Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Li’s Chain Hostel 1 stars

Flat A4, Block A, 3/F, Chungking Mansion, 40 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#302 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 177 hotel reviews

4.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    3.7

  • Comfort

    3.7

  • Location

    6.3

  • Facilities

    3.6

  • Staff

    4.2

  • Value for money

    4.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I loved my stay here. The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was nice with great lighting, AC, wifi, window and comfortable beds. The cleaner was very good and gave us fresh towels every day. I liked that there was hot water available in the lobby for tea. I felt very safe in Chungking Mansion and love the food options there. This hotel is in a very central area close to the park, the train and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located just near the fort in city(perfect location),the hotel is clean and provides u great hospitality.The hotel owner is very helpful and will guide u throughout your stay.The staffs were very helpful.The hotel provides u almost every facilities from good rooms, tiwels, wifi, toiletries, sleepers, Overall experience was awesome.I'll recommend this hotel to every couple and families:). You wont regret,just be there:) very safe and comfortable at its best 😊😊😊

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So dirty !! The old chinese guy receptionist was so harsh annoying and he ask addtional payment to us $400 for the toilet.And 20$ for the towel. Bed sheets and pillow are so dirty and smells bad! We're so disappointed. Do not book here!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff..room..the room posted in booking.com its not the rral room they give us ..so we need to transfer room then we up grade so that we can have the cr n spacious..we add 1260 hkd

    location only

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got sick because the AC was dusty. Very small WC. No rug in the shower room. Washroom Sink was not draining properly. Hope you can work with the cleanliness of your facilities.

    Only the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    That place is horrible. We were milked for more money to pay for a room that we booked. Disgusting manager. Please do not carry this hostel in your app. The hostel is dirty, no upkeep, ugly. Just beyong horrible!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That old man seems so harsh and the hotel smells bad ., he is not friendly.. l felt very disappointed bcuz the guests seems to adjust his attitude. Communication barrier. I dont really recommend this hotel.

    That hotel sucks !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    it smells, there were bedbugs and roaches. we had to leave the next day and did not get a refund and they also charged us extra. Not worth the money at all.

    nothing. horrible place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The booking details in the website are not clear. The rooms are too small. They ask you to pay extra to get a better room when you are supposed to have used the room you already booked. I know it wasn't only us. I regret the idea that I have read negative comments about the hostel but still pushed through the booking. On the day of our check-in, we were three groups of visitors. And all of us were upset because of the same problems in the room, extra payment and the kind of service given.

    None.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the room originally for $1400 and ecpect thats it , but upon arriving at the hotel reception , the receptionist said that i should pay an extra $950 . I could have used that money to shop while in hongkong , will never go back to this hostel anymore

    Good for sleeping

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 9 beds in a very tiny room, even in the middle of the room, so you can even properly walk. No free space in the room at all. The beds and sheets are dirty , smelly , not comfortable at all. No air-con , only fan. NO HOT WATER in the AFTERNOON and night after 23:30. Toilet is very disgusting and stinky , so i just had to use the nearby shopping mall toilet. The WORST hostel i ever stayed.

    Location is very good , just the best u can expect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We come earlier from our booking date and decide to see what is the room look like then the reception the old chinese guy with bad english show us the room,after that he asked us to pay the room because we saw the room already and said if we not pay he will cancel our booking and the payment should in cash. When we said the booking for tomorrow and we not bring any cash he asked us to change our money with him ,and we said we must take on ATM first because we plan to pay the hotel by credit card. Then he asked us to pay half first , and we gave only $200 because we don’t have any cash he wanted to hold my friend’s passport. After we take the money from ATM we paid and he still annoying, and almost ruin our first day in Hongkong. The next day at check in time the reception is lady and tell us that our room is sharing bathroom, we said that we saw the room already but she insist that is not our room , we said that if we know that the room is different for sure we will cancel the booking and she said that the payment no refund, and again we have no choice and just received the room key because too last minute to arrange hotel and we paid for 5 nights already. She gave us option if we want upgrade room will have additional about $600 and we said no because we disapointed already and after when we in room about 10 minutes she offer to shown the room upgrade because if late noon the room will not available, when we said no she keep ask to shown the room, and after we don’t want to pay for any upgrade. Every day we hear the guest fight at reception because our room near to front desk and people always yelling. If u plan to stay in this hotel maybe u should consider , it’s really bad hotel with bad room and bad reception and compare with our prev hotel this hotel is very bad . Only ask you for money without any good service they treat people like sh*t , sorry for that word but that’s true

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tenant is not so friendly. The picture of the room in tne net is not same in the personal.it makes us disappoonted.

    The location is near in all mens of transportaion restautant and malls and other amusement park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very arrogant , aggressive and disrespectful! He took additional payments two times and changed our rooms everyday! No bathrooms too!

    i did not like anything, do not book in this hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't very clean and the bathroom was leaking everytime we take a bath. It'll have a puddle inside the room. Also, we were charged for another thousand dollar for upgrade in the room bc apparently the room we booked doesn't have a bathroom however, it wasn't indicated in th information when we booked the room.

    I like that it's near the station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit small but for the claustrophobic. it lacks cleanliness, the walls are a bit thin as you can hear inconsiderate guest. The description was a bit confusing as i thought i was getting a room with a personal bathroom but i was surprise that i was asked to pay extra for it.

    it was close to everything i needed to go and do. MTR, malls and post office. The building is quite cultural as you can meet a lot for people from all over the world.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like anything. Poor welcoming staff. No bathroom. Beds stained. I booked this room only for unavailability of hotels. I thought it would meet a minimal expectation but it failed in that too.

    There is no single thing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel gives misleading information. They don’t even have double beds. Don’t have separate showers. Shared shower is for the whole hotel. Don’t ever stay there.

    Nothing. Complete mess.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The owner. The room. They charge everything from leaving your baggages to asking extra charge for the bathroom.

    The hotel charged me for the bathroom and the owner was rude to their customers. Never again. Dont book this hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked for 3ppl and they showed us a room with a dubbledeckerd bed. One the staff told me we have a fortune cuz its for 4ppl.... we didnt have enough space even to stand up all together in a same time. 1m2 toilet and shower together. Elevator also worked caothic

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be friendlier and please pay attention to the sign on the door, when it says “please do not disturb” it means please do not enter the room. During the duration of my stay someone kept coming in the room to clean the bin when we clearly put the sign on the door to not do so.

    The location is close to amenities and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old lady at the reception is harsh but funny at the end! Just open your heart and she will make you smile.

    Quite a experience. A place in a real ghetto. This is for fearless backpackers who don’t complain because is cheap. Is located in the famous Chunking Mansions. I know is hard to believe but it’s very safe, the safest in the building. The staff is rough and the building complex is intimidating, but is part of the Hong Kong adventure! I will recommend it honestly, one of the weirdest places in the real HK!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was nothing like the pictures and the room absolutely stank of germs. When we first checked in, we had booked a private room for two people. Before they showed us to our room, they took us to a superior room and told us that if we pay extra, we can upgrade. Only after we refused did they take us to our room. Only good thing about this place is the actual location, however, the building that the hostel is in is very dodge and scary

    nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They ask for extra charged amounting to HKD1,600 for us to have a private room and toilet, from our bookings of two rooms, they make it one, coz they said the room we book was not thesame on the picture that booking.com showed, its very far different. The room was so small for us 6 people, only 2 double bed and 1 extra bed, the beds are so old it was wrap with plastic which makes the bed so hot. The bedsheets were too old and dirty, the towels too are same with bedsheets, it has a lot of stains, and the bedsheets was not change even once, the curtains were too dusty, the CR has foul odor, the heater operates too late wherein as traveler we need to wake up early and dress up early to make use of our time, the towels were not change even once for our 6 days of stay😠, the rooms were not clean even we put the tag "make up room" outside. They just mop when i told them personally, but was not properly clean, The bed are broken it was only tied with tape😡.The old girl is not advisable to be on the front coz she doesnt know how to entertain customer, only the daughter and the old guy maybe his father can understand so wel the feeling of the customers.

    Only the location coz its very near the public transport and stores.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scammers strategy ... showing an INCONVENIENT room then asking you to upgrade with addtional fee only to find out that it was the room you book at internet. BEWARE!!!

    STAFF - FACILITIES - CLEANLINESS - COMFORT Upon check-in Mr Li's ASKING YOU TO PAY IN CASH then show us the room with double deck w/o CR and main door lock not working he insist that there are CCTV's in the area. We are family (5 pax) then he demand for us to an upgrade and to add 250hkd per night 1500hkd for 6days. Upon checking the deluxe room "upgraded" we told that it was the room we book for. After haggling and discussion we settle to add 500hkd for 6 nights. BARGAINING! In internet it was only 100hkd per pax for the child but he charge us a 200hkd per night. We dont have a choice but to avail coz we have kids. BEWARE of his strategy he will show to you an INCONVENIENT ROOM THEN ASKING FOR AN UPGRADE WITH ADDTIONAL FEE. And to add WE PAY CASH he didnt accept the credit card. LOCATION - 5 star very accessible just beware of the indians downstairs PRICE - 1 star The price in internet is enticing but upon check-in you will be surprised. We add 500hkd for the room "SCAM strategy" and 1200hkd for kids supposed to be it was only 600hkd for 6 days.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    STAFF BEHAVIOUR IS VERY RUDE, THEY ARE DOING CHEATING, TAKEN CHARGES FOR LUGGAGE WITHOUT KEEPING IN LOCKROOM, NOT GIVING ROOM ON TIME. STA FF IS ASKING FOR EXTRA CHARGES. I HAVE PAID THROUGH ONLINE, THEN ALSO THEY TAKE CASH FROM ME AND REVERT MY CHARGES THROUGH BANK WHICH I DIDNT RECIEVED YET. HORRIBLE EXPERIANCE...ADVISE BOOKING.COM TO REMOVE THIS PROPERTY FROM YOUR LIST.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything is bad! bed bugs plus hidden charges! booking at this property is waste of money!

    everything is bad! bed bugs plus hidden charges! booking at this property is waste of money!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To all who going to book this hotel don't do it . I travel now 20 years and I never seen this kind of bad place and bad people. this is also a complain to booking .com this hotel must be take out from booking.com, if you booking.com need more in information why please send me a e-mail or call me .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is hilarious and disgusting. Just a waste of money. Never book at this place.

    I don't like everything in this room. Everything is disgusting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay away from this Guest House!!!!!! 1. Trying to ge more money in my credit card 2. Booked 2 family room and when they knew where only 5 the old lady tell us that she will just give us 1 room and its upgrade. But its not. Coz we pay 2 rooms 3. Room is so DIRTY 4. No HOT shower 5. The old lady and man including the young lady is so RUDE!!!!! 6. NO TOWEL NOTE: Dont book here! There’s a lot of better guesthouse in chungking mansion a LOT better and will not give give you headache. Booking.com should ban this guesthouse.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall is ok for me. This room is small but enough for 1 person stay. Worth to stay and will come back again. This is my frist time I stay in this hotel. The security is good and location is fine for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place are not clean. All cocroch also bedbags. At night all cocroch come up in to the drinage very dirty.i spent a big money but the place its not good to pay for that amount.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Their were too many people at the main entrance floor who will try to catch your attention to buy stuff.

    Good location, free wi-fi, very friendly host and very nice cleaner to clean the room. Just that room a bit small. Maybe not be able to put many big luggages. Value of moey. Will come back again in future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dirty room, fleas, insects and mold in toilet. I got bitten by bugs at night. Not recommend for sensitive people. Only for hardmans!

    Location and personnel very nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are only 1 bathroom, people are waiting in line most of the time.

    The location is very good as the metro station is in front of the hostel. Staff gave extra service refer to my condition, recommended! Overall, this is quite a nice place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely excellent..because within the area there is shopping malls and more restaurant also.

    Definitely the location of hostel is excellent because the Mtr station and the Bus is infront of the hostel building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water for several hours a day, dirty, cockroaches, too cold, unsafe bunk beds, no towels and slippers. Did not return the deposit to the card. Staff who want you to later check in and quicker check out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were really small, but rooms in HK are small everywhere. they all had proper AC. And there was always enough hot water. Wifi was a little slow.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dirty, the bedsheets were dirty and stinky, the air conditioner was broken, the reception was closed at night, not a 24/7 service as promised!!!

    Nothing!!! The room was very dirty, the place is a bazaar, and the stuff is unfriendly, when you complain about the service!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hostel itself is so basic and seedy that cheapness is the only reason you can stay there. Or try to book another one in the same location - Chunking Mansions. You may find a more decent one for that price.

    The hostel is located within the Chunking Mansions in the Tsim Sha Tsui disctrict and this neighborhood is absolutely amazing. It offers a unique atmosphere with an easy access to all major tourist attractions and elsewhere in the city, 24/7 life, various malls, parks and museums and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    COCKROACHes HARD BED TINY ROOM I've paid less for better places in Hong Kong. The area is also a little dodgy - I had a guy walk out of the elevator randomly one night, and follw me to my room!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    like and this hostel will never meet the same sentence... I have lived in China and Hong kong for five years . I booked this hostel as there were no others over the bank holiday period . Within my time there the staff and hostel : 1. Double charged 6 people in the time i was there 2. Stole a passport and refused to give back to the customer until a fee of 3000HKD was paid. because the customers would Not sleep, on what can only be described as a, "gynocology chair" 3. Police came did nothig as tbey lied they had passort and luggae hidden. 4.Rats everywhere including the room. 5. Cocroaches you can expect , but not on that scale. 6.Bed bugs 7. Dirty sheets and very smelly pillows 8. Argumentative , violent , disrepectful , con artist trained staff . 9. No hot water or air conditioning if the boss didnt feel like lettinf you . 10. Smelly , dirty , damp ... Hell on earth . 11. Operating under different names to avoid bad reviews and the scam of the double charge . 12. They use (UK HOSTEL , TAIWAN HOSTEL , BACKPACKERS HONG KONG .. AND ALOT MORE !) DO NOT GO HERE YOU WILL BE DOUBLE CHARGED AND HATE YOUR TIME IN HK . CHEAP IS NOT CHEERFULL IN THIS CASE . IT IS BEYOND BELIEF. PLEASE TAKE MY WORD AND THE WORD OF EVERY OTHER PERSON I MET THERE . 20+ PEOPLE.

    Absolutley nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is going to be long. First, we got told that the place is sketchy in a few emails before arriving. They weren't kidding! We arrived to Chung Kit Mansions and there were a load of people outside trying to sell suits and hotel rooms. It was hard to navigate as it was huge. The building was a market for East Asian food and goods. We were advised to use the first lifts (Block A) which we did. But honestly, the place was full of sketchy people. A few tried to sell us drugs. At reception, the lady said we could check in at the check in time but we will have to go to a different block or wait 4 hours later to check in and stay in the same block. We just arrived, we needed a shower, of course we would check in straight away. Little did we know, the block was half way across the whole building. We had to walk past a lot of weird people who tried to stop us to sell us things or to drag us into their shops. The whole place is filthy! We got the lift up to the block, it's locked using a security code, but honestly, anyone could find it out, it's not safe at all. The room was small and dirty! There was dirt everywhere. The bathroom was tiny. It's a standing over the toilet one. I'm used to these in Korea, but this was so dirty! In the morning, you have to switch on the water from outside. The button powered about 9 rooms! So, we switched it on, and waited over 10 minutes. Guess what? No hot water. There is also a 100dollar key deposit too. We were surprised when we got the full deposit back. Honestly, you get what you pay for! It was awful. I would rather pay much more to stay in a decent hotel than this sketchy place. Luckily, we were only there for one night.

    It was in Tsim Tsa Tsiu, so it was pretty central and right next to the MTR.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Stayed in a small room with one bunk bed with shared bathroom. Bed is styrofoam which is so hard. If your height is 5'10" or over, you will not fit on this bed. We can't even adjust the aircon as the turning knob is destroyed. Bathroom is shared on dorm type room which they do not clean on a regular basis. Better just go at Chungking Mansion, there's a lot of people who offers cheap hostel accommodation which you can choose and see the actual room and will suit your taste and budget. Pictures on booking.com is not the same it is. Bed sheets is not even white, it's multicolored cheap sheets as well as the towels which they replace only after 2 nights. They always shout whenever they talk to you. If your flight is later than check-out time and you will leave your luggage, they will charge you HK$50 each luggage, which you can haggle the price as much as you can drop. This should have been free! Better not book in this hostel.

    Near MTR Tsim Sha Tsui station

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is totally a disaster. The room picture on the site is way way beyond the actual room. Towels, you have to stay 2 nights at least before they change your towels. Reception staff always shouts when they talk to you. Room is stinky as well as the public toilet, they maybe cleaning this only once a day. Near TST MTR Station, so this is just the only good thing about this hostel. Wifi is good on certain area, I don't know why my iP7+ can't connect with HOSTELHK_6 (actually all my 3 iPhones can't connect with the password they gave) They have a lot of hotel name on booking.com site so beware. If the address is 3rd Floor of the Chungking Mansion with a different name, don't even push with the booking. If you really want to stay in this building, just go there walk-in, there are a lot of guys offering accommodation there so you can choose with the budget you have and a room you like which suits your taste.

    What did I like? Just near the Tsim Sha Tsui station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs...i met three receptionists..the young one is okay, but two old man n woman are extremely rude, no manner...the most unpolite receptionists ive ever met...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet Flusher was spoilt and never fix even we stayed for 3 nights! Towels not provided and water heater not functioning majority of the time, location was complicated which alots of foreign ticket sellers which unsure it is legal. Not for next time

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personel was very unfriendly. Yelling and cursing at the guests. No shower provided. Beatles in the room. Water dropping from the roof. Tiny room. Dirty toilet. No toilet paper. No money back for cancelled booking. Terrible place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this place is terrible and our stay, from the time we checked in, was just a total nightmare. Staff members are very rude but that's maybe they are so fed up with all the complaints they receive on a daily basis. I booked for 3 triple rooms and we weren't given the rooms we booked for, and there was so much bargaining to be done just so we can get acceptable rooms and settle as we were so tired and frustrated. We ended up staying in 2 quadruple rooms, no refunds no compensations for all the trouble they've caused. We checked in 2hours late because they couldn't provide proper rooms and we had to wait for the cleaning. The rooms were unbearably small, beds uncomfortable, bathroom dirty, the whole place is just a hellhole. The building where the hostel's at is unsafe, crowded and not to mention very unhygienic (ie the lift for people is also the same lift where all the floors' trashbags are brought down). It feels disgusting to stay in this place Just go shell out a bit more money and don't settle for this one, it's the worst experience of my life.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude and aggressive middlaged man at reception. Zero respect to the guest, almost phisicaly attracted me when I asked to be more polite and give me reciept as an evidence of payment.

    Location: direct access to metro, star ferry and airport bus. It is exacrly what it cost: coffin with shower and toilet, but you are getting all you need for this price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very impolite staff, first tried to assign a room without facilities that I have paid for, after complaining I got a somewhat better room, which was so far from the reception that I rather didn't go back to complain again. Wifi and air conditioning don't work at all.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not very comfortable if you travel with large family.

    Location is very good. Near to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR station, bus stop and shopping areas. Near halal restaurant. Located close to entrance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the whole floor smells like a trash can which is really off-putting. there is a curfew on hot water. the single room was like sleeping in a coffin. the marble and tiled walls were dark colours with gold, which made it seem really funereal. i think if the interior was lighter it could have been more tolerable (like other hotels i've seen in photos of chungking mansions). it had a window but the window was covered over with mirror paper so there was no light that came inside, and it felt like it could be a single sided mirror where you can't see whats on the other side. i'd try another hotel in chungking mansions next time, if i'm on a budget.

    chungking mansions is an interesting building.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    rude staff, you didn't get the room you've booked/offered.... ONLY ACCEPT CASH even though mentioned in Booking.com Credit cards accepted..... HIGHLY NOT RECOMMENDED

    location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water never working. The room still dirty. Never change pillowcase,bed sheets,blanket. The owner who old man is bad.

    The location is fine there. Easy to take the transportation from the airport. Like the heart of dowm town.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude, laughed at me for certain questions i asked, called me stupid when i asked for help to find my room. The bed was too small and the sheets had stains on them and you only had one thin sheet to sleep with.

    The location was very central.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are very rude. The location of the hostel is not nice. It feels like you're in danger anytime. There is no windows in our room which gives me the feeling of suffocation. I will definitely not recommend this hostel to anyone.

    None.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small and not well maintained.

    The only thing i like is the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, No Nice personal, horrible room and service. No worth price, worms in room!!!!!!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    None!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very unprofessional and rude.

    The place was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Very bad service and untidy room

    The location was the only thing that's good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of receptionist is rude.. he insulted a filipino.. he is greedy

    None

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly, place very dirty,

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. aAnd the personality of the staff especially the old guy.

    NOTHING.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All except location

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They rob your money

    Nothing at all staff rob us on our mpmey

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very convenient to everything. Clean room and fresh sheets on the bed. Jennifer was very friendly and helpful at reception.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and not so clean, but the worst is the old man staff whose stay at the night shiff.

    None

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the staff and the cleanliness of the whole place.

    Rude owner/attendant. Poorly kept rooms, untidy surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is quite good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was bad! We were charged for another 350HKD for the restroom and no towels at all. Worst accomodation ever! Dirty surroundings

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location and amazing staff, would come back again!

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: