Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 5 stars

3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#144 of 290 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1793 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    8.8
    We booked 2 rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms. My friend was told they he got an upgrade. But the room given was horrible and small and lesser then the catagory. Very unsatisfied with this. And he had been living in this hotel for like 25 years.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Perfect location, beautiful harbour view
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -check in and out was fast -glad we upgraded to harbourview, it was worth it -clean rooms, -hotel smells like a spa, calm & relaxing -direct connection to harbour city mall -excellent room size, would bring my family to stay here as well.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    See above
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Every night they were working somewhere outside downstairs , sounded like they were working with iron pipes. I had to buy earplugs to be able to sleep.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    It's my 2nd stay at the hotel. I'm still coming back. Receptionist Chibi was so accommodating!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mini bus transfer from airport to hotel could obviously be improved. It's old and the seats are tight. The Toyota luxury minivan is more like it!!

    Bed and room were terrific! I also had a great airport transfer going home.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    7.9
    The harbour view room was worth the extra money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Harbour View Room with Canton Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms and Wardrobes are dated. The hallways on the odd occasion had an unpleasant smell.

    The harbour view room was worth the extra money. The staff were very helpful in all areas of the Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Actually, the hotel transferred us to their sister hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually, the hotel transferred us to their sister hotel Gateway as they are still experiencing power outage due to typhoon. The room we stayed in didn't have a view but at least they upgraded our room. Service and staff are great and location is perfect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended. Will be happy to stay their again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cost View from the room and from the pool

    Location was great. From the hotel you can axces city harbur mall, star ferry and watch the sympony of lights. Room was big clean and comfterable. Staff wre great and service was excellent. We had an issue with the room and they have immediatly upgraded us to a better room. After we did checkout and while waiting for our flight they offered us battarey ti charge our mobiles.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    We went up to the breakfast in the morning and although we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went up to the breakfast in the morning and although we didn’t have breakfast we ordered two flat white coffees. The first two came out with a thimble full of coffee. The young waitress couldn’t speak English. The lady in charge came over and we once again ordered two skinny flat whites. What we got was two lukewarm coffees out of a machine. Definitely not Barista, not flat whites and then to add insult to us we were charged $25 Australian dollars. We have relayed this story many times. I think others are as shocked as we were. Service was not poor it was disgusting

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    2.5
    Dirty hotel, rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, dirty carpets, rude staff. Most of the rooms u are looking out of the window at a brick wall. It was our anniversary and we booked this hotel because we thought we would get a 5 star experience. Oh how wrong we were! When we checked in the women was miserable and rude. When we asked if it was possible to change rooms because all we saw outside was garbage, we were met with rudeness again. It seems like you have a 5 star experience as long as you don’t bother any of the staff there. Worst hotel experience I’ve ever had. Better service at a 2 star establishment.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Marco Polo Hong Kong - Typhoon management
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Continental Club - Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have no complaints that I can think of!

    I arrived in HK the day before Typhoon Mangkhut. As a fairly regular visitor to the Marco Polo HK, I was looking forward to my visit. During the Typhoon, the power tripped putting the hotel into darkness, with only emergency lights working. These didn't last long and soon the whole hotel was plunged into darkness, with no air circulation and as with most hotels today, the windows couldn't be opened (there were winds of up to 200km/h, so this wouldn't have been practical anyway. After a couple of hours we were informed that it was a major problem and was't going to be easily rectified. we were then told a a while later that continental club floor guests had the option of being relocated to the sister hotels, Prince or Gateway. The Continental club staff, always great, were nothing short of exceptional with their professional approach management of the situation and are a credit to their group. I would like to list them: Ellen , Sherli, Verona, Carrie & and Stella. The butlers, Kenny, Noel, Wingco Hei, & Calvin. They went above and beyond the call of duty. The staff at the Marco Polo gateway were brilliant as well and managed the unexpected influx of guests during a typhoon impeccably . Continental Club manager Viann managed the situation exceptionally well. Well done folks! You did us all proud, I hope your employers read this. Ill be back (again!) Chris

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.8
    Everything is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room size is ok but all furniture is old and needs renovation. Bath towels need change also. The photos of the hotel room is not the same with reality.

    Hotel location is super. Food was delicious.Staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.2
    Have stayed at the Marco Polo previously and always had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Club - Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Only downside was the bed - We would have liked a Queen Sized Bed which we expected - I am 6' 3" and the bed was cramped and rigid. This was only criticism.

    Have stayed at the Marco Polo previously and always had a good time - Service is excellent etc.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Good Vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    NONE

    Room was so nice and clean even hotel quite old but still nice location very good and I had ABF on 17 Floor that was awesome services, bell boy so nice I leave my stuff with them and need to re-pack they services me very well I'm impressed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    A lovely place to stopover on the way home where we feel quite pampered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Club - Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    We always stay at this hotel when in Hong Kong. We like the location , very near to the Star Ferry and also walking distance to the MTR. For shopping it is right beside Lane Crawford and Harbour City. Apart from this , we always find the staff in the Continental Club very attentive and congenial. This also provides good value with a beautiful breakfast buffet , afternoon tea and evening drinks with hot and cold canapés, a hot freshly cooked dish and sweets which is more than sufficient for dinner if necessary. The rooms are very comfortable and attractive. The bathroom has a shower and bath and lots of amenities including some bath salts which are a very thoughtful addition for a good soak especially after long flights ! This was the first time we had used the hotel outdoor swimming pool and it was a great way to cool down after a very hot HK summer's day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Stop over in Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was painfully slow. Our flight was delayed 8.5 hours so we were already over tired & just wanted to shower & go to bed. No mirror in the main room, only in the bathroom. I wanted to style my hair but no mirror; in bathroom, mirror but no power point for tools😣 Dinner at Italian restaurant was totally overpriced and service very poor. Ignored until we sought out staff.

    Concierge staff, particularly Errol and Frank most helpful and obliging. Location was very good, close to the ferry and MTR.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent choice of hotel for our stay:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Continental Club - Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check In process very slow.

    Beautiful hotel. We enjoy staying here. Very close to HarbourCity shopping complex, train station, harbour area to walk in the evenings.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there is a little detail I didn’t like it was probably the busy lift. Having had a room on the 15th floor, I often had to wait a while to go up or down.

    Excellent position. Generous toiletries, amenities (iron and iron board available on top of the usual kettle and hair dryer)and excellent bedding and towels. Breakfast extremely good value for money . Breathtaking view even if not Harbour view. I would definitely come again. Staff polite and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, the bed is comfortable, the staff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Club - Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a little dated and it probably needs to be renovated in the near future

    Great location, the bed is comfortable, the staff is very attentive and is directly accessible to Ocean Terminal

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    OK good excess to shoping mall's but breakfast at hotel was not good and staff are not freindly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    very expensive, breakfast was below average, staff are not friendly, when we ask for direction their appearance are not friendly

    excess to shopping mall

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    No One Answers The Phone, It will take approximately 30Mins !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No One Answers The Phone, It will take approximately 30Mins ! For someone to pick up a phone, What a disappointment... What if theres emergency or something really important.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    The only thing I want to mention is, instead of haveing two...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Continental Club - Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I want to mention is, instead of haveing two separate taps for warm and cold in the shower, they should have one for adjusting the heat of the water.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    We were generally pleased when our request for a room change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were generally pleased when our request for a room change in favor of one with a harbor view was responded to after one night. Also appreciated the ready information and tips provided by the concierge about how to make our visit to Hong Kong more enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Will not be going back to this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated and in need on work, very dark and small rooms. I booked a car to collect me but when I arrived they had no record of my booking even though I had a email.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Shopping haven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very tired. Check in and check out was a nightmare. Not enough staff at either time to cope. Hard to get a taxi.

    The property is in s great location. The lobby is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Poor service ruined the whole experience. It could be a wonderful hotel. What a shame.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were overall inefficient and inexperienced. The mobile phone in the room was useless as it has no data available. Breakfast lacks quality for the price, and all beverage including water (no tap water available) and a regular cup of coffee was charged, which was a surprise.Lobby was too small.

    The view from our room was gougeous! Room service was prompt. Location was near a MTR station. Free shuttle between ICN airport and the airport express train station was convenient. Breakfast offers variety of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Prime position next to shopping malls, Avenue of Stars, MTR...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prime position next to shopping malls, Avenue of Stars, MTR station and ferry to Hong Kong, quality buffet breakfast with ample selection of Oriental and Western dishes open till 11 AM.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    We’ll keep coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bellboy who brought our things up when we arrived couldn’t even muster a smile. He was the lone inconsistency to the very pleasant staff.

    The view from the harbour view room is spectacular, no matter what time of day. No need to go to the harbourfront deck to watch the evening lights, you have a your own daily show from your bed 😊Very spacious, too. Loved the added touch of a Nespresso machine, and the wide range of toiletries. The hotel lobby smells wonderful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.4
    Would only go back for position,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room and the size and cleanliness of the bathroom - needed a good scrub. Closet was enough room for 5 garments only, the smallest I have had in a five star hotel. Bathroom tiny, very mean with towels! No where to hang larger towels

    lOCATION OF THE PROPERTY, BUT OUR ROOM WAS AWFUL

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness Uncomfortable shower I expected the view to harbour not to parking place Not enough sitting place in lobby Furniture in the room looks worn out and shabby

    The location The staff efficiency and kindness Size of the room Efficiency of carting for luggage

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    A Comfortable Weekend Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel could provide better and faster Wi-Fi connection so that more users can access the Internet without interruption (higher bandwidth) When we encountered problems using the Internet on our computer in our room one evening, and informed the Front Office about it, we were asked to wait till the following day when the Technical staff arrived for work The hotel could update the faucets for ease of use of the taps (to turn on and off the tap by pushing the handle up and down) and to enable proper mixing of hot and cold water for a relaxing shower Although there is an MTR station in the vicinity, it is a fair bit of a walk to the station, especially with Hong Kong’s convoluted routes … but this is outside the purview of the hotel. However, the hotel could provide more realistic information about access to the hotel

    The “handy” phone was a pleasant surprise! Our harbour-view room provided an excellent view of Victoria Harbour, and the view changed from time to time The room was spacious, with a “Refreshments Room” and a good-sized work table The toilet and shower were in one room, separate from but adjacent to another room with the wash basin (and wardrobe). This means that two people can use the different facilities at the same time (and save some time waiting for each other in order to use the facilities) The location is fairly convenient, with an MTR station in the vicinity (please see the negatives) The hotel is on the route of the free Airport Express Shuttle Bus Service; it is, therefore, very convenient to travel between the Hong Kong International Airport and the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Location, Great Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is perfect, close to everything, shops, restaurant, transportation etc. The hotel had been recently renovated, I guess because the interior and the rooms looks so new (the outside looks old though). Staff was nice and helpful. My mom has limited mobility and on wheelchair. They took good care of her and suggest for the upgrade so we can have standing shower instead of bathtub. I really do appreciate her attention to detail.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Service poor but room was good size with good views & close to restaurants shopping & ferries
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in service was appalling... room not ready & tried to give us a Queen bed when we had paid for a King Tried to check in at 3 pm room not ready had to go away & come back they wete supposed to ring us & never did. We went back at 5.30 to find room still not ready finally they upgraded us to another room. No offer of a coffee or free drink while waited for room the girl at check in was far from helpful

    Views from room were amazing over Harbour & city lights

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Generally good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We always had to follow-up on all the times we asked for a bucket of ice.

    The extra bed was set up in our room promptly, and we were offered 1 room to rest and refreshen while waiting for the other room to be available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The nice experience started at the checked-in counter with a very helpful and accommodating staff. The view in my room were spectacular. My room were very spacious, very value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    I like the area very acessible to everyrhin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suggest the hotel to put a ramp for the lugges.. so it will be easy to bring up.

    I like the area very acessible to everyrhin. One more sign for membership i would like to follow up.. thank yoy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    My stay was excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    booking.com and Marco Polo Hong Kong hotel's reservation team seemed to miss communicate each other. My limousine service booking was a mess. My daughter had to call booking.com to find out what happened to my limousine service booking on the day before I travel. It seemed booking.com staff who contact my daughter on 15/03/2018 didn't inform the hotel that my daughter had confirmed the booking with him. Whilst, the hotel reservation didn't bother to replied my daughter confirmation email. In the end, my daughter had resolved the issued with the booking.com staff via telephone call to get things done properly. I only hope that Marco Polo hotel reservation team should follow through the booking properly. I am a returned guest and I used the hotel limousine service every time I visit Hong Kong. I'm very disappointed with the hotel reservation team the most.

    The property was very comfortable and the staffs were friendly and polite. The property was in close proximity and easy access to most places. The room had a beautiful harbour view and quiet which I liked very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.4
    to surely stay at the hotel when next time in Hong Kong
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    croissants were really very nice, room service was prompt and hot food was delivered. The location is top class, breakfast selection good with hospitable staff. The chefs at the egg station were top class

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    The experience was worth it just for the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Harbour View Room with Canton Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are about 20 years out of date. I suppose with their incredible position they do not have to bother too much about the suite. Canton package was a waste of time. Nobody in there.

    Position is absolutely incredible right on the water front with amazing views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.3
    Overall an okay stay but nothing to make me want to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were quite cold and impersonal. They didn’t really try in any way to enhance the experience. I’d emailed ahead to inform them that one of the party couldn’t travel due to ill health. The hotel booking team wrote back an impersonal reply stating the booking had not been changed and we were to contact booking.com instead - not even a mention of the well being of our unwell colleague. The room was okay but the bathroom was a bit tired and in need of decorating.

    Great location near the harbour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    7.5
    Good as always, featuring the best location in Hong Kong
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though I requested a early check-in, which was confirmed by the hotel, I had to wait for 3 hours to get a room. Let’s call it the downside of good business.

    I always choose Marco Polo HK when visiting Hong Kong. There are many hotels which offer a more modern and updated environment, but the location is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Will not choose the suite room again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel gave us the upgrading room to Suite on 18 Floor. The room is very spacious but we could feel the old and damp smell. It was very cold as it is on the roof top. It seems this room has not been much used. We will not receive any offer for the upgrade next time.

    It is locatd in the best location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    Old and stuffy rooms. Location is good but there are many other hotel with similar location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Package - Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is very very old. Very stuffy and smelly. We could not stay in the room so we needed to change rooms at midnight. We learnt that most rooms are stuffy and smelly except those on club floors so we upgraded to that floor.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.3
    A very nice hotel, great location, excellent breakfast if a little expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice room, very comfy beds. Lots of tea/coffee when requested more supplies. Excellent location, just opposite Star Ferry and next to a very upmarket department store.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Quite disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff from hotel to meet us and help us with luggage from where airport shuttle left us. We had to drag our luggages and look for hotel by ourselves. Check-in queue was unbelievably long. We had to wait 30 mins before we were served. Bathroom extremely small - tight for 2 people inside at the same time. Bed sizes are also really small. Lobby had around 6-8 steps up towards elevator. Inconvenient if you choose to carry your own luggage

    Comfortable bed and pillow. Nice walk-in closet. Very pleasant staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    satisfactory. but will try other hotels in my next HK visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the hotel needs an upkeep or a renovation. During our stay, i can hear loud sound from the bathroom when someone uses the shower. I can also hear sounds as guests walk by the corridor. The carpets in the room seem old and needs some change. It also surprises me that unlike other hotels, that the nearest washroom / restroom is location at the 6th floor and none in the lobby. So upon checking out, and the need to use the washroom last minute , i still need to use the lift to the 6th floor. With elders / senior citizens with me, this is quite inconvenient.

    The location is good for some tourist attraction and shopping. The extra bed is good and comfortable. Hotel staff are courteous and very helpful. Concierge to us is the BEST IN THIS HOTEL.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay with the room upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkin was very slow, could have deployed more staff to handle the long checkin line. Some bath towels were old and fraying. Cooking odors along the hallway on 17th floor.

    Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    I'll be back soon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Continental Club - Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Contents of mini bar very limited, no wine or spirits. Internet normally excellent was somewhat slow this time

    I have been staying there for years and it really is home from home. My favourite hotel. The location is great and the facilities 1st class. everything I need plus!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.5
    excellent location with great service of staff especially during check out the concierge helped us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the toilet was so dirty on the first day then the water in the toilet probably settled down and back to its normal thing

    bed comfort, and of course the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, perfectly maintained, excellent location and the staff were helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't think the buffet offered much in the way of value.

    Beautiful hotel, perfect location and the staff were so kind and helpful. Wonderful experience. Close to the Star Ferry to Hong Kong Island and to shopping if you are into the Millionaire mile.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.1
    Never thought there'd be a hotel that comes with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel Wi-fi just never worked. Had to use the hotspot from the smartphone provided... The front desk staff could be somewhat inefficient if you check in late. It might just be the problem of extreme weather, but no "warm" option for the air-conditioner?!? I had to keep my jacket on during sleep or else I'd wake up with a cold. With the air-con off for the night.

    Never thought there'd be a hotel that comes with a coffee machine... That comes with a few types of coffee to brew. Me and my friend both agreed that the room? Could be described as an luxury apartment, though we're guessing that's the most expensive suite... With a kitchen, a bathroom, and a bedroom. Wow. The rooms do provide an outstanding view of the port. Would be a very good viewing spot had we went when the weather was better.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    Very Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lobby is like a waiting lounge with long check in and check out lines and has seating for only 15-20 people. The check in time is 3pm and you will not be able to get a room before that no matter what! Please Do Not book the rooms with canton lounge access, it’s a sham!! The lounge is the tiniest room in the hotel with limited breakfast facility, to enjoy the bufffet breakfast which other normal rooms have, you need to pay 200$ extra per night. It was a complete waste of money. The room size is good but they are dated. Stay there if you really have to.

    Stay at this hotel only if you are interested to shop at the harbour city mall

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.0
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff and payment situation. Unfortunately my partner and I who arranged the booking arrived late due to cancelled flights and my in-laws who had just arrived from Australia were charged the full amount of both our rooms on their credit card. Three weeks later and this money has still not been refunded and my MIL is chasing it up through her bank. The staff were not helpful at all about the situation.

    The location of the hotel was great and the breakfast buffet was also very nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    4.2
    Never choose here if you prefer a relaxing trip. Choose here if you JUST want shopping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful experience. The room is smelly, the service are unbearable. They even forgot to put the disposable slippers in the room. What's worse, because of the car park, it was very noisy at night till 12 o'clock. The staffs said they would like to help us to upgrade but the room was all full that day. You know, that is meaningless. No any other explanations to us any more, no refund or anything. The worst experience in HK till now.

    Breakfast was good. However, it was strange that the kids cover will become displayed only after 11 o'clock. the staffs will stop your child from playing in that corner EVEN THOUGH some children did played there from 9:00am to 11:00am. The location is convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Great location but doesn't quite feel truly luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Did not quite feel like a 5-star experience. Lobby and attached bar area feel very small, cramped, and a secondary design afterthought. The pool and hot tub were closed for renovation for our stay - something that I like to experience and relax with my kids. The booking site quoted the wrong days for this maintenance so I was misinformed. They could do a better job at highlighting their amenities. A true 5-star hotel is all about the experience and grandeur of staying at such a place. Here, it all seems like an afterthought.

    This hotel's main attraction is its location, being connected to all the shops and restaurants at Harbour City and Tsim Sha Tsui, and being literally next to the Star Ferry and a short walk to the MTR.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.4
    Not a very good hotel for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st of all they dont help me with my request for my birthday . The front desk girl - chibi is very rude talk to me as im your customer . Overall this is the hotel if you want to stay for the location , else sory i really dont like this type of hotel and their services . Bad experience

    Only the location and the bell boy and the person incharge who help us to bring up and down our luggage on the stair . Only that

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Very crowded and had problems with the breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the crowd. It was fully packed by the people. I did not like the breakfast. The staff at the breakfast room is not helpful and not professional. They did not refill the empty food and when we asked for it, they did not do it at once. First they refused and when insisting on it, they brought and refill the service. The breakfast is finished by 11:00 am, but the staff starts to take away and collect the the plates by 10:30 am. I stay in this hotel for 30 years and it is the first time I saw this problem.

    The location and the harbour view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    It was a generally pleasant stay . Very efficient staff and helpful concierge team esp. Kevin.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathrooms are not equipped with bidets which was inconvenient for us. The alarm clocks were not working - no battery. The faucet in rm 903 was leaking and water would build up after each use.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Club - Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to rate in the negative

    Well established Hotel, Continental Club Room is the preference with a Lounge facility based on service excellence. Well done to the Lounge Team.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent service and well thought out facilities make this hotel still one of the best in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Sale - Continental Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpets in the club lounge need updating or cleaning as the age is starting to show.

    Very welll trained staff who almost instantly can anticipate your needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.8
    So far, so good
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting for check in around 30 minutes,it takes a long time per one person,should be improved.

    Room facilities and room's functions are good and room size is larger than other hotel in the same rate.Easy to reach public transport both subway and ferry.The best is locate among shopping center and nearby a lot of very good restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Good but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel room Bathroom is old. There were open sugar packets left by the previous room occupant that were not disposed.

    Hotel location is great. Close to MTR and main attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Best Location, very crowded and always have to wait to get the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is always crowded. Almost every time we stay here we need to wait for at least 1-2 hours to get the room (the check-in time is 3pm, sometimes we need to wait till 5-6 pm to get the room). The check-in process took very long even they have our record in their system. The check-in and Check-out queues are always so long and the lobby area is not spacious enough for all the queues. We face the same problems in the last 4-5 years we stay here. As it is a very good hotel and locate in the best location of Kowloon, we hope this problem will be sorted out.

    Best Location ever in Kowloon. We go to HK about 2-3 times a year and MarcoPolo is always our first choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    A happy Marco Polo for over 25 years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was too slow or sometimes would not work.

    Definitely, the location cannot be beat. Press the elevator button to the 2nd floor and you are at the make up section of Lane Crawford. Your shopping adventure is really just an elevator ride away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.0
    Not as good as it was 5 years ago
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathtub’s edges had molds and the bathtub handle was rusting. I tried calling the front desk several times to request for an extra bed but no one was answering. My husband and I decided to go down to the front desk ourselves to request for it. They said there weren’t any available beds for the first two nights but confirmed the availability for the succeeding two nights of our stay. The bed was never delivered. We also had an unpleasant neighbor right across our room. The management allowed them to leave their hotel room door open with the foul smell stinking up the entire floor!

    The location was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    The behaviour of the room service attendants need to be improved so guests will feel comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When i arrived, there was only 1 staff at the front and he was helping another guest without even telling me to wait, he just went in with the other guest without a word. After i waited for 10 mins, i finally carried my luggages into the hotel. The staff did apology after that to me inside the hotel after i mad to him about the hotel service that letting guest to carry their own luggages, i have 2 big luggages with me. One of the room service attendant was not friendly at all when she delivered the spoon and fork to our room. When we bumped into another room service attendant on the 10th floor, she didnt even smile at us. What a behaviour. The less was good. Reception as usual always busy but check in and check out process quite fast, they managed good.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This time on Dec 24,60, we had to wait for nearly 3 hrs for our room from 1500 to 1800. The hotel put us on the lounge on 4th floor while wating which was not so bad. After that it was good as usual.

    Best location in Jim sa jui

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Great staff. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Harbour View King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not the best harbour view as the photos. I probably wouldn't want to pay this much extra for the kind of view.

    We chose the location because of the location which is right at harbour city. If you take K2 shuttle, it is really convenient. Around 10 Min walking distance to the MTR. We booked a harbor view room and at first I heard the couple besides us checking in got a good harbour view room( the front desk staff specially emphasized to the couple) however we got up to our room and we were practically directly facing the parking lot of Harbour City. We were very disappointed and went down to ask for a proper view of what we paid for. The staff tried their best to help us. Overall the front desk staff are all very helpful and friendly even though they were packed during Christmas. The room are very clean.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    A Happy Christmas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Continental Club - Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have loved it if the Lounge itself had a Harbour View.

    There are many hotels in Hong Kong, so we asked friends for recommendations. We were unanimously referred to the Continental Club rooms of Marco Polo Hong Kong. It did not disappoint. The staff were friendly and helpful, and food at the Lounge plentiful and delicious. Loved the Portuguese egg custard! The hotel is surrounded by luxury brand stores, however stores like Uniqlo are within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Good but being the end of our 3 week holiday I guess I was keen to get home
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel was very busy being 2 days before Christmas and also because of its great location. Nothing really that I did not like

    The Room and bed was very comfy. Room Service meals were good although there was a little bit of confusion with translation. We arrived via a cruise ship early in the morning and the staff were very accommodating in trying to get us a room before the normal 3pm check in . Took us to to the Canton Club Lounge on level 4 to have some refreshments and drink while we waited

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location. Good sized room. Requests for room location etc met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a little musty smelling. Housekeeping was a little lax; bath towels were left behind on the floor one day. The rug could have been better vacuumed.

    We were there in December so we had the pool to ourselves. The pool is lovely. We were finishing a cruise. We walked from the cruise ship to the hotel. We got there at 0900, and were able to check in quickly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    7.9
    Location, comfortable , cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non sincere front office staff. I was booking through booking.com but for got to cancel. our group has 38 persons and we devide to book through agent. I forgot to cancel booking.com. The front office informed me about double book when I checked out. Very bad, she should inform me from the first day I checked in. This coz me to pay double.

    Location, comfortable , cleanliness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    easy and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    checkin was awful with a big slow queue and with a big deposit payable too. checkout was also slow with a big queue.

    location great but room still quiet- very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    We upgraded to the Continental Floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told our other room would be available at 3pm but I had to complain because it was already 5:30pm and the room was not yet available

    We upgraded to the Continental Floor. Breakfast and cocktail hour were excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.6
    Very clean rooms , hotel very well located , staff very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Free late check out not allowed , if you pay half of stay it becomes available till 6 pm .

    Very clean rooms , hotel very well located , staff very proffesionnal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    3.3
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Harbour View Room with Canton Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check is service was appalling. No one to help you with your luggage. Forty minute wait, queue barging, shoppers pushing buy and kids playing/fighting on the floor with no management is sight. Hotel looks as though it has not been decorated for years. Peeling and worn wall paper. A la carte choices at restaurant gone by 8.30 pm

    Nothing. This hotel was great in the 1980's. Now a shadow of it's former self. Certainly not premium.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: