Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of JJ Hotel 3 stars

165-171 Wanchai Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#137 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2964 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Map on this booking site is incorrect and I had to ask locals where it was. Took me an hour to find because booking.com has incorrect map. Once I knew where it was it was easy.

    Right in the middle of Hong Kong Island. Easy to get to from Metro, easy 10min walk. Value for money. Good restaurants nearby. Great bed and good room. Staff can speak English. Great for if you need a bed near convention centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very minor point would be to have more information for tourists. Directly opposite there is an excellent travel agents called Travel Expert where tours can be booked.

    Great location, the hotel is located over 4 floors (9 to 12) of a general use building. Close to numerous restaurants and shopping centres. Room was larger than expected through very cleaver design. Bathroom was a roomy glass construction with blinds if privacy is required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    It’s a perfect location around 5 mins walk from wanchai subway station. Many local restaurants downstairs. The room cleaning service is excellent. Value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy at the reception! Sooooo rude!!!! We started just one night and no one clean the room! We arrived after a very long flight checked in at 7am and from 12-2 pm hotel wanted us to change the room... after a fight we finally stayed in one room. But come on...

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 5 nights

    services were expensive

    Nice small room to stay in. Good value for money and in an excellent location. Some of the services such as laundry were expensive. Overall had a pleasant stay and not much to complain about. Greg

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the corridors and in the other rooms can be heard inside my room

    They replied almost immediately to my email inquiries. The location is ideal. Checking in and out was a breeze. They clean the room even if you didn't ask for it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No toilet facilities at reception pre-check in (the toilet was in a cafe next door). En-suite in the room is clear glass, which is not to my personal taste.

    The room was clean and comfortable/ Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Do note that their rooms have varying sizes, and some rooms are right in front of the lifts. You may want to specifically request for rooms that are not in front of the lifts if you would like more privacy/quiet. Don't come expecting a 5* hotel and you'll enjoy yourself.

    Hotel is in a shared building but the security guards are helpful and attentive. The room is affordable, large by HK standards, clean, bright, and has the necessary facilities (mini-fridge, safe, room slippers etc). This particular room we stayed in even had a bathtub AND shower. Lots to eat around the area too and a convenient bus/tram ride to most places.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They exceeded our expectation in every way! I feel like we should have paid more for what we got at JJ Hotel. Our room was very clean and spacious. I totally recommend this place! Also, as a tip, visit "dim dim sum wanchai" for lunch, it's in a walking distance from JJ hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - No taxi stand nearby and it is hard to drop off front of the hotel building at busy street and traffic. - Low position of the sink, it's like tailor made for kids. Have to bend body to 90 degree when washing face at the sink. - Extremely high towel rack which I can't even reach the towels on top. - Soft and discomfort pillows

    - Room is bigger than I expected. It is a spacious room compare same value hotel in Hong Kong. - Clean and fresh towels - Comfort double bed with perfect hardness.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and good value! Beds were clean and comfy. But don’t expect anything fancy. My room didn’t even have a window, but it worked just fine for staying the night!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed here 3 years ago (2015) and stayed this May (2018). Very convenient loction, clean room, wide bed, good wi-fi signal. Staff can be more friendly, but as a total, this hotel is good value for money. I'll stay here next time I visit HK!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioning was just about adequate to keep the room cool. The hotel has followed the recent oriental fashion for having "glass box" bathrooms! Our room opened straight on to the reception area which was occasionally noisy and busy. The bed was comfortable but very firm.

    Great city centre location on busy Wanchai Road surrounded by shops, cafes and restaurants. The hotel is located 9 floors up in a multi storey building so traffic noise is not a problem. The staff were friendly and helpful and reception is open 24 hours a day. Our room was well equipped with good storage and a secure safe, tea and coffee provided and was well cleaned and serviced every day. There is a nice restaurant on the fifth floor of the same building.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    noisy aircon, had to switch it off during the night

    great location at the heart of Wan Chai; room has functional design, not too small; proper wardrobe and a small desk; good for a short stay when you do not need facilities on site

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After rhe welcoming receptionist at the checking in, the experience at check out was a let down. Two members of staff at the table. in a sort of trainer, trainee position. You felt like you were bothering them for even asking to checkout. No smile single work responses. Could it be a language insufficiency? A smile would have helped matters.

    This hotel was a hidden price gem. Spacious room. The location is perfect to get to see the locals and walk the regular street with eateries everywhere literally. The restaurant attached to the hotel was nice and had good choices and a good atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon too noisy at higher speed.

    Excellent location close to tram, bus and subway as well as shopping and food. Large room and bed with good aircond.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfriendly personnel. ‘It is policy to let u check in at 2 pm’. ‘Can you check if the room is already made up?’ ‘It is policy to let u check in at 2 pm’. Small not too clean room, every item is shoddy and should be replaced. TV the size of an iPad.

    Nothing to call mom about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room just needs refreshing- some poorly done repairs, spots of rust and black mold, wear on furniture, etc. but they didn't spoil our experience.

    The room was clean and convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no view but how can you ask for more at this price point.

    Very central location in wan Chao which is close to central and causeway bay, big clean room, excellent value for money efficient check in and check out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There's little privacy when using the bathroom. The walls are glass, although there are blinds that you can use to cover. The bathroom door also has no locks.

    Location is great, it's a good 10-15 minute walk to the Wan Chai MTR station. Facilities are good, the (king) bed we got is more than enough for my small family. Cleanliness is commendable, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The elevators are small and the door sensors sometimes don't work - easy to get hurt

    The wifi was reliable Staff was friendly and helpful Very close to restaurants and there's a supermarket just downstairs Size of room is pretty decent - big bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the room condition is reasonably clean the room itself is lacking maintenance (eg. Paint is piling off, air conditioner is noisy & warer is dripping out from it where we were giving buckets to put under the outlet).

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was poor this stay (normally it is not) but often the internet connection was down or very slow. If you are at the toilet and not alone in your room you need to close a curtain as the bathroom has glass walls.

    When I go to Hong Kong, I always try to see if JJ hotel has an available room. It is located in Wan Chai. Appr. 5 minutes from Wan Chai Station, airport bus A11 stops at 3 minutes (Steward road) from the hotel. The bar's in Wan Chai but also in Central (Lan Kwai Fong, Midlevel Escalators area's) are within easy reach. Wan Chai you reach in a 5 minute walk, LKF, you can walk there in about 30 minutes, or take a tram or subway that take you there in minutes. The area itself is iconic Hong Kong, old streets, markets etc. The price quality ratio , I think is excellent. Very comfortable beds, rooms are small but not that small, it is safe, double doors with keycard etc, good spacy shower. There's everything around the hotel, from convenience store's to restaurants etc. I think an excellent stay for single travelers, travelers with friends and even maybe family's who want a good price/quality ratio. JJ hotel is much to be prefered above the budget hotels in Tsim Sha Tsui mansion's, but don't tell too many people, I would like to stay here for this good price/quality ratio again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No frills kind of place, but clean and affordable.

    Convenient and in historical district with lots to see walking distance away, good proximity to ding dings (trams).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seems to be a bit tired now.. We have stayed at the JJ on several occasions, and we believe it could do with some maintenance, e.g. paint peeling next to bathroom, windows were dirty etc.

    Comfortable bed, good location for markets, public transport etc.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We're stay at room # 9S and the wifi in the room was very weak , I cannot check email and chat with my family.

    It's very convenient for travel that you can go around Hong Kong at ease with the MTR station and walk to the exhibition.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms can be more clean... It was not my first stay at this hotel but I think rooms need renovation, especially beds and carpets...

    Location and wifi is very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Facilities are aged, carpet seems dirty, bedsheet and cover sheet didn’t change for 3-day stay even follow their enviro-save instructions. Bleach smell too strong.

    Location is good and lots of restaurants nearby. Subways about 5-8 mins walk. Buses to Kowloon and south or east of HK just downstairs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside was the hotel was quite difficult to locate at first and I have to rely on my google map just to fint the exact location.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient, near to mtr and lots of nearby shops and restaurants. The hotel will replenish goods/stocks inside the room daily if supply is not anymore which is quite unexpected. They provide daily housekeeping even without request. Overall, I am satisfied with my stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are basic and meet the needs of a leisure traveler. The JJ could consider to upgrade the general facilities.

    The JJ is a pleasant place to stay on a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smoke smell in the elevator which is no fault of the JJ. There were no smoking signs everywhere on our floor.

    A good stay. We found the staff to be cordial and helpful. We would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decent hotel in an awesome part of HK..clean decent size rooms..very close to all types of public transport so very easy to get around.. Stayed several times over a few weeks & was very enjoyable..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom blinds were rather strange. Would prefer opaque walls.

    Did not use the restaurant. The hotel was secure and the staff were pleasant and efficient. The location was great and wan chai very exciting location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to change rooms because of the strong smell of cleaning agents, bleach or ammonia. The staff were not very happy about it but they did move me. The room was better but smelt of smoke.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I heard some noises from other rooms at night. but after I said to the reception all problem was solved. But still I could hear some door noises and plumbing noises. Well, afterall it was quite nice place. I will be here when I visit hk again.

    I think it was quite good hotel for short trip. The location of this hotel is quite good. easy access to Soho area and easy access to Tsim sa tui.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The reception desk could be a bit less lukewarm and more helpful. However,they were efficient.

    Great access to shopping and services (eg laundry service, ATM, 7/11 etc). Transport to and from the property was in near proximity of the property (eg MTR, bus, minibus, tram and taxis). This made moving about in Hong Kong very easy and affordable. Our room was extremely comfortable, well maintained and very spacious by Hong Kong standards. Good security.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one big problem is having no window in my room! I will be happy to come back to this hotel but only in a window room :)

    Location, bed, wifi, quiet

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, need to take the tram to go to the centre district. Next time I prefer a smaller room more close to Lan Kwai Fong or Soho area. First impression of lobby not so good. Smells old and shabby. Rooms are much better.

    Big room for HK standards Very Clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    A wonderful place to stay in Hong Kong. Great location. Good price for an amazing place. This is just a nice room that is clean and comfortable. No restaurant or other services, but who needs them in this neighborhood. I first stayed here over five years ago. Returning to Hong Kong I remembered this place. I wasn’t disappointed. Thanks to booking.com I was able to change my reservation at the last minute. I’d stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioner was left on after making up the room, and it was really cold when I got back at night. And the window is not made to be open.( I can't change the air at all!) The a.c issue was easily solved by asking them. Not being able to open the window was a bit of problem for me because I wan some fresh air in the morning.

    Convenient location. And it has a spacious closet and table, which are common in other countries but not guerunteed among hotels in this price range in Hong Kong. Sheets and towels were clean and changed everyday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    The location was great. Staff was very friendly. Room and bed was wide. Complete amenities. Clean room. Provide luggage storage. Good price. Comfortable room, even though my room has no window but the hotel put some curtains to create the illusion of a window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was some wear-and-tear in the room (didn't bother me in this price category, but I can see how a few marks on the walls or a bit of mildew on the bathroom ceiling might bother some others).

    For the price, this hotel was excellent. Now, it helped I got a free upgrade to a bigger room, but everything was nicer than I expected from a hotel in this price category. Near perfect location for easy access to MTR/attractions/food, yet not in the 'party' section of Wan Chai.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    house cleaners kept the a/c on after finishing cleaning up our room. We would return to arctic conditions when we returned later in the day.

    spacious room, firm bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower cubicle was dirty and full of mold - I left a list of things that management need to look into.

    Not bad hotel but not a good one either, had I been in Hong Kong for more than 5 days I would have seeked some other hotel. Nice staff on the door downstairs, other staff in reception just seemed to do a job, no customer care to speak of. No help booking excursions but luckily there is a place across the road to the right. If you get the bus from the Airport, get off at A11 and walk across 2 roads, look for LUCKY CENTRE as there is no proper sign for the hotel, save you walking around for 45 minutes like I did :/

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would be good if space could be allocated for a mini pantry where Guests can sit down for meals. Smell of food would linger in guestrooms if meals are taken inside. Try converting the empty lounge on every floor into a pantry!

    Staff are very helpful, courteous and friendly. Location is very central and convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appalling staff, rude, no help at all (not just me but a couple I saw checking in later they were rude too). The shower absolute rubbish, more water spraying out of the back of it than the front. Weird shower room where you couldn't quite stand comfortable under the shower. Cleanliness was probably a 5/10 for British standard. This was a final night prior to flying home after a month of travel, I stayed in some hostels in Vietnam at £5 a night which were twice the quality of this. Either take the hit and spend £100+ on a better quality hotel, or stay in a hostel..this place is somewhere lost in the middle, managed by appalling customer service

    Location was good, bed was comfortable, rest dismal...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel is nice enough I find the practice of adding a “service charge” to the bill at the time of payment very questionable. However widespread it may be, it is essentially a scam to confuse the uninitiated and increase visibility with artificially low prices. Advertise your real price.

    The room was quite big for a relatively inexpensive Hong Kong hotel. The water temperature and pressure in the shower was excellent. It even had big windows.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit humid, however you can open the air condition to avoid it.

    It's nice to stayed in here while traveling in HK. The location is just wonderful to explore anywhere by metro. Furthermore, the transportation is quiet convenient to travel by metro, bus and dindin. The room size is much bigger than others

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's a regular hotel but for the money you pay it's ok.

    it's not far from Wan Chai subway station (400 mts) and it's in a very commercial area. The reception of the hotel is in the 9th floor and rooms are in upper floors (but it's usual in HK)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many signages and warnings can irritate customer. I usually put them aside on 1st day.Aircon is super cold.

    Male staff Herman very friendly. Excellent security guards downstairs very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be Noisy

    Bed is good location is good just a few mins walk from Exit A3 Wanchai MTR (out of MTR cross the traffic light and “Turn Left walk all the way down)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The previous guest must have smoked in the room. The smell lingered for the two days I was there. It was in the sheets and all. The bathroom has full glass dividers and using the toilet or bath means closing the door and lowering the blinds each time. It gets cumbersome and annoying after a while. We requested for an extra key as my friend n I had different plans for one night. The staff were rather curt in their refusal. They can do better than this.

    Location was great. A hotel with spacious rooms right in the heart of Wanchai.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel exceeded my expectations

    The location is perfect for getting around and one of the more interesting areas for local markets. Situated on the Island close to all areas: mid levels, wan chai ferry, shopping. Great local eating nearby. Central station is within 10 minutes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff wasn't friendly and assistance was minimal. Needs to improve on their customer service skills.

    ocation was good. Accessible to Wan Chai MTR station and walking distance to grocery, restaurants and stores.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the location.the hotel is not hard to find. It’s very accessible surrounded by many restaurants, small stores selling uniques items and 24 hour covenience stores

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television facility. There were barely ten channels and one or maybe none in English. They had a movie rental facility for DVD, however that can not replace a good dish connection with global channels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we stayed at the 12th floor. There were loud footsteps from above even late at night and very early in the morning. Room was not very spacious but it was manageable.

    Good location with friendly staff. Easy check-in and check-out process.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The both room and toilet is glass. Suggest putting nice painting to block out the interior of the bathroom. The blind over the toilet door is caught when the door is shut.

    Big room , clean , near good public transport and direct bus to airport. Many good eateries nearby and a big market.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us was absolutely horrible. It looked scary, dirty, mouldy and it was stinking. So we came back straight away and they had given us a normal room. The room was very cold (no heating), so we had to stay there in all clothes and shoes to be comfortable or lie down straight to the bed as soon as we come :)

    Location, clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold inside the room during beginning of fabruary (no heating - conditioner works only coolong) . It was about 18 degrees inside and 8 outside. Bad sound isolation.

    Location is great, near Wan Chai metro station. No need to go through reception DESK - just chose the floor in elevator, hot water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im indifferent to the see through washroom with only blinds to give privacy but i was dolo. Couples may take issue with this.

    Great stay, smaller room but huge bed!! Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The glass doors and walls in the bathroom. We had to raise and lower the blinds in the toilet area everytime we need to pee or poop. There was also a gap in the blinds between the bath area & the toilet area. 2. The bar soap was too small. 3. Hard to connect to WiFi in our rooms during the 1st day. It took us multiple tries thru various networks and wasted a lot of our time. 4. Would have appreciated extra pillows and lower bed.

    1. The bed was large enough for two people with room to move around comfortably while asleep. 2. The cleaning lady anticipated that we might run out of toilet paper and provided a spare roll on our last night. 3. Complimentary 2 bottles of water daily, bedroom slippers and eco bag. 4. The room was big by HongKong downtown standards. 5. Convenient location, with many restaurants and shops w/in walking distance and even a supermarket at the basement of the building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included, staff need to smile more

    Hotel in Central location and shares building with other businesses. No breakfast available but other places to eat in same building and close by. Staff were ok but not very engaging possibly due to language barriers. i asked for extra pillows on arrival as we only had one each which they got but seemed a bit put out by request. Cleaned daily and comfortable so no real complaints just maybe staff should smile more and be more welcoming like Hotel staff in Thailand.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed is a bit hard for comfort. It would be great if the bed is softer and more comfortable.

    Very good location, it has everything nearby. Tai Cheong bakery is nearby with great tarts.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that wasn’t expected

    Our first time to stay in a hotel in Hongkong side and we are not disappointed. There are many things to like/love in this hotel. No fuzz check in/check out. The room is bigger than the rooms we’ve stayed at in the past for a good value. Seems like the floor and the room where we stayed have been upgraded/renovated so its all good. The room and floor is very quiet day and night. We had a comfortable sleep. The aircon is okay. Everything in the room is clean tho the carpet may look like it has some stain on it but its clean, doesn’t smell. The toilet is not that shiny white but its clean, doesn’t smell. Tho it can be cleaner. Toiletries, coffee and tea, slippers, and complete set of towels are replaced everyday. The bldg is surrounded with lots of eateries. There’s a supermarket downstairs. The proximities to airport bus stop, train station, tram station, and shopping area. There is so much to do and see unfortunately we stayed for a short time only. Can’t wait to bring the rest of the family and stay in JJ HOTEL the next time we visit hongkong.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slow lifts.

    The hotel is on 9 - 12 floors of this block, it was IMHO very good value for money, room not large but big comfy bed, there are no facilities at the hotel for food but very good wi-fi. This hotel is ideal for a short stay at a budget price. Bathroom has glass walls but there are blinds you can pull down. In a good area 100s of places to eat, and good transport links.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room was at 11 floor. Lift was always stinkly with cigarette smell. Small lift which was not so good. Staffs were okay not so friendly.

    Room was cleanly maintained. It's a decent good hotel for 2 people to stay. Its not a facncy luxury hotel but definetly decent hotel you can consider for your accomodation. Its near to wanchai metro station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    01. I ordered a non-smoking room and there was no smoke smell in the room, but I still could smell heavy cigarette smell out of the room, in the corridor, and in the public area. 02. It needs to take at least 10 minutes to get to the hotel from the subway(Wan Chai). So if you have big or heavy baggage, you may think about it. 03. The signal of Wifi is very weak. It is not convenient for the tourists.

    01.The bed is comfortable. 02.The space of the room is bigger than other hotels. 03.The water in the bathroom is strong and hot enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is worst than a budget hotel, the lobby is like a office room, dirty and the staff is so unfriendly.

    Nothing to like about this hotel, is not worth of the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that I didn’t try the restaurants in the building! What a regret .. next time I visit will definitively try. Nothing negative about my stay.

    Location is fantastic and right under hotel is a food supermarket. Hotel room always very clean, bottled water supplied daily, bed very comfortable & reception was helpfull. I had a problem with DVD player and staff where there immediately to fix it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the toilet could have covered up with opaque wallpaper and give more privacy.

    the beds are fine. the pillows are terrible, it is too soft. the location is great and this is the only bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smell of bleach throughout the room. Windows do not open. Bathroom is elevated by one step and its walls are made up of glass windows and door. Vanity basin sits behind the bathroom door which makes access awkward. Why doesn't it open the other way? Hot water takes 3 min to reach to temperature. To speed up the hot water through the pipes, I had to turn on the Hot tap in the shower even when I was only wanting hot water at the basin. No power plug in the bathroom. No tea bags provided. Carpets needed shampooing. Got a call from reception to remind me at 11:10am check out was due at 12pm?

    Location is tucked away inside a commercial building of 20 levels of which JJ Hotel takes over four levels, housing other businesses like an Veterinary Clinic, Language Centre, Restaurants etc. Reception is on Level 9 (from memory) comprising of one small desk and one staff member seated down. I know HK very well so none of that fazes me but it wouldn't be fair to rate JJ hotel like a hotel because it's not a hotel. Having said that, it has good and free wifi, large bedr which could even be King size. A small lounge area outside the lift on Level 12 (could be on the other floors as well) is good to sit with your laptop or tablet if you start to feel claustrophobic in your room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A room could be refurbished a bit. There was some wallpaper stick out from the wall and some fixtures in the bathroom were loose.

    Room was clean and comfortable. There was one complimentary bottle of water per person every day. It's located close to public transport and surrounded by good and cheap places to eat.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to pay the full amount when we checked in, we were staying four days. The receptionist was unfriendly Air conditioning was very very noisy Smell of cigarette smoke in the corridors Air conditioning had to be on full when taking a shower as the steam would set off the fire alarm. (This is not clearly marked in the room.)

    Good central location. Big room for Hong Kong. Big bed, plenty of hot water, toiletries and slippers provided. Door staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two night but the shower gel was not replaced after the first night. Ran out of it in the shower the second day. Also the bathroom has a glass door n is facing the bed. You will wake the other person up when turning on the light to go to the toilet in the middle of the night.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse JJ Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: