Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Salisbury - YMCA of Hong Kong 4 stars

41 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#31 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2178 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The location was spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe in the foyer for breakfast was really bad. It was super cheap but also very bad. If only we’d known about the other way more fabulous breakfast restaurant on level 4 sooner.

    The location was spot on. The staff were really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    I wish We can staying for more nights in YMCA hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish We can staying for more nights in YMCA hotel.. the staff is very friendly as we r being upgraded coz was our 7 years anniversary. The Harbour view n the location is wonderful;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Ideal location, great room , great food, but best = staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not know about the hot water 'switch', near our front door, hence we had cold showers...

    The first thing you notice when arriving, apart from the air conditioning, is the fresh, clean ambience of this hotel. We couldn't figure out what the smell was, but it was so welcoming and pleasant..not at all overpowering, just a clean and fresh aroma. We weren't expecting the hotel to be so good! Location is fantastic.. across the road from the Hong Kong harbour, where we watched the 8pm Hong Kong night light show...excellent. (Done every night!) Around the corner from the hotel, one street back, there are many eateries, as well as Pizza Hut, Maccas, Spaghetti/ Pasta, etc. The staff are helpful and friendly..special thanks to Steve on reception. We were upgraded... never happened to us before.. Our room was wonderful, with separate bedroom from the lounge area. View over the Hong Kong harbour was great. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Not Your Average YMCA!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    This was more expensive than our usual 3-star hotels but this was a big step up in quality and facilities. Staff spoke English and were very helpful. Nice restaurant onsite is cheap compared with other restaurants nearby. The location is excellent, easy access to Metro and Star Ferries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Overall a very comfortable and calm base to meet with various friends throughout the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am unable to think of anything.

    My wife and I booked a room about 3 months ahead for this layover at what seemed a very good price. We arrived at reception early in the morning after flying from Athens - Frankfurt and enquired if our room would be available any earlier than 2.00 pm. Front desk girls were so courteous and understanding as they viewed our travel worn faces! The Fact was the Hotel was at 100% capacity the previous night so despite multiple screens and young receptionists caring for us they found a room and promised it to be ready by 12.00 pm. Wow great news ... but then they found a room that we could move into at 11.00am if we were prepared to pay a reasonablly affordable upgrade fee. Perfect! Those young receptionists were fantastic. So with an extra 3 hours to sleep, we were revitalised sooner and so started our wonderful stay at The Salisbury YMCA. Thank you to all those involved. Eighth floor overlooking central district across the water was a great offer. We like being near the ferry terminal✔️. We also like being near the Arts precinct and to access the Gallery Museum but it is undergoing major refurbishment or extensions at the moment. So next time for the Gallery. The Salisbury YMCA really is in a great position for accessing Hong Kong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    One of the Best Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bidet on toilet bowl...same main course of food everyday on breakfast...airport express bus pick up n drop off area not convenient....

    Near to MTR and near to all shopping center...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Location ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and no comfortable, door lock to bathroom was diffucult to handle. Family room was ok size but small for family for 4. Can find other better hotels for same price.

    The location was good and nearby shopping and restaurants. Swimming pool was good but only 1 meter deep, the other swimming pool was for ongoing classes. Nice harbour view from family room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    Salisbury/YMCA is still a good place to stay, albeit now becoming expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance is very ordinary.

    Very well situated. The Day Restaurant offers good value for money. Room rates are now expensive for a YMCA venue, driven by very rich mainland people visiting HK. Staff on the desk and concierge are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Excellent level of customer service from moment of check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent level of customer service from moment of check in to check out. Thank you and the YMCA Salisbury Hotel HKG - it always exceeds my expectations.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Cafe convenient and reasonable choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English not so good. Wrong items delivered and second morning forgot the coffee in cafe. Depends what you want to eat.

    Cafe convenient and reasonable choice. 4th floor dining much better. Menu or a Buffet much better variety. Staff wonderful. Location over road from harbour waterfront. Help with booking tours and pickup.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    We decided to splurge and stay in a junior suite which didn’t come cheap given that we felt like we
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Salisbury claimed it had been renovated but we couldn’t see the evidence of this in our room. The bathroom and decor was very dated and the bedroom furniture was old and battered.

    The location of the Salisbury is fabulous - just a few minutes walk to the Star Ferry and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some elevators were under maintenance and therefore sometimes there was a line to get the elevator.

    Really good value for the money, location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    Foods are yummy. our rooms is upgraded thank you very much. The view is so awesome! The people are very friendly and very helpful. Hope to see them again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, close to city centre and harbour. Nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu is just standard and almost the same everyday.

    The staff were nice and helpful, although their English is a bit confusing. They also gave us extra time to check out because we were trapped in a bad traffic after joining HK island tour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Very convenient location at a good price. We always stay at the YMCA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We agree with the comment about the cold lobby. It is a common fault in many hotels in the tropics. In our room, we turn the thermostat UP, or off altogether!

    Whenever we are in Hong Kong, we always stay at the Salisbury YMCA because we like the hotel and what it offers, and its convenient location. We always take a hotel bus that takes us, often via many other hotels to our destination. No extra suitcase hauling!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more of the signpost directions to facilities would have helped. Concierge directions sent me to wrong ferry terminal, but otherwise helpful.

    Nice room with great view of harbour, comfortable and clean, well supplied with extras, iron and board brought to room immediately on request. Good variety at buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay in the YMCA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast let down the side you can see by the amount of Guest that use it everyday. Very few except for family and tours. Time to up-date the menu.

    The Location is great.My room was a small single room but clean and comfortable.The wifi works well all over the hotel. I would stay there again on my next trip to Hong Kong in Jan. To all the staff @the YMCA;Keep up the great work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Location can’t be beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location cannot be better. Access to Star Ferry, Nathan Road, shopping arcades. Cafe has good meals and buffet is very good. We had a great view of the harbor and could see the Lasar Light Show from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    Very much enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a little expensive but compared to all hotels in Kowloon it is quite reasonable.

    The fresh and clean rooms that are serviced daily. There is plenty of staff who are are all very friendly and helpful. We received a free upgrade to an island view room Thank You very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    room is so so but night dress is not so good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Originally i ve already booked for sinle bed but you arrange two bed for one room.it isnot some comfortable.because i sincerely hoped single bed.

    room is so so but night dress is not so good.especially i think hotel,s fruit is delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.0
    we enjouyed our stay in HONG kONG a great deal . I would stay at the Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it would be nice to have a coffee shop separate from the restaurant ( ex Kowloon Hotel around the corner ) we visited almost every day whilst in Hong Kong

    the location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    This is a fourth time to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a fourth time to stay here. I love this hotel easy to shopping and find something to eat. Thank you hotel for upgraded the room in this time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect view from my room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect view from my room. Convenient localisation close to the subway and ferry as well as the airport train schedule bus stop. Helpful staff in the hotel. Visited many hotels in HK but from now on this one will be my favourite one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Thank you, I will certainly suggest to friends that they stay at the YMCA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a noise which was quite frequent which was a knocking sound that was always in 3s or 4s. I do not know if this was a water pipe or something completely different. It did disturb my sleep at times.

    I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded. The shower was a little low for standing under due to the room being disabled friendly, however, I was able to adapt. The area was much larger than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time during our stay. We love the hotel and wish to come back. Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (Eric) at the reception area doesn't smile.He's in Customer Service he should be more friendly to the guests. But all the staff from housekeeping were very accomodating, greeted us all the time and always smiled. What I wish is there is a Microwave.

    I love our room, so comfortable, spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Having used this hotel since 1992, it again met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not reflect a Genius perk; it was a very standard and comfortable room with good facilities.

    The hotel has its own cafe which provided our meals during our stay. The meals are not haute cuisine but at the prices on offer, not to be expected and more than adequate with a good range of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Will stay again if price is ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would stay here all the time but sometimes the prices are higher that most of the four star hotels in that area.

    Perfect location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    We get upgrade when we check in, the room is large with...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We get upgrade when we check in, the room is large with outstanding view the harbour. My baby is very happy when she see cars running on the street over the window. Staff are nice. Definitely will stay next trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location for touring Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly presented and food just ok but not great and certainly not value for money

    Breakfast not the best. Found very good local place for breakfast at half price of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appreciate the pool is being used by a lot of people however spa not working and a bit of procedure to get admitted to the pool area.

    Well situated polite staff and helpful great stay. Good pool restaurants met our needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Above our expectations - very calming and safe environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Payment was strange. Booked online and gave credit card details. When checking in I was asked for payment again. When checking out I paid again - because no previous payments had apparently been made. Hope I didn't double or triple pay!

    Hotel ambience was calming and stress free. Location was very central in Kowloon. View from our 10th floor room was better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Value for money in the heart of Tsim Tsa Tsui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It lacked some more luxurious features. I thought the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. The sun terrace was lovely, it would have been perfect if it had a bar or even a café.

    Position, cleanliness, efficiency, price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Very nice room with killer views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was too expensive. I only ate there the first day and had tea in my room the other days.

    I was upgraded to a great room with a view. Krystal at the front desk was welcoming & able to answer all my questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are nice size, extremely clean, comfortable, modern, with great amenities! I felt safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I thought buffet breakfast was included or some breakfast but I didn't get any food included with the price of my booking. I thought it was kind of expensive. It was lovely and this is where I'll be staying in the future!!

    The location was perfect!! Near transportation and shopping, eating, sightseeing, and the harbor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    5.8
    This hotel was a good value for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel restaurants had very limited choices and not very tasty. The eggs and coffee were awful at the breakfast buffet.

    The best location in Kowloon as it was easy to get around with limited walking. Received a free upgrade for our room. Incredible views of the harbor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Upon my arrival in the morning they told me after trying 5...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon my arrival in the morning they told me after trying 5 times that my credit card was declined and it ruined my whole day as I thought the card had a problem/wasn't working. When trying in the evening again they redid the procedure manually and it worked perfectly. They have a problem with their machine! Be aware

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location right across from the harbor, good sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pullout sofa in suite rooms is only slightly more comfortable than sleeping directly on the floor.

    Fantastic location right across from the harbor, good sized rooms, great value for the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    5.8
    Harbor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Windows steamed up to a point of dripping water and completely obscuring any view but we were told that this was "normal and unavoidable in Hong Kong" but our other H.K. hotel did not have that problem. The pools were a very long walk from the changing rooms, one had to go through a shower on the way so no towel possible and no shoes were allowed. My husband is mobility impaired, walks with two canes, so was not able to use the pools. The atmosphere was that of a YMCA gym but the pricing was that of a luxury hotel. Our other H.K. hotel had the best service of any hotel so we know that the service and facilities were inferior. Very disappointing!

    Harbor location. Coffee shop and buffet restaurant were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to think if a negative point. Perhaps that ,just like all other hotels here, breakfast is expensive.

    Location location location! Great skyline view. Right by Star ferry. Great restaurants and bars in area. Hotel is of a very good standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in the room was not providing sufficient capacity to warm the room (even with 12 degree outside).

    Great location; clean room; friendly staff. good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    2.5
    Unenjoyable and would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Nothing. It was a horrible stay at this hotel. We did not enjoy it at all. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel was old. There were a lot of outside people using the hotel facilities. I did not feel comfortable in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    A fantastic value hotel given the wonderful position with spectacular views if the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are firm , but that was okay, but the pillows are too skinny. Maybe that's a western attitude.

    The position is great,; the staff are pleasant and very helpful, and its great value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    The best view in Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is amazing! You can enjoy the same harbour views as you would if you were staying at the Peninsula hotel. The area is lively with plenty of shopping, food and things to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel at ideal place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even with the switch to "heat" and the temperature set to maximum we did not succeed in getting warm air out of the A/C. Maybe a technician could have fixed it but we did not really care.

    We were privileged by an unexpected upgrade to a suite with a splendid view on the bay from the 12th floor, really great. Excellent bed, spacious bathroom, comfortable living-room with the wonderful view from the sofa and large cupboard. Sophisticated lighting, very nice. WE would have liked to stay longer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    First time visit to Hong Kong. Hotel a little expensive but in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good position with train and ferries close by and only a few minutes walk from Nathan Road and the markets.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Location is fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it would be fair to include breakfast for the room price. At the same time I understand that Hongkong is very expensive city.

    Location is fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Very big impersonal hotel but excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy with people and families using all the Christian meeting rooms etc. Also YMCA members use the hotel facilities eg swimming pools so these also busy.

    Excellent room and position very close to the ferry. Cafe food good. Very easy to get a taxi from the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.4
    Good for location only. The rest is not worth it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not Friendly. The room is small and not value for money. The view is being blocked by Hong Kong cultural centre but it was claimed that with Harbour view. Not value for money.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    This place is located in a fantastic position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot rooms during the afternoon because of the sun

    This place is located in a fantastic position. We were in 1088. Best views of the harbour. Great pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Great view in a great location, but don't expect million-dollar service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Once you check in, the staff friendliness immediately drops to neutral - it's like they have your money, so now you just part of the furniture.

    View was fantastic. Room was very large

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    6.3
    given a suite to stay for 4 adults with one bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    given a suite to stay for 4 adults with one bathroom.. be specific to show how many bathrooms are there.. did not have a choice to change to 2 independent rooms.. rooms were not available.. sad

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.3
    Good location and service. Hope better food and cleaness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall cozy. Extra bed was not satisfactory. Cleaness is not perfect because of some dust making allergies. Breakfast is normal as expected. Considering the room charge, food is not so good.

    Location is perfect. Easy to access to transportation. Travel points like harbor city, 1881 heritage and even central are very close. Service team is kind and nice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    I'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. Staff were polite helpful and efficient. This is my favourite all-round hotel in HK - it's got it all: price, location, service, facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    I was generally pleased with the stay.
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleanliness could have been just a bit better. I noticed black hair on the bathroom floor and in the tub: my hair is completely white. Charges for breakfast were very high. Breakfast buffet food was tasteless. I did not understand why I should be charged more to stay a third day than my first two.

    The room, the location, the personal control of heat,cool, the room amenities, the welcome fruit basket, the sheets and quilt, the map at the concierge desk. Food prepared in Cafe for lunch was tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel with a perfect location and a great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The free wifi was slow and unreliable.

    The location was perfect, as well as the breathtaking view from a harbourview room. The junior suite was very big. The breakfast was good and the personnel were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    It was a very welcomed surprise! Happy to return on next trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very clean and had a wonderful view of the harbor. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The lobby was even wonderfully decorated for the holidays. The restaurant downstairs had wonderful food options for the breakfast menu.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel’s pull out sofa bed wasn’t comfortable to sleep on.

    The spectacular view of the New Year’s fireworks display. (Not free though, you need to shell out 200 HKD to go to the rooftop)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    A truly blessed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some odor near the lift lobby at the ground floor. Like sewage odor

    Friendly and helpful staff. The carpets were not musty and the renovated rooms are much cleaner than expected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    A great place for exploring the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a single thing.

    Everything was perfect. The room was clean and cozy with an excellent view. Great access to all main attractions. Next time I come to Hongkong I will be sure to stay here as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Superb hotel with great amenities and transportation access!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep up the good work!

    Customer relations representative is outstanding. He/she responded quickly to inquiry. Staff is very helpful in regards to my lost item that was never found and location is the best for train and bus access. The hotel is a walking distance to free shows at the Harbour, ferry, museum, restaurants, shops arts center, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous room and location, disappointed to have to call engineers both nights about water temperatu
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A struggle to get hot water on level 12 😖

    Awesome view after I was given an upgrade. Always lovely staff, nice environment, it feels personal and homely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.9
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Admittedly, I did not have the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on, but at 8.20am, hotel staff knocked and attempted entry almost immediately - did not wait. Lacks discretion.

    Bed great, location excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Great place. Location. This is where you want to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I found this place before. I would stay here again.

    The view was great. Location was nice. Great value for money. The room was nice and the corner view was the best.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    The Salisbury offers very good value for money and an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The last time I stayed, I had a partial harbour view. This time, my friends paid the same as me and had a partial harbour view but I didn’t, so that was disappointing.

    The room was very clean. The staff was very helpful. I took the option of breakfast with my room and the buffet was excellent. The location is wonderful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.6
    Optimal location to discover Hongkong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    The Location of the hotel is great, just a few steps away from the Kowlon Promenade and star ferry terminal. Metro station is just across the street. Try to get a room with harbour view on 12th floor or higher for a great view. Rooms are convenient and relatively spacious. Very clean. Staff was very helpful with information about how to get around in Hongkong. We used the breakfast option of the mall café in the basement of the hotel. They offer a really good American breakfast at a good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    I would recommend this hotel to fellow travellers and family
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, all was good

    I felt the staff particularly helpful and anything you needed they helped you with. I also liked the security when you got into your lift, there was always someone there to check when I went up to have a massage, there was someone on the ground floor watching and when I got out of the lift, another gentleman was there as well. Security always there and checking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! I plan to stay here iwhen I return hopefully someday! The family thoroughly enjoyed rock climbing available in the hotel. The veiw was awesome, we had a corner room and upgraded one. Also, everyone could speak English easily. Lastly, location, location, location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Very good hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The solution of the bathroom + toilet could be better

    - Perfect location - near subway, ferry, speedferry, lot of shops and restaurants nearby - Perfect view from the hotel room - Very good ratio of price/quality

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Location / Excellent Staff / Metro nearby / / One of the best hotels i have ever stayed i
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing at all

    Perfect Location - very near Victoria Harbour Tsim Sha Tsui - metro is like 2 minute walk from the hotel Excellent staff at the hotel - check in / check out / concierge one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in (i have travelled a lot and been to many countries) bed is comfy air con is fantastic keeps the room cool and gives you a goodnight sleep HARBOUR VIEW ROOMS OFFER BEST VIEWS OF VICTORIA HARBOUR can watch the sympohony of lights sitting in the hotel room. I STRONGLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE VISITING HONG KONG. i have stayed here on all my 4 visits to HK. Absolutely love this hotel.i have been made welcome each time i have been there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, easy access to MTR metro system, bus, ferry and airport.
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the staff, although friendly and as helpful as possible did not know a lot of information about services in the city. Had to be found elsewhere. Also, the podium garden area seems a wasted space when on balmy nights there could be a great food and bar area. It seemed no drink/food available at any time unless you brought your own and one night the whole area was closed for any access; this seemed a missed opportunity for guests to enjoy the evening outlook of the city.

    Hotel very close to main train station, Star Ferry, bus, and easily accessible to Airport Express for plane travel. Breakfast very good with many choices and great views from the breakfast area. Also loved the pool, although the hours were too restricted to fit tourist activities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Location is perfect for tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbour View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain.

    Location is perfect for tourists. Very handy for tourists using shuttle transportation from the city terminal. Staff very professional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.3
    Location fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbour View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a constant background noise in the room, sounded like someone was hoovering upstairs?

    Location fantastic. MTR just across the road. Very close to star ferry. Lots of restaurants and some good shopping malls near by. Had a partial harbor view room, excellent size. Very comfortable bed. Clean, modern bathroom. Traffic can be heard from the room but that's a compromise worth taking for the view and convenient location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    Be careful! Credit card was double-charged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My credit card was double-charged! 1st time (automatically) upon check-in , 2nd time upon check-out. This is fraud! It came to my attention when checking my credit card balance after the trip. Claim is still pending. This should not happen in a reputable institution such as the Hong Kong YMCA. Very bad experience!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    Very Satisfied
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Located in very convenient place and very good if you are travelling for work. Lots of high end shopping attractions are in walking distance. Can find good restaurants near by if you like to have your meal out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    It gets tired to see same food being served every morning. Overall it's okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It would be nice if they give daily "Chinese" newspaper. They serve same dishes of food for buffet breakfast at least 1 week, then change the sausage in Western food column & couple Chinese dishes.

    Croissants flakey but not extra flakey. Bed is comfy but not extra comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Salisbury - YMCA of Hong Kong traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: