can't understand why they would bother to please hotel guests with extras like free cheesecake and then offend them by refusing little things like a proper bag? We eventually switched to JW Marriott in Admiralty and it's so much better.

    Good location right in TST and only a short walk from MTR Station. Room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Limited Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have preferred a somewhat better view, but I appreciate the difficulties in a city of surrounding high-rises.

    Great location, courteous and helpful staff, wonderful breakfast, large room by Hong Kong standards, very comfortable with two Queen-size beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to find the gym for some reason. Dining in house is a little expensive.

    They offer the following as a standard amenities: 1. Nespresso Machine with coffee pods 2. A couple of beers Ann some soda free inside the fridge and they replenish 3. Free cell phone to take with you and it has WIFI account that you can turn on when you're outside. You can use this phone and call US , Philippines and a couple of other countries for free. You can even tether to this phone!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staffs at the front desk is not that polite. I saw a customer asking a Korean staff in Chinese, and the staff just said that she couldn't understand and left immediately, she didn't make any further assistance such as asking other staffs for help. That really causes the damage to the image of the hotel. Hope it can be improved.

    The bed is good for two persons. (Not that big but probably enough) The room is quite and tidy, which my sister and I have a good night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in TST, if you like to shop - its right there. Access to lot of Cafes and Restaurants in the complex. Efficient and Clean. Access by car is a little tricky and you need to know how to get there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i travelled together with my children and their own families occupying 6 rooms. We arrived to the property at about 12:30pm and even if I informed of the early check-in we wtill did not manage and was informed to return before 3pm .. we return at 2:30pm and they gave us the 2 rooms and another 2 at 2:45pm.. the last 2 rooms were given at 3:30pm - the check in time was supposed to be at 3pm. I don't mind if the early check-in was not allowed but after the official check-in time and despite several follow-ups is quite annoying considering that we are so tired of travelling and waiting for the room. Moreover, my toddler grandkids accomodated in 2 rooms suffered from insect bites (bed or mites) on the first night.

    The property was located in the mall where branded boutiques are located, walking distance to MTR, the amenities are good and that includes free mini bar with daily bottled water. The positive side of the property outweighs the negative comments and still worth the stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby is very small and always crowded from people checking in. I took a taxi from the airport and it stopped behind the hotel as no taxis are allowed to stop in front of the shopping mall that the hotel is in. This was a problem because I had to take my suitcases and family through the shopping mall to find the hotel- not a good start to a holiday.

    The staff are friendly and willing to help with any queries you may have.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The view is that of an office building and a portion of the street, but since I wasn't expecting a harbor view, this wasn't an issue. Cleanliness of the room could be improved. I saw a tiny cockroach in the bathroom, but this is the first time it happened. The chair that functions as a work space chair needs to be reupholstered. I had a hard time sleeping because there was a part of the full bed that sinks in the middle that made it slightly difficult to sleep. It took awhile to get hold of the front desk when I called to request for a late check out. I was finally able to talk to someone by contacting the operator first, then being redirected. If you're willing to splurge a little, best to book a room in the continental club.

    This is, I think the third time we stayed at the property as a family. The location is great, mtr and shops are very accessible. It's awesome that there is a free airport shuttle. Requests for early check in and late check out were granted which was great. Check in and check out didn't take too long. Something new for this trip was the free smartphone. We were too worried about losing or breaking it to take it out though. The hotel made an effort to contact us just to say that the room we booked didn't have a bathtub, and were even willing to exchange it to one that did even though we booked the nonrefundable room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was really enjoyed by all of us!! It was a wonderful vacation for us!!!!the place is very clean and accessible to stores,transport and all under one roof!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time though the carpets and bathroom both need a good scrub. They smel cigarettes urine

    I like the location and that your given a hand phone and your mobile device are connected to it. It fact I like it so much I stay there frequently.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late check in after 3.00 p.m. I had to wait till 4 p.m. And i booked family package. No any extra items as shown in details when i booked the room.

    None

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None so far

    The management team like Michael - the duty manager and one of his Frond desk King is very helpful including the team at the Club. Hospitality business is all about taking care of your client at the utmost level. Good job

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    For GYM & swimming pool need to cross over to Prince Hotel

    The location and size of the room. Hotel is located within the swimming center and minutes away from MTR. There's also free shuttle from airport express to Hotel. Size of room is extremely big for Hong kong standard.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested for harbour view but got office building instead.

    Our kids loved the comfy bed and extra fluffy pillows. We loved that it was steps away from the shopping area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could improve on the cleaning service of the housekeeping. and Amenities used in the toilet could be better. The sink is too low and the soap dish should be within the sink. Everytime i use the soap the area gets so wet. Not user friendly. Bathtub should be converted to shower enclosure given the limited space. each time i would get off from the shower i have to be careful not to get off balance while getting out of the bathtub.

    the linen on the bed were always fresh, bed very comfortable too. the hotel is very strategic to shopping and food. i can easily retire back to my room when my feet is giving up on the shopping. Kids can just roam around safely inside the shopping mall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was slow

    Our fave hotel in Kowloon side! Location and convenience Friendly and accommodating staff Comfortable room Fast and breezy check-out

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Premier Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at this hotel is great,Location, services and facilities. They provide us a mobile phone in room, which you can take it outside during your stay for local call, international call and also internet free of charge. We had a memorable time during our stay. It was on my birthday, We were back at the room around midnight and we found a surprise birthday cake on the table. I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all of you again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and property. Inside of a great mall, good restaurants around and near to ferry station where you can buy the tickets to do sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing. A depressing and run down hotel. Really bad ventilation and the rooms stank of mildew. The staff was unhelpful when we requested to change room. Ended up checking out after one night and relocating to the Mira Hotel which is at a completely different level.

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Free Minibar
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    Location. Big beds. Big bathroom. Good water pressure. Free minibar replenished daily. Nespresso machine. Free use of smartphone with data plan. Buffet breakfast. Late checkout.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Gateway Hotel, Marco Polo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: