Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silka Seaview Hotel 3 stars

268 Shanghai Street, Yau Ma Tei, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

#235 of 272 hotels in Hong Kong

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2523 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room could do with a bit of a coat of paint and everywhere felt a little greasy. Was clean enough though so perhaps was just whatever cleaner they use. Cups in bathroom weren't clean, big stain on floor and there was no effort from other guests or housekeeping to respect that some people were sleeping.

    The location was handy for the tube station. Also liked the free smartphone for use whilst in Hong Kong. Came in very useful. Staff were friendly enough and check in was easy. Also a friendly gentleman to help you in the lobby with case etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free breakfast was not recorded, so we have to go down by elevator from the 19th floor Jade Cafe to the lobby to present our voucher which states free breakfast. The manager was accommodating enough. The room is small and is best for solo travelers or couples, but not recommended for couple with a child. The bed cover needs change-so worn out, smelly, and old.

    The room is cleaned daily and amenities changed everyday. The bathroom facilities are good with strong warm shower. The housekeeping is accommodating and pleasant when we requested 2 extra pillows and blanket.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was incredibly rude. Rooms are not like the pictures and not the same size.

    Breakfast was avarege, but they told us we did not have it included. After a fight, they realised they were wrong and we did have our breakfast included in the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a smoking room. Which i hate. On the first night, i didnt get to sleep right away because of the smell. The price i booked was different from the rate when we checked in. The room was so small for its price.

    The location was good. Near the MTR station. Near McDo. There was a shuttle service every hour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was cleaned everyday. Toiletries, towels, slippers etc. were stocked up everyday. Great location. Some staffs were really nice and some were not which I guess balances the service we received :D We will book again if we decide to visit Hong Kong again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    None.

    This hotel is clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The room and bath room are medium in size and considered as big in Hong Kong. WiFi is very strong, The hotel is located between Temple street and Public Square street with a Welcome supermarket and a McDonald further down Public Square street. If you are taking the Airport Bus A21, you can get off at Man Ming Road. There are many eating places nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel breakfast was most disappointing. Poor selections and expensive.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean and located near shops, restaurants and the famous Temple St Market.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place is close to everything and very handy location close to MTR, market and parks and everything. The room is clean, very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    nothing

    I have been already many times in this hotel right in the centre of Yau Ma Tei , walking distance to MTR and temple Street market. Plenty of small delicious restaurants all around. Staff is kind and fast . Rooms small ( as usual in HK ) but provided with all needs . Really good deal for the money compare to many Others in HK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire thing, poor check in, Staff was rude, too noisy, cramped room with no window, toilet had water tripping throughout the night.

    The front desk staff was so rude

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Front Desk staffs did not smile & not friendly. Very blunt and not flexible. However, Bell Man & Room Cleaning Lady are friendly. Room & bath room small but acceptable in Hong Kong standard.

    Good location in the heart of Kowloon. MTR subway & buses to most places in Kowloon, New Territories, Hong Kong & Airport. Temple Street Night Market is at Hotel front. Lots of restaurants & 7-11

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room does not match the photos, the photos seem to be of a very similar however very renovated/new room. our room was not as modern however still comfortable. I was charged at the hotel $13 AUD extra on top of the price quoted on booking.com, not sure how or why. I didn't ask so thats my error.

    Good location - around the corner from the temple street night markets, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner only worked occasionally.

    Helpful friendly staff, great location. Comfortable bed. Clean bathroom. Very useful power adapter for USB charger. Had a free-to-use cell phone for guest but instructions were in Chinese. Wish they had it in English as well. Very near airport bus(A20,A21) stop on Nathan Rd.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Totally looks different from the pictures on Booking. They took all the money right after I have booked the room. I do not recommend this place. If you ever decide to stay - do not give any deposit to them. Still didn’t get it back. This place is just awful. Staff was mean and rude. We were asked to pay for the charge we never seen in the room. There is no space for two people as it’s shown on their booking profile. I wont never stay in this shity place.

    None

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not friendly. Did not seem to care. Just doing a job like a robot. Decor a bit tired.

    Close to night markets, metro and Big Bus tour stops. Good breakfast included. Reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi isn’t accessible in our room. We couldn’t use it. Be sure to choose non smoking room if you don’t wanna smell cigarette!

    The housekeeper in level 5 during our stay was good :) wifi phone was extra helpful during our stay especially when we were outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is great. The Room is very small , Bathroom is particularly tiny. Since this is in Hong Kong therefore I can understand. The hotel starts to look dated .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I specifically booked a non-smoking room in Booking.com but was placed in a smoking room when I arrived. I was told that there's no available non-smoking room during my stay. Although the room spray provided by the hotel helped to make the room smell better, it would have been great to have received an e-mail before hand that my request for a non-smoking room was not granted.

    Located next to Temple Street for those who want to go shopping at night. It's also next to Mido Cafe, and is a few minutes away from the train station, as well as the A21 bus stop for those going to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just the room for two was so small for us as we also have lots of shopping bags and due to the accident we also had the wheel-chair in the room which itself took a lot of space. if you are into partying in Lan Kwai Fong , just be prepared to look for a taxi for some hours as they will tell you it's far or will cost more than 200 HK Dollar don't take that taxi !! We got some who took us to LKF for less than 130 HK dollar !!!

    The picture on booking.com is not that real as the room was quite small,but anyway we had a real nice timel.The staff is really helpful as my best friend had an accident first night,she couldn't walk so the staff gave us a wheelchair to carry her.They advised us to go to private hostpital which were helpful.You should book this hotel if you like to do shopping.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are so small. The bathroom toilets don’t have a bum hose. The wifi is slow a couple days and then ok after a while.

    I liked that they replenish the coffee and tea bags everyday. New towels and tissue was constantly helpful. I like the location, near Temple Street Night market and walking distance to Ladies Market. Love staying in this neighborhood.The bus shuttle to the airport is extremely useful, but I wonder if I can use the hotel shuttle upon arrival too?

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The safe in my room was a damaged one. No one came to change it even I informed them.

    The check-in/out counter staffs are friendly and helpful, including those staffs at the lobby. The location is pretty good, about 5 mins from Yaumatei MTR station, lots of small local restaurants very close by. Temple street open for late shopping. Airport shuttle is only 3 mins walking distance from hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service without smile. Breakfast is very limited and if you are vegetarian... expect nothing but tea/coffee and toast. Breakfast doesnt have fruits even. If you request the restaurant to heat milk for you- they wont ! If you ask anything- answer is negative. They dont care whether you eat breakfast or not as long as you have paid them...their duty is finished.

    Location. It's value for money basically. Do not expect anything more than this.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed really small; my feet were hanging out and i am 178cm tall. No details in the room about the restaurant menu Single glazing of windows mean propensity for noise Kettle screwed in position restricting the use of the only small table/desk.. it could be placed elsewhere. Cafe closing time was quite early so I never got a chance to try it as i was out all day.

    Location was useful, room was quite small but adequate and reasonably comfortable, wifi was smooth, and front desk prompt to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door malfunction and could not be locked and it will be nice if the window can open a litttle to allow some fresh air

    This is my regular hotel in Hong Kong,this time i definitely felt an improvement in the front desk staff attitude and politeness.Keep improving!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed should be changed. It is hard and uncomfortable. The room is also small for couples but i guess this is the same for all hotels in Hong Kong. The blanket looks old and dirty. Not even sure if it has been washed before.

    Even though the hotel is not comfortable (the bed is hard), we still keep coming back to this hotel because of the excellent location. From Exit C of Yau Ma Tei MTR, it only takes you less than 5 minutes to reach the hotel. Surrounding the hotel, there are many eateries such as dim sum, traditional dessert and famous claypot rice. The bus stop to take airport express bus A21 is also less than 5 mins away. For travellers who travel with big luggage bag, instead of having to climb the stairs with your bag, the best way to travel to the airport is to take the bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel at a very good location. Check in very smooth. My parents ‘s room shower leaking water, Tim front desk manager very helpful quickly help us to move room very happy with Tim efficient, highly recommend to stay st Silka Yau Ma Tei

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some items like an iron would have been good to have in the room, size is small but ok if only in the room for sleeping

    Location- close to the metro and Temple St market and food options, internet speed ok and to have a phone with internet for guests to use is very helpful. Free shuttle to airport express is also very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Adjoining Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is too small. There were stains on the carpet. Bed is too hard.

    Location is good. The free rent of the 4g phone helped us a lot to get wifi all the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were so disappointed with our room, we paid a lot of money to stay here, the first room we were given was very small and worn, peeling wallpaper, marks on carpet, walls and ceiling, very small double bed, tiny bathroom, we checked with reception as we’d booked a deluxe double, we were told all the rooms are the same size, deluxe rooms are just on a higher floor and include breakfast, they said they were full and could move us to a different room the next day, this room was actually bigger and not as worn as the first room, still not great but the best we were going to get. The photos on the website don’t look anything like either room we were in.

    Great location, very close to Temple Street market, breakfast good and the staff in the breakfast room were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms are slightly small.

    the fact that they gave you a phone to use throughout the trip which allowed you to take and use anywhere including calls back to the u.k for free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front staff quite rude, old TV...the channel sometimes loss signal and refrigerator (mini bar) not working during our stay. They should check room condition properly before handing to customer.

    Location is convenient, free phone for us to use is super awesome and free shuttle to Kowloon Station is really good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel charges deposit, 300HK$ per room.

    Hotel is located few steps away from Temple street night market. There is cell phone in room. You can take it to city and use it as free wifi hot spot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Adjoining Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st: the room is very small. 2nd: it doesnt seem well-cleaned. I wonder if the cleaner did clean my room or just helped us with making the bed. In fact, i think my last night, she didnt even made my bed. 3rd: can easily hear ppl talking on the corridor when u are inside the room. 4th: totally not worth it to take the adjoining room. Even the normal room, also no point taking deluxe, as it was noy worth it. 5th: breakfast option not alot, and didnt taste as good. It is recommended to try the mido cafe that is just next to the hotel.

    Good location.. quite a few eateries around. And easily accessible to temple street or ladies street.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What I don’t like the hotel is that they don't have a microwave or at least a guest’s pantry So we can microwave what food we have.

    What i liked about this place is that it’s very convenient to travel from one place to another specially with our plans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything looks old and overused. Background noises everytime. Sunday night I heard karaoke until morning. One morning the entire floor was smelling like a biological bomb. We stopped air conditioning, but every night the room was still getting very cold for someone sensitive.

    Wifi, free mobile with internet SIM. Charger and adapter. Close to markets and facilities (restaurants, supermarkets), relatively close to metro and a few points of attraction.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls of my room would benefit from a coat of paint.

    The location is very good, close to lots of markets, MTR staion, shopping area of Yau Ma Te & Mong Kok. The air conditioning worked well & the bathroom was modern with an excellent shower. The linen was changed every day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odd sound from above- we were on the 17th floor sounded like a washing machine on spin cycle. Can still sleep. The shower pressure wasn’t the hardest.

    Great location! Right near metro and night markets. No noise from outside. Clean and reasonable size room and bathroom. Fresh linen. Free breakfast! A guide phone was provided also for sights to see, restaurants etc

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photographs displayed on-line misrepresent the hotel - or at least both of the two rooms I went into. The room size and configuration might be 'as expected' in a 2 star hotel, but in no way were consistent with the on-line photos, which, when coupled with the price - which was equal to some 4 star hotels which also had rooms available at the time (CNY 'price gouging'?) - led to a VERY disappointing stay. Lured by the expectation of more pleasant surroundings, I had moved to this property from the nearby Silka West hotel, which at least presents an 'honest face' of its star rating!

    The staff DID try to address my expressed concerns by moving me to another room. ALL of the staff were courteous. The bathroom was clean, as were the sheets, towels, linen, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only 2 small Elevators, 1 of which was eventually in maintenance, so it would get really crowded to go up and down.

    Very nice location, close to Temple Street and Mong Kok, few blocks from Yau Ma Tei Station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little dated - but they are clean

    There are smoking and non smoking floors. Ensure to request a non smoking floor if sensitive, as smoking floors are really smelly. Very good location (short walk to the MRT and/or bus stops, including the line going to/coming from the airport)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - no free 2 bottles of water on each night. Basicly means I don't get any free water at all for 6 nights that I stay - the bed is too short. My height is 170cm and my feet is at the edge of the bed. Can't imagine who is taller than me.

    - Location is great. really close to MTR (YAU MA TEI station EXIT C) - The staff who clean my room is totally polite. Love her so much (8th floor) - Very fast wireless internet - Shower is really HOT and water is high pressure LOVE IT!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel. The room was tiny and really needs a renovation (I've stayed in smaller rooms in New York that were much better than this). Room did not reflect the photos listed by the hotel. Bathroom is tiny and shower curtains need replacing - not even sure when they were last cleaned, bathroom has a horrible smell when you step in. Bed was a small double, which also needs replacing - you can feel the springs through the mattress. Carpets looked dirty. This hotel motivated us to stay out and explore Hong Kong as we didn't want to spend any longer in the hotel than we had to.

    LOCATION is the highlight of this hotel. Close to the markets and the MTR stations. Spent most of our time walking and using public transport. If you really want to experience traditional Hong Kong than this would be the area you'd want to stay. Each room also comes with a Freddy phone which you have unlimited data to use, claims that there is also free international calls - but it didn't work.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    when groups of Chinese guest arrived and their lack of civility (shouting, pushing, totally ignoring other guests rights and feelings, even verbally abusive, blocking the life while the overweight buzzer was heard etc) did open my eyes (heard about it, but not to such an extent). It's not your fault and is perhaps expected nowadays.

    the cleaning lady was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was so tiny (very very small, i can tell), no water for complimentary (every hotel has), the speed of Free Wifi in the room was like the turtle walking, the TV program had no regular movies, just only trill movies which dated back to the 30 year ago. The house keeper did the cleaning so badly, not clean at all.

    the location was the ONLY think that counted

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room is a little small, as usual, is HK. Breakfast is very simple, it comes free with the booking of room, no complaint. But if you wish to pay for breakfast, I would suggest plenty of food on the street for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even is the rooms and bathrooms have been remodeled you can still feeling the hotel is old. The walls needs to be painted and windows soundproofing.

    Budget hotel located in the center of the city. Walking distance to many places. Free wifi phone device .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Surly staff, cleanliness of room ...... much to be desired. Mould in bathroom. The whole place had not a single place (lounge) where one could smoke. You had to go outside of the hotel to smoke on sidewalk, unless you had a 'smoking' room. No toilet facilities in lobby, had to go to 19th floor breakfast room. (this was whilst waiting for bus after check-out)

    To be honest , not much though I did not EXPECT much for the price at this time of the year. The location suited me perfectly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unhelpful staff,as got bit sick,new to the place didn't even consider the request for some hot milk.Room was so little got claustrophobic paid to upgrade to suite.they charged me for both suite as well as tiny room booked via Booking.com.

    Concierge service was great. location from subway.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, table and chair too small, look like kid size; hard to place my one and only one luggage; carpet not clean; bed linens too thin; elevator too small; hotel surrounding not tidy; feeling of unsafe to stay here

    conveniently located, close to everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff can be impatient sometimes. It will be great if hotel can place utensils and offer complimentary bottled water in room.

    Convenient location, clean and cozy room, staff are able to speak in basic English.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very expensive comparing with other hotels in Hong Kong, in terms of service; I believe it deserves 1 or 2 stars as maximum! The cleanliness is not good and my double bed was too short in the time that I am in the normal size! I’ve asked them for late check out (to be at 6:00 pm), they wanted to charge me around 120 USD!!

    The location is not bad

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the toilet is rather small, but it is still acceptable. But the door is just too heavy to slide open. No free drinking water being provided in room, not even one... unlike Silka in Malaysia.

    The location is convenient.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The picture of the room shown in your website is NOT the actual photos. The carpets were filthy. The room was too small. The noise from the hallway or even from the other rooms can be heard inside our room. Horrible experience and NOT worth what we paid for! It was a ripped off. Totally NOT worthy for our penny! Disappointed!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes you notice pollution and traffic noise depending weather conditionsl

    Very nice place in Kowloon, MTR almost round the corner. Good shopping malls and foodstalls nearby. Also centre of Kowloon in walking distance with any kind of shops and chinese and international restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1) Convenient to airport. Just take bus A21 in front of the hotel to the airport, one way cost HK$33. 2) Good location. Easy to subway station and shopping street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our bedding is old and has damage. They should consider replacing them.

    Excellent location. Walking distance from places of interest, mtr and bus stops. We like the smart freedy phone which we used as hotspot to connect online while we explore the city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were not welcoming. They did not smile at all and was not helpful when i had issues booking the hotel at first. This could have been a lot better with proper training of guest handling.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pictures presented on the listing are very deceiving. The room looks nothing like that! The beds are extremely narrow and short (my partner is 185 cm tall and his legs were hanging over the bed edge). Cleanliness is poor. The only upside is the location. Besides that, extremely expensive for what you get. Wouldn't recommend it to others.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Ya Mai Tai is centrally located and close to MTR and other points of interest. It offered an urban feel among the locals that is not pretentious, yet lively and authentic. I'd stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew from other reviews that this wasn’t going to be the greatest hotel, but we thought it would work for us since we only needed it for sleeping at night. Ended up being our worst nightmare. We’re relatively young but we’ve already travelled a lot, staying in all kind of properties, from 5 star luxury hotels to hostels all around the world, but never in a place like this. We arrived at night and as soon as I stepped in our toilet, I see HAIR everywhere. Long dark hair all over the toilet, specially in the shower. On the floor, hanging from the curtains, on the walls. It was so DISGUSTING. I thought it couldn’t be for real. How on earth can an hotel charge almost 100€ a night and not provide a clean room to their guests?? We went out for dinner and reported the situation. They said they would send house keeping. Needless to say that when we came back, everything looked the same (hairs included), even though they guaranteed house keeping went there. And there’s more, obviously. The hotel needs an urgent refurbishment. Our room had humidity on the walls (which for someone that suffers from asthma like me isn’t the best, or for anyone else, if that matters). The carpet was filled with stains and so was the bed cover and the curtains. I was astonished with how bad everything was. It was so late that we couldn’t leave right away, but we went down at 1am to inform that we would be leaving the next morning, even though we had booked 4 nights. I couldn’t stay in a place like that. I’ve paid 10€/ night in hostels much cleaner and nicer. I wouldn’t let anyone I know stay here..

    The staff was nice and understood when we said we wanted to leave. Didn’t create any problems and took care of everything. They let us go after our first night even though we had booked 4. They had already charged everything but cancelled and only charged one night. Booking customer support was also very quick to respond and authorised the cancellation right away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is too small. No space to put our suitcases. Bed is also small. Quite noisy cause by guests in the same floor

    The best part is the location. Buses n underground rail n taxis are handy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, staff, and facilities overall good; room is postage-stamp small, but sufficient if you don't plan to spend too much time there. Clean, quiet, professional: overall, good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The size of the room. Expensive breakfast without fruits except canned pineapple!!! Same menu everyday. Damaged wall to wall carpets. Few of the staff has a SMILE on his face. A VERY SMALL VIEW ON THE SEA. Few TV channel.

    The Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like the staffs in the hotel restaurant where we ate our daily breakfast, they were not accommodating, our first day breakfast there, they place us in a table with 2 chairs only infact we are 3 because I had my 5 year old daughter with me. They want us to pay my daughter’s breakfast first, to think she will just going to eat the cereals. The room is too small. I’m so disappointed.

    I just like the location only and the one who cleaned our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two lifts servicing all the floors .

    4G phone that came with the room -100% great. Great location - hotel close to varieties of restaurants and shoppings within walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Silka Seaview haven't returned my guarantee deposit. It's been more than a month already. Will not be staying there on my next business trip. :(

    The location is very accessible but rooms are very small

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The whole building is tired and is in serious need of maintenance. The carpets are stained the laminate is scratched and the walls are dirty, We had a "Seaview" but we were on the 18th floor and could only just see the water. It was also a smoking floor and the hall smelled like cigarettes. Although convenient, the location, is not a desirable one.

    The staff were helpful and the room was well laid out and well equipped despite being small. The location is very central with Temple Street Market on the doorstep and the Subway only one block away. The buffet Breakfast was good value and the Café was very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift is a bit slow, can have better improvement. The room furniture is time to do some refurbishment, though still acceptable.

    The location is good, very convenient and near the mrt n bus station to airport.Right behind Temple street, and lots of eatery.We stayed in higher floor and had a good sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom isn't clean and smelled bad. The sheets had makeup stains on them. Hotel looks like it hasn't been renovated for years, a lot worse off than when I stayed there previously.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle bus only ran few a day, could go to more locations for more conveniency to save us taxi money. We didn't take it during our stay due to the timings and stop off locations.

    Very good location, walking distance everywhere. Temple street market taking you to all souvenirs and food market. Mtr 7mins walk. Comfy double bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms size very very small. No water bottle complimentary which is too bad, i called at 11pm and reception guy gave me 8$ bottle 250ml only. Very bad Room service was fine, but the bed is also too small................................ ........... .................................

    Location was fine.. reception staff was also good.. would give neutral rating Quick check in and check out,................

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is extreemly small even cannot find a place to put my suitcase if I want to open it to take out my clothes.

    the location is very good. very close to night market, bars, metro station, etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The airport shuttle is not convenient for those who have big luggage because they don't have compartment under the bus.

    The bed is comfortable. Airport shuttle is on time. The hotel is very clean. The food is nice but very few choices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel room was ok but it was little bit small and stuffy because of non-smoking room has no openable window.

    Location was good. 5 mins to MTR station. Stuff was polite and helpful. Room was clean and bed was comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cos I book under my Christian name but I have a sir name for the booking the staff said not allow me to cheak in .whn that time he talk to me like these I ask him back whr u want me to stay .that is not friendly counter front desk at all .i always cheak in these hotel even I recommend my frend also . I hope pls change the way of talking to guest .

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Silka Seaview Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: