Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Hong Kong hotel reviews
  3. Hong Kong hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Shanghai Red Hotel

Reviews of Shanghai Red Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

152-154 Shanghai Street, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#296 of 314 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 195 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.7

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2019

    6.7
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room (obviously, but fine if looking just for a private room to sleep for the night). No complementary tea (there was a kettle though).

    Good location. Inexpensive (compared to other options). Check-out at noon. Clean. Amenities provided.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2019

    6.3
    What you see in website is not is not what you get! see!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The floor under the bed aren’t swept! Full of dirt! Shower room and toilet are one and same! Room very small! Though in Hongkong that’s to be expected!

    Location

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2019

    4.2
    NOT AT ALL HAPPY
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in the information on the booking .com says its a 3 star hotel..when i went in the hotel i have to search the reception..its one table reception an only one person there for the whole hotel..its not a 3 star hotel...dont book this hotel thinking its a 3 star hotel, its a zero star...tiny rooms..not even a hanger to hang the shirts..such a bad experience in this hotel

    Location is good

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2019

    2.9
    Pictures of the room did not reflect at all the size of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pictures of the room did not reflect at all the size of the room. I could barely put my bag inside the room. I still don't know if it has a shower with bathroom or a bathroom with shower. It was present a very unpleasant smell in the room due to the high humidity. Very unattractive neighborhood. View from the window was very unpleasant.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    6.7
    Tiny hotel near Temple Street.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single room was very small (max 2x3m including toilet/shower). Shower on top of the toilet. No fridge. Noicy due to poor window.

    Location was good. Near the Temple Street market and also near the MTR. Staff was helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 30, 2018

    3.8
    Location is easy for public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price and comfort and size of the room is not in balance..Extreme small room for an extreme high price. No place for putting the luggage in the room. For that price we will not go back.

    Location is easy for public transportation.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    7.5
    Cleaning lady helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Male receptionist very disinterested. Always looking at cell phone. Also always wore face mask. Two female receptionists fine. Rooms very small.

    Cleaning lady helpful. Quiet hotel though on Shanghai street.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    2.5
    the most terrible stay in my entire life. Absolutely the worst. Worse than motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything

    horrible room, horrible service, Very old room, very noisy, extremely tiny. Extremely too expensive for the hotel. I would strongly recommend everyone to not book this hotel. Terrible.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    4.2
    If you just need a place to sleep by the night market, here it is.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too small. I'm a regular figured oriental person but still felt the place was uncomfortably small.

    If you want to stay late at night market (I did), this is one of the best locations.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    5.8
    Staff was friendly, and the location is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They did not clean the room in the 4 days we were there. Besides, we found cockroaches in our room several times. The cleanliness of our room was a major issue

    Staff was friendly, and the location is superb.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.1
    Good location, reasonable value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room really was small. Not a major issue if you're just looking for somewhere clean to rest up, but if you're tall the small bed might be an issue. I'm 1.86m, and had to sleep diagonally. Not a criticism of the hotel, but when I tried to book a taxi to go to Kowloon station I was told it wasn't far enough away for a taxi journey. Might be an issue if you've got heavy bags and have to leave before the buses are running. Regarding the location, be prepared to be propositioned a lot. I didn't see so many street workers in other areas of the city, but they're very prominent in the streets around this hotel.

    If you want to be in bustling Kowloon, this is for you. The Temple Street market is 20 yards away. The hotel was clean, the air conditioning worked well, and it's only 5 minutes from Jordan MTR station, so easy to access the MTR system. Kowloon station (for the airport express train) is about a 15-20 minute walk away. There are local buses that run to Kowloon station, but they weren't running early in the morning when I had to leave, so a walk it was. The wet bath room is pretty small, but the shower worked well - really good after walking around humid Hong Kong.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2018

    3.3
    I would NEVER stay here again nor recommend anyone els to do so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was booked for four and only suitable for 3. The bathroom facilities were ABYSMAL. The shower space only, occupied the bathroom. exceptionally BAD! Do not stay here!! NOISE ALL NIGHT!! No sleep.

    The wifi was the only good thing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful location, helpful staff, 24 hour desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room. But all HK hotel rooms are tiny compared to elsewhere!!

    Fantastic location. One block from Temple Street Market, a block the other way Fruit/Veg market. 5 minutes from MTR train station, also Buses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    2.5
    The room is awful, bad smell, extremely small room, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is awful, bad smell, extremely small room, no hairdryer, sometimes even no bottle water. More important, the booking.com price is too high, will never use booking.com AGAIN

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    5.4
    The building, rooms, etc, were smaller that what was projected by the photos on the website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was situated in quite a sleezy part of the city. Does not give one a sense of safety to venture out at night if one was alone even though good eating places were nearby.

    Receptionist was pleasant. Room was small but clean. Checking in and out was simple

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    7.9
    Good Location and Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room size was very small and water leakage in the bathroom.

    Good location and easy to access and commute. Too small rooms and water was leaking in the bathroom cum toilet. But overall a good place and value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.8
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Throughout the stay is good just the bed sheets was not changed and was changed immediately as request. Water boiler need to be change as it is quite old. Please fix the socket as it is loose. Good service overall.

    It is near to MTR station and there is a lot of dai pai tong (HK restaurant) in the area. Room is clean and neat. Good facility and service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    4.2
    Very very small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very very small rooms

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    6.3
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small room. It is common for HK, but the room was Really tiny

    Location was great. Market and a lot of local cuisine around

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    7.5
    small but good, hong kong style minimal room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    small but good, hong kong style minimal room

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2019

    6.7
    I was charged 100hkd after I checked out for no reason,the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was charged 100hkd after I checked out for no reason,the money was taken out of my account via the details I used to book.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2019

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It's really tiny. Then again, kinda expected in HKG and Kooon

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2019

    7.5
    good location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    not in a good area

    good location, good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    5.8
    Locatiion was great , in a lively nighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    High price, very , very , small room

    Locatiion was great , in a lively nighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    5.8
    Ideal for a short stay on budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very close to MRT and lots of food options around the area

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    7.5
    Good location 15min from Star Ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small but worth the price that payed

    Good location 15min from Star Ferry.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    4.6
    Will not recommend or return in future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights

    bigger room, with a small desk, room to put a suitcase, and hang clothes

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    8.8
    Recommended
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Late check in due to room not ready

    Very good location

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    4.6
    Nearby shop eg 7eleven, Circle K, and others .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room too small, not worth for money.Staff not friendly. Equipment not enough.

    Nearby shop eg 7eleven, Circle K, and others .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    5.4
    Rooms are very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very small. About 2m by 2.5m

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.4
    I liked the location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms were not as advertised. So small that there is only a bed and no room for luggage.

    I liked the location and price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    7.5
    Good budget hotel option...very very helpful owners and staff.....but be aware of no meals facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was leakage in the ceiling of Room 308.

    Room was clean. Housekeeping service was prompt

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    6.0
    They cover fire detectors with plastic so they will never...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They cover fire detectors with plastic so they will never work.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    4.2
    Fine for a night or two but I wouldn't go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small, basically in the red district.

    It was a bed for 2 nights

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.9
    awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    awesome

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Space but didn’t mind it,because it is super affordable

    Room was small but clean and complete.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    6.3
    overall quite consider near to main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no room service and no supply of iron and vacuum cleaner.

    and rooms are new

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2018

    7.1
    Location closed to market
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small room

    Location closed to market

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    6.3
    Good location, public transportation close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small rooms but it's normal in HK.

    Good location, public transportation close.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2018

    7.9
    Small room, normal for HK in that price range, but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location to experience the Hongkong street livr

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2017

    6.7
    Hotel Location easy excess for all the good food, it just around the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room door do not have eye viewer cannot view who outside our room and no safe box.

    Yummy Michelin Mammy pancake is at your location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    5.0
    Super small room, felt claustrophobic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super small room, felt claustrophobic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    5.0
    The stay was OK under the circumstances
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit small but it was understandable cause it’s in HK

    Great position that so easy to find, surranded by numberless fantastic restaurants!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    5.8
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was very small, bathroom was very small and the wifi signal was very poor.

    The location was good, near mtr and shops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    5.4
    Better cheaper options nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleanliness wasnt up to much, huge cockroach in the bathroom. Rooom was tiny even for HK

    Location was good, close to shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    4.2
    The family room was really small,not near to MTR station and not value for money at all !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family room was very very small.

    Location wise still not bad but not really near to MTR station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2017

    6.7
    The place is clean and in easy to find
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room is very small and the double bed for two is not actually for two

    The place is clean and in easy to find

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2016

    2.5
    Really really bad hotel, noisy, small bed ever, uncleaned,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Really really bad hotel, noisy, small bed ever, in prostitute street all over. the worst night of my life in an hotel I think. But I had no choice because of the canton fair. Further more so expensive !!

    Really really bad hotel, noisy, small bed ever, uncleaned, in prostitute street all over. the worst night of my life in an hotel I think. But I had no choice because of the canton fair. Further more so expensive !!

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    7.9
    First of all, one of the best hotel staff I have ever met.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is in middle of red light district. If it bothers you to see the sadness of human trafficking this is not the neighborhood for you. There was NO prostitution happening in the hotel...but you will see these girls and women as you walk in the neighborhood. It doesn't feel unsafe, just very sad. The room is small and basic. We were totally fine and prepared for the tight space.

    First of all, one of the best hotel staff I have ever met. ...and I practically live in a hotel with my job. On my vacation I like a budget place though so this was what I wanted to spend for the location. Location was great for food and trains to other parts of HonG Kong. You are literally right in the Night Market which is great for many reasons. I really appreciated all the effort the staff made to accommodate our late check out and babysitting our luggage as well. It is clean.

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2016

    2.9
    Long story but short version: stayed there for 3 nights,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Long story but short version: stayed there for 3 nights, then I left but booked a room for my family (3 pers) for an additional stay. When asked staff they said its ok that myself dont need to check-in. In the end I had to pay my reservation and my family had to pay another extra room (so 1 room was not used but still had to pay)

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2016

    9.2
    great location, modern, clean, tea and coffee facilities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    wifi was rubbish, deposit on arriving, beds very small especially for tall people

    great location, modern, clean, tea and coffee facilities, hot and strong showers, quiet, no roaches :)

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    5.8
    It's relatively inexpensive and being in Jordan is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms are extremely tiny barely larger than the bed and the bathroom. The bathroom has a sealed door because if you use the shower without a sealed or water would flow all over the room. Be aware that this is the Hong Kong version of a capsule hotel. You will get exactly what you pay for here. Finally the physical location of this hotel for some reason was supremely confusing to me my wife and my son every single time we came out of the subway station we had to think and think about which way was her hotel. Kind of a Bermuda Triangle vortex in the middle of Jordan.

    It's relatively inexpensive and being in Jordan is great.

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2016

    7.5
    Around 3 streets away from Jordan MTR station, just behind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Room door is very hard to close, but i am sure it is only for my room.Room is not very sound proof, but fortunately, neighbours are not noisy.

    Around 3 streets away from Jordan MTR station, just behind Temple Street. Room is small but very cozy. Housekeeping is done everyday.

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2016

    4.6
    Most of things in the add are imprecise/ incorrect (eg.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Most of things in the add are imprecise/ incorrect (eg. a close-by location from the subway, the English speaking staff..).

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2016

    3.8
    Close to center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty bed sheets. When I asked to change they said they were new although I saw dirt on my pillow and mattress sheets.

    Close to center

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2016

    6.3
    Good Location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Tiny Room, Staff in night shift can't speak English,

    Good Location,

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: