Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong 4 stars

3 Kau U Fong, Central District, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#134 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1495 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for exploring HK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small, but to be expected in HK and LKF area.

    Amazing location, perfect for exploring HK and for getting to all major areas / spots. Excellent night life & meal options nearby, they also give you a mobile which has recommendations on there plus handy just to use for google maps. Would highly recommend & would visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in the middle of everything.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, I was very happy with my stay.

    We got stuck in the worst typhoon to hit Hong Kong in over 60 years, and the hotel staff was excellent and made us all feel very safe. The hotel even had a "typhoon menu" :). The bed was the most comfortabele hotel bed I have ever slept in (and I travel quite a bit.) I will absolutely stay here next time in HK.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    Nice forniture and discrete view
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was more smaller than the hotel declared. I’ve paid for a 33 square meter room instead the room was maximum 22. Breakfast was poor. To reach Queen street you have to go down from a dirty stair

    Nice forniture and discrete view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.9
    Location is very good, not far from restaurants
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common area bar could be better maintained Rooms are little smaller

    Location is very good, not far from restaurants Clean rooms Polite personnel, very helpful Wifi is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.5
    Property is a bit tired, staff great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV was old and small The property looks like it could do with a fresh coat of paint, furniture is old and damaged but location is good and staff are great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic neighbourhood, easy access to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic neighbourhood, easy access to everything. Friendly and efficient staff and the free happy hour in the evening. In short we thought it was great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    The staff and location were outstanding!
    • Family with young children
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a Habour view room for my parents who were also staying in the hotel at the same time I was (as was my older brother); however, thought that the added cost for the room, wasn't worth it, i.e. the room and bathroom were the same size.

    The staff and location were outstanding!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff and customer service here are exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rain shower head was a bit weird, too low.

    The staff and customer service here are exceptional. Extremely friendly and helpful, they make the stay special. The room is also beautiful, great view, and good size for Hong Kong.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly staff, excelent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn’t clean. I entered the room and everywhere black hair on the floor... the bathroom wasnt clean neither.

    Very friendly staff, excelent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Had a very comfortable stay - the hotel in a great location, nice little view, and fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The TV remote didn't work properly. The bathroom may have been on the slightly small side - the door to the bathroom was a bit of a squeeze.

    Very comfortable room and great bed and pillows. The air conditioning worked well. Loved the happy hour wine as well!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.8
    Affordable hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door to adjoining room was not sound proof and children’s TV program could be heard at 11.30 pm and 6.30 am. This was more the fault of the room occupants than the hotel!!

    Quaint traditional style hotel room. Comfortable beds, efficient, courteous staff and modern bathroom. Excellent security with 24 hour front desk. Helpful staff. RestaurNts and cafes within walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Good option for Central HK stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is run down , needs a good clean .

    Great location , small boutique feel , 4th Floor open air terrace , complimentary coffee / happy hour wine . Friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    An incredibly overpriced mediocre hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. The correlation between price and quality was truly miserable. For cheaper price you'd find amazing hotels both in downtown and - especially - on the other side, in charming Kowloon, also facing the bay, with excellent views and incomparably better service / quality. 2. The location is awkward. It's on the uphill street, very inconvenient to walk (especially during the heated June in HK with its tropical rains) and to arrive by cab. There are a lot of brothel-looking massage salons and South-Asian eating places around, but nothing chick: noisy, smelly and crowdy. I had a feeling that the reception starts immediately from the street: they've got a poor isolation by the central door. From outside the hotel looks even uglier than from the inside. To anything important historically, you'd need a cab. Although rather central, the location is a bad choice for sight-seeing. 3. The rooms are decorated in a tasteless kitsch, imitating oriental housing and furniture: looks good only on their booking.com picture. In reality, it's tacky, rooms are tiny and overall inconvenient. I was staying alone in a room suitable for two, but I'd go mad if I were to stay there with someone else. 4. The breakfast area is extremely tiny and organised in a weird way. It's the first hotel ever where I was asked by the staff to take a seat with unknown persons, random other guests - because they lack space to accommodate everyone. The last thing I want in the jet-legged mornings is to socialise with strangers, and certainly not in hotels where a night costs more than EUR200...The breakfast choice was rather poor too. I don't like dim sum in general. Apart from the latter, the variety of food and their coffee machine left much to be desired. 5.

    1. The view from my room on the 22nd floor was stunning and the windowsill was decorated as a nice sitting place, to enjoy that panorama over the bay of Hong Kong, facing Kowloon. I've heard from a colleague staying a couple of floors lower that he didn't have any nice view at all. 2. Although was too complicated to figure out how to use it (a weird registration system), there was a smartphone available in the room. I wonder who'd use it anyhow and why though. 3. The cleaning service did a reasonably good job. The rest of the hotel staff was polite. 4. There were basic tea /facilities in the room, a bathrobe, slippers, both WiFi and air-conditioning worked great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly situated city trip hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge is situated in one of the lower floors (no view of the city) Not that much opportunities for food and drinks in the hotel itself, except for the pricy restaurant (a lot of stuff next to the hotel)

    It’s perfectly situated for exploring the city Very close to the main station (about 5min walking) Next to a road with a lot of bars and restaurants Not very big rooms, but they are very clean and have everything I need for a city trip Very friendly and helpful personal at the reception

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    The room was beautiful with a window seat and tea bench.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quick breakfast clean up. The serve ends at 1030 and by 925 the trolleys came in and cleaned everything away.

    The room was beautiful with a window seat and tea bench. The beds extremely comfortable. The coffee and tea station on the 4th floor that offers complimentary wine from 5pm to 8pm was a welcome addition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    This was my second stay at this hotel and I hope to be back soon!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music could be a little more cool, lounge-style. It’s boring, always the same and synthetic.

    I love the Breeze Lounge! Perfect after a busy day, great selection of newspapers and good coffee machine. Also quite pleasant for business meetings and interviews.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Recommend breakfast at local, don't take the hotel with Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From MTR Central to Hotel is kinda far, especially with luggage is not convenient..

    Location to party is good, front desk is very friendly. Breakfast don't have much choice but simple and nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Another good stay at Lan Kwai Fong @ Kau U Fong hotel in Central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Downside of our stay was that our TV reception was poor this time around. Not much of an issue as we spent most of our time out of the hotel.

    We stayed in a smaller 19-metre room this time around. Smaller space wasn't really an issue. Room was nicely decorated with good furniture again. Bathroom was strangely a bit larger than what we had in the 33-metre room during our last stay. No complaints there. We enjoyed time spent on the 4th floor lobby and terrace again and found front desk to be friendly again this time around. Location is great for those who want to be close to the food, dining and bar scene in Central and Sheung Wan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.8
    Nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains has unpleasant smelly,the room needs air freshener, it smells bad whenever you come in.

    Better view of the city, if u book I recommend to take the Harbour view. Staff are warm and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    There is a gym on the 5th floor and a lobby & terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in Deluxe City View room that was supposed to be 33 square metres. Upon arrival we noted that the room was considerably smaller so we contacted the front desk. We were then informed that we were in the correct room and that the room floor space was actually only 25 metres. That was disappointing

    There is a gym on the 5th floor and a lobby & terrace with covered and outdoor seating on the 4th floor. Complimentary wine and snacks are served there from 5-8pm daily while coffee and tea is provided 24 hours a day. The decor of the lobby and the rest of the hotel is modern but modest Chinese motif. It is nice, not over the top or tacky. Room decor was consistent with the rest of the hotel and the room was very comfortable. The bed was a bit short but soft, providing quality rest. There was plenty of closet and luggage space, a small desk and chair as well as a large window seating for two. Room included a flat screen TV, kettle, tea & coffee packs, working A/C, very good wifi and large windows providing a good view of the city buildings. Location for Lan Kwai Fong Hotel is very good if you want to be in the centre of the food, dining and bar scene in Central and Sheung Wan. There are hundreds of places scattered in all directions from this location. You will also find the Graham Street Market, Midlevel Escalator, nice art galleries and a wide range of retail shopping in the area as well. The closest MTR Station is Central, around a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Don't.. There are better options close by.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality room, blinds that don't close, inconsistent shower temp and low water pressure, crap TV (the machine, not the channels), loud staff at 5am slamming doors, too expensive for the room quality.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Excellet as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe due to the timing, the pricing was a bit high.

    We don't stay anywhere else other than this hotel. That speaks a lot of the service and location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    3.8
    Look for another hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. One day somebody opened the door of my room at 5 a.m in the morning. I was shocked. And nobody from the hotel staff even tried to inform me what was going on. On my insisting they finally told me that somebody from their staff entered my room accidentally (???). What was his intention at 5 a.m, I still do not know. 2. Sound insulation is exceptionally poor 3. Cleaning ladies are shouting in the corridors 4. The room is exceptionally small 5. Rather hilly

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Good, comfortable hotel. Bit pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first room was on the small side and had a connecting door to the next room. Not very private!

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff, great views. Nice outdoor terrace/bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    a great place to stay in Hong Kong
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms are small but this normal in Honk Kong

    We stay here every time we are in Hong Kong. The location is perfect, in the heart of the city. All the shopping you need at a walking distance. Boats to Kowloon at a walking distance, a must do! Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are well equipped, with breathtaking views. Breakfast is good. There is a nice place with snacks and drinks available all day. In all we are very satisfied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel right in the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room.

    Nice, but small room. Good bed. Good location in the center. Good breakfast. 4G phone available for free. Very good wi-fi, happy hour vine snd snacks for free.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door to the bathroom broke but we fixed it!

    The decor was excellent and the breakfast was yummy. The breeze lounge area was very nice. I would stay at this hotel again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    A small gem in HK...location and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was ok but not impressed. Breakfast very basic and not worth the money. Room is really tiny and we stayed at a deluxe top floor, river view. It's a boutique hotel so small and nice decor details but if you want to do a HK sightseeing you will not spend too much time in your room

    Amazing location, boutique hotel and HK rooms...small, too small. Room was clean, hotel had a nice Level 4 lounge and an amazing breakfast place...across the street. A great location if you want to go out to the best restaurants and bars in HK but also if you want to travel around the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel close to nice bars and restaurants in central Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lobby had a strong kinda wierd detergent smell and no seating area. The room hade a nice view but didn't feel so clean. Small gym. Unstable Wi-Fi.

    The staff was very nice. I arrived early and was able to change and take a shower before my room was ready. The bed was very comfortable. Great location close to many bars and restaurants. The complimentary wine and snacks in the evening was a great thing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel is great, close to the station, mid...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner was not regulating the temperature properly

    Location of the hotel is great, close to the station, mid level elevators, restaurants and other landmarks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    I would not stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Front office booking in receptionist very unfriendly, put us in a room with 1 bed and when we explained we had booked 2 beds, she suggested we hadn't. When we enquired about getting to the airport with the complimentary shuttle, she said this was not available to bookings through Booking.com. The fridge , TV and hairdryer were all broken.

    The position and the concierge and cleaners were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is what really makes this hotel an ideal place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was just ok. A little more focus on variety would make it special. Breakfast room is over air conditioned and way too cold

    Location. In the middle of trendy Lan Kwai Fong, shops, eateries. 5 minutes to MTR. Friendly staff especially in dining room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice place but not worth the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue I had was that the value was not there for the price. The location was very good but for the price it was just not worth it. You are walking distance from tons of food and shopping, but the size of the rooms and the lack of amenities just does not justify the cost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice small hotel with small rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Name is confusing it’s not in Lan Kwai Fong but only 600m away but in Hong Kong with those hills that’s a lot. Disappointing as a guest in the hotel you can’t get a table in the restuarant.

    Nice small rooms Location is good and short walk to train tram or bus

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than expected, curtains did not fully block out light

    Location and proximity to metro station was great. Fantastic view from our room on the 27th floor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Boutique hotel in the heart of the vibrant central district of Hong Kong meets all expectation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little on the small side

    comfortable cozy room in the heart of the central district. Incredibly close to all the shopping and Michelin rated restaurants you could ask for. Staff was friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice experience in soho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room for 2 people, but clean, bathroom also very small, but also clean.houseceeping very noisy with doors closing. Service and breakfast very good. Relaxroom with outside terras very nice and quiet.staf very friendly and helpfull.great location.free use of hotspot phone, amazing. Great place for one or two nights

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    A nice little hotel in Central, within walking distance of everything. The price was right as well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Friends and Family - Connecting City View Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    As was expected, the rooms were not very spacious, but were perfectly adequate for the price we paid.

    First and foremost, the hotel was perfectly positioned for our stay in Hong Kong (within walking distance of all that we wanted to do). We were able to book two connecting rooms, which was very helpful with our teenagers. The staff were very nice and helpful. The complementary cocktail hour in the lounge was a nice touch as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    Central location, room much smaller than expected - deceptive or clever(!) website photography......
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We could only fit one person in the whole bathroom at a time. We are both tall people - wish you had advised us how small the facilities were going to be.

    The complimentary beverages early evening and water.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Location, location, location. And the vibe. Super great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were small but central location and reasonable cost meant this was reasonable.

    Location - amazing. Nice hotel and staff made perfect location a joy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely fantastic experience. Best of the mid market hotels I have stayed in Hong Kong. Consistently friendly staff. Great location. Great room, good size for HK. Well decorated, great views. I really liked the lounge on L4

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be much better if it were the whole place was updated and refurbished, the interior is old. It’s pricey for what you get but I guess you’re paying more for the location value rather than how nice the hotel stay is.

    The location is what sells this hotel. Staff a friendly. They’ve this cool little locals booklet in the rooms that’s really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice and comfortable, good location, but not the best value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small. I understand that rooms in Hong-Kong are small, but the price does not justify the room quality. The room is fine, but not the best value for money.

    The location is great, a few minutes walk from 2 stations of MTR, and in the middle of SOHO. The room is clean, and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall great experience staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey. Our flight was deleayes due to inclement weather and had to stay one more night. The cost was almost double what our original reservation per night rate was. No discount was offered given our situation.

    Room was nice size and clean. We've stayed here multiple times and we love it every time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    We would recommend this hotel for your stay in Hong Kong. Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one thing : The air conditioning was too cold and you could not adjust successfully.

    Very comfortable room well appointed. Beautiful Asian decor and great service by staff. Very good breakfast each morning with lots of variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    Good location. Better value for money elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The brand of this hotel is very high and I expected to be impressed. But there are far far better value for money options in the same neighborhood. The standard room smelled of mildew and mold. So staff changed me to another room. Even that one had an odor once the hotel scent wore off. I think the hotel owners should consider renovating the standard rooms or severely discounting the price. Doubt they get many return clients. Lucky they have a great staff onsite.

    Staff were very helpful and did their best to fix a problem with the room. They also gave me a good check in / out experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    We were visiting our daughter so the location of the hotel was great we needed to be close to soho
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice when we left for the front desk to be able to phone for a taxi for us. But was told she didn’t have a phone to ring a taxi. I found this a bit strange!??

    Everything was very good The happy few hours with free wine was unexpected but good wine served

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    3.8
    Unclean bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom! It was so unclean. The shower curtain smells, the bathtub was so unclean, I saw someone else's hair. The bathtub and shower looked so old and ,,,, disghusting I felt like I was visting my friend's dorm house, the bathroom reminded me of my college years at residence.

    The location is good if you are looking for some place where you can just walk after drinking at Lan Kwai Fong, but Hong Kong is small and taxi is cheap, I don't see the point to stay in this location for this price range and the hotel condition. The staff was helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    great stay with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked to have clean windows! I wanted to get pictures looking but windows were dirty. Additionally, the windows would not open so I could not get a clear picture. I can understand why the windows don't open but a clear area to take a picture would be nice.

    I liked the room and the fruit delivered. The bottle of wine was a great idea but I tend to drink wine at restaurants or with friends so I never opened the bottle. The bed and pillows were great. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel and nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little tricky to find without having wifi. There seem to have been a hotel that had the same name in Lan Kwai Fong but which closed down. This hotel is not in this area even though its called the Lan Kwai Fong hotel.

    Great hotel and nice room. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Great shower, nice little extras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Décor appeared a little worn in places. But not enough to spoil things.

    Great shower, nice little extras. The open air terrace and free wine from 5-8pm was a bonus!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Perfect stay for Central HK
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    General room maintenance could be a little better

    Location, character, outdoor verandah Terrace Professional staff . Quality linen and comfortable bed .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    Room size is perfect for one or two.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit small lobby but not gonna be ant problems

    + if following Google map, it’s not that difficult to find the location. + friendly and helpful staff ;)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.8
    Great location ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms are much smaller than advertised (maximum 15 m² instead of 19 m²) ; unfriendly reception staff (among other things, they made fun of me in chinese when I asked for clarifications about the size of the room) ; there is no lobby ; there was a really strong humidity smell in the bathroom (probably the shower curtain that had not been changed/washed for a very long time) which was fixed when I asked, unlike the bathroom sink which remained clogged during my whole stay despite my request to the reception... Overall we're very far from a 4* hotel here !

    Great location ; breakfast staff ; the wine is a nice touch

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    Magnificent hotel located right in the heart of Hong Kong!
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small to my standard but big for Hong Kong standards.

    The location is perfect. The staff very friendly and helpful, they call me a taxi and helped me with my luggage. I had a room with Harbour view and it was gorgeous!!!! And Freddy was there, a friendly smartphone with hints for visiting. The Hotel provided water, coffee and tee free of charge. I will stay there again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Ok
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The behaviour of front line staff and the room was dirty even after cleaning And very expensive restaurant ( fried rice 280 hk dollars ridiculous )

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Ideally located to explore Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee in the room. A kettle and cups are provided but couldn't see tea/coffee, although these were available in the Breeze Lounge.

    Great location, lovely comfortable room, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.8
    Ridiculously well located!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    *HEATING* There is no built-in heating in the room. I travelled to Hong Kong at the end of January when it is cold and humid. Heating units are available upon request, but it makes regulating the temperature and humidity in the room more difficult. To drive that point, due to the lingering humidity, there was some mildew in the shower area.

    *LOCATION-LOCATION-LOCATION* The best thing about this hotel is definitely its location. Activities within the Central area is at walking distance. If you want to travel further, the subway is equally close. Proximity to the Central Elevated Walkway allowed me to walk back-and-forth between the hotel and the Central Pier and hop onto the ferry that would take me to Tsim Sha Tsui.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Best location! Room was a bit old and had a smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a distinct smell from the lobby to the hallway and to the room. It smelled like fried oil. I assumed this was from the chinese restaurant at the first floor. The room and bathtroom were very small, and in addition to the oil smell, it smelled musty and old. If you're particular about the shower, you should know that it's literally 3x3 feet and has a shower curtain and not a door. The room looked just as it did in the photos but, I think it's due for a refresh. It looks more oriental than modern oriental now.

    The hotel's location was great! Just a street away from SoHo Central's best restaurants and bars. Sheung Wan MTR, Central shopping and LKF is a short walk too. The great location really made up for my unmet expectations of the hotel aesthetic..the staff was great too!! Bed very comfortable. Complimentary happy hour was a plus ☺

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Awesome location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The one negative is that the rooms are a little 'tired' though and could use a face lift. The edges of the desk are chipped and the shower head needs cleaning.

    Awesome location. Awesome staff. The traditional Chinese themed rooms are very charming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Inspiring design, amazing location, great view of beautiful Hong Kong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing ! there is nothing not to love! If you'll find an available room at your budget go ahead and book it! :)

    Love, love love this hotel! This is on of the oldest and most popular hotel in Hong Kong, not cheap and not as expensive as other hotels tend to be in that amazing city. I loved the room decor, very modern and at the same time based on Chinese traditions. The shower is seriously the best shower I've had in hotels for a long time, the shower decor is beautiful as well. Try to ask for a room with the harbour view, the view is stunning! The location is great, it's few min walk from everywhere in central, you have a nice coffee shop downstairs outside of the hotel, 7/11 is right nearby, lots of bars and restaurants nearby, Shanwan station is 5 min walk and also Central station, you can quickly start your day or go everywhere, easy to get a taxi as well. My spot was the beautiful tea seats by the window with all this stunning view - you will know and see when you'll get there. I'll give this hotel 11 out if 10! You also get a wifi hotspot phone that you can take with you everywhere and it give's you hot spot, really cool! Location is a jackpot, decor is beautiful, it's very clean, bed is comfy and service was great from the moment we got there. It seems that the design of this hotel makes you feel like home away from home and it gives you also a little touch of the amazing Chinese culture and the tea traditional tea section of beyond!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.2
    Good quality for reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not find from TV channels really many english channels.

    Location was grest. Close to Central, Hongkong station and other Centals attractions. Room is quite small as everywhere in HK. Clean. Great to get complimentary coffee whole day from 4floor. Staff is young, very helpful and full of energy. Nothing to complain.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful staff, excellent service and super location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Mountain View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful staff, excellent service and super location in the Lan Kwai Fong district with 2 min walk to great bars and restaurants and individual fashion boutiques (women's fashion).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location, not very spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room size, customer service when requesting special beds and what was received was not the same room type that we requested (2 twin beds was requested, 1 small double was what we ended up with) Luckily, were able to change back to a 2 bed room but it was much smaller than the original. Both very small rooms with barely enough room for suitcases

    Very good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Great hotel for vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor annoyance, I put up do not disturb and tried to sleep a few hours in the afternoon and they called several times asking to make up the room.

    Great location, great view, friendly staff, breakfast was top quality, free mobile phone and free wine happy hour

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Last normal priced hotel on Hong Kong Island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning only blows cold air making it colder inside than outside.

    Location could not be better really, & nice little zen garden with free coffee.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    5.8
    Tiny room, look at nothing like the photos online.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room, look at nothing like the photos online. When asked if they had a larger room they said only if you pay extra for a superior room. It was well below average. The reception is also very un-welcoming, there’s nowhere to sit and wait for someone. Staff not particularly friendly. I wouldn’t go back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.3
    Great view, excellent shower and comfy bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room, cheap fittings. Photos very misleading. Breakfast was OK but limited. No heating so had to request a heater (i'm told this is true of most hotels in Hong Kong however).

    A great view from the room! The bed was also very comfortable and the shower was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    6.3
    Adequate but not brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall the hotel is tired though Once would have been very nice. A staff member had a frayed uniform. Breakfast was not very warm and some of the staff seemed hassled

    Convenience to everything in central

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.3
    Price is considered to be too high considering the quality of the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room didn't quite fit the photos on booking.com. Bathroom had an unpleasant stench from the shower curtain and was really small. Room was pretty gloomy as well. For the price paid, it's definitely not worth it.

    Location is pretty good as it is situated in the central area. Bed was quite comfortable. Overall experience was average. However, staffs are very helpful and attentive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Amazing food, decor, location and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NOTHING!!

    Amazing food ... from breakfast to dinner ... must try the onsite Michelin star restaurant! Amazing view from our 31st floor harbor view room. Beautiful decor authentic oriental feel. Amazing convenient neighborhood and

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    6.7
    It appears to be clean which is a plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very difficult to find and it wasn't on the main road where all the events were occurring. It's a tad misleading.

    It appears to be clean which is a plus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Cramped for space in all areas. Good view from higher Harbour View floors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is near to Central but on a very narrow road. Area very deserted at night. Rooms, lobby, breakfast place cramped for space. Limited breakfast spread but with a helpful staff.

    Nice partial view of Harbour from higher floors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    Room too small. Staff is great. Lounge is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room size is not as published on website. I traveled with my son (15 years old), and the room is literally less than 180 sq ft. In which, majority of the sq. ft was occupied by the bed, fixture, desk, bedside tables, etc. The bathroom is so tiny, I just have to canceled the rest of the booking and find another hotel. City view is quite sad.

    Great staff. One of the staff who is in charge of cleaning the lounge lobby area (not the lounge inside) she was cheerful and friendly. As we were taking the lift to go downstairs, she even press the lift button for us!!!! She is the saving grace of this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    The room was a bit smaller than we expected it to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • City View Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The price that we paid at the property was different from our initial booking confirmation and we didn't know why :(

    The room was a bit smaller than we expected it to be. But considering most of HK's hotel room that is located in the city centre is relatively small. We could say that our room size was okay. The service was splendid, the staff was accomodating us really well. The bed was comfortable, nice shower, and literally near everything you need (lin heung tea house for your daily dose of dimsum, drugstores, convenience store, malls, coffee shops). totally recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Lan Kwai Fong Hotel @ Kau U Fong traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: