Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oriental Pearl Budget Hotel 1 stars

Flat E1, Block E, 11/F, Chungking Mansions, 40 Nathan Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#312 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 37 hotel reviews

4.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    4.1

  • Comfort

    3.9

  • Location

    5.6

  • Facilities

    3.8

  • Staff

    4.5

  • Value for money

    4

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    4.2
    Hong Kong is great place to visit, lots to do and see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there was always fold up beds in the hallway so it was a fire trap. the air con looked like it hadn't been cleaned in years. the room was cleaned once in 6 days, and they took towels and never replaced them.

    The 2 things I liked about the room were the mattress and the hot water in the shower after turning on the switch in another part of the floor. the location was alright.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a clean safe budget hotel, Great position, a few min.walk to the MTR station. easy to acccess anywhere. Room, bathroom, bed are all clean and well set up. Will consider to come back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    2.5
    Robbed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot.

    None at all. Very hard and confusing to find. The property owner is not friendly and raised his voice on me when I followed up my refund, the pre-authorization fee deducted from my acct and promised thru email that they will return it 7 days aftr I checked out but until this time it was not refunded yet. I tried to reach out again thru email to follow up but I can no longer send email to them! They deducted Php656 from my acct. I was robbed. It says in booking.com I will pay $1721 but the owner collected $1730 from me when I said that I only need to pay $1721 he ignored me. Staying there was disgusting. We suffered taking a bath very cold no heater at all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    2.5
    Not in the advertised hotel with a barely adequate room nowhere near the place advertised.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In true Chungking Mansion style this place does not exist. When you go to the address there is no reference anywhere to The Pearl Oriental Hotel. It is only when you have a detailed look at your booking you find, right at the bottom, that you have to go to a different place. When I complain the manager just kept saying "OK, I have over 300 rooms to manage". I then get a reasonably adequate room (by Chungking Mansions standards) in a completely different place although with barely adequate bedding and no towel. DON'T GO THERE

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    2.9
    Terrible terrible experience. No sane human should ever look at this place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is neither a hotel nor a hostel. It is worse than a garbage dump. Not fit for humans to live. 1, The Reception is very difficult to locate and takes a very long time. 2. The Reception girl was EXTREMELY RUDE. Not fit to be in any hospitality business, was HOSTILE & ABUSIVE. 3. They insisted on a Deposit of full Rent HK 550 + 100 as key deposit. REFUSED TO ACCEPT CREDIT CARD saying minimum amount they can charge is HK$ 1000. This was not stated on the site while Booking. 4. When I mentioned this, she flew into a rage and said TALK TO BOOKING.COM. She also threatened to CANCEL my Booking. I had to go down and get the Cash. 5. The stated Rent was HK$ 550. She demanded 575. Obviously tried to CHEAT. 6. I had booked DOUBLE DELUXE ROOM. What I got was a Cell barely 4 ft x 7 ft with a Toilet barely 2.5 ft x 2.5 ft. Just a small uncmfortable cot. 7. WORSE THAN A PRISON CELL 8. The Toilet was a big JOKE. No Toilet paper, No soap and above all STINKING & EXTREMELY DIRTY. 9. Towel given only when you demand - just One FILTHY, UNWASHED TOWEL. 10. When I checked out, the Receptionsit offered to give a Refund of only HK$ 50 against the Deposit while I had given a deposit of HK$ 150. This was clearly stated on my Receipt. After a lot of argument I managed to get my money.

    Nothing atall. It was a horrriblr experience. Worst possible place on earth.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff behavior. Bathroom. Amenities.

    Rude staff. Took extra money at the hotel for allowing a check-in. Never recommend to anyone. Address was also wrong on the website. Floors and wings of the building had to be travelled to reach the lodge. Cramped bathroom. No amenities. Shame on booking.com for even hosting a property like this on their portal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Close to transport, shops, easy to get to/from airport...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com lists this hostel as hotel, which causes higher expectations. Room booking should be based on picture, not verbal description on booking.com (per reception). Most room amenities should be requested explicitly at reception, which they forgot to mention initially. Issues with translation to Russian: toiletries provided include only toilet paper. I would understand soap, tooth brush to be included as well. Reception is far away from rooms.

    Close to transport, shops, easy to get to/from airport on bus. Fine as a hostel (with "s"). Room size seems to be OK for Hong Kong. Downstairs one can find many small shops, currency exchange places, etc. Easy to find food for different prices. Very close to expensive branded shops (though I would not stay in this hostel if I had money to visit those shops), seafront, etc. Wi-Fi is available, but not high speed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Good hostel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very happy with this hostel. Location is superb. The staff have a good attitude. It's a new hostel so rooms are clean and big. Wifi is fast! The only little negative was that we wanted to keep the room until 3pm rather than 12pm and they charged us for half a day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Recommend hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was upgraded on arrival. The room was clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and spoke English pretty well. Recommended for anyone considering staying in Kowloon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    2.9
    worst place ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything!!! the staff is very very unfriendly and not helpful at all. the complete description is totally wrong, the AC didnt work at all, the bed is very small and it is not a room, it looks more like a prison, you hear all the noise from the rooms around and the isle. no soap, only one towel which was dirty, the sheets were dirty. there are no windows in the room, they charge extra 7% if you want to pay with credit card. AND you have to pay the room before you see it. probably otherwise nobody would take it. Downstairs some criminals run around and talk to you all the time.....worst place ever! and not worth the money at all.

    absolutely nothing, the underground was around the corner.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    2.9
    Very bad bed and no aircon
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad bed and no aircon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.9
    I was cheated on the place because it is not like a picture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I do not like anything in the room. Because it's dirty and expensive.

    no

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else. The front desk people are very rude

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    3.3
    I thought it is a hotel but ended in backpackers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hope less never trust the pictures of hotel advertised it’s not that.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    3.3
    Hot water is very limited and our room had never been cleaned at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded!!!

    Convenience to everything; HOWEVER, our BOOKED PREPAD CAR FROM THE AIRPORT NEVER ARRIVED!!!{!!! VERY BAD!!!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THEY DOUBLE CHARGED ME!!! I paid cash in full and they also charged my debit card the exact same amount.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    3.3
    最悪
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were many fleas and other insects. I couldn't sleep and couldn't change the room. Please return the money HK$590.00

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Overall a very positive stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, place was rigt near the metro and other shops. The staffs was very accomodating and kept the place clean. Wifi is fast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.2
    The single room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall a great hotel. Good location and willing to help staff. Relatively clean place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    2.5
    Jail brake
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Er hing een stank in de gang was net jail brake

    Niks

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was filthy, stinking of sewage 24/7, toilet was a joke, staff very unhelpful and rude, dismissive and got treated like a school child when asking for clean towels, staff raised her voiced telling me towel last had gone home and shoved what can only be described as tea towel at me, very disappointed.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    3.3
    Good ubication
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff were hawful. A man who works there didn't want to return my passport. He is totally crazy, and more than one guest said that. It is better you try to go to other place if you don't want to have a nightmare in your holiday

    Good ubication

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    2.9
    Location was ok - but would be better to get decent hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Place was disgusting, dirty and cockroach infested. Didn't feel safe. Down stairs lobby was like crime city. Constantly accosted by vagrants trying to sell counterfiet watches. Spent 1 hour trying to find reception. Manager insisted we pay up from even though we were just off the plane and hadn't changed money yet. Took payment in $A but 15 minutes latter was banging on our door insisting on more money and threatening to call the police. Very very rude staff.

    Location was ok - but would be better to get decent hotel and travel a bit.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    3.8
    The location for the apartments was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was infested by cockroaches and the beds hard a disgusting. Outside the front of the "mansions" are people who hassle you and try to take you away from the hotel when you mention where you are staying.

    The location for the apartments was excellent. Right near a train station and close to the middle of town

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    6.3
    Has got good location, near Meter Station, Ferry's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms do not have view with access to the city; The TV couldn't work.

    Has got good location, near Meter Station, Ferry's Station and near avenue of stars, the avenue for tourists; The ground floor there are many money exchanges, small shops for electronis.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    5.4
    Sorroundings not clean ang rooms are too small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff not approachable

    Sorroundings not clean ang rooms are too small

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    The place is good since it was in nathan road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place is good since it was in nathan road..

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location is not that also the photo they show one single photo you cant see it in. I was unconfortable. Untide

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    4.6
    Location & Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    time cannot be changed easily

    Location & Price

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    3.3
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room is very smal , dirty , ,laught and the bed is very smal for 2 People. The bathroom is smal and dirty.

    Nothing

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: