Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hong Kong hotel reviews
  3. Hong Kong hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of The Salisbury - YMCA of Hong Kong

Reviews of The Salisbury - YMCA of Hong Kong This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

41 Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#36 of 295 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2069 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    9.6
    The staff was friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When turning off the air conditioning one could hear the streat a little bit during the night.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room got upgraded and was very clean. The breakfast buffet is simple and delicious. Great location, very near to Ocean terminal, star ferry and cultural centre.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    10
    I did not use breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't use more hotel's support because shortly visit days.

    I did not use breakfast. But room condition is very nice and best position in city. I really felt about wonderful sightseeing in night.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2018

    10
    Location, location, and VALUE
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel is such a great value; it is difficult to fault. Elevators ere constantly being serviced. Buffet meals are high-priced compared to rooms.

    Location, location, location. One block from Harbor city, the Star Ferry, Metro stop, and the much more expensive Peninsula Hotel is right next-door. Some rooms have partial harbor view so can see light show at 8pm nightly. My king room had plenty of space, nice amenities, was very clean, and comfortable. Big swimming pool and decent restaurants in hotel. Breakfast buffet good but pricy in value. Staff are helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    8.8
    We liked the location of the hotel & cleanliness of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It felt more like a business hotel rather than a family orientated resort style stay

    We liked the location of the hotel & cleanliness of the room & tea/coffee facilities & 2 bedrooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.2
    Best bang for your buck in HK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Facilities are a little older than some of the competitors but well-maintained. No handy phone in the room like most hotels in HK

    Best location in Kowloon. Harbour view and great gym

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    10
    Great stay in Hong Kong!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a partial Harbor View room with the breakfast buffet. The view was partially obstructed by the Cultural Center, although we could see across the bay to Central Hong Kong and up to Victoria Peak. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a great variety of foods. The dining room was on the 4th floor and had large windows to see the sights of Hong Kong. The guest room itself was a little small by American Standards, but was very manageable. The room was well maintained, appeared to be fairly recently remodeled. The Bathroom was very nice. The room was larger than some we have had in Europe. I would certainly stay here again if I were to visit Hong Kong in the future.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2018

    7.1
    a pleasant stay other than the insect/bug sting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    security to lift - perhaps using access card to respective floor rooms would be better.

    It was a pleasant surprise that my std double was upgraded to a deluxe suite. Unfortunately, i was bitten by an insect or bug which i am not sure at the coffee table shelve. the sting was quite bad. my arm is still swelling.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    5.4
    good location, bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the room was dirty and plenty of dust, our 4 days stay was horrible about the clean in the room, the pool is shared with swimming pool lessons and you can not use the amenities, you suddenly get out the pool because they have to start the lessons, they have a lot of utilities (flowing devices) for use in the swimming pool but they can do not shared with you because is for leesons, even if nobody use it. a lot of money only for location.

    good location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is the YMCA but a strange one. Room rates and rooms are more like 4 star hotel. Poor amenities in the room and no alcohol on the minibar. That is like the Y.

    Room was upgraded to a suite. Very nice. View over the harbor was fabulous. Maybe best view in HK.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    7.9
    ROOM WAS GREAT, GOOD LINENS AND EXCELLENT MAID SERVICE AMERICAN AND BUFFET BREAKFAST NEED IMPROVEMEN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE AMERICAN BREAKFAST, POOR BREAD AND COFFEE. LACK OF ATTENTION TO OUR ORDER REQUESTS SOFTBOILED EGGS CAME HARD POACHED EGGS CAME AS SCAMBLED PLATES ARRIVED AT SEPARATE TIMES 5 TO 10 MINUTES APART

    OUR SUITE WITH A PARTIAL VIEW AND THE LOCATION JN KOWLOON

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    10
    Perfection
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was the perfect place to stay for me.

    It’s convenient and I was upgraded to a harbour view! There were two HK Ballet performances at the HK Cultural Centre and staying at the Salisbury was the best place to stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    Great staff ready to help with big kindness.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be nice have a smpoking area.

    Great staff ready to help with big kindness. Location perfect for business and after business. Rooms with the magic view on the Harbour Bay. Breakfast rich and full of fresh products.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2018

    9.6
    As always this is my favourite place in Hong Kong.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be nice have a smoking area.

    As always this is my favourite place in Hong Kong. Staff is very kind and ready to help in the fast way. This time we had a suite also if we booked a standard room (great and big thank you!!!). The view is so magic and the Harbour Bay seems to be in the room. The location is perfect for business and after business. Breakfast rich and very fresh. See you next time I'll be in Hong Kong!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2018

    9.6
    Loved it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The location and ease of travel from airport was excellent. We were upgraded to an apartment with a view of the harbour and loved it. There was also a great selection at breakfast. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    7.9
    Lacking personality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stuffy, cramped fitness centre. Lifts slow and old. Bed linen torn. Decor looking tired.

    No queue at front desk. Corner room spacious with great view. Fair value for room size and location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel. Location is absolutely perfect. Upgraded on this trip which is always a welcome surprise. Well priced, clean & overall a great hotel experience. Will definitely book again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, that is all...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The worst was that we had to pay to store the luggage at the concierge for a few days until we were back 3 days later. Sincerely it is the first time it happens to me. I travel worldwide since 16 years ago and never found something like this. I exchanged from their competitors in front of them to give them a try but i am returning to the previous hotel. Not good.

    Not very extended options for breakfast. The wifi was very poor. The worst was that we had to pay to store the luggage at the concierge for a few days. Sincerely it is the first time it happens to me. I travel worldwide since 16 years ago and never found something like this. I exchanged from their competitors in front of them to give It a try but i am returning to the previous hotel. Not good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Great location. Good value for Hong Kong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The quality of the food in the Ground Floor restaurant was only average.

    The pools were modern and a pleasure to swim in. The gym attendant was helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    If you can afford it stay in partial or full harbour view to catch the Harbour laser show from your
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I thought the staff although very efficient but very impersonal this time.

    This is our third stay at the Salisbury the previous twice 8 yrs ago. If you want to stay in Kowloon the location is second to none. Across the street from the Star Ferry, train station literally outside the hotel, Nathan Street one block away, busses to the markets from Nathan street. Short walking distance to the Harbour City Centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect place for a mid priced getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only thing to fault was the rooms were a little small but were functional. The fruit was not replaced and was going bad so we had to through it out. The staff need to check this more.

    We had a good view from our window, The place was clean and the staff were friendly. It is close to everything including the public transport. There was also fruit in your room and we received free water everyday.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant stay. We will go back again that's for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small. Standard rooms have 2 single beds or a Queen. Single beds are a bit narrow.

    The location, the cleanliness, the complimentary fruit platter, the very reasonably-priced and excellent buffet. Nearby LOCKE street has some of the best reasonably priced restaurants in Kowloon in our view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.9
    location, location, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast is expensive much the same all chineese hotels..

    location, location, location..very very close to everywhere.., staffs are helpful, clean, good wifi..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast spread.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from our sea view room was obstructed and the room was a little small. Also additional breakfast charges for child was very high.

    Great location, friendly staff and good breakfast spread.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    10
    We had a really nice stay at the Salisbury and would thoroughly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given an upgrade to a suite on our arrival and the views across the harbour were spectacular, especially at night. Our king size bed was very comfortable and we slept really well after our long flight from UK. It was such a bonus to have a comfortable sitting area as well as a nice big bedroom. Reception was very efficient and friendly both at arrival and in between. The staff all round were very helpful and friendly including reception area, restaurant and fitness centre on our departure( good facilities for late departure and shower etc). The location is fantastic for the ferry across to Hong King Island, the Space Museum and Cultural Centre across the road and easy access to all the wonderful shopping and eating places just around the corner. Great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel with great view but terrible facilities for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with Harbor View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fold out lounge is small so for two boys they were pretty cramped. EVERYTHING cost money. We thought the hotel had great facilities which is why we booked it, but the rock climbing was full, so we booked it two days into our stay and that cost $50! None of the programs the kids could join. The swimming pool was for laps only and our kids jumped in once and got told off and told to leave. Total fun police, not at all designed for kids to play. Staff were rude in multiple interactions. Hong Kong os an expensive place but for AUD $500 a night, this was not good value at all.

    The view from the hotel room was great. We were able to see the light show right from our beds. We had a door that could close our room from the living room where the kids slept on the fold out lounge so that was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    Everything was great but what really made it for me was that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Elevator is kind of slow and they only had 1 in operation due to maintenance.

    Everything was great but what really made it for me was that we arrived at 8am and they were able to get us into a room much earlier than usual checkin for no extra charge (and an upgrade!).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Good place for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place looks somewhat dated although one has to bear in mind the price for singapore is fairly reasonable.

    Good location not far from the MTR and within a very short walk,fresh fruit in the room was a nice addition. Rooms are large and comfortable

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    10
    ‭Location, Location, Location...so many good things about this Hotel, it is an unbelievable value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to get room well in advance of your arrival date...Harbour Rooms sell out, for obvious reasons.

    Location, Location, Location - Spectacular Harbour views at an unbelievably great price!! This is by far the BEST value for your money in Hong Kong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location with good facilities and a great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Swimming pool was really busy as used as a community pool, so not a relaxing like most hotel pools.

    Great restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.6
    Great value for services and amenities.
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The YMCA is great for first time visitors to HK. Everything that one would need is within walking distance. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The church service on Sunday is also very welcoming to visitors. Its an excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    10
    The location was spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cafe in the foyer for breakfast was really bad. It was super cheap but also very bad. If only we’d known about the other way more fabulous breakfast restaurant on level 4 sooner.

    The location was spot on. The staff were really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    10
    I wish We can staying for more nights in YMCA hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish We can staying for more nights in YMCA hotel.. the staff is very friendly as we r being upgraded coz was our 7 years anniversary. The Harbour view n the location is wonderful;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    10
    Ideal location, great room , great food, but best = staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We did not know about the hot water 'switch', near our front door, hence we had cold showers...

    The first thing you notice when arriving, apart from the air conditioning, is the fresh, clean ambience of this hotel. We couldn't figure out what the smell was, but it was so welcoming and pleasant..not at all overpowering, just a clean and fresh aroma. We weren't expecting the hotel to be so good! Location is fantastic.. across the road from the Hong Kong harbour, where we watched the 8pm Hong Kong night light show...excellent. (Done every night!) Around the corner from the hotel, one street back, there are many eateries, as well as Pizza Hut, Maccas, Spaghetti/ Pasta, etc. The staff are helpful and friendly..special thanks to Steve on reception. We were upgraded... never happened to us before.. Our room was wonderful, with separate bedroom from the lounge area. View over the Hong Kong harbour was great. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.6
    Not Your Average YMCA!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    This was more expensive than our usual 3-star hotels but this was a big step up in quality and facilities. Staff spoke English and were very helpful. Nice restaurant onsite is cheap compared with other restaurants nearby. The location is excellent, easy access to Metro and Star Ferries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    10
    Overall a very comfortable and calm base to meet with various friends throughout the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am unable to think of anything.

    My wife and I booked a room about 3 months ahead for this layover at what seemed a very good price. We arrived at reception early in the morning after flying from Athens - Frankfurt and enquired if our room would be available any earlier than 2.00 pm. Front desk girls were so courteous and understanding as they viewed our travel worn faces! The Fact was the Hotel was at 100% capacity the previous night so despite multiple screens and young receptionists caring for us they found a room and promised it to be ready by 12.00 pm. Wow great news ... but then they found a room that we could move into at 11.00am if we were prepared to pay a reasonablly affordable upgrade fee. Perfect! Those young receptionists were fantastic. So with an extra 3 hours to sleep, we were revitalised sooner and so started our wonderful stay at The Salisbury YMCA. Thank you to all those involved. Eighth floor overlooking central district across the water was a great offer. We like being near the ferry terminal✔️. We also like being near the Arts precinct and to access the Gallery Museum but it is undergoing major refurbishment or extensions at the moment. So next time for the Gallery. The Salisbury YMCA really is in a great position for accessing Hong Kong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    One of the Best Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bidet on toilet bowl...same main course of food everyday on breakfast...airport express bus pick up n drop off area not convenient....

    Near to MTR and near to all shopping center...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    5.4
    Location ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very hard and no comfortable, door lock to bathroom was diffucult to handle. Family room was ok size but small for family for 4. Can find other better hotels for same price.

    The location was good and nearby shopping and restaurants. Swimming pool was good but only 1 meter deep, the other swimming pool was for ongoing classes. Nice harbour view from family room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    8.8
    Salisbury/YMCA is still a good place to stay, albeit now becoming expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entrance is very ordinary.

    Very well situated. The Day Restaurant offers good value for money. Room rates are now expensive for a YMCA venue, driven by very rich mainland people visiting HK. Staff on the desk and concierge are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    10
    Excellent level of customer service from moment of check in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent level of customer service from moment of check in to check out. Thank you and the YMCA Salisbury Hotel HKG - it always exceeds my expectations.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Cafe convenient and reasonable choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    English not so good. Wrong items delivered and second morning forgot the coffee in cafe. Depends what you want to eat.

    Cafe convenient and reasonable choice. 4th floor dining much better. Menu or a Buffet much better variety. Staff wonderful. Location over road from harbour waterfront. Help with booking tours and pickup.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    6.3
    We decided to splurge and stay in a junior suite which didn’t come cheap given that we felt like we
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite with Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Salisbury claimed it had been renovated but we couldn’t see the evidence of this in our room. The bathroom and decor was very dated and the bedroom furniture was old and battered.

    The location of the Salisbury is fabulous - just a few minutes walk to the Star Ferry and shopping.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Great value and location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some elevators were under maintenance and therefore sometimes there was a line to get the elevator.

    Really good value for the money, location is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    None

    Foods are yummy. our rooms is upgraded thank you very much. The view is so awesome! The people are very friendly and very helpful. Hope to see them again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.3
    Great location, close to city centre and harbour. Nice and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast menu is just standard and almost the same everyday.

    The staff were nice and helpful, although their English is a bit confusing. They also gave us extra time to check out because we were trapped in a bad traffic after joining HK island tour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Very convenient location at a good price. We always stay at the YMCA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We agree with the comment about the cold lobby. It is a common fault in many hotels in the tropics. In our room, we turn the thermostat UP, or off altogether!

    Whenever we are in Hong Kong, we always stay at the Salisbury YMCA because we like the hotel and what it offers, and its convenient location. We always take a hotel bus that takes us, often via many other hotels to our destination. No extra suitcase hauling!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some more of the signpost directions to facilities would have helped. Concierge directions sent me to wrong ferry terminal, but otherwise helpful.

    Nice room with great view of harbour, comfortable and clean, well supplied with extras, iron and board brought to room immediately on request. Good variety at buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.1
    I enjoyed my stay in the YMCA
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast let down the side you can see by the amount of Guest that use it everyday. Very few except for family and tours. Time to up-date the menu.

    The Location is great.My room was a small single room but clean and comfortable.The wifi works well all over the hotel. I would stay there again on my next trip to Hong Kong in Jan. To all the staff @the YMCA;Keep up the great work.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    7.5
    Location can’t be beat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location cannot be better. Access to Star Ferry, Nathan Road, shopping arcades. Cafe has good meals and buffet is very good. We had a great view of the harbor and could see the Lasar Light Show from our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    9.2
    Very much enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a little expensive but compared to all hotels in Kowloon it is quite reasonable.

    The fresh and clean rooms that are serviced daily. There is plenty of staff who are are all very friendly and helpful. We received a free upgrade to an island view room Thank You very much.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    room is so so but night dress is not so good.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Originally i ve already booked for sinle bed but you arrange two bed for one room.it isnot some comfortable.because i sincerely hoped single bed.

    room is so so but night dress is not so good.especially i think hotel,s fruit is delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.0
    we enjouyed our stay in HONG kONG a great deal . I would stay at the Hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it would be nice to have a coffee shop separate from the restaurant ( ex Kowloon Hotel around the corner ) we visited almost every day whilst in Hong Kong

    the location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    This is a fourth time to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a fourth time to stay here. I love this hotel easy to shopping and find something to eat. Thank you hotel for upgraded the room in this time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect view from my room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect view from my room. Convenient localisation close to the subway and ferry as well as the airport train schedule bus stop. Helpful staff in the hotel. Visited many hotels in HK but from now on this one will be my favourite one.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.3
    Thank you, I will certainly suggest to friends that they stay at the YMCA.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a noise which was quite frequent which was a knocking sound that was always in 3s or 4s. I do not know if this was a water pipe or something completely different. It did disturb my sleep at times.

    I was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded. The shower was a little low for standing under due to the room being disabled friendly, however, I was able to adapt. The area was much larger than expected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    8.8
    We had a great time during our stay. We love the hotel and wish to come back. Close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff (Eric) at the reception area doesn't smile.He's in Customer Service he should be more friendly to the guests. But all the staff from housekeeping were very accomodating, greeted us all the time and always smiled. What I wish is there is a Microwave.

    I love our room, so comfortable, spacious and very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    10
    Having used this hotel since 1992, it again met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room did not reflect a Genius perk; it was a very standard and comfortable room with good facilities.

    The hotel has its own cafe which provided our meals during our stay. The meals are not haute cuisine but at the prices on offer, not to be expected and more than adequate with a good range of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.5
    Will stay again if price is ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would stay here all the time but sometimes the prices are higher that most of the four star hotels in that area.

    Perfect location and very friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2018

    10
    We get upgrade when we check in, the room is large with...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We get upgrade when we check in, the room is large with outstanding view the harbour. My baby is very happy when she see cars running on the street over the window. Staff are nice. Definitely will stay next trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great location for touring Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poorly presented and food just ok but not great and certainly not value for money

    Breakfast not the best. Found very good local place for breakfast at half price of hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Appreciate the pool is being used by a lot of people however spa not working and a bit of procedure to get admitted to the pool area.

    Well situated polite staff and helpful great stay. Good pool restaurants met our needs

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.9
    Above our expectations - very calming and safe environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Payment was strange. Booked online and gave credit card details. When checking in I was asked for payment again. When checking out I paid again - because no previous payments had apparently been made. Hope I didn't double or triple pay!

    Hotel ambience was calming and stress free. Location was very central in Kowloon. View from our 10th floor room was better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    8.3
    Value for money in the heart of Tsim Tsa Tsui
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    It lacked some more luxurious features. I thought the beds were too hard and uncomfortable. The sun terrace was lovely, it would have been perfect if it had a bar or even a café.

    Position, cleanliness, efficiency, price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    10
    Very nice room with killer views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast buffet was too expensive. I only ate there the first day and had tea in my room the other days.

    I was upgraded to a great room with a view. Krystal at the front desk was welcoming & able to answer all my questions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    9.6
    The rooms are nice size, extremely clean, comfortable, modern, with great amenities! I felt safe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I thought buffet breakfast was included or some breakfast but I didn't get any food included with the price of my booking. I thought it was kind of expensive. It was lovely and this is where I'll be staying in the future!!

    The location was perfect!! Near transportation and shopping, eating, sightseeing, and the harbor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    This hotel was a good value for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel restaurants had very limited choices and not very tasty. The eggs and coffee were awful at the breakfast buffet.

    The best location in Kowloon as it was easy to get around with limited walking. Received a free upgrade for our room. Incredible views of the harbor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Upon my arrival in the morning they told me after trying 5...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon my arrival in the morning they told me after trying 5 times that my credit card was declined and it ruined my whole day as I thought the card had a problem/wasn't working. When trying in the evening again they redid the procedure manually and it worked perfectly. They have a problem with their machine! Be aware

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location right across from the harbor, good sized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pullout sofa in suite rooms is only slightly more comfortable than sleeping directly on the floor.

    Fantastic location right across from the harbor, good sized rooms, great value for the money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.8
    Harbor location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Windows steamed up to a point of dripping water and completely obscuring any view but we were told that this was "normal and unavoidable in Hong Kong" but our other H.K. hotel did not have that problem. The pools were a very long walk from the changing rooms, one had to go through a shower on the way so no towel possible and no shoes were allowed. My husband is mobility impaired, walks with two canes, so was not able to use the pools. The atmosphere was that of a YMCA gym but the pricing was that of a luxury hotel. Our other H.K. hotel had the best service of any hotel so we know that the service and facilities were inferior. Very disappointing!

    Harbor location. Coffee shop and buffet restaurant were very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's hard to think if a negative point. Perhaps that ,just like all other hotels here, breakfast is expensive.

    Location location location! Great skyline view. Right by Star ferry. Great restaurants and bars in area. Hotel is of a very good standard.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 24, 2018

    9.2
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Heating in the room was not providing sufficient capacity to warm the room (even with 12 degree outside).

    Great location; clean room; friendly staff. good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    2.5
    Unenjoyable and would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything.

    Nothing. It was a horrible stay at this hotel. We did not enjoy it at all. The staff was unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel was old. There were a lot of outside people using the hotel facilities. I did not feel comfortable in this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    10
    A fantastic value hotel given the wonderful position with spectacular views if the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The beds are firm , but that was okay, but the pillows are too skinny. Maybe that's a western attitude.

    The position is great,; the staff are pleasant and very helpful, and its great value.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    The best view in Hong Kong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Harbor View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is amazing! You can enjoy the same harbour views as you would if you were staying at the Peninsula hotel. The area is lively with plenty of shopping, food and things to do.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel at ideal place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even with the switch to "heat" and the temperature set to maximum we did not succeed in getting warm air out of the A/C. Maybe a technician could have fixed it but we did not really care.

    We were privileged by an unexpected upgrade to a suite with a splendid view on the bay from the 12th floor, really great. Excellent bed, spacious bathroom, comfortable living-room with the wonderful view from the sofa and large cupboard. Sophisticated lighting, very nice. WE would have liked to stay longer!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    7.9
    First time visit to Hong Kong. Hotel a little expensive but in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen or Twin Room with Partial Harbor View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a good position with train and ferries close by and only a few minutes walk from Nathan Road and the markets.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse The Salisbury - YMCA of Hong Kong Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: